Rent Trivial Pursuit for PS3
view large frontback

Trivial Pursuit

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.2

1101 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then expected

posted by MrDanTheo (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The main thing I was worried about when getting this game was if there would be enough questions. I've played for about a total of 15 hours with family and friends and have only seen a repeat question once. And the question was given with pictures the 2nd time around so it wasn't completely the same.

Besides the usual classic mode there are a couple other ways to play which I prefer more. If you are looking for a family game this one is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very fun

posted by victorb1 (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is alot of fun even as a One player game.This game was also alot of fun at a party ,if you are old enough to read you're old enough to have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay, but a bit dull

posted by new2hies (ROCKTON, IL) Sep 17, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is what it is, a board game on a tv screen, really nothing else.
the questions are okay, but sometimes they are too hard because they don't explain things correctly (and in the map segments they don't even show borders and names) so, it's okay, but if you have to board game, or the ps2 game, play that instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Balanced.

posted by LetsJet (FLORENCE, AL) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This version of Trivial Pursuit is really balanced. I was worried that it would be too easy because the questions are multiple choice, but they are about right. My wife and I get though it in about 30-45 mins and we are usually a pie or two apart. We flat know the answer about 70% of the time. So with the remaining 30% of the questions we have to try to figure it out. Overall, very balanced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

love this game

posted by tystik1983 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

me and my girl can sit for hours and play this stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Go with Monopoly, but this IS fun multiplayer

posted by Oblivius11 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You can pass around one controller with Trivial Pursuit which is a plus
these board games are fun to play with others and only have 1 controller. No peices, no cards, no bending over the board (I'm fat so this can be painfull), no paper money and most of all-->no guessing about the rules. Monopoly has a better single player experience though. I compare these 2 for obvious reasons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Trivial Pursuit

posted by Deanrose (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Personally, I love this game. It's fun and challenging. One major downside is no on-line multiplayer. In this day and age if you don't have that you might as well go back to ATARI. It has three variations of play. Two of which are multiplayer. If you like trivia this is the game for you, especially if you like gathering trophies!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

not a smart game....

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

but hey I got my 9th platinum.... great for trophies... but it felt more like I was doing homework again :-(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2 or more people!

posted by Cassey (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I played the game by myself.... It was pretty boring. But when my boyfriend got involved it was so fun. Not to mention we're both EXTREMELY competitive! lol We were up for HOURS playing.....S/N: It's not for kids, the game is WAY to hard for them!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy Platinum and Fun + Educational

posted by alifestyle (BROOMFIELD, CO) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Even though I played alone as 4 players, with a laptop and Google handy, it was super fun an educational. An easy Platinum trophy for one nights work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Trivial Pursuit

posted by dkhage1 (CORONA, CA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I liked this game alot. The questions are good and difficult. The only problem I have with it is that after a while they ask the same questions over and over again and it gets a little annoying. Other then that a great game.

Overall a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good adaptation of the board game

posted by Torque (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Often board games with trivia answers don't seem to translate well to video game format. They have done a decent job with this one however in making an adaptation of the original. In particular the facts and friends and clear the board modes are welcome changes from the original play mode and allow much quicker games to be played.
However, some of the questions had answers that seemed to be a bit subjective and in a normal person to person game some leeway would be taken. Also some of the map questions zoomed into a level with no clear defining boarders and made it somewhat difficult to distinguish exact location.
As far as the trophies go, they are quite tough to get 100% without cheating, since they require you to never make a mistake in some situations.
All said, if you want a game to play with your family or friends, this is a good choice. Really the biggest down side of this game is you will get tired of it very quickly. In fact it took longer to get it in the mail than it did for us to wear it out and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Family Fun

posted by NCarolina (BURLINGTON, NC) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

We thought this was a fun game especially if you like the regular board game. The only thing we didn't like is for the geography questions, the maps they used were not clear so it was hard to tell exactly where it was pointing (couldn't see the outline of the states or countries)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Board games on gaming systems are boring!

posted by askewman (CHINO, CA) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Not very fun. So far, I haven't played a board game on Wii or PS3 that was as fun as the O.G. If you love Trivial Pursuit, don't rent this game. Also, stay away from Family Game Night. I made the mistake of buying that one before I played it. Board games on video systems tend to over complicate things. Monopoly is not as fun when you can't hold the money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Hard

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jul 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

This game could have been alot better. The questions are too hard and I found myself guessing alot which makes the game take forever. There should be some kind of difficulty level selection. Also, I got repeat questions on my 2nd session. I'm not sure how many questions theyre are but shouldn't be getting repeats so soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

trivial pursuit

posted by adamzgamez (ROCKY MOUNT, VA) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

it is what it is and a little more. its trivial pursuit with up to date questions, not those old ones where all the old folks stomp you at a battle of wits. with current questions and the use of pictures and maps, the questions seem even easier, yet you are still left feeling like you might not be as smart as you wish you were. other than the brain boosting and occassional ego lift, the best part may be the facts and friends mode where you compete against up to three of your own friends which is great entertainment for at least a couple of back to back games. due to the massive amount of questions, there is a great deal of playabillity and the trophies/achievements available will have you coming back for more for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's just ok.

posted by kingskid (TALKING ROCK, GA) May 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

I like trivial pursuit and would have enjoyed this game much more if it would have had a few more features. When it gives you the map it doesn't tell you the name of the cities or the countries that you are supposed to choose from and although a lot of very educated people may know where things are at, I am not one of them. A few more features could have made it more user friendly. I also think there should be levels, easy, medium, hard so that you could play it with your children and grandchildren as well. Not worth purchasing without these changes for me. I love gamefly because it gives you the opportunity to check it out before you purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PS2 version is still better

posted by jannaliiaj (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) May 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

The game is ok, but its still no where near as good as the PS2 version of Trivial Pursuit Unhinged. The PS2 version is longer and harder but far more playable and more fun with the unhinged rules.

The map segments are fun but sometimes you have no idea where the pin is supposed to be. The timeline sections are ok but 9/10 times someone gets it right by just guessing a bit past the middle.

In short, its and ok game, but if you have a PS2 get Trivial Pursuit Unhinged instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Board Game.............

posted by MegaDoomer (KINGSVILLE, TX) May 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

What else can I say, its just your average board game. Tried it out cause didn't know what to check out. There really isn't much to it, if you enjoy Trivial Pursuit then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Brain Drain

posted by evovled (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I got this for the platinum and with the help of wikapedia and google I got it done in 6 days...this game is good for family when i did play by the rules..basically either you know the answeror you dont!...Best part of game is the betting, you can tell what your opponent really think of your smarts based on how they bet against you all the time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay game If you happen to belong to MENSA

posted by xteam213 (ROME, NY) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

The questions are hard, sometimes bordering on insane. The map questions are terrible. They only give you a green blob of a map, no country borders or names. Also, some questions are factually inaccurate- the first country to give women the right to vote was New Zealand, not Norway as the game states.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »