Rent Trauma Center: Second Opinion for Wii
view large frontback

Trauma Center: Second Opinion

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

3838 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's fun and enjoyable, but extremely hard.

posted by eman14 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I rented Trauma Center: Under the Knife for the DS a few weeks ago and thought it was a fun game. It had an enormous difficulty to it, but leveled it out. Second Opinion is just as good with some new features to it as well.

Graphics: Anime models that don't talk for cut scenes isn't really my thing. But the detailed organs and things that you operate on are fun to look at and a little creepy as well. Good graphics from an artistic point of view.

7/10

Gameplay: Works a lot better with the Wii-mote than with the DS' stylus. It is fun and always keeps you entertained. Occasionally you might experience a problem or two with what you wanting to point at not matching the onscreen action. But this is pretty rare and shouldn't be seen as a regular thing.

9/10

Design/Plot: For Derek Stiles, the newest doctor on the block, it is the overall same plot as the DS version, but it also includes a new doctor for you to take the role of. The plot is good and you will find yourself sometimes just wanting to skip the cut scenes and go remove some tumors. The game is very hard to complete. It takes time and precision, and plenty of patience since you will be hitting the retry button plenty of times.

8/10

Value/Replayability: Good, because you always want to get a better grade on a certain operation that you know you could've done better on. Besides redoing operations, there isn't much more to find here a second time through.

7/10

Overall, this is a great game that is so much fun to play. It is probably the second best Wii game out there (after Zelda, of course) that you will find. Rent it if you are unsure, but buy it if you are confident in that you will enjoy it.

Total Score:
8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good use f wiimote, but lousy graphics

posted by MightyYuna (DENVER, CO) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the fact that the game utilizes the motion sensor capability of wiimote quite a bit. You can pick stuff up, pull stuff out, roll on the bandage, cut people open, etc...
The game play seems to be repetitive. In one mission, I had to to same procedure like 10 times! It gets old pretty quickly. But under the time pressure, the game still keeps you on the edge the most of the time.
The story telling is way tooooooo long and unnecessary. I was pressing A button like a zombie and now knowing when it ends.
The graphics isn't all that good. It's not sharp enough to display on a HD plasma, especially when mine is about 50" big.
Overall, it is a great concept. I think this type of game has a lot more potential in the years to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for the wii controls

posted by MIGamer1 (MACOMB, MI) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is great representing the use of the wii remote and the nunchuck, the game uses the control stick to select your utensil, the wii remote is basically your operating hand, and you basically do whatever they tell you, and you do kind of have to memorize the different procedures, for different things, because, they don't always tell you what to do, so you have to remember, but other than that this game is great, I would say its worth 30 or 40 but probably not 50, its a great game though, definitely worth the purchase down the line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting for the 'non-healthgiver' types

posted by WiiWowGyps (LA PLATA, MD) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I could care less about doing surgery, but this gets you motivated. What's more, I thought it would be merely a simulation game, but LOW AND BEHOLD! A Storyline! An interesting one at that. And who ever thought that some of them would feel like your neccessary boss fights in a regular RPG? Or at least it feels that way to me. Pretty good if I do say so myself. The bad parts are more like when you have to act quickly with the surgery while not letting the patient die. Why is this bad? It seems simple enough as this is what you do with surgery... but any time what you're fixing has a mind of its own and is killing the patient at the same time AND fighting against YOU... it's not that easy... You'll see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly addictive

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

27 out of 32 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Aside from Zelda, there really arent alot of solid games out for the Wii right now. So having a few gift cards to burn I picked up Trauma Center:Second Opinion.
First of all its nothing more that a puzzle game really, hidden in a surgeons garb.
That doesn't make it a bad game though. This game uses the Wii remote to accomplish all the medical procedures. You use the nun chuck to select your tool, scalpel, disinfectant, suture, syringe, laser, mri...etc. the point the wiimote to the treatable area. From removing tumors to shards of glass from patients. Very compelling.
It plays fantastic, with the help of a good tutorial mission or two.
The real downer is the lame story telling, its not the story, its the telling. Long tedious subtitled sessions of hitting the "a" button through most of it. Somehow this annoying feature doesn't take much away from the game though.
I find the hours just fly buy and it gets really hard to put down.
The graphics are sub par, but after all its really just a puzzle game.
With the lack of great Wii launch titles, this easily falls into the number two slot in my Wii lineup. I recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Performing surgery in your home is how you feel

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Talk about a game that absorbs you into the action! When you master the controls and start performing surgery super fast on the extreme levels it feels intense. At the first of the game it is kind of annoying when the nurse stops you all the time but after you learn those controls and it lets you loose then you feel like a surgeon racing the clock. The game makes perfect use of the wii remote and the nunchuck. The remote can be used as a scapel,laser,stiches, and the nunchuck allows you to speedily switch between them. When I first saw the control pad for the wii I wondered what kind of a game would you need to have your hands separate like that. Well trauma center you need to have a steady hand like a surgeon but be able to switch quickly between the tools fast with your other hand so with them separated your left hand doesn't bump your steady right (operating hand). It is awesome and I don't think it would work nearly as well with any other controller. This game truly shows the fun aspects of the wii remote/nunchuck. You might be tempted to skip over the story line so you can get to the operation but don't. It has a quality story line that will make your patients seem more real and give you a better appreciation for what doctors and surgeons do for a living.
You can learn the controls for this game in a few short hours but then there is a huge replay value as you try to get master surgeon on all of the levels. You won't be doing that unless you know your tools locations very well, and then you can fly and you will feel like you are qualified to do real surgery. However my wife (also a big fan of the game) hasn't let me perform surgery on her yet. If you have a wii this game is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but hollow

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I loved the gameplay. Performing fast, precise surgeries was a blast. Part shooter, part simulation, but ultimately unique, this game shows just how much promise the Wii has.

Unfortunately, much of the game's previous incarnation as a DS game remains all-too-evident. There was way too much dialogue (in text, no voice acting), and the story was fun but ridiculous. I would much rather have spent more time focusing on the "operations" than all that other stuff.

I also felt that after a point, the levels began to get repetitive. Same creature types, same strategy, same situation. The final stages in levels 5 and 6 were great, but much up to that point was just rehashing enemies and procedures from earlier levels.

However, this game does make me very excited for the kinds of games that have yet to be released for the system. If the type of gameplay in this game appears again, we're all in for a real treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Squelch (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best along with Zelda right now. There is just one problem, the game is identical to the nintendo DS one, characters, even dialogue are EXACTLY the same. This made me glad I didnt get that far into the DS one. I think the Wii is going to make games like this on the DS absolete. I would much rather play this on the Wii because of the graphics and you dont have to touch the tool you need to use, all you do is rotate the nunchuck joystick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent launch game

posted by tsleuer (MANKATO, MN) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have played this for about 5 days straight and i have to admit that it is very addicting but there is too much of the same story here and does get old after a while. shows how different motions can be used with the wii remote and is a great game to get the feel for it.

This game has great visuals and can be very challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Challenging and Fun (at least a few times through)

posted by JFiz81 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Trauma Center has good game play, interesting plot line, and a comfortable level of challenge for most gamers. Being a Dr. isn't in my blood, but I've seen enough episodes of ER to give it a go via the Wii.

Graphics wise, I was impressed with the procedures themselves (the actual game). The storyline, as other reviewers have mentioned, is told my motionless anime. This works out in my opinion, as good graphics while I'm actually playing are worth a lot more then the storyline graphics.

The controls are a definite plus in my opinion, as I felt that this was one of the better Wii games I've played where most of the controls feel fluid and "make sense". Quite a few Wii games have motions that sometimes almost seem unnatural, but Trauma Center has Wii controller functionality in mind all the way through.

As for game re playability, this game is a great example of why I appreciate game rentals vs game purchases. I played it a few times through, having serious ER fun each time, and going for better surgeories (higher scores). But after bumping up the difficulty level an playing through a few more times, it seemed to get a little more repetitious then some other games do on replay.

To sum up, I really liked the game as a whole. But the fact that I can't really see myself wanting to play this any time again soon keeps it at the 7 mark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great use of the Wii controller, cut some dialogue

posted by cbmills (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful



It's very fun to act like a surgeon. Especially with the added benefit never losing anyone on the table.

This game uses the controller and nunchuk quite well. With the remote you steadily work in the body, while the nunchuk acts as your nurse, selecting instruments, bandages, shots, etc.

My main problem was the long story scenes. They go on further and trying to skip them just speeds them up a little!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trauma Center. Glad to get a Second Opinion!

posted by Skye13 (MADISON, WI) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Trauma Center: Second Opinion is the second in the Trauma Center series. Well, actually it's a remake of the first, so those fans of Under the Knife for the DS, you will find the game similar. Still, this one is worth taking a look at.

Once again you play Derek Stiles as he grows from a rookie to a master surgeon. However, instead of tapping the screen, the wii-mote is the all powerful surgeon's tool. You got the scalpel, forceps, gel, syringe, laser; all the tools from the first game, but instead of having to lift the stylus, tap an icon, then back to the patient, the nunchuck is your tool selector: just tap any of the 8 directions to switch tools.

While most of the surgeries are the same as the DS game (with some slight changes to reflect the new system), there are some new additions. First is a new doctor, and new missions. Also new is the Defibrillator, brought out automatically when needed. This replaces the sternum trick from the DS game, but more intuitive. Also there are three difficulty modes, so rookie surgeons don't give up in frustration when they keep failing a mission. Also the graphics have a major update from the DS game. The art style is cool and immersive, but not gory, so mom's shouldn't worry. The "blood" is little red clouds that appear for you to drain, nothing serious. This game is rather serious though, warranting the Teen rating: young ones might not understand the implications of the game's story.

For you stat hounds out there:

Graphics: 8
Not as flashy as some other DS titles, but props for the art style. Very futuristic with anime as well.

Sound: 9
Great sounds and music. Nothing says pressure when you are in the middle of a mission and the music gets all rushed.

Control: 10
Much better improvement over the DS game. Spot on control.

Story: 7
Awesome story, but the same as the DS. Wished it were a true sequel.

Replayability: Good
I dare you to get S rank on all missions in Hard mode.

Overall: Buy
Great game, lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Second Best Wii Game

posted by InsertCoin (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I think this is the second best Wii game out right now (first best being Zelda of course). This game is defiently a must play. It works perfect with the Wiimote. The missions are very fun. The dialouge between the characters is hilarious. I know its supposed to be serious. But my brother and I find the talking and character interaction hilarious. But it is really fun and challenging. It shows what the Wiimote is all about. Rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Operation

posted by Amatto (WILTON MANORS, FL) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I bought this game and ill have to say it was rather a very unique game. I had a blast opening up people's body and such. the surgery's are based on real situation and real accident, no make up dumb virus or such as i was expecting. i gave it a 9 because it could have been better, i wish it was clearer on the directions then i wouldn't get frustrated when my patients die. If you have a good memory you would be good at this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by monkeyman (FORT MYERS, FL) Jul 17, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so much fun all the controls pretty much use the wii remote. At first it is a little hard because yes they don't really tell you how to play but you have this crazy thing called a brain which you figure out stuff with... Any way the operations are pretty easy until you get to the harder levels were it is harder... but you can still do it. The plot is is pretty good and the graphics are all right. so ya this game rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was fun

posted by Gamer808 (UPPERCO, MD) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Trauma Center is definitely worth renting, it liked it's hands on experience. (however, thats to be expected of nearly any Wii game) However, the rambling on of the many characters in the game gets very irritating. Also, the game gets even more boring, pointless,and becomes harder as the game progresses. Over all Trauma Center was very enjoyable(I can't wait to get the DS version!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All the fun without actually getting an M.D

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game truly shows how game play can eclipse graphics. This game is relatively simple to get around, but the missions can vary from easy to extremely hard, giving you plenty of hours of game play.

You're Dr. Derek Styles, and you're a rookie surgeon. The controls for this are just great. You use the Wii-mote like a laser pointer, and the nunchuk to change the pointers function. The developers made these two work together almost flawlessly. There are plenty of missions to keep you busy, and there are also 3 difficulty modes. After you beat the game, you will have access to a series of nearly impossible surgeries you can do.

The only a few things in this game I didn't enjoy. The story line consists of mile long dialog. You may like this if you like to follow the story line, but every other mission is just a ton of reading. This game doesn't offer too much to look at, but it still works well with what you have to do in the game. These things are more of a personal preference, and you might find this game perfect.

This game was awesome, and it is really a big improvement from the version on the DS. A must rent for the Wii. Lots of game play that can only brought to you by the Wii.

8.3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So this is what it's like to be a surgeon...

posted by Bladelink (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful


Trauma Center: Second Opinion is by no means an accurate representation of what being in an OR is like, but it's fun to think it could. We're not anime characters after all, and not all of our nurses look like they came out of a magazine. Regardless of the japanimation, the graphics are realistic enough to keep you in the game.

The storyline can get a bit over the top at times, but usually it's just enough to throw you into the next surgery with an emotionally filled purpose. The game itself is mapped out almost flawlessly to the remote and nunchuck, so far the best use of the Wii's motion capturing in my opinion.

My only real gripe with this game besides the storyline at times, is that it seems it could be beaten too quickly.

Overall I'd say this game is definitely worth checking out, at the very least to experience what the Wii Remote is capable of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Save your rental and watch ER

posted by FatalVsion (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I rented this one, it's just like the DS version only on a bigger screen. No biggie, still was my first time playing. The one problem I had was the controls!!! YOu cant play a game if you don't know how, and yes I tried the intructions here, but no help. The first surgery removing glass shards from a patient was cool at first after guessing the controls, but after that the game play becomes monotinous, the same thing over and over again. And let's not go into the character storyline....lame! All I can say is this game wasn't in my taste, no real motion graphics, it's more of see an open cut on the screen and sew it up using a tool. If the charters weren't still drawn and possibly maybe even seeing the patient would have made this game a lil more tolerable, but what can I say it''s a rental, so I didnt loose out on anything other then a weeks rent of another game, I still have my other game I'm playing. :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Probably

posted by Wulfen (GLENDALE, AZ) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One of the best games out there for the Wii, this game almost never gets boring, all the missions are always diffrent from the last.
A must buy for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing, repetitive game play.

posted by saxile (RICHMOND, VA) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I though Trauma Center: Second Opinion would be a fun challenging game, but I was mistaken. The goal of the game is to save people lives, but the thing is every mission past the first few are the same thing over and over and over. The storyline of the game is interesting though and kept me playing so I could see what happens to the characters, but other than that not worth wasting time on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Uneventful

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have one word to describe this game..."uneventful." I didn't have so much of an issue with the actual gameplay when you are performing surgeries, more with the storyline and lack of effort put into the graphics. There are very few voiceovers, it is all text based (cheesy at that). I typically do not send a game back the day after I get it, but this was one I just didn't want to spend much time on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Second Opinion PLEASE!

posted by Sargespam (NEWHALL, CA) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 23 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is truly awful. It has absolutely no redeeming qualities! Stay away from this at all cost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it's stupid

posted by bandman (WETUMPKA, AL) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I have played this game and i cant discuss this game more horrible because the people that said 10 or 9 you are really weird.I rent this game and for what to get laughed at.I want to see who made this game and tell them to stop.I have played better games than this.I could easily create a game more better than this.I mean like i could give a person this game for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need a "Second Opinion"?

posted by ReDPiLL (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

WARNING! If you liked the game then dont read this review.
If I could describe this game by smell I'd say it smells like rotten indian food inside a used diaper on a hot day. The game is kinda fun until you get to use your "healing touch" (witch doesnt work 99% of the time) then everything becomes very boring and annoying! Basically you have a special power that lets you do stuff in slo-mo. The cutscenes are text style with pictures which should only be acceptable in a handheld. I dont think you should even rent this title. Everyone has their own opinion but like the games title take my second opinion from everyone else's decieving reviews saying how great this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse