Rent Trinity Universe for PS3
view large frontback

Trinity Universe

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $39.99

GF Rating
5.9

984 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good JRPG Fun

posted by expertcoder (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Playing this is playing homage to your tyipcal JRPG genra. A difference is the characters are animated a bit so you can see them do things like wink and breathe, and so forth. Gameplay wise is limit dungeon structure of running around random dungeons searching for treasure. Game balance is you'll be able to beat the dungeon itself easily hands down then get into a fight with a fiend and its either escape or game over. You can be literally 15+ levels ahead and the fiend will bite your head off be warned. It's not a forgiving game in that regard. Graphics are 3-d modelled and they are alright, certainly not taxing the current system by any means. Is it ugly? Not ugly but not graphically amazing either. Lagging a bit behind cuurrent tech. If you like an old-schoolish game that doesn't take itself seriously give this a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game for a Great Genre from a great Company!

posted by TaurenBK12 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Okay this game is awesome you play as one of two characters, Kanata the Demon Dog King, or Rizelea, the Valkyrie. The game is set in a area of void space named, The Neitheruniverse, where all sorts of objects float to. The battle system at first looks very unoriginal, but after finishing all the tutorials it gets really intresting. It depends on how your fighting style is. You use different types of attacks, Rush Blow, Mighty Blow, or Magic Attack pretty much. The intresting part is you press the buttons that are assigned to them in a random order but you can create combos that make super attacks if you hit them in the right order depending on your weapon. Characters also have their own special moves just for them that can do massive damage strung together. You can also waste even less AP by making the chain connect like; O, O, X, X, Square, Square, activates a super attack and then add three more Sqaures and it makes the rush combo with 18 less AP spent. The item creation can be difficult but it also shows you that you need to do more dungeon exploring and drifting to get what you need. Managraphics on your weapons are also a cool feature that allows you to make your weapon deal a specfic type of elemental damage and create a specific type of mana. The character design is great and the story is fantasic with silly and serious moments but it still has the feel of a good NISA game. Nippon Ichi Software, (Makers of the Disgaea Series) and Gust Incorporated, (Makers of the Alchemist series) have come together to make one of the best JRPGs of it's time rivaling Pokemon Red and Blue. At least try it out it is a fun experience and it isn't the ending until the last dungeon is solved and all your characters are level 9999. The cap in all Disgaea games Nippon Ichi Software brought the best of their games with them. I wish I could have told you more but I'm running out of characters. There is so much I haven't even scratched the surface! I hope you have as much fun as I am!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Trinity Universe

posted by Tatsu77 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I found the title to quite entertaining. The battle system was fun and unique. I give Trinity Universe an 8/10. There are a few small things that bothered me about the game though, first the totally disproportnate skills of the dounge bosses. You would be 15 to 20 levels higher then the dungeon. Killing monsters easily go fight the boss, especially if this was an event battle, and watch as everyone in your party dies in a matter of minutes. The other things that I didn’t like about this game is the item scheme, vendors never really sold items unless they were so outdated that they were worthless. Thus you had to syntheses all of your items. Finding the materials for this endeavor was a challenge that required massive amounts of time spent running in circles over and over again to get an item that’s only slightly better then what you currently have. I stopped playing the game when all of my characters were level 60 I did an event boss fight and within 3 full turns everyone was dead… I would like to note this was in a level 41 dungeon. The reason I was level 60 in a 41 dungeon was because of the endless amounts of time I spent gathering materials to try and synthesis better items. Also I saw that the only advantage to having a higher level character was that they had more HP, other then that a character of level 8 has no more defenses then a character that’s level 60. If an enemy hits your level 60 for 300 damage he will turn around and hit your level 8 for 300 damage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very interesting game

posted by KristophG (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

18 out of 27 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What I like about most JRPG's is that some of them don't like to take themselves seriously and this is no exception. This game basically throws every JRPG cliche at you on purpose just to see if you will either laugh at it, get irritated, or even get too embarassed to look at the screen because you are face-palming, and this is the charm this game has. The battle system is also very simplistic and easy to use, unlike the one in NIS last cross over game Cross Edge. Where that game completely failed with the humor and battle system, this game truly makes up for it. You get to fight with old favorite characters like Etna and Flonne from the Disgaea series as well as some other familiar faces.

If you are really into JRPG's and anime and like the humor of cliche after cliche thrown in your face on purpose to joke around with your or press your buttons then this game is definitely for you. If you are not into JRPG's or anime then I really don't recommend this game. This is a pretty solid title and I would recommend this to any JRPG fan with a sense of humor!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Water logged Trinity

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Oct 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Well for those of us who want to give a chance to another one of these three in one games here we go again. The game was not exactly bad but it wasn't anything impressive. It feels like it very watered down game. Nothing feels complete, the synthesis system is nothing like in the Atelier games, its more like the bazaar system in FF12. The dungeons are more or less photo copies of one another. The battle system is actually not to bad, working up huge combos between up to 4 characters ending in flashy final attacks. Given that the battle system is horrible unbalanced, either you are wiping the floor with the enemies or they are wiping it with you. There is never a moment in the game where you ever feel comfortable with fighting strong enemies. Good example is I managed to make the final weapon for the main character early in the game and he still was doing minimal damage to bosses. The story line in the game has its moments, I was cracking up mostly due to Etna and the Prinnies, the other characters were more of less forgettable. It does have 2 stories to play through and allow you to carry over everything but levels after beating the game and that is a good thing. Over all I didn't hate the game but as usual with the team up games it was far short of expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Instant Classic

posted by terraforme (WESTON, FL) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I believe this game was made for a very specific type of gamer.
It's not something that I think everyone should play or want to play, but for me, it just hits the nail smack in the center.

To me, dungeon crawling in this game isn't repetitive, it's addicting. I just believe this game has a formula that works very well, as this game is simple to play, but is difficult and takes a LONG time to master.

I could not find one character that I was introduced to in the whole game who I didn't immediately want to make friends with (maybe except for Pamela, she sounds like a stalker). Everyone is very charming and is wonderful to listen to (I use the Japanese audio option, and if you don't you may regret it).

Combat in this game is more complex than the age-old menu of options (Attack, Magic, Items, etc.) and allows for more diverse combinations of moves. It also requires smart button inputs.

Ex: hitting square, square, square, square, square will do one combo,
hitting square, square, X, will do another one. (Not sure if that's an actual combo or not, this is all hypothetical).

However, if you were to use square, square, square, square, square,X
then you would do both combos in a shortened chain. When you're in the middle of a huge combo, it can be difficult to remember the last few buttons you pressed.

This game isn't nearly as ridiculous as NIS's last attempt at an RPG, Cross Edge. And what I mean by that is that Trinity Universe is a lot more user-friendly, the requirements for using weapons and skills aren't as strict as their last game, and that is what makes this game just sell.

To me, this is one of those instant classic games, right up there with Zelda and Metroid. I love everything about this game. The funny events, the happy-sounding music, the easy-to-grasp but difficult-to-master combat system, and just gazing at the Netheruniverse on the world map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hate it because of what it lacks.

posted by cjthomp (Fort Walton Beach, FL) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

First, the good:
Very meta. Great writing. Great sense of humor. Good voice acting. What seems like a good, deep leveling system.

The bad and the reason I sent it back:
The combat is, at best, okay. It looks very rough compared to the awesome art the rest of the game uses, and the combat system is not really all that fun. Overall, meh but not horrible.
But, it let me sit through a half hour of dialogue, mucking about with characters, buying and selling, and then exploring a dungeon. It let me do all that and then presented me with a boss fight (of sorts...if prinnies count as a boss) without offering a save point, and they DEMOLISHED me. I got one down to slightly below half. It was a slaughter. And they, apparently having never heard of waypoints or autosave, presented me with a nice "flip you" Game Over screen and undid the previous half hour.

Now, I played Disgaea. I put about 150 hours into it. I'm ok with a brutal RPG. But it's freaking 2010. Autosave going into a battle. Especially if it's a battle that you don't really give any warning as to the difficulty of (relative to the preceding fights).

So, word of warning, if you do play this game, save every time you so much as blink.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocre, okay fun

posted by Nazdia (SARATOGA, CA) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So, let me first start off by saying that I do not like anime, or cartoons, or any of that. I'm not too big on Japanese culture. So when I popped in the disc for this game and the blaring sounds of Japanese pop complete with the female singer came busting through my speakers, I thought to myself: "OH MY GOD, WHAT HAVE I DONE?".

The beginning is a lot of dialogue. Which wasn't bad, because the characters talk to each other in ridiculous ways. It caught me off-guard. The word choices and attitude towards who the audience is made me creak a smile or slightly guffaw. That was probably the most suprising (and ultimately best) part of this game.

The gameplay seemed repetitive and boring, and the more complex things were not well explained. There appeared to be a lot of customization, but it also seemed to be really far off into the distance, which was more than I wanted to experience in the game.

The story or setting is in a universe created by little pieces of floating bits coming into and out of the playing space, making what appeared to be many random dungeons. A good idea, but I didn't really want to explore any of them.

The graphics were horrible. Thats about it. The dialogue between the characters takes place with still images, which were more well done than the gameplay itself.

I don't feel like I have the right to properly rate the game because of the little interest I had in it, but I'll give it a six.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

You have to be VERY into Japanese RPGs

posted by dulche (BRIGHTON, MA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I like RPG's but could not get past 20 min of this game. I did not experience the gameplay enough to say much on that, but I think it's worth mentioning that this game is extreme JRPG, in terms of the humor and style, so you really need to be INTO that to be able to put up with it. The background story is just too nonsensical for my taste and the dialogue feels like whoever wrote it was on mushrooms. Demon dog? Floating objects in hyperspace? C'mon... My 10 year old sister can come up with a more interesting story. If you're into gritty RPG's with great stories like Dragon Age, Mass Effect or Final Fantasy, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but Short

posted by lilballez (LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun to play with lots of things to do but it was also short having only 13 chapters, I love games that are very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trinity Universe

posted by Flacodious (JENKINS, KY) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Well what can I say. I couldn't get past the hour long dialog long enough to play the game and it was not a very exciting game. I found myself asleep before I was able to give this game a fair shake. But man if you are into lots and lots of dialog than this is the game for you.,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Baby's first JRPG

posted by Frobog (VESTAVIA, AL) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

At first, I was very excited about this game, being a big fan of the Disgaea series. However, other than the characters, this game has NOTHING in common with what I like about that game. The music is irritating. The characters are irritating. The gameplay is slow and yes, irritating. If you are under the age of 12 or are a HUGE anime nerd, then you will like this game. Otherwise, pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

LAME

posted by skrunteye (KENOSHA, WI) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

By far the worst rpg i have ever played. I mailed it back the same day I got it . I realy dont know what else to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Trinity Universe

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 38 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

it was a very good game i have paly it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eh

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2008

Loved the storyline and characters but the controls and random badie pop-ups make it unplayable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun and light hearted JRPG

posted by AlwaysTumbling (DOW CITY, IA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I really didn't know what to expect going into this game but I think that's part of it's charm as it seems to defy expectations anyway.

:The solid:

- Dual voice tracks on disc allowing you to listen to either the English Dub or the Original Japanese VA.

- Great traditional JRPG combat mechanics with a not-so-original but welcome combo twist added in.

- Trinity Souls basically has two separate story modes to complete as a different set of characters and parties.

- Rewards exploration of not only dungeons with items and decent XP throughout but exploring it's own menu systems too as it has one of the most adorable tutorial assistants ever.

- Great cast of characters that work off of each other very well despite being from different games etc., I loved the conversations throughout the game, it has very funny anime style humor.

- The game gives you a few ways to improve your characters as you play. Just grinding isn't always the best answer as you have weapon upgrades, arena fights where you make monsters out of the random things you find while exploring to fight them for permanent stat increases, and of course equipment purchases.

:The unstable:

- The music never really caught on with me, I found myself turning the bgm volume down about half way through the game and listening to my own music.

- The Lurkers. They are monsters that, when you've stuck around a dungeon long enough, reveal their "evil aura" where you proceed to either run to the exit as fast as you can or fight a very over-powered version of a regular enemy type ranging from 15-50 levels higher than the monsters in the current dungeon and usually your party. You can use the "run away" skill to escape but that of course depends on whether you have it equipped and if the monster hasn't already KO-ed half your party.

:Closing:
It was a great mix of fun dialogue, exploration, and traditional JRPG combat. A good rental and solid game - I recommend it highly to any fan of the ge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Trinity Universe

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

It is a fun game. It is very funny. Two very different endings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Beep... beep... baaad..... beeep.... beeep beedeep

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Mar 8, 2012

Member since May 2010

Hi would like to ask you if you would like a game or an annoying tutorial... My headache is not helped by a long winded tutorial, by the way the Beeping noise the tutorial girl kept making actually help cause the headache actually... i said helped cause, but my head cold was also another contributing factor.. Game play is when there isn't a long winded boring cut scene, or a long winded tutorial... As for the gameplay itself the characters are pre-determined characters meaning if you have a character who wields a sword then that is what you are stuckwith for that character.. Battle system is saddled with what appears to be a button-mash fest;. Each character has about three main attacks with three special attacks the specials have about 2 levels when you start and you can unlock the third special slot later... By far the real deal0-breaker is the tutorial girl who seems to be completely annoy and whose interruptions are not required, since you can consult the all important tutorial guide which they don't reveal to you until AFTER you have sat there for a half an hour listening to the annoying tutorial girl who keeps interrupting while you are just trying to figure things out... She keps making that stupid beeping noise which drives me crazy!!! Maybe if you had a head cold on the verge of a full blown headache and she keeps trying to push you into the headache zone you would ujnderstand, or maybe she was meant to be annoying as Heck( I really mean another word along those same lines, but gamefly's censor system won't let me use it... it is He and two hockey sticks) .... I have not the slightest idea why NIS would put such an annoying character in this game ...
Try before you buy, and God Bless you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Steps Up Than Falls

posted by preston926 (CHESANING, MI) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

This game starts real great with good plot points yeah theirs a really bad tutorial but still looked fun......than it starts to slide down. It just gets worse the more you play i mean the combos are pointless just button mash and it works than the plot from about chapter 04-10 just keeps repeating over and over.I cant recommend this game but maybe some will but very few.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slow

posted by RanadaRicotta (JOHNSON CITY, NY) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game was OK, but the story line was slow and the fighting became repetitive. This is a good game for the younger RPG fans, but can become very boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

impatient

posted by anakim84 (STOCKTON, CA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

if you are an impatient person this game is not for you. why? its has way too much talking....and you cant skip it that fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One for the Kiddies.

posted by BaIIsweat (MEDFORD, OR) Sep 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

Alright,

I'm not going to lie... I couldn't even really give this game a chance. It's entirely too anime-themed, but not in a good way. I'm not talking about your bad-a type of anime.. I'm talking like an anime that your 8 year old son would love if he understood Japanese. This childlike essence was too much for me and I gave the game an hour or two before slipping it back into that Gamefly wrapper and sent it back. I'm not even entirely sure why they released this game in the U.S. This type of theme isn't very popular among American children, let alone teenagers and older.

I guess you could say it brought me back to my teenage days of seeing InuYasha on Adult Swim... If InuYasha was a lot more childish and targeted 6 year olds. Truly a waste of time. Bubble-gum-pop-Japanese-scene type game that I would've been mad about renting if it costed me any money. It did waste about 5 days of me having to wait for another game to show up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too slow

posted by Aquateen (WAYLAND, NY) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

I've played other NIS games before, but this game is just bad. It's very slow paced, the battle system is poor, story doesn't make sense, and characters are just strange. Plus, you can't interact with a whole lot in the game. The constant advice you get is also annoying. In short, it's a bad game, and one would be better off not playing it. The only NIS game that would be worth playing is Phantom Brave.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unique.. that's for sure.

posted by Sunny357 (OSAGE CITY, KS) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

Now as much as Unique sounds like a good thing, in this case. It really isn't.

The game features a quirky (at best) sense of humour, that will eventually run on. The entire system is pretty much a reused scrap of other games, all jumbled up together, to make one, rather awful game.

I really wish they'd go back to something with more depth of interest, than childish comedic rift-raft, that could dribble out of a mouthy child. Breast jokes, lame back and forth tussles, and the constantly regurgitated dude, that they felt the need to spell "dood" that you will hear repeatedly until it is almost mind-numbing.

The story is lacking, the graphics aren't up to par, the system of "gain items to make items" gets quite annoying, and as someone else mentioned, this need to try to be comedic rather than make an interesting story, would be an all-right blend, if they EVER shut up.

This game is so bad, it has made it so now I will check every RPG I intend on renting, to ensure there are none of these stupid characters, before I even rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alot to read & takes too long to get to the point.

posted by Mr_KnowItAll (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The game takes too long to get to the point in actually playing it, and much to read / them narrating while watching still images. I would be ok with reading but it all has nearly close to no movment during the story. This game is just like Hyperdimension Neptunia in terms of what I just described and the gameplay. I'd still play it , but There are other games that are better in terms of graphics and story wise. This story just sounds so awfully familiar to the hundreds of other titles and I know that just by getting started in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »