Rent Trivial Pursuit for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Trivial Pursuit

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
5.9

1426 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

This should have been either XBL game or $19.99!!!

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

As usual my reviews contain the GOOD and the BAD of the game, with a final thought aswell, enjoy.

=========
The good
=========

1. The facts and friends mode is good because it allows everyone to have fun, in otherwords no one will have a sub par score.

2. Good to see this on xbox, should have been done sooner.

3. overall it is a fun game that is a good match for family night or things of that nature, also a party game.

=======
THE BAD
=======

1.No xbox live!!!! OMG why why why, what is EA doing? First monopoly now this game? is this the standard for ea games like this?
Just amazing!

2. The single player game is just silly, you will get repeat questions and over time you can memorize them all.

3. Cost too much, should be $20 however thats not too much of an issue when you rent it from gamefly.

=============
Final thought
=============

This game just doesnt do what it should, I would suggest renting this ONLY if you have nothing else to play OR you really really like TP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Xbox Live Play!

posted by LordMaker (OTTAWA HILLS, OH) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its TP as you know it.

Some neat modes.

Easy Achievements, for the most part.

Can play with 4 people on 1 controller.

Some questions repeat, and other are just asked different ways.

The free movie pack, asks way too many questions about foreign films.

NO XBOX LIVE PLAY... CMON?

Rent, enjoy, send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unless You Have a Group Do Not Rent

posted by XclntONE (PORTLAND, TN) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game DOES NOT have an online multiplayer mode. Unless you have 3 or 4 people at home wanting to play it is not fun. It has a single player mode that gets old after 20 minutes as you are just trying to clear the board. Not competing against bots. This may be a fun party game but the questions are very easy and the lack of online pretty much kills it out of the blocks in this day in age.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun just like scene it

posted by CaLiGaMeRs (SOLEDAD, CA) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Im hooked this is the 1st time playin TP n its so much fun n has easy Achievements i got 700 ach.points.has alot of ?'s i havent ran into the same ? n i played over 15 games so far i didnt think this game was gonna b good but boy was i wrong!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trivial Pursuit

posted by MetalJihad (ALGONQUIN, IL) May 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

Not a bad game. Very different from the actual board game which I liked. Wasn't a big fan of the questions that you had to pick a location on a map to answer. The first two times I played it I loved it, after that it didn't seem that much fun to me anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blah

posted by DSB1978 (COOLIDGE, AZ) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game was not so fun...waste of time imo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as fun as its predecessor

posted by Lajon18 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

Several years ago there was a trivial pursuit game for the original Xbox, it had the voices of Whoopi Goldburg and Gilbert Godfrey...and others....This new game lacks any extras you might expect from a newer console title. This would have been better as a cheap download for 360 marketplace. I wouldn't waste my time with this game unless you are a die hard fan of Trivial Pursuit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment

posted by BoyMuzik (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Cons outweigh the Pros unfortunately

Pros: Nice graphics, very nice presentation, tons and tons of questions (I only got 3-4 repeats and I played for almost 24 hours off and on for a couple days) Can be quite fun if you can find a couple friends that are either interested or good enough to play with.

Cons: NO Online Multiplayer!!! Seriously, folks, WHY? This has potetial to be a great game with some multiplayer action. You basically ruin the game without this option.

In my opinion, just not worth it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Rental!

posted by JaimeHell (SPARTANBURG, SC) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is pretty cool. Basic graphics like you would expect from a game of this type. Some downloadable content, NO ONLINE MULTIPLAYER is a real let down. Some of the questions are REALLY challenging, but whether you get the question right or wrong, be ready for A LOT of negative feedback from the in game commentary. Overall a decent rental, especially if you have people to play with you for a nice game nite party.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved it. Good family fun

posted by Cory4040 (MORGAN, TX) Jul 17, 2009

Member since May 2008

I decided to rent this title so I could get my families foot into the door of gaming. My mom and even my grandmother enjoyed this game. It's got some great questions and we had a blast as a family playing it. That being said the graphics were what you would expect. After all its not gears 2 or COD4. Its a game based on a board game. Sound was fun with the little noises your pieces make when they move. I have very few complaints about the game but here they are.

Ya better have enough controllers for everyone in the room if you all want achievements. You cant share a controller and simply be logged in which i guess is more of a problem with the 360 than the game but still kinda annoying having to pass it around.

and of course....no online. I read the reviews on this before getting it and thought everyone was just being whiny lillte girls about this but after playing it i have to agree and online mode would definitely give the game more replay value. Sometimes i play uno online to get a break from gears 2 or fable 2 so this would have been a nice relaxing game to play online. overall i say if ya got a family and you want em to play with you get this game otherwise rent it, score some achievements and return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Trivial Pursuit: One Flaw Kills this Game

posted by Zamazain (ASHBURN, VA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

The gameplay of Trivial Pursuit is pretty basic and works as it should, and it should work---it's Trivial Pursuit--not a complex first person shooter or strategy game requiring complicated gameplay and graphics.
However---Trivial Pursuit has one GIANT flaw---NO ONLINE OPTION. Trivial Pursuit at home with friends is fun because of the FRIENDS as much as it is the interesting trivia, but the makers of this game didn't take advantage of Xbox Live and the 21st century to make that happen. They should take lessons from what 1 vs. 100 is doing on xbox live and follow that model.
So--if you have people to play with at home, this game may work for you, but if you are hoping to get your trivia on against other online bookworms, don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but. .

posted by folger1up (TOPEKA, KS) May 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

A great trivia game in the vein of Scene It, but the major tragedy in its production is that there's no Xbox live feature

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, lazy mans version of the original game

posted by SLASTER (MELVINDALE, MI) May 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Fun to play but only if you have 2 or more people to play with since its not online playable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trivial Pursuit

posted by Cyrax0034 (MANDAN, ND) May 10, 2009

Member since May 2009

The game isnt amazing or mind blowing. However, it is playable and does have a few questions that will stump you. There is no online play and the three modes the game does have become very lame after playing them only a couple of times. The best aspect that this game offers is that it is verry easy to gain all 1000 achievements in only a few hours. The achievements only force you to play the games 3 modes about seven times. In short this game is tolerable however i would not recomend it to any of my friends than to boost their gamerscore

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should've been better

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

Trivial Pursuit has some pretty good games and has a show, but this new game for the 360 is just terrible. One HUGE reason this game is bad is that it has NO multiplayer what so ever. And with a multiplayer game that doesnt make any sense at all. The only online you could argue about this game is that it has DLC. Which i didnt feel like trying out, so youll have to try it out for yourself. Another big weird thing about this game is the questions are absolutely bizare sometimes. There really should be a type of difficulty mode so if your bad at trivia games you could still play without getting really mad. And one of the things that can get you a bit mad is that everytime you get a question wrong the host person says a really dumb comment about how much you suck at the game. But he also says good things if you get questions right. Besides that everything else in the game is basically the same as the board game and the TV show. As a protest to bad games that easily could've and should've been good, dont rent this game at all unless you love Trivial Pursuit. Same with Monopoly which shouldve been much better. Dont even bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Better have a friend

posted by Tiddles (GOLDEN, CO) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

If you get this and you live by yourself it's horrible. There's only one game for me to play. All the others, including the classic game, requires at least 1 friend to play with. There's no Xbox live connection so the game gets boring in under a day. Some of the questions get repeated and there's no lines on the maps for geography. Only rent this if you have people to play with or you'll be bored quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good Game, Bad Mechanics

posted by sargerob (BELLEVUE, NE) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The game questions were very good. We never had a question twice. However, the boxes that display the question is very small. Also, the graphics during game movement get very annoying when you just want to play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by dolphin23 (BOTHELL, WA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Family of 4 played this, had fun with it too. Was easier to use our controllers and sit where we wanted than have to be huddled around a table or all on the floor. We liked how the placed to move were lit up, makes for faster gameplay. It's easier than the actual game though, since you have multiple choice answers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

just lame.

posted by destrozero (CENTRAL ISLIP, NY) Mar 18, 2009

Member since May 2007

really not very fun at all. no live sucks, plus some of the questions were ridiculous., what xbox person knows about foreign films? not even worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »