Rent Trauma Center: Under the Knife for DS
view large frontback

Trauma Center: Under the Knife

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

1459 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE DS IS HERE!!!!!!

posted by Marioman (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

27 out of 28 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I am not kidding. The game Trauma Center : Under The Knife Is the most addicting, most hard and most well written game on the Ds to date.
The story is so original and so compelling, it is almost worth buying just for it. You are a docter who is a bit careless at first, but when a mysterios man made disease is spreading, it is up to you and your power to slow down time to cure your patents.
Lets get the bad stuff out of the way. Hmmmmm... No multiplayer? No, thats stupid. hm, i honestly can't think of a single thing wrong with this game.
The Great stuff is the the game is difficult. The challanging gameplay will have you coming back for more and dreaming about it at night. From removing tumors to fixing a heart, the game expects you to get the game down in the first few missions, and thankfully they will continue to drop hints during your game. This is a surgy sim on the DS< so expect to incise your patents, and fix them up fast due to a time limit.
This story doesnt stop there, for their are moving tumors abberviated as GUILT. their are seven of them that act as bosses in a way, and they all have a different way to be cured.
Final note: RENT THIS GAME, BUT DO NOT BUY
Once you are done, there is no replay value, so thats kinda bad, but packing 12 hours of gameplay is awesome. I guess we are just going to have to wait untill truama center 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but sometimes difficult

posted by Jbluem9xx (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a glorified version of "operation" and is fun to do at times, coupled with the storyline, its a very good game. However, some operations are extremely difficult and you get thrown into some of them without any knowledge of what the heck you are supposed to do, and you usually have to repeat them several times to understand fully what you are supposed to do. Well worth a rent, I even decided to "Keep-it" as I knew it was going to take me awhile longer to finish it. So if you want to try it and are interested in the operation aspect of the game, this one was well worth it but be prepared for some challenges!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Um... pretty good.

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) Apr 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of the trauma center series. I played second opinion on wii and though it was great. I thought I'd try it on the DS. I was unaware of it, but it's basically the same game. I guess that's my fault for not knowing though...

Anyway, I thought the story line was good. It was understandable and easy to follow, but it was also balanced with a sense of suspense and curiosity. I was very pleased.

However, the graphics leave something to be desired. True, it is the DS and there's only so much that can be done. But this was stuff they could've controlled. When using the tools, the game suddenly became choppy and was accompanied by a terrible static noise when you use a tool like the scalpel. Not so great.

Besides that issue, it's a pretty good game. I'd say it's worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Trauma Center: Under The Knife

posted by calliegirl (READING, PA) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just got the game this morning, and already I love it. the storyline is awesome and thg game is just plain fun. Some of the operations you have to figure out on your own. For example the levell with the guy in the car accident, in which you had to remove the glass from his heart. I must of reset my ds at least 3 times, but it was worth it. The game is very addicting and it's a hard game to walk away from(I only stopped because the battery on my ds ran out!). It is a awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by starwarsth (HERNDON, VA) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is over all very good but I liked it more as trauma Center: New Blood for the Wii. The only difference between the two games was that the Wii had more surgeries because you played two doctors. Now granted I only played approx half way through because I got sick of the same story but if you haven't played it for the Wii or prefer DS games you'll enjoy it a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm not a real doctor, but I play one on DS.

posted by Ledgic (MASON CITY, IA) Jul 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hmmm... a video game based on saving people rather than killing them? Lame, right? Wrong. Dead wrong. Trauma Center is an incredible game. Few puzzle games are this exciting or this addictive. A great story mixed with incredible gameplay makes for one awesome game. The music that plays during each surgery underlines the dramatic tone of the game. As you get better at it, you find yourself amazed at how fast your hands start moving and how satisfying it is to complete a surgery.

The biggest problem that I could see with it is the difficulty. Some cases range from the overly hard (diffusing a bomb) to the downright impossible (removing parasites from 5 patients in 10 minutes). Also, suturing (a very important process in every surgery) is a bit clumsy and sometimes doesn't take.

But despite the raging difficulty, this game definitely deserves an observation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good game

posted by raptorlove (FORT GRATIOT, MI) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was very good especially if you liked the Wii version exactly the same except controls. I really don't want to send it back it is so addicting can't wait to play #2 i give it a 58 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

under the knife

posted by csmack71 (TROUTDALE, OR) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To much dialog. Once you pass all the reading the game is actually pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, Innovative, Yet Sometimes Just to Hard

posted by IvorySoul (VENTURA, CA) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Trauma Center: Under the Knife is probably one of the only games that uses the DS Touch Screen to it's fullest. This game makes you feel that the touch screen isn't just a gimmick but an actual part of game play. Trauma is a very innovative and unique game where you perform surgery on people to save their lives. The beginning of the game has you operating on crash victims, accident victims etc. Later on though an epidemic sweeps through the country and it's a virus called GUILT. They call this medical terrorism and the character you play, Dr. Stiles, and your team try to stop the sickness. The game never gets repetitive and is always giving you knew things to do. You have over 20 different instruments and gadgets to perform surgery with and it is very detailed and it feels like you're really trying to save the persons' life. The puzzles though sometimes get impossibly hard. I had to go on Gamefaqs and get a walkthrough on how to do some puzzles because it would take forever to figure out. This also kills some of the fun and makes you very frustrated sometimes. The storyline is very gripping and you actually care for the characters in the story. The touch recognition though is sometimes not so accurate, and you have a Challenge mode where you can go back to any puzzle in the game to get a higher ranking. All in all Trauma Center: Under the Knife is a good addition to the DS collection and is one of the best games I've ever played on a handheld. If you can look past it's frustrating puzzles and simplicity you'll love Trauma Center.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic, Unique, a Gaming Gem

posted by Kagenin (ROCKLIN, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

We all remember the board game "Operation" when we were young. A pair of forceps, tiny plastic body parts, and your nerves.

This game captures all that excitement, and a whole of a lot more. It requires all those steady nerves that the old board game needed, and then some.

Some of the later operations are pretty tough. But the feeling you get when you save a life... its a rush.

If you like this, try Phoenix Wright, too. Two of the best "Profession simulator" games out there, hands down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This got a 8 in my eyes...

posted by Chaotim (NEWPORT, VT) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I gave this game an 8 only because it is one of the only games of its kind and if you like the concept of being a surgeon then you will like this game. It has a varity of differnt surgeon tools from lasers to your special power of the "healing touch". Great challenge even for the best of Ds players. Good story line for a doctor situation.Its about a rookie doctor that starts work at a hospitol and is on his way up, when you find out that you have the "healing touch" and there is a lethal strands of "GUILT" infecting the populous. From there even more intresting things happen I let you decide if you think its ok... But the games replay is kinda off to be only because you repeat the surguries only at harder difficulty and shorter times... but I may add if you like that kinda thing than this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

When is a game classified as too hard?

posted by Andreasfan (ORIENTAL, NC) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Im a major gamer. I've been playing video games since I can remember. This game had a new idea that was absolutely perfect. It made excellent use of the stylus. The best reason for the touch screen that I've seen yet.
However, the gaming experience took all the sparkle out of it. The game was just too hard. Im usually cool with a little challenge, but this was WAY too much. I couldn't get past Level 3, stage 3 (at least thats what Im calling it). The time limits were short, the people were dying too fast, and what they were asking me to do was unbelievable. As you can see, I gave this game a 6 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trauma Center: Frustrating

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was an okay of an game. Honestly I thought it was too hard. You really need to know what the tools names are. The Healing Touch was confusing and sometimes the tools kept missing the organs. This is a rent or buy game. If you have no life, this would be a good game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bishojo!

posted by Svengoolie (Carbondale, IL) May 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Trauma Center is another in the growing list of strange Japanese titles ported to America for the DS. These types of games whose stories are told through dialogue and anime style character drawings have historically been kept from these shores. The only place you'll find similarities is on the PC with some translated H-games.

What this turns out to be is a very unique experience. It may not prep you for being a surgeon, but it sure is fun. You will uncover a plot from terrorists to destroy the world through a disease called GUILT, which seems to get more advanced with every level.

The music is sweet, the story is average, and the gameplay is amazing. The game has great replay value, which is really rare for one of these "storybook" type games. A bit of clunky controls (the magnifying glass seems to randomly decide to not work sometimes, and the suturing can be very annoying) keep this from being perfect, but it remains a game that everyone should try for something new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ok but not excellent

posted by LAGman (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 1, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Trauma Center: Under the Knife is overall an interesting game but for certain reasons it just doesn't hit the mark. First, the "tutorial" section can seem really long but then u realize that u passed the tutorial a long time ago and are just busting ur hump on the simple challenges. Second, the only involving part of the game are the surgeries...after that, its a REALLY BAD soap opera. The saving grace is that the surgery sections are truly engaging and can be a little hypnotic if u lose (I MUST SAVE PEOPLE!!!!!) If it weren't for a few glaring mistakes this game would have been a hit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A very unique game with some fundamental flaws

posted by Mumbles (ALAMEDA, CA) May 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2003

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have to admit with everyone, this is a very unique game and epitomizes what the DS is intended for, but I was midway through the third surgery and couldn't ever figure out how to get the magnifying glass/microscope to work. They instructed me to draw a circle but now matter how accurate or how big or small I made the circle, it wouldn't work. So this was very frustrating and made the game essentially broken to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

There's challenging, and then there's frustrating.

posted by LynneR (KING OF PRUSSIA, PA) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I wanted so much to like this game, it sounded really unique. Great potential, and nearly all of it wasted.

The storyline that plays out in between game levels is grating and silly, and the conversations are endless. The young doctor that you're 'playing' is unbelievably obnoxious and inept.

I could have gotten past that if the game play was good, but it's just too difficult. You want to be able to figure out your mistakes so you can improve at each attempt, but there's no way to know what the game wants you to do at certain points. I got stuck in the 'heart' level, and spent the better part of an evening reading FAQs, unsuccessfully trying to complete the level. That's just too much work for a video game.

Very frustrating. Don't bother with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game but too hard at the end

posted by samurai_kyo45 (THORNTON, CO) May 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

Finally a ds game I'm kind of enjoying . Trauma center is a straight forward game cut, drain, remove and patch up plain and simple. The big problem is its just got too hard at the end i don't know how other people beat it i was having a hard time on third sin. they should of have an option to set the difficult i guess they must of forgot it . Overall the game is new concept from shooting zombies and terrorist its about saving lives from made up sickness like zombie cancer. i say to every give it a shot you may like until you hit a stage you can't pass i just hope part two is more easier which i don't believe it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Like an abusive boyfriend

posted by LorettaGP (Astoria, NY) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

I am not uncoordinated or stupid, and I have a lot of patience for tough/challenging games, but this game just made me want to throw my DS against a brick wall. If you can go back to the very first level after playing 20 other levels and still get a Rank C (the worst rank), then maybe the game doesn't reward increased skill enough. It was just frustrating and pointless, and while I enjoyed some levels, I found other levels simply punishing.

I finally realized that games are supposed to be about being happy and that this game was making me unhappy. This game is like an abusive boyfriend -- you keep going back and it keeps hurting you. I finally put the game back in the envelope and am mailing it back. I sort of want to tear it open and try it again but I tried the level I was stuck on at least 25 times, and checked online to see what the trick is, and still can't beat it. I should just NOT PLAY IT ANYMORE. If I owned it I would probably drag it out once a week to try a level again and again, but since it's a rental I am moving on with my life. Breaking up with this game, as you will.

Those of you who can play it, I salute you. But I just don't want to be tortured anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same Thing!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Geronimo (ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

In this game you are basically doing the same thing over and over again it will get annoing when you get far in the game so dont rent it if u dont wanna waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool game but difficult at times

posted by phlsfan86 (HARRISBURG, PA) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

The first time I started playing this game, I figured it was easy. NOT!!!! The one part of the game where you must remove tumors was a challenge for me. You must be quick to be successful with this operation. The one thing fustrating about the tools is the magnifier. Sometimes it can be hard to circle the spot where you must do work. (This took away so much of my time.) Anyway, for someone who would like to work in a hospital as a nurse, surgeon, doctor, or any type of medical profession, I'd recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trauma Center: Under the Knife

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) May 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Not much to say about this one. Pretty much perform the same techniques over and over again with increasing difficulty. There's a bit of a story there but not enough to keep me interested after attempting the same operation half a dozen times. The controls with the stylus can be very unforgiving, especially for cuts/gashes that are on the edge of the screen. It was down to luck whether I would hit the right spot with the forceps/suture needle and of course if you miss, you get a lower grade on the operation and your patients vitals drop a little bit. I'm not used to using the stylus so maybe this game was more difficult for me than it would be otherwise, but there was not enough story to keep me hanging around attempting the same operation over and over again. After a while I just didn't care about the story and just sent the game back.

The good point to make is that this is one of the first DS games I've played that makes full use of the stylus and touchscreen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great

posted by tntoc82 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

this a great game its really challening ,but only that kinda sucks is the story mode , the conversations are extremly long.but over all rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trauma Center Review

posted by Serenade (NAPLES, FL) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Okay, well I loved this game. I haven't beaten it just yet but I'm close. Anyway, my rating for it dropped just a notch because of the language they used. But other than that it has amazing game play and I love the story line. Not only that but the operations are very exciting and left me wanting to come back and do it again and again. I wouldn't buy this game of course, I rented it to see if I'd like it. So I plan on buying the second one because I don't want to redo all the missions. But for those of you that are looking for an amazing game with lots of action, drama, and hospital stuff...this is a game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great use of the Nintendo DS

posted by DropKnow15 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

With this game comes a fresh use for the DS' touch screen system. The controls are well done, and after a few runs through the easier missions become more intuitive. The stories are somewhat long, but the gameplay makes it worth the wait, and you feel that you're accomplishing something during the game to give you satisfaction at the end of the surgeries.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse