Rent Trivial Pursuit for Wii
view large frontback

Trivial Pursuit

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
5.5

760 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Could Have Been Better.

posted by ChrisL628 (NORTH GRAFTON, MA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game that had the potential to be a good game, but it missed the mark on some crucial areas. Here is a list of my three major complaints.

1. Hard to read questions.
This seems like it would be an important part of a trivia game. Most of your time is spent answering questions, you would think they would not overlook this problem. I have a decent size T.V. and in order to read the questions I had to leave them comfort of my couch and sit within a few feet of my Television to read the questions. This is due to the very small text that is black and also because it is on a very dark background.

2. No Mii integration
I definitely thought they would of incorporated the use of Miis. One of my favorite trivia games of all time "Smarty Pants" was published by EA and it had the ability to use Miis. This seems like a no-brainer to me.

3. No online multiplayer
Online play adds a lot of replay value to any game in my opinion because it adds so much depth to the game. To not include it in a game that is geared towards multiple people playing at once is foolish. I don't know about everyone else but it is pretty challenging to get three of my friends together to play.

This game had some good qualities like; multiple choice questions, the use of a map for geography questions, some good game play variations and a pretty accurate representation of the actual board game. It is to bad the developers were so lazy. This could have been a much better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, bad font

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) May 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's extremely hard to read any of the words, other than that, everything is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Strong on Trivia

posted by ShelterDug (OAK HARBOR, WA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As in the title, I found this one strong on the trivia depth. Very much the essence of Trivial Pursuit. The variations of play and of question decks were also intriguing and enjoyable. The only real problem I had with this game was the difficulty in reading the text for the questions, gameplay hints, etc. I have a large TV and this is the first time I really had to work to read what was on the screen. Otherwise, a briefly enjoyable game that would be great for any self-styled trivia buff to check out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rent a spot on this "Pursuit"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Trivia Pursuit has been around for - quite some time. No other board game I can think of mixes fun with knowledge. Players race around the board to pick up the six wedges and back to the center.
A lot of what makes the game great is put into the Wii version of Trivia pursuit; you get to go around the board by simply flicking the Wiimote to roll the die and pointing to the highlighted square you want to go to.
There's some great visual questions that isn't in the original board game.
But there are some limitations here.
First off, typing in your answer is tough to do with the Wiimote, so the questions are answered via multiple choice. True fans of the game might be turned off by this feature.
Also, Trivia Pursuit is meant to be played multi player. The half baked attempt at single player by clearing the board just doesn't work for me.
And I would've like a bunch of different genres - not just the Genius edition and the Movie Pack.
Still, if you're a fan of the game, and you've got some friends, Trivia Pursuit for the Wii is fun - it just doesn't quite live up to the classic board game. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK, but not a good multiplayer version

posted by drgldy76 (GREENVILLE, SC) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

It was okay when I played by myself, but when it was with someone else it kept having problems. The classic version was okay, but the quick multiplayer version had some tasks that wouldn't respond with the remotes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unplayable

posted by DoctorScar (GREELEY, CO) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

As some other reviews have pointed out, the text in the game is way too small. On my 47 inch HDTV, I could barely make out the writing. Of course the entirety of the gameplay is based on answer trivia questions, which are not read to you, but written in that small font. Why the game makers would not include an option to change font size is a mystery.

This is far from the only problem with the game. The hosts commentary gets old very fast, and the controls are difficult to pick up. Some questions require you to drag a slider using the B button, then hit A when you choice is set. Hit A accidentally first, and you get the question wrong.

A much better quiz like game for the Wii is Scene It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very disappointing

posted by stevejer (UNDERWOOD, IA) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I signed on specifically so I could write how much I hate and loathe and despise this game, which was tres disappointing, given how much I love A) Trivial Pursuit the board game and B) Wii games in general. I hated the annoying "you're a loser" commentary. I hated the insane giggling the character did at every question. I hated the butt ugly, Mii-less little figures they made you play with (better to have no persona at all; just use game tokens). I hated hated hated the fact that EVERYTHING turned into a geography question with the horrible, impossible to interpret maps. (I know where "The OC'' is set! I know where "Bridget Jones" is set! I know where Jean-Bertrand Aristide was president! I just can't read your clinically insane maps.) This was possibly the least entertaining experience I've had with a Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hate japaneese movies

posted by LOKI60 (EUGENE, OR) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

the annoying voice telling me what a loser i was for sucking at trivial pursuit was bad. what really hacked me off was the extremely high percentage of movie questions about japaneese movies. yeah, i know, the wII is made by a japaneese company, but i really don't care for their movies. sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK game, tough questions

posted by granmamab (Owings Mills, MD) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Game is OK. You have to sit close to TV to see and read questions. The questions are too tough for kids and can also be for adults. But other than that it is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good if you like the board game

posted by ryandanzig (ROUND ROCK, TX) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

i'm not really good at the board game but this is very similar and my girlfriend really liked it, no need to setup or maintain the board game and it's not cheesy like the monopoly game, i would have to say good overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Chinese Trivial Pursuit?

posted by gruber (PELLA, IA) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I thought this game would be decent, but then I was noticing that a majority of the questions were about asian films.. not ones that were in america even! DONT BUY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Had the potential...kind of disappointed though

posted by WePlayHere (FORT HUACHUCA, AZ) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Like the other reviewers wrote, the type, etc on the screen was horribly small. I also have a large screen TV and had to stand close to read the questions. Also, if the questions were long, you had to rush to choose an answer before time ran out.

I like the timers though for the most part, as in the actual game, you get stuck with how long to give people to answer. The timer made the game go faster.

I also like mutiple choice option for answers instead of having to type or something.

Overall, the game was pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Graphics suck on this game

posted by sjason (EDGEWATER, MD) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

If you dont mind sitting a foot away from your TV screen to see the words and directions, you can deal with this game.

This was the only way to see how to play, how to pick your player.

VERY VERY POOR GAME

I am returning it the same day I got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game, tough questions.

posted by iheartcars (EVERETT, WA) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

For my family this game is just a little tough. The questions are even difficult for me not including my children. If this is getting rented for adults alone, pretty good game. Too tough for younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by Dudemanjak (VERONA, WI) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Played the multi-player out of the box with a group, we all had a lot of fun. Was not a huge fan of the "lightning" round format, but the regular version was good. The best part about it was it didn't take nearly as long as opening up the old box. Plus, the questions were more up to date than the last time I bought the board game. Good solid party type game, better than most other board game converts for Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by olorin (CRANSTON, RI) May 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

Worst rendition of the gam I have ever come across.
Ridiculous questions (it's called trivia, not minutiae) and idiotic animations. What was supposed to be a fun time with friends ended up being 2o mnutes of frustration and boredom.

Way to go Nintendo...you yet again make me regret buying the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by NapalmDad (ELK CITY, OK) May 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

Me and my wife play a lot of the TP boardgames. We saw this at the local gamestore and rented it. It is an all around great trivia game for the wii. I love the different stats that scroll along the bottom of the screen during a game. And the picture questions are another great addition. We are thinking of buying this we like it so much.

Give it a try, if you like TP and other trivia boardgames you will enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ask yourself one question?

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Apr 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

The question you need to access yourself before playing this game is if you the trivial pursuit board game. If you do I think you will find yourself enjoying this game. Their is lots of random facts in here that make the game plenty difficult. It is slightly easier to get the answers right though because it is multiple choice. Even though on some of the map question you have to pinpoint an exact location on a completely blank map without any state or country lines.
To win the game you need to collect the tiles that we are all used to in trivial pursuit. You do not get a whole tile just by guessing one question right though. You get a third of tile with every question you get right.The game also throws a little twist in their to were you can bet on if you think the other person will be able to get the question correct or not. If you are correct on your bet you get a 6th of a tile peice. Each colour can only be earned by one person, then once all the tiles are collected you go into a final round. For each tile you collected you can get one additional answer wrong. So you continue until you run out of chances and the last person standing wins.
One element to the game I found annoying was the ability to steal peices from other players. You can land on chance spaces in the game which means some random challenge is supposed to occur. What happens though is almost every time its a steal tile challenge. It just made it a little frustrating that you can dominate than have someone be able to steal your tiles so easily. Other things it could benefit from is online play but local play is still fun. In short though if you like trivial pursuit pick this one up for at least a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You've Come A Long Way Baby!

posted by SprayPaint (ANAHEIM, CA) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I remember playing this game back when it first came out as a board game (I know I'm dating myself here - whats a board game?), I have to say it has come a long way since then, and this version adds a lot to the original game play, It was mentioned in another review that it does lack some favorable features like (Mii Support, and Online Play) it is still worth buying, at least for the adults. It says everyone but the questions are generally geared at those over 16 that have really had some experiences in life, more so for those 25 and up.

Our main concern is the Questions were hard to read, however that can be fixed by adjusting your contrast on the TV, or move closer. It does make it a little harder to play but in our opinion its still worth getting. Well as long as you like trivia (but that has always been the case for any Trivial Pursuit game).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »