Rent Tron: Evolution - Battle Grids for Wii
view large frontback

Tron: Evolution - Battle Grids

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.9

391 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is the Wii version of Tron, expect it as much

posted by JohnnyDark (SANTA FE SPRINGS, CA) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I really dont think people should complain that this Wii version is not like the PS3 or Xbox version, because its a Wii! Of course its not like the PS3 version thats just plain dumb to expect it to be is absurd. Having got that out of the way, judging this version for what it offers, it is basically the cartoonized version of Tron which is not so bad since I hear Disney is making a cartoon series for Tron sort of in the style of clone wars. On big advantage this version has over the PS3 (which ive played) is that you can actually drive lightcycles in races on grids, in battles with cpu or online including cockpit views. This version also has games based on the original tron movie including the jai lai like game. So if you have a wii enjoy this version for what it offers and if you want photo realism go get a ps3 and play it on that. Or if you have both like me the two versions compliment eachother not overlap. so give it a break.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Worth Battling it out on These Grids

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With the release of the movie Tron: Legacy, I was pumped to play the gamed associated with the movie.
As I was playing the Wii version, Tron: Evolution Battle Grids, I felt like this was just a childish version of the PS3 or 360 game Tron: Legacy, and it doesn’t follow the movie at all.
And with that, almost all excitement I had about playing the game disappeared.
The Wii version is more of a party type game compilation where you compete with 3 other players in Tron based games.
Games like the Light Cycle arena mode, the Disc or Tank battle, the toss the glowing ball so your opponent can’t catch it.
However, 8 of the 15 available games are locked, and in order to unlock them, you will have to go through the Story Mode.
What’s wrong with that? Well, there isn’t much of a story in Story Mode.
Here, you play as an ISO program - a computerized guy or gal - who is on a quest to become champion of the Tron Games. To do so, you wander about several stages and compete in games against the AI.
Win and you move the story along to the next section. Lose, and you’ll have to play that game again.
This tale got so bland that I lost interest an hour into playing the game. There’s no grand threat or conspiracy to take over the land; it’s just you playing in games against the AI. Good thing this mode only lasts between three to five hours.
And the games aren’t that great; the Light Cycle can take too long, the tank and disc battling game is nothing more than dodge and mash that B button, and the catch game with the glowing ball can get irritating for some players.
You can use your winnings in Story Mode to buy different equipment or outfits, but that didn’t have much of an effect on overall gameplay.
This is just a weak excuse to take money from you; they should’ve just given us the same game as the PS3/360 crowd. But they didn’t - and at $50, Tron: Evolution Battle Grids isn’t worth it. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by Watermelonman (MINNETONKA, MN) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Tron evolution battle grids is a great game for you and the gamer! There are so many different options for multiplayer gameplay, you can customize your own program with the character customizer, and can use that character in story mode! The only bad things are that the graphics could use a touch up and the story mode should be extended, other than that this game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the tron game for the nintendo wii

posted by anne36 (OMAHA, NE) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

tron for the nintendo wii was super hard and couldnt play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cool game

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This was amazing beacause of the wepons and gripics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game, Bad compatibility

posted by Jburnualive (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I don't think this has been acclimated to run with the wii. I liked the game itself, for a console other then wii. I would rather something along the lines of using the wii motion capabilities for disk battles and things like that. could have done better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!!!

posted by CocoMonkey (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

CocoMonkey liked this game. CocoMonkey felt like he was in the game battling with lightdisks and riding lightcycles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

tron review

posted by jordan24152415 (LAKESIDE, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

coolest game ever im gonna order it over and over and over again you should to XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a joke!

posted by DrThor (TAMPA, FL) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

This game is an insult to the Tron legacy! Poor graphics, terrible soundtrack and boring gameplay. Don't even bother renting. What a waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Matters what you like to play?

posted by TwistWii123 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

If your a LOVER of party games to go head to head with friends this is the game for u... but if your the type of person who is a story mode type dont try the game the story mode is pretty short it took me about two hours to finish it but other games it takes a few days,the controls are nice except light disk,you would exspect in light disk to hold down a button and move the remote but thats not case here you only hit a button,takes some of the reality out of it yea in story mode when you ride your light cycle you fall off into the woods thats the only suprising thing that got me after that not much excitment except lossig doing tank battles which i didnt like very much the,only thing i found fun about the game is probly the light cycles which you can adjust but the cons are its really good game to play with freinds other then that if your a story mode person DONT try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth $60

posted by Chaztastic (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game was very cool...for about ten minutes. I played through a few of the Grid Games and once was enough. I'm sad that I wasted a rental on it and it has no re-play value...NO ONE RENT OR BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE GAME SUCKS BIG TIME!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I PLAYED THIS GAME FOR HALF HOUR & I THOUGHT IT SUCKED SO I SENT IT BACK. I WOULD LIKE ANOTHER GAME TO RENT ALRIGHT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »