Rent Trauma Team for Wii
view large frontback

Trauma Team

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

990 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Trauma Series Strikes Gold Again!

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) May 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow! This game is excellent! There are many new features. We got some two player action, and time is no longer a restraint in the new Trauma game. So you have a chance to really focus on what your doing.

Atlus has given this game a new twist. This game has six different medical professions for gamers to master: endoscopy, forensics, first-response, orthopedics, diagnosis, and of course, surgery.

The endoscopy section is just what it sounds like. You navigate a scope through the patients intestines in search of their problem.

Forensics strays a bit from the trauma series but is fun all the same. You play as Naomi, a familiar face to Trauma fans, and figure out what happened to the person and why.

First-response often involves treating multiple patients at once in a non-hospital setting. You deal more with external wounds, so as not to repeat the surgery game play.

Orthopedics, as you'd expect, deals mostly with healing damaged bones. You have to be extremely precise with your tools in this mode. The slightest fault could end badly. You have very unique tools like a surgical drill and hammer.

Diagnosis is a bit far fetched for a Trauma game, but it's done well. This mode is for our puzzle-loving gamers. Figure out what's wrong with the patient.

Surgery hasn't changed much. New, more exciting operations, and no G.U.I.L.T. There's something really mysterious about the surgeon though...

Each story is played by a different main character, so that means different story lines! Can you say replay value six fold? Also, since the professions are different, that means you can use different tools too.

Something new to the series, cut scenes! More like manga style comics, these sections will give the game a more in depth look at the storyline and a real insight into what the character's motives really are.

All and all, a great game. I'd rate it like so:

Graphics: 8
Storyline: 8
Replay value: 10
Audio: 9
Hardcore or casual game play?: Both
Fun?: 9.5

Go for it gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by tiarose (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. It is very intense. It's very easy to get caught up and feel like you really are the character. It's very hard to put down. Definately a keeper. All 6 characters are phenominal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sign Me Up For Trauma Team

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When Trauma Center came out with the Wii, it was one of a few games where you have to save lives - without killing anyone else.
Now with Trauma Team, the idea has been specialized into six sections. First, you have the original doctor; a First Responders (treating injuries on the scene of tragic events); an endoscope operator for treating lungs, and intestine; a doctor for treating physical injuries; a diagnosing doctor, and a doctor to perform autopsies.
The game does a great job of getting players up and running (each doctor has a unique style of play). The surgery parts were some of the most enjoyable I’ve seen since Trauma Center.
But the diagnosis part and the autopsy part still need some work. They both work like a lot like a point and click adventure, and just like many other point and click adventures, players can get stuck trying to find the last piece of evidence or that last bit of information to get a diagnosis. I really would’ve like to see a Hint button that shows me what I’m missing.
And experts of the original may find this game a little too easy.
But those small gripes. The story writing here is excellent, and it’s interesting to see how these vastly different doctors team up to take on an epidemic.
And what’s even better is this game is packed with content that will give many hours of enjoyment (in my case, it was more than twenty hours).
Trauma Team won’t make you a doctor, but it gave me great joy in pretending I was one. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Financial (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game makes you think in a enjoyable way. The stories are pretty good and it almost give you some insight as to what these professions do. They should make more scenarios with more movie animations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Trauma Center Yet

posted by gigglez (OAK GROVE, KY) May 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the game. I've played all the other trauma center games. I love how they made the game where u play different roles within the medical field. GREAT game and a must play for all trauma center fans!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent game about saving lives

posted by Burnitopia (MOUNT VERNON, WA) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't played any of the previous entries in the Trauma Center series, but I have heard good things. In fact, I didn't even have time to finish this game, but I got a good impression of every one of the gameplay modes.

SURGERY: the Trauma Center staple. Operate on patients, but watch their vitals!

FIRST RESPONSE: Like surgery, but with more patients, less tools, and much less time. These patients are all in critical condition on the site of the accident, and a moment of inattention will spell death for them.

ORTHOPEDICS: Bone surgery, to put it simply. Fix everything from simple fractures to bone cancer in a much more action-oriented style of surgery.

ENDOSCOPY: Using a special device (basically a tube with a camera and tools attached), enter a patient and take out everything from tumors to hemorhagging.

DIAGNOSTICS: In a more slow-paced style, question the (sometimes stubborn) patients, look for symptoms, and try to find out exactly what the patient is suffering and how to treat it. Often, you will diagnose a patient that will later go into surgery or endoscopy.

FORENSICS: Analyze the bodies of the deceased, and try to put together evidence of the time and cause of death, as well as the murderer (if there is one). Each chapter begins with you hearing the victim's last thoughts.

Overall, this game is packed with great gameplay, and will last you quite a while. I played somewhere from 12-18 hours, and I didn't quite finish. Highly recommended for Wii owners looking for a different kind of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Jenniwii85 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The reason i rented this game was because it reminded me of an old computer game "life or death" where you perform surgeries and keep your patients alive... This game lived up to my expectations 100%. The story line was interesting and the operations were exciting. And the different characters that you can play as decrease the chance of boringness... You dont only do operations, you also diagnose, work as an emt, and do autopsies.... I give this game a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

oh...shoot...

posted by CHRISMURPH (DALLAS, OR) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok so i got the game on a friday i think and i enjoyed all aspects of the game not knowing what was going to come up next not knowing what was going to keep me glued to the tv screen but the second night i had a very peculiar screen came up it had says
"An error has occured eject the game and turn power off"
my wii is fine but the disk i got after the second night would maybey play for about 6 minuts then turn to the same error code so i had to return it. But over all the game was fun i enjoyed it alot for the amount i got to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the Same Thing You Already Know

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My wife likes these games. The surgery stories and challenges are good for 15-minute blocks of playing doctor with the Wii remote. If you've played one of these titles before, nothing has changed about the surgery games.

It seems they added a 'forensic' element to this latest title, which she played once through, but even watching it, I found the forensic game to be really, really dull.

Oh yeah - you get more weird stories illustrated with dramatic anime characters who look like vampires, models and wolfmen dressed in white doctor coats! Who doesn't enjoy that?

I gave it a 7 because 'Good' is 'Good.' It's not a bad game, it is what it is. More of the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Detailed

posted by snappw (WILLIS, TX) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Easy win depending on your level, detailed in diagnoses you work on multiple body parts and so many little comic scenes which can be emotion pulling and easy control. All in all i loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games on the Wii

posted by browen (HUMBLE, TX) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the story is a bit overly dramatic and silly at the same time, but the play and controls more than make up for it

The overall idea is that you can control 6 colorful and unique doctors, each with a different specialty. I break them into 3 categories.

The Cutters (find the problem, use the proper tool in the proper way)
the 3 cutters are unique that they can use green medicine to bring patients back. they use the heart beat as the players life that falls to 0 to measure mistakes and time not treating injuries, except for the e.m.t., which uses a tag system (green-good, yellow-risky, red-danger, black-dead)

As the general surgeon, you take the scalpel and open up patients to find the problem and repair.
The endoscopic surgeon requires you to move the remote while holding a+b, giving an impressive feeling of moving the camera down the patients insides.
The emergency medical tech that has less tools than the cutters (4 instead of 8), but she deals with multiple patients and fights the clock to stabilize patients.

The Thinkers (point-and-click logic puzzles)
The 2 thinkers start with 5 hearts that only go down if you make a mistake, but they have save buttons to put you back on the case when you last saved. while challenging, there isnt replay value for them

As the diagnostician, you examine patients and find their root disease. think House with HAL 9000 as his team. While there is no pulse or time to worry about, clicking on 5 red herrings and calling them significant can cause a patient loss.
The medical examiner sifts through the dead and the crime scene. The only thing missing are the sunglasses and the Who. she also gets help from her FBI pal [cough-Bones] to analyze clues and get audio tapes of witness reports

The Tracing Doc (Bop it doc)

The orthopedic surgeon a.k.a. the broken bone guy is a combo of stay in the line and the toy bop-it. he only has 1 tool at a time and cant give green med, but its still fun playing as super capt falcon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BRAVO!!!!!

posted by darkfayt20 (LOWELL, MI) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

OMG what a wonderful game, I had so much fun playing this game! Although I despised the forensics but besides that this is by far my most fvaorite game for the wii.

The ending was amazing except for the fact that you dont find out what the surgeons name is and he goes back to prison even though they found out that he wasn't responsible for the murders.

The last surgeon was epic, my hands were shaking, even on the intern difficulty, I can only imagine what its like on resident.

My overall rating 9/10

GET THIS GAME FOOLS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Is there a doctor in the house?

posted by xxTouch (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Scrubs dawned, masked tightened and soapy clean all the way to the elbow, it’s time for surgery. Trauma Team by Atlus is a Wii game based on the use of motion controls to perform medical operations, diagnose patients and solve murders as a team of five different professionals.
When I first clicked my nunchuk in place and prepared my medical tools I had very little hope for the controls. A Wii game that requires surgical precision? Chyeah, and monkeys might fly out of my butt. But my fears were put to rest quicker than you realized that last line was a bad Wayne’s World joke once I began extracting tumors and stitching wounds with acute precision. Trauma Team hits motion controls right on the money leaving all other Wii games with no excuse (you hear that Okami).
Much like the controls the game play nails it. With five different doctors each specializing in their own field it’s hard to get bored with this game and with the inclusion of two none surgical doctors (a diagnostician and a FBI investigator) you never have to do too much of the same thing.
The story is a classic Japanese tail of doctors working with robots, fighting crime as a super hero and even receiving cell phone calls, from the dead. It’s very ridiculous and over the top in all the right ways, creating a very entertaining tale of friendships and hardship. All this is very well complimented with great art and fantastic voice acting.
There’s very little to complain about in Trauma Team. A more linear path for story enthusiast and fully rendered animated cut scenes would have been nice but far from an experience killer. I recommend this title to anyone with a Wii and highly recommend it to anyone who’s a big fan of motion control and/or big Japanese games.

9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More Horrible American Voice Acting

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, I'll start from the begining. The cut scenes can be horrible, especially with the bad amercan voice acting. If you watch anime, you can kind of imagine the things being said the way they're meant to be said. Having put that out there right away, the gameplay is...wow. I mean, I tried going according to the story line, instead of just picking one person and doing all of their episodes, which meant if someone had just a 'dot' next, I'd switch over and do someone else's ep. By the time I got to freebird, I was all 'oh yeah, this is trauma center all right'. What totally sold me was the forensic woman. As frustrating as it could be sometimes, what with the having to analyze and listen to witnesses, I was satisfied when it was done. The Endoscopy is pretty awesome, and the diagnosis is actually pretty fun too. Maybe this is premature, because I have yet to get to the episodes with the first two girls' gameplay, but it's great. Aside from having to not '/wrist' yourself because of the cutscenes, the game play is a nice break from the norm. The only reason I didn't give it a ten was the horrible VA, but this came out of my Q at just the right time. Looks like the ps3 is going to gather dust for a while, and I've been waiting on something new and different. Good thing the Wii was there to save me. Oh, one other nitpick I would have had is having to do some things with the right hand instead of left. I realized I didn't have to take it, and could just do the ol' Chuck-switch when I needed to. I should add that part of the logic behind the game is having patience. It isn't as fast paced as its previous installments on either of the two systems, but the feeling of urgency IS still there. Rent this game, its pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great improvements

posted by x40milesx (FORT WORTH, TX) May 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I must say out of the 3 installments of the Trauma series this one shines. I've only played through 1 of the characters (Naomi) and I loved the changes they made. They've finally included using some puzzle solving abilities rather than just waving the controllers around! <3

The cut scenes are also highly improved, from what I've seen they have cut out a lot of the useless banter that would need to be spammed through fast enough to not want to throw the remote at the screen.

The voice acting from what I've seen is so-so, I can't complain too much though because I am impressed that they actually DO voice everything over which is great. (I can't stand the "grunting jibberish" they tend to use on the Wii)

Difficulty so far from what I've seen is appropriate, although I haven't explored the surgery plots of the game very much yet.

In conclusion, if you've enjoyed the previous Trauma games, or were interested in the premise but found them too daunting then I would recommend giving this game a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Improvements!

posted by Peters83 (DANIEL ISLAND, SC) May 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge fan of all of the Trauma Center games. And while I enjoyed their game play, I have always felt like something was left out. Well, not any longer. ATLUS has listened to its fans and given them something that is evolved and enjoyable!

First of all, there is no longer some "magical" surgery action where some difficult to achieve star figure makes the difference. The game is much more realistic. Surgery is as close to "real" surgery as a video game has achieved at this point in time.

Secondly, it is no longer a surgery trauma center as it really is a "team!" You can choose between six specialties, which all have their pros and cons. Surgery (closest to the past games, only better), First Response (think ambulance. it's surgery at a quicker pace, but with less tools and centered on stabilizing the patients), Orthopedics (like surgery, except the emphasis is on precision and accuracy), Endoscopy (you are controlling one of those invasive inner body tubes. it's 3D though, which is a first), Diagnosis (you determine the patient's illness through elimination. one of my favorites), and Forensics (with our old friend Naomi, you figure out a 'who done it' with evidence, clues, and deduction).

The surgeries and story are more realistic. Although, there is that random moment of obscure Anime confusion, I thought the story was clear and understandable.

I thought the game was a great buy. If you are a fan of the series, than definitely buy it. If you have not played these ATLUS games before, than I suggest renting before you buy. It was about a 20 hour game.

Overall, it was a major improvement to the game series and I cannot wait for what is coming in the future!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad, just a bit slow.

posted by neightfly (ASSONET, MA) Jun 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I are into health science, she is a nurse and I am studying respiratory therapy. Maybe that is why we enjoyed it, but at the same time we wished there was an option for advanced users or something because we just could not skip intros and long winded explanations fast enough.
The game was fun, but it moved too slow for us. We only played it once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An innovative but weak entry in the series

posted by Antistone (COSTA MESA, CA) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I generally applaud experimentation, but in this case, I think there were more misses than hits.

About the same number of levels as previous Trauma Center games, but split between 6 styles:

SURGERY - The UI is a little more polished than previous games, but less interesting levels. IMO, the best levels were ones where you had to switch strategically between treatment, damage control, and healing; in comparison, the levels in this installment seem simple, linear, and easy.

FIRST RESPONSE - Like surgery, with simplified treatments but multiple patients. Well done; I approve.

ORTHOPEDICS - Zero choice, infinite time, focus on precision. Fairly dull, and much of the difficulty comes from poor UI (imprecise targets, wonky scrolling) rather than inherently difficult tasks.

ENDOSCOPY - Much like surgery, except you're moving through 3D tubes instead of having a simple top-down display. Tolerable, but not as good as surgery.

DIAGNOSTICS - Awful, and time-consuming. Most tasks for discovering symptoms are trivial and tedious (examining a list of numbers to find ones that are out of range, spotting the difference between two pictures). I hoped that comparing symptoms to conditions would yield useful clues, or you'd need to cleverly string together cascading conditions to explain all symptoms, but no such luck.

FORENSICS - Less awful than diagnostics, but even longer levels (10x as long as surgery). Clues are pixel hunts; "reasoning" is mostly parroting back info the game already gave you; solutions must follow the predefined path.

Diagnostics and forensics don't even require thought, just memory and patience (and patience). And no particular reason they'd appeal to people who liked the previous games, even if done well. I'd gladly have skipped them, but they're required to unlock levels of other types. Worse, they're the bulk of the play time, because they take so much longer to finish.

Some good levels, too much random other stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cure for insomnia

posted by DonaNShane (BROCKTON, MA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very boring and slow. You can take naps while the anamation is happening and the 'action' is less than satisfying.

My advice...do not waste your time on this "game"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent variety of gameplay!

posted by Nite0wl8 (CINCINNATI, OH) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I wasn't sure what to think of Trauma Team when I first heard of it. I really enjoyed Trauma Center: Under the Knife, but I knew this game offered additional ways to play. It turns out it does, with fantastic results.

Trauma Team allows you to play not only as a surgeon similar to the other Trauma games, but also allows you to play as an EMT, other surgeons, and diagnostician. These are pretty cool, but by far the coolest profession is medical examiner. These missions are nothing like the high-stress surgical procedures. In the medical examiner missions, you collect evidence and gather information from the victims' bodies and crime scenes. You then piece together the information to solve the case. Along the way, you have to answer multiple choice questions. Some of them really require your brain. It is like an episode of CSI, but even better because you are in control of where the investigation goes. Serious fun.

Interspersed with all of the doctors' missions are cut scenes with a comic book style. They are a great way to flesh out the story of each doctor. Though I would have preferred full animation, the scenes are still a welcome way to introduce and wrap up each mission.

Another interesting result of having multiple protagonists is that you have different experiences based on the personalities of the different doctors. If you don't like how one doctor acts, you can switch and do missions of another. Though eventually you will have to complete missions of all the doctors to advance the story.

The other Trauma games showed us that taking on the role of a doctor could be fun, and this game improves on it by offering many ways to play. Plus you learn a thing or two about the medical profession. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Steady hands

posted by Nightwolf_62 (CHELMSFORD, MA) Nov 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

This game is a terrific training simulation if you are dreaming of becoming a medical professional. It requires you to have a steady hand and a sharp mind to help hospital patients recover. I give this game a 9 of 10 stars for gameplay and 8 of 10 for graphic clarity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I really like this game

posted by wolf_gamer (FOUNTAIN CITY, IN) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I beat this game on Tuesday, September 18th at 11:50PM, it had taken me 4 days. I will start with the graphics, even though it was in 2D for most of the time, it was nice. Atlus does the best work on video games mostly on Role Playing Games, like Odin sphere and Catherine (I know their is more but for two likely examples that Atlus is a great gaming company mostly on an anime games. This game really makes you think, like Doctor Naomi Kimishima, you are crime scenes and while their you will get a special call (if you are unfamiliar with the game like I was) (this game is really for people who are in to the human body and Doctors.) anyway I that it makes you have to look into things more, in playing as Dr. Kimishima and Dr. Cunningham. I give this worthy of playing in the highest form, oh I had help with some of the cases though on youtube. from your friend wolf_gamer, happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by Luciusb29 (HARRISBURG, PA) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Weakest game in the Trauma series by far. Surgeries are very basic to compensate for a lack of the healing touch. The story and music are sub par, but that pales in comparison to the very lengthy and horrid text based missions (such as autopsies).

Autopsies tried very hard to act like the Ace Attorney series but didn't quite get it. They're largely guide-less, relying on searching every single inch of a room for one out of place detail that you can't actually see, followed up by pairing two pieces of evidence to come to a logical conclusion (about half the time the match up doesn't make sense). These parts are broken up by vague multiple choice questions with very vague answers..

I just.. it wasn't fun. Sorry, guy. Or gal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The best of the series

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

"Trauma Team" is definitely the best game in the Trauma Center series. It tells a passably interesting story, boasts a great cast of likable, compelling characters, and offers us a wide range of gameplay variety, expanding far beyond the tasks and procedures presented in previous games. You still get to perform harrowing surgical procedures on mutilated accident victims, but the additions of other fields of medicine - such as endoscopy, orthopedics, and even crime scene investigation - make all the difference in the world. As a result, "Trauma Team" lasts a lot longer and is a lot less repetitive than "Trauma Center: Second Opinion" or "Trauma Center: New Blood". If you're planning on playing just one game in the Trauma Center series, play this one. It's the most fun, the most satisfying, and the most exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by loganator3198 (OCEANSIDE, NY) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

it gets boring and some levels with certain people takes a hour but a good game if you have a lot of times on ur hands not the best graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse