Rent Trauma Center: New Blood for Wii
view large frontback

Trauma Center: New Blood

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

3006 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Replica of the first

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very similar to the first one, which is a good thing. I didn't have to waste much time learning the controls. I loved being able to switch among the tools quickly as though I was really in surgery. This game would never be possible on any other system.
The biggest step up would be the two player mode. It is fun and intense. My wife and I loved playing it together.
Although I loved the game, and I loved playing through it, I won't be buying it because I feel like I already own it. I bought the first one. I was glad that I got to try out the two player mode but that will be good enough for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Trauma Center Yet

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

53 out of 56 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

If you played TC:Second Opinion, than you already know the basics of this game. You'll play doctor and perform tons of different procedures while following a great story. For those who are new, read on.

The game places you as one of two doctors. In different missions, you'll get the chance of playing with whichever one you want, except for some missions where story requires you to play as a certain doctor. You use several different tools to perform different operations. Most of these missions are real procedures and you'll feel like you've had a few years of medical school after some time with time game. The whole story feels like playing ER with a anime twist and style.

Missions require you to make as few mistakes as possible and to do them as quick as possible.

Two of the new and best features of the game are online leaderboards and co-op. The online leaderboards give you a place to see how you stack, and give you the courage you need to try harder when retrying operations.
However, co-op is the game's new soul. Each player will have full access to the same tools and work as a team to do different missions. You can have one person remove glass while the other stitches the wounds and keeps the patients vitals up.
The game does continue the difficulty from the first game. Some missions even feel like they were required for co-op with how much you may have to do all at once.

This is a great new TC that feels like it was made for the Wii, unlike the last title which was more just a port.

I highly suggest that you also give the first TC:Second Opinion a try. This is a great series that fits the Wii like a glove.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm not a Dr., but I can play one on the Wii!!!

posted by WiiMother (Lagrange, OH) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Love this game so far! I'm just a "casal gamer" - a mother who loves wii sports and the like, but this is awesome! Might take us awhile to get each operation down, but so far, we're getting it (still in episode 1). But really, really fun. Great for parents and teens alike. Haven't tried the 2 player mode yet, but looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by Indosonic (ANAHEIM, CA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It might not be long, because i passed in like 3 days, but it is completly worth it. If you are a Second Opinion fan, then you'll absolutly love this game. It includes many tips, but sometimes the talking gets annoying so you can skip it if you don't like it. The graphics are pretty good. Story is very good. Experience iss breathtaking. Although the WiFi feature is only to check your ranking on a certain operation. I think its worth it. Great game otherwise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same. Not a bad thing.

posted by CecilX (PETERSBURG, VA) Jan 15, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing this game I was left with a feeling. A familiar one. It played a lot like the first Trauma Center for Wii. It's not a bad thing though. The first game had solid mechanics. Once you get the controls down the game is a breeze. Things start to get hairy toward the end, but if you pull an all nighter with this title, you will be a pro.
Story could have been a little tighter. Without giving anything away I felt the story dragged in parts. All in all a good rent. Definitely worth a spot in your que.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I need 20 CCs STAT!

posted by Aychbe (HOMESTEAD, PA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

For the third installment in the series, Trauma Center: New Blood, gamers can anticipate more of the surgical goodness this series has grown to be known for.

Not much is different from the other two installments. The procedures are similar to the prior games but with the added bonus of 2 player co-op, the player can really get the feel of being a member of a surgical team.

The online options are limited to a leader board however, which limits the player to 2 player “in house” games. If you’ve never played a Trauma Center game, you can easily hop in to this one, using your assistant as your guide. The game is rather text heavy and the voice acting is a bit on the campy side (think General Hospital meets Speed Racer) but the scenes can easy be skipped by using the minus button. I recommend this game for fans of the series as well as newcomers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gonna Buy

posted by sam20046 (DALLAS, TX) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I figured this game would just be a way to pass the time. man I was wrong I love this game I am going to buy it. I can play for hours. The story line is a little dramatic though. The different operations are amazing though. you should try this game and then buy it. I plan on trying the other trauma center game as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

innovative and fun

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having never played any of the previous installments of this game I didn't really know what to expect. After playing the first five episodes I am hooked. The controls are fluid and intuitive. Since I am not a doctor in real life I really enjoyed getting the chance to play one in a video game. The two keys to the game seem to be efficiency and accuracy. I never knew my hands were so shaky until I tried to cut open a video game person! The graphics are good, not spectacular but then again that is not what the Wii is about. The story is interesting if you can get over the fact that it is a parody of a T.V. drama. Some of it is very cheesy but I think that was Atlus's idea when they wrote it. All and all an enjoyable game definitely worth a rent but I am not sure if it is worth buying because I haven't played it enough to figure out if it gets repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Intense fun for two people

posted by Dalbertson (GRAIN VALLEY, MO) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My wife and I both loved the first Trauma Center so the fact that this one deviates very little from that formula is a plus. The thing that truly makes this a great title is the addition of two person simultaneous play. This is a great game to play with a spouse or friend and can get very intense. If you're looking for a one player game then this won't add much to the previous Trauma Center experience, but if you looking to play two player I would definitely recommend this game. Its fun, its challenging and with 3 different degrees of difficulty can keep you operating for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New Blood Indeed!

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 18, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Same familiar game-play as the first. Voiceovers, easier tutorials and able to skip them if you remember how to use the equipment, and nurses help during operations. Got some familiar faces and antics from the first game and a haunting past. I thought that was interesting. Improved Wii-mote controlling, much tighter.

Cons:
Familiar and long winded story-lines and no solid animations, as before.

Well, let me start by saying if you didn't enjoy the first Trauma Center then stay clear of this one. This game left me feeling it was not an actual sequel. Rather a continuation of the first title with new blood, or new situations.

Then there is the stupid tracing of the star in a tutorial on the third act. I actually got stuck here for a while. I hope New Blood doesn't have that same stupid stout, or grout, or stag disease, or whatever it was called here. For the life of me I could not get past that puzzle in the first one (obviously I must have been very close to the end of the game).

Even though New Blood has speech I found myself, once again, constantly tapping the A button when I found out that the story-line does not help you with the actual surgeries. I think the long winded story was intended for females. I know I don't like it.

If you enjoyed the first Trauma Center, then go out and buy it now like I did; it will not disappoint. No experience necessary if you've never played the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surgery: awesome in a video game

posted by sonyh8er22 (BINGHAMTON, NY) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Alright, I was waiting for this game forever after Second Opinion came out. I loved the puzzle solving, the tumor removing as much as anything, but this was basically the same thing as Second Opinion story mode-wise. A man in Alaska goes to a big city hospital and he has the healing touch.

Pros
2 player freakin surgery!!!!
thats right, you get to perform surgery together!
3 a choice of 2 characters
you get to chose between a girl and guy each mission. sometimes you have to be one another
4 HARDER: in the first mission you realize it is harder than Second Opinion! When it comes to when you remove a bullet from a rifle in a dudes lung, with 10 vital sign, on the 4 mission, you know its hard.

Cons

Same thing: although it is harder, same old things: remove a tumor, stitch scratches, remove glass from inside a person, and fix bones. One thing i saw in the beginning was a pacemaker needing to be fixed. you had to massage the heart by hand at some points.
Con/Pro: you don't need to draw the star now. Its a pro because i thought it was annoying, but unleashing the healing touch should be hard. this takes away huge difficulty from the game. you wont get mad anymore when you can draw a star to safe a patients fricken life.

Anyways, I was expecting more to this game. More ways that people get in accidents, a new tool maybe, or just some interactivity with your patients. If you could maybe say when someone should take over, or if every time a patient died the both didn't become depressed ex-doctors. doctors and surgeons make mistakes. at least one of their patients die. they are sad, but they dont leave.

I give this game a 9 for being the same, but adding kickass features!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but HARD

posted by aleonas (MONETT, MO) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was really excited about this game, but I am disappointed. The game play is alot of fun, the wii remote is great for this game, but not very far into the game it becomes very hard. If you make the slightest mistake or are not extremely fast you fail and have to start over again, which gets old. I did like the feel of the game, cool music and awesome anime, but I was put off by the "healing powers" the two doctors are to posses. It's as though they have supernatural power to help patients to recover, which seems a bit out there for me, as they call out for help from the stars. They took a cool idea, getting to practice surgery, and made it possible only with the help of the spirit realm, awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stitch ... and a miss.

posted by littlestar (PORT ORANGE, FL) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a future medical professional, Trauma Center has always appealed to me because of the nearly-real simulations -- devilhand godmodding powers totally notwithstanding.

But an even bigger part of what makes Trauma Center, for me, is the characters.

Five hours into the game, I shut it off, placed it in the sleeve, and am currently awaiting daylight so that I can send it back to GameFly.

Dr. Vaughn and Dr. Blaylock aren't strong enough characters, at least to me, to carry the series. While I appreciated that I could play a female surgeon if I so desired, neither one was very well-played by their actor and they didn't have the same charm as Angie and Derek. The supporting characters were equally bland.

As a surgery sim -- and as a concept -- the Trauma Center series is fantastic. It's utilized the functionality of the Nintendo DS and now the Wii spectacularly, but it's just not enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid Title

posted by pirate (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've hung on to this title because my wife likes to play it. My only gripe is the fact that you have to tap through hundreds of lines of speech. It is SOOOOOOO annoying. Why can't nintendo do voice overs. I HATE that. Otherwise a solid non-traditional game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trauma Center: New Blood (Wii)

posted by Prinkey (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, let me start by saying that if you liked the DS Trauma Center, you may like this one. It's very similar in gameplay, extremely similar. I loved the DS version, but I wasn't able to get into this one due to me having a difficult time using the wiimote. It felt that the game was being a bit too precise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, big problem

posted by Gamingfun (REDMOND, OR) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We thought this game was really fun. Graphics were alright, characters looked and sounded good. Game play was a little bit challenging with the wii remote(game play requires a pretty steady hand). All was going great with the game until we got to the level where you have to save the doctor with the 3rd degree burns. We have a flat panel 16:9 TV, in this level we couldn't see the entire area that needs to be worked on so we couldn't go any further in the game. We read somewhere that it was 16:9 compatible, but after this experience, we don't believe that to be true. Would have loved to have been able to continue playing the game, but unfortunately we had to stop and return it. Really interesting game otherwise, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair at best

posted by dparkerv (SIDNEY, NE) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I'll give you a run down of this game in short terms.

Basically you play doctor and help patients. In between playing doctor you talk to people.. and talk .. and talk.. Then do a quick surgery lasting 5 minutes maybe. Then talk to people for 10 or 15 minutes..

Great game play when you are playing most of your time is wasted listening to people talking (or pressing the A button over and over skipping the chit chat)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bland

posted by Scoobz (VENTURA, CA) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i was semi intreasted in trying out the trauma center games and new blood was the first one ive tried and i was very dissapointed it was pretty boaring I think i played it for about 20 min and sent it right back to game fly .
game play boaring
graphics nothing special
plot boaring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun then frustrating

posted by gerbopyl (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Fun game up until you get to that 3rd degree burn patient. Its near impossible especially alone. With two players you can fly through it with one you will spend at least an hour trying to get through it. I had to drop down to easy and it still took me about 5 tries. The other surgeries were fun but that one ruined the whole experience. Controls are too sensitive and dont always do what you want for time limits this strick and tasks that have to be so precise. The story is just as terrible as it always has been you should just go straight to the screen where they tell you whats wrong and what you need to fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by mogamer (Cuba, MO) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. If you are expecting an Emergency Room simulator with actual cases and realistic graphics, don't bother.... The controls are okay, but not what I was expecting. The storyline is completely dumb. Between missions you have to listen to mind numming voices that will haunt you in your dreams. Since the game has practically nothing to offer you in the way realism, mechanics, or substance, the developers made it extremely difficult. I was irritated from the time I started playing it to the time I put back in my mail box. (about two hours)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Horrible Horrible

posted by bauer32301 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

This game is soooo stupid and poorly done. If you are unable to be extremely precise with the wii remote, then do not get this game. That's basically what this game is, how precise can you be with a wii remote. Boring and stupid! The tutorial didn't even tell you how to select an instrument. It just said "Select scalpel now." One would think that simply pressing A when over the scalpel would work, nope. I ended up just having to press all the buttons at once and was never able to figure out the correct combination of buttons. Bad, so so bad. I'm astonished this has as high of a rating as it does. Avoid this game, there are much better choices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

make it avail!!!

posted by StanDP (SHELTON, WA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Get this off the list or make it avail. please its stupid listing it when you dont have it !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Review: Unable to Play Game

posted by deonna79 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I received the game with sever scratches so I could not play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

trauma center

posted by nursewendy (COCHRANTON, PA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

its a very good game the only problems were the controlers are VERY sensitive and time is way too short but in all was fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ihave mixed emotions about this game

posted by MyJourney (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I played this game about a few moths ago. At first it was really annoying because it's seemed you had to be point on with every movement. When I was stitching I could never get it to go how I wanted it to, I know I was was going wide but it registered as so. I think it could have been way better. I can't say I hated it but can't say I loved it either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse