Rent Tron: Evolution for PS3
view large frontback

Tron: Evolution

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

1269 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Lots of fun, very short.

posted by IdCaster (WILDER, KY) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

29 out of 31 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Disney's Tron: Evolution is the prequel to their new Tron film and it really is nothing more than a setup piece for the movie at the end of the day...but it's a fun ride.

The action is smooth and the graphics really put you into the universe of Tron like you probably always wanted to be since you saw the original movie. The game puts a premium on speed, urging you to hold down the sprint button for as much of the game as you can while you run on walls and do some platforming and obstacle dodging. The combat isn't too challenging and the different light disc upgrades you earn are important to learn and switch between so you can take on each different enemy. The light bike doesn't take up much of the game but the stages it is used are lightning fast and fun to look at if you get a second to scope out the surroundings.

This is a definite rental game as it will only take you about 6 hours to beat but you will have fun if you like action, platforming, and driving stages in your games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good movie, BETTER game!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a Tron fan since the 80's, I couldn't wait to play this game after reading and watching the trailers. I normally think games made after movies are just "fan service", but this is one exception I think truly belongs as a video game (in fact, they could have made the game and not the movie in this case - lol. But no, both work together - that's the formula.)

My focus is on the experience of the gameplay, and how it meshes with the larger storyline of the Tron world. I rarely "complete" an entire game so I'm not concerned with how "long" it is, although I understand to many that's a big deal. After completing the levels, every additional hour must be considered "replay value" anyway.

Appearance/Graphics: To me, this was an amazing 3D experience. I was impressed by the crystal clear HD world that was created here. The ambience music/sound set the atmosphere, and I felt like I was "in" the movie, seeing some "missing scenes." I must critique the movie for a moment: between the product placement, and storyline about ISOs and programs running amuck and starting revolutions, the film characters and points were under-developed in some parts and they could/should have done a lot more with it, but they didn't. I think the game helps the movie a LOT.

Gameplay: running through the 3-D obstacle course, finding items, mastering tricky, advanced jumping moves, I was very satisfied with the tight, yet fluid controls and movements. The in-between hand-to-hand combat parts were exciting and kept me interested in learning the attack combos and various powerups in the game.

I like how the action is broken up between the exploration, the battles, the upgrading, the lightcycles, etc. Delivered all I expected, never got bored. Overall, great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

actually a good game.

posted by SteelCity (SAXONBURG, PA) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It drives me insane how many people feel the need to write a review (good or bad) after having played the game for a day or two. Or in one reviewers own words 3 minutes. Sometimes you need to let the game progress to really appreciate the game as a whole.

This game was quite entertaining once I really got into it. I myself said this game sucks about ten minutes into it but once you get comfortable with the controls (which are not clunky and difficult. They did a good job there. dont listen to the bad hype. Some people arent happy unless its easy for them.) online play was amusing enough to make me want to complete the trophies. Lightcycle multi was weak however.
I dont concern myself with graphics to much. If the game is fun I can look past it. Had obvious replay value in my opinion as I played through three times for the trophies. Once I played insane mode on my third time I was so comfortable with the gameplay I rolled through it in a day (hungover). Which is nice because some games are very frustrating on their top level game modes.
You really cant go wrong with this game as a rental. Glad I didnt purchase it, but hey thats what gamefly is here for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best looking 3D game I've played thus far!

posted by mattreed (SANTA CLARA, UT) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The 3d effect in this game is amazing and is more eye popping than Killzone 3, and Enslaved! Now the Cinematics graphics weren't as impressive but the gameplay had great graphics to show off the depth of 3d. 3d mixed with fast paced prince of persia style gameplay is fun, this is a game not to be missed if you are a fan of platforming. I recommend this for anyone with a 3d t.v. or if you're just a fan of your run of the mill prince of persia style game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a Rental if a Tron or Prince of Persia fan

posted by daone82 (FOND DU LAC, WI) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a fan of Xplay on G4 tv and agree with their rating of 2 out of 5 for "Tron Evolution". Their is nothing new as far as game play or style in this game. Levels repeat themselves as far as look and feel. Evidence was obvious when my mother watching me play the game said out load who doesn't even play games, "the levels look the same".

As frustrating as it is to play the game and derez [die] allot to advance and possibly beat the game, its satisfying to see how the game is an actual prequel to "Tron Legacy" and was satisfied to have the game referenced multiple times by Olivia Wilde in the film. The final cut scene of "Tron Evolution" is satisfying with Olivia Wilde walking away into the badlands. The game would have been possibly worth keeping if the developers would have included a feature in other games of being able to watch the cut scenes after completion in the main menu.

The biggest disappointment in the game is the final boss battle that feels lazy and sloppy in the single player campaign. The final boss battle is 6 enemies that keep re-spawning over 40 times.

The Multiplayer would be entertaining if their were actually more then 3 people at a time available for matches. It was a great idea and would like other games to have this feature of the advancing your character in multiplayer and cary over in the single player campaign.

In all honesty, a fan could save themselves allot of time and frustration and just youtube the cutscenes if wanting to see them without playing the game. Its worth a play if your a fan of prince of persia or possibly a tomb raider style of game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tron Universe and Platforming Lovers Only

posted by Chi_Rac (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First of all, I am a huge fan of the first Tron movie. I also LIKED the new Tron Legacy movie. There is no doubt that this game looks like settings of the Tron universe. There is not much variety (four or maybe five different looks), but if you are a fan of Tron you will like the look. The game is a button mashing platformer, plain and simple. The platforming is similar to Prince of Persia or Mirror's Edge, with wall running (sometimes annoying) and the like. It starts rather slowly and a bit boring. It gets better about two hours in with more variety and action (although still non-stop button mashing). I enjoyed the light cycles and even the SLOW tank driving, but the repetitive disk throwing got old about halfway through. Yes, there are different types of disks which definitely helped the action. But after a while, I was just trying to push through. The story was OK, no surprises. Some have said that it sets up Tron Legacy. I guess it does a little bit. SPOILER -- You find out that Quorra is really important (an ISO) and Clu has taken Flynn's instructions too literally, but that's about it as far as Tron Legacy goes.

I own the Playstation Move and would have liked to see what the entire game would have been like playing with the Move, but you can only play light cycle section independent of the main game.

If you really like Tron and platforming then you will like (not love) this game. If the wall running of games like Mirror's Edge or Prince of Persia annoy you then steer far from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The future is now.

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Dec 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I was hesitatnt to rent, Tron: Legacy, as i am not a big fan of Disney games/movies. But sadly i was suckered into it by friends. I rented. I played. I beat. And gladly..... I enjoyed. here's why:

Graphics/Sound: Both are crisp and very breathtaking. Not extremely good, like Fallout 3 or let's say, Modern Warfare series, but it still surprised me to see such well graphics on this game.

Storyline: So if it's so great, why did i give it a 8? Because the storyline was not just very good, but very SHORT and bugged me when it ended, although it ended with a good climax. Enough to please you for say.... well it took me a mere 2 days so....

Gameplay: Plays like a 3rd-Person action game, where you wield a variety of weapons- ranged and melee- against a variety of d enemies - terrifyingly difficult to laughibly easy- in a world where everything is not as it seems. gameplay is fresh and quite intense, something i have been looking for a long time now.

Conclusion: Rent it, definitly, and if you liked it enough to excuse the few quirks and the extrmeley short storyline then you should buy it. Have a happy Christmas though!

:foodndrink: from yours truly, Aragon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad...

posted by nyoPchu (MAULDIN, SC) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to playing this game and I will say that I wasn't too disappointed. The visuals were pretty good and the gameplay was not bad. However, this game was not great. I just sent it back earlier today without ever completing the game. The reason was because it did not maintain my attention. The whole point of the game is really just to witness the events that happened between Tron and Tron Legacy. Other than that, I did not see much purpose to the game other than wanting to know what it felt like to run around in Tron's world. Since there did not seem to be any basic plot to the game other than to trail Quora around and fight the infected, there just wasn't much motivation to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

TRONN

posted by romaniangamer (NEWINGTON, CT) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

game was good finished in 3 days, 5 hours each day. very graphic and story line good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A beautiful yet repetitive disappointment.

posted by Nobula (SUPERIOR, CO) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Single Player:

Essentially, apart from how pretty the game looks and how lush it sounds (when it doesn't glitch and cut the music track or sound effects), game design forces you to hop from cut scene to cut scene via a series of repetitive activities which often come between you and caring about the game or even the story. Only die-hard TRON fans will want to suffer through the jumping puzzles and endless fights to snag the next snippet of plot from the jaws of mediocre game play.

Here are the 5 activities this game presents in the guise of telling you a story, along with their frequency and fun factor:

1) Parkour - You'll spend 60% of the game running along the walls of the Grid, jumping over gaps and sling shotting yourself from red floating energy orbs in the sky. It might've been more fun if it didn't feel like an arbitrary way to get to the next cut scene—because you can't accurately gauge the distance between becomes a repetitive and frustrating exercise in trial and error.

2) Clear the Room fights - 35% of the time is spent throwing your identity disc at baddies and it's pretty gratifying. Thankfully, this portion of the game feels pretty good to do.

3) Driving a tank - 2% of the time, you'll get to literally have a blast in the tank. Some of my favorite and most highly destructive moments in the game - almost worth the price of admission.

4) Lightcycle run - 1% of the time you get a not-fun-at-all run at the lightcycle. Instead of trying to kill your opponents on the Grid ala the movie, you're dodging potholes as you try to out run things.

5) Cut Scenes - 2% of the game are these. They're the reason I stuck with the game.

Multiplayer:

This mode of the game offers slightly more promise than the single-player campaign. There's a slight nod to role playing mechanics as you can unlock various upgrades to use in "The Game Grid" against other players and the modes you want are here: Tank, Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Lightcycle, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good story marred by bad controls, camera

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Dec 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

"TRON: Evolution" should have been a great game. Sadly, it falls short of the mark. On the plus side, the story is fairly well done, making a nice bridge between the 1982 original and "TRON: Legacy". Those who aren't familiar with the movie may feel a little lost, but let's face it, those playing this game are most likely well versed in the TRON universe. The graphics are fairly good, though the character models look slightly off. Voice acting is well done, with several cast members (Though, sadly, no Jeff Bridges) reprising their roles from the film. Now we come to why the game scores lower than perhaps it should have, namely the slippery controls and bad camera angles. Both of these are the bane of any game's platforming sequences, and here they lead to far too many cheap deaths. Combat is just okay, with the ability to switch between disc types on the fly, but it does get repetitive. The vehicle segments should have been fun but fail as well- the light cycle bits consist of go fast and avoid falling stuff, and the light tanks are awkward to control and have a slow rate of fire. The game is also fairly short- its seven chapters will take you only 5-7 hours, depending on your skill level. There's multiplayer for those who go for that, and from what I've read it fares slightly better than the solo campaign. All in all, this is a rental only, and rent only for the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My review of Tron

posted by wldcatxx (LOUISVILLE, KY) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I had this game for 1 week and the most exciting moment was when I anticipated opening the game case. The game itself is full of pretty lights and graphics and no substance. You’re initially bouncing off of walls the entire game and you occasionally use the bike or a tank to fight in. The storyline is really weak and it does not appear to have any thought behind actual gameplay. Within 30 minutes of playing the game your get bored from seeing cheesy deaths from bouncing off of walls and using matrix effects. I did not even try to beat the game or keep it because it was so repetitive in the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Missed Opportunity

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tron Evolution has good graphics going for it and nothing else.
You play a security monitor program in the old Master Control computer from the original movie. One of the head programs in the computer starts a revolt. It is up to you to stop him by slinking around the back alleys of the system. Most of the game is rips off the wall running tactics of Prince of Persia and does a poor job of it. Your character is a chore to control. Cheap deaths await you around every corner.
Every now and again, you get to control a light cycle or a light tank in a vain attempt to break up the lousy wall running sequences. Neither vehicle is fun or enjoyable.
Any one who loves the original Tron film or played the far superior Tron 2.0 game should avoid this game. Wait for the new movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tron...almost as good as the original

posted by bdo420 (RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, CA) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great graphics, definitely nice on hi def screens with an HDMI, but the overall gameplay leaves a lot to be desired. They should have made light cycles available from the very beginning, rather than require a lot of running around having disc battles. All in all, not a bad title, but I would have rather had the original with updated graphics. There really was no need to creatre a whole new path, just stick with the goods. Like they say "you don't fix what ain't broken."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by gametap84 (BETHEL, CT) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can understand how this game did not light up to everyones expectations and of course everyone is entitled to an opinion. Before you go judging this game as awful, play it yourself first, you may like it. Reviews do help but I can find that sometimes a critic may rate it as awful but that may be only because the game did not meet up to there demands and expectations. Try it out yourself first then decide. Above all great game, great gameplay great everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by blackastro (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

the game was fun and i think all kids should be able to play this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Wow !! This game was just awful !! I played the first 2 mins and deleted this junk from my PS3 !
When I seen the low reviews I did not want to believe this game was trash since I needed a game to play until I receive my first 2 games !! unfortunately these low scores seem right ...

Sorry but its hard to trust gamers who are giving the high scores next to the title COD black ops .

Camera controls where the worst !! Graphics not that great !! physics when jumping felt goofy !! 2011 seems to have all the good games !!

2010 you will not be missed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by Drewster07 (HENDERSON, NV) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Best. Video game. EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Bad & Boring

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Overview
=================
In giving full disclosure I only played about 30 minutes of the campaign and one online match. The game is very average at best in almost every way. If you are a huge Tron fan I'd rent it. I can't see anyone else even renting this game....certainly not buying it.

Pros
=============
1) really can't think of any unless you love Tron

Cons
=============
1) graphics are just okay
2) game play is repetitive
3) online was not fun at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WELCOME... TO THE SUCK

posted by DangerGuy (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Prepare to be dazzled for exactly ten seconds, and then bored beyond belief. What we have here is essentially Prince of Persia Sands of Time inside of a computer. The computer-ness of the enviroment means that absolutely every single location is completely identicle. The pattern of climbing puzzles followed by street fights with enemies followed by more climbing puzzles and more street fights can go on for what seems like two hours per level. And it's a monatenous two hours. This game is as if somebody sucked all the fun out of Spider-Man 2 on the PS2 and injected Tr2n Legacy into it. Booooooooring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by 96ultra (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

A must rent,disney really surprised me on this one,can't wait to see the move,anything different is good in my eyes!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow !

posted by lollol (CHELSEA, MA) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

wow this game is bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brought back from old school...

posted by multak (NORTH CONWAY, NH) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Best game ever!

10/10 graphics
10/10 story
12/10 game play
10/10 online multi
11/10 everything else

Look just rent this game its so awesome even just buy words cant describe...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hate this game

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

i want to love this game so bad but so bad i cant handle it the control is aweful the camera is everywhere other words bad but the game play & graphics its ok you will die alot in this game because your character cant jump has good. the some enemy can make u mad they do the same move over & over tell u fall off the edge even when you try dodge there move they still hit you haven't try online because i know its dead but think god i didn't try it. If you going rent it or buy it don't trust me don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tron.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since May 2012

If you love Tron, then you'll love this game. It is a prequel to the movie. It is very stylized and looks, sounds amazing. The game is short. The game is great when you think that Disney owns the rights, then it is the best Disney released game for adults. I felt the game was rushed to be released and could have been an amazing game, the following for Tron was small and the movie didn't have the following that Disney was hoping for, so not enough was done with this game, but still, in my opinion, an amazing game. Worth a rent, not worth $60 new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse