Rent Transformers: War for Cybertron for PS3
view large frontback

Transformers: War for Cybertron

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

5359 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

50 out of 58 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Got a kid that loves Transformers...? This title is clean in language and violence is very mild... Gameplay is far more fun, other then the previous title... The style of gameplay is like Rachet and Clank, but without the cartoony feeling -- Placing the player in Cybertron, the homeworld of the transformers. The game has multiple endings and is very fun to play, even for Transformer fans of all ages.

The beginning has two different starting points, but interweaves threw the game.
You have the choice to start as the Decepticons or the Autobots.
The Decepticons are taking over the transformers home world. The Autobots are weak leaders, so Megatron schemes to destroy their home planet.
The Autobots are being attacked by the Decpticons, lead by Megatron... Optimus, trys to stop the Decpticons at all costs.

From the get-go you are given two starting points of the game... You are able to play as, Optimus Prime, Rachet(not the furry rodent), or Bumble Bee. On the Decepticon side you are able to play as Megatron with different plots.

The game allows a 3 player co-op campaign, so you and two other buddies can play the entire game together.

I enjoyed the Deathmatch more then anything else. First you are able to select from classes of autobots/decepticons.

You can be a scout -- A quick pace but short character transforms into a fast car.
You can be a Leader -- A medium sized character transforms into a truck.
You can be a Scientist -- A flying character who can transform into a aircraft(it does fly).
You can be a soldier -- A heavy weapons character who can transform into a tank..

Four classes, that all have fully customisable/selectable weapons and you can even change the color of your autobot/decepticon to be unique in battle.
The multiplayer has a role playing feel to it, not only is their classes, but you can upgrade vehicle chassis(better lookin robots) new weapons, perks, special moves, ect...

This title is a quick paced shooter and very fun for any age..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Forget the Movies!

posted by tomato (WAUNAKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I currently have this game rented because I wasn't expecting much. I watched the intro video, which was pretty cool, and thought: well it's the intro video, it's supposed to look much better than the rest of the game. But then I actually played the game... IT IS GREAT. The graphics are not anything unbelievable, but they sure did surprise me. As mentioned, there are ten missions (chapters), but each one is very long. You can choose to play as decepticons or autobots. Each one has five of the ten missions. The online is great, there are four classes:
Scout: A small guy with lower health, turns into a car and sneaks around.
Soldier: Very bulky, turns into a tank and pounds people with melee.
Scientist: Low health, but turns into a fast jet for getaways. Gets more assists than kills from what I've seen.
Leader: A big guy, balanced all around, turns into a truck.

The only downside to online is the amount of people. I'm not sure if it's my connection or just a literal lack of players, but team deathmatch is the only game where its easy to get a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun despite some flaws

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

"Transformers: The War for Cybertron" is easily the best Transsformers game to date. That's not to say that it's perfect- it's not. There is some slowdown in the framerate, particularly the farther you go into the game, and the camera is not always the best. At times the issues are distracting and lead to some untimely deaths, but for the most part the overall experience isn't too badly hindered. In fact, the game is a mostly fun, fast paced shooter. The controls are fairly good (the only problem I had is that L3 transforms you into your vehicle state and it's also used for movement, and in the heat of combat this led to unwanted transformations) and are easy enough to use. Graphics are very good, with very detailed environments. The nice touches are the steam vents and other pieces of the environment moving, giving the sense of a "living" mechanical world. The story is well done, and gives some good insight into the civil war that destroyed the Transformers homeworld. The solo campaign is split into 10 chapters- 5 for the Decepticons, in which you follow Megatron in his quest to conquer Cybertron, and 5 chapters for the Autobots, where we get to see the rise of Optimus Prime. The chapters are decent in length, and one play through should last you around 10 hours. The voice acting is also pretty good, and helps the story come to life. This review is of the solo campaign only, as I don't play the multiplayer, but from all I've read, the multiplayer is where this game shines. If you're debating between rental or purchase, I'd say that depends on whether you only play single player or if you're online. Either way, definitely give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Transformers: War for Cybetron

posted by noetikos (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely awesome! I would recommend anyone to rent this or to go out and buy this game.

Graphics: 9 out of 10 (uses the graphics engine of Gears of War).

Gameplay: 8 out of 10

Fun factor: 10 out of 10

Story line/Campaign: 8 out 10

Replay value: 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

They got almost everything right

posted by johnnywebb (YELM, WA) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you're like me, you won't find very much wrong with the Transformers here. The graphics are above average, sound and dialogue comes through great (Warpath and Megatron are hilarious), controls are tight and work even when transforming from humanoid to car to jet. The only problems I ran into was a tremendous slowdown during a boss fight (lasted about 3 min), two system freezes when things just got too hectic, and a general lack of ammo in some tight spots, but the game is not too hard and I got through it. Also great is the fact that you can play this whole game with 2 others online. Very fun, and appropriate for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Transformers game to date.

posted by zombieorc (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Transformers: War for Cybertron goes back to the beginning to tell the story of the transformers before they left their home planet of Cybertron. The story for War for Cybertron is excellent. The plot twists and turns and intertwines between the Decepticon and the Autobot campaigns telling the story of how Optimus became Optimus Prime and how Starscream became a Decepticon to name a few examples. And actually has a lot more in common with the original Transformers cartoons than any of the more recent movies.
The graphics are a unique mix of cell shading and heavy textures, think gritty, metallic, Borderlands. The textures and models all look great and appear to be really high res. The movement, attacks, and transformation animations are all well detailed and smooth upon execution. Also the designs of the main Transformers look great. Each character model has individual moving parts separate from the usual arms, legs, and heads. Such as vents, panels, wheels and other parts that really add a lot of detail.Also the environments look great with moving parts and a lot of the environment is totally destructive including different types of cover. This is by far the best looking Transformers game to date.
The overall design of the game is well implemented and fun to play.The boss battles are well thought out and multi staged as well as the mini bosses such as the large tank Transformers which you have to first attack their power cells on their backs, then blast the armor off their chests to reveal their weak spots. Transforming isn’t just for fun anymore. In certain chapters you will need to transform in order to reach certain areas or cover long distances quickly. Some enemies are also more vulnerable to your Transformers vehicle weapons.
With its solid shooter mechanics, great story and a fresh graphical style, Transformers: War for Cybertron is the best Transformers game to date, even with its small quirks and lack of extras.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow a game that made me make my first review

posted by Teroh1 (TUKWILA, WA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Generally Transformers has been an IP that is better of left in the childhood memories section of our minds and less in our movies and video games, but this game changes all of that.
I saw a photo for the box on gamefly, and as much as I love transformers, I had zero interest in even clicking on the the game. This all changed when I went to Bestbuy to pick up a Wii for my wife. I walked past a guy playing the demo, and.....my......jaw.....dropped...my wifes jaw dropped too. It looked amazing. We preordeded it on the spot.
The game is everything you would want from a transformers game, and the multiplayer is really fun and well done too.
9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One to rule them all!

posted by Prizzem (RANDOLPH, NJ) Jun 22, 2010

Member since May 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its finally here everyone! A transformers game you can be proud to own! Even overlooking the sub-par graphics and cheesy voiceovers this game brings it in terms of gameplay! With four classes Soldier(Tough Melee), Scientist(Support), Leader(Tank), and Scout(Stealth DPS). Each class has 25 levels of advancement with completely different abilities and buffs as you level up. Online play is smooth so far with some matchmaking issues. Come online and become the ultimate weapon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by stealthbea (FAIRHOPE, AL) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have never watched transformers other than the new stare at megan foxes delicious self movies never seen the show i played the demo of this game it blew me away so i bought the game and it very good in all respects except not very many people play online hard to find anything but tdm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN CO-OP CAMPAIGN AND MULTI-PLAYER

posted by vvillyboi (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off i gave this game a pretty high score (9/10) because i was so suprised by how good campaign, co-op campaign and multi player was. You level up in multi player and theres perks much similar to those in COD4. The Controls are easy learn (default ps3 shooter controls so anyone who played COD4 will do just fine) and i suggest finding a buddy to play the campaign with because co-op online campaign is FUN! You can play as autobots or decepticons for campaign.

Also for multi-player you can customize your bots from which ever side you use ( theres Scount, scientist, soldier and Leader) Im playing the multi-player as we speak and having a blast! Definitely a game you want to get..BEST GAME OUT SINCE RED DEAD REDEMPTION!!!!

A MUST RENT 9/10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game! Challenging and fun!

posted by Toady373 (LONGMONT, CO) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Transformers is a very very fun game. You can play either as the Decepticons or the Autobots. Each campaign has 5 missions in them, which doesn't sound like much but it will take you a good 10 hours to beat on hard and 7 on normal, probably around 5-6 on easy. Missions consist of you moving to areas that can help you defeat your enemies. Usually things will happen that make you have to go to a different place which can make things more difficult. In most environments you will have to kill all the enemies there before you can proceed. Overall, the missions are fun, long and somewhat challenging.

The graphics are very good compared the other Transformers games. The textures are always a lot alike but you don't notice it.

Overall, I would rent this game. Not worth buying because you can easily rent and beat it, but if you really want to play the online I would buy it.

(My online stopped working right as I rented this game so I cannot tell you what online is like, but I have heard very good things about it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by Monster0 (LISBON, NH) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I read so many positive reviews on this game I was optimistic that Hasbro's Transformers might be FINALLY getting a good game. One review in particular said boldly, "This year's Arkham Asylum!" That's a lot to live up to.

Sadly, it fails to measure up to the hype. While better than any other Transformer game yet, that's akin to saying "That steaming pile there doesn't smell as bad as the others around it."

If not for the absurdly annoying dialog between Megatron and his minions, Starscream in particular, I would've stuck it out at least to get the completion trophies. As it turned out, I got halfway through chapter four before I had enough and ejected the disc to send it back. Unclear objectives and a bland environment in which enemies are too easily lost add to the frustration. Is that a computer terminal or is that an Autobot about to fling a missile my way?

At first I thought maybe multiplayer would save the game from the envelope. Alas, out of four attempts at Deathmatch, only one made it to completion before a "disconnection from host" error. Seriously, 25% match completion rate and I'm barely a tick over level 1? No thank you. Not to mention the wait to start the matches in the first place was yawn-inducing.

I'd like to end by saying something nice about the game, but all I can think to say is "It's not terrible." This gets a 4/10 from me, any comparison to Arkham Asylum is sorely delusional.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not fun at all

posted by rocketman129 (GRAND ISLAND, NY) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is like so many other 3rd person shooters. I dont recomend it at all. The only thing good about it is that you can pick up different weapons and and you travel in a team. Other than that it is pointless like a weird japanese game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Unfortunately A Short Lived Adventure

posted by STEEMA (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 29, 2010

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun for a short while but the drab colors and repetitive gameplay make this adventure very short lived for me. I love the story mode. Escalation mode was a great concept but players tend to play selfishly, going for high scores and frequently exit games if unsatisfied with their standings. I gave this a 6 because in comparison to other third person shooters, this falls short of excellent but is not below the current standard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Surprised

posted by Seaniscool (CHESNEE, SC) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like... many dove into this game thinking, Another Transformers game...They all suck!-Yet I play every single one praying someone would get it right. Well High Moon did it with this one, Surprisingly this is a good game....Great even! It offers 2 separate campaigns(Autobots, and a decepticon campaign) They were both great, every bot feels different(no repetitiveness), Theres a horde type mode. Co-op mode...Class based multiplayer. Just about everything you can ask for in a good game. There are some rough spots(like in any game) I had a few frame rate issues and even some glitches and freezes, One time the audio got messed up(very odd lol) but it happens and I can now say that I have played great transformers game and I hope high moon turns this into series, Because there pretty good at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More then meets the eye?

posted by mcgoose (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When you first pop this game in you may wonder, could it really be true, a good transformers game?

...

The answer is for the most part yes.

The bad
-Setting (not a whole lot of variety, but what would you expect for cybertron?)
-Framerate (occasional hiccup here and there)
-AI (You'll find that even as a lesser robot, you'll be doing most of the work while your teammates like megatron and optimus don't do much - though there is co-op; enemy AI is also lacking at times)
-Monotony (for the most part it's just walk down this corridor, shoot semi-generic bots, repeat, with some interesting boss-fights and action sequences in-between)

The good
+Feel ( the weapons feel great and powerful, the control of the robot is simple and effective, the story and dialogue capture the feeling of the show perfectly)
+Visuals/graphics (great awesome look to it, sets the mood perfectly)
+Good action sequences (unique sequences to each chapter that break up the monotony of the regular fighting)
+Multiplayer (the mp is somewhere between fun/good and "ehh"/tacked on - but it is a great addition none the less, with unlockable perks, different classes, and customization)
+Value (good length campaign, co-op play, and a good multiplayer; though it won't go replacing COD mp)

Overall the game is well done, and fun enough to overshadow any bad things about it. This was a very good first entry for high moon (in the transformers series) and it definitely leaves me excited for any future sequels. This is a great rental choice, but still a good choice for a purchase as well, as it has great value. By far the best transformers game ever, and probably even a top 5 in the mech genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by jdman201 (HENRIETTA, TX) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome game. It makes Transformers 2 Revenge of the Fallen look awful. The ability to transform at will is a big advantage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

transformes war for cybertron

posted by olvidate1 (ALAMEDA, CA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game is a last generation shooter in above average graphics. It is a bad attempt at cashing in a beloved franchise,and believe me it is hard to write because if the transformers had a livelong fan since generation one,it's me.The action is not that frantic. It's run and gun gameplay that has been done many times before with better results in playstation 2. In fact, I could not even force myself to finish.by the third mission I was done.I enjoyed better the game for playstation 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

garbage

posted by whiteboy2 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

no tutorial what so ever, what kind of game does this these days. no guide thru the beginning of the game as to what is what and what does what. unless you're a big fan of transformers, don't waste your time because this game is awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Everything Bad is True

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I had to send this one back pretty quick. Everything bad I read is true. Too little ammo makes the game play ridiculously difficult at times, and also kind of boring. I would think that one of the major draws for wanting to be a transformer is the firepower. The multiplayer is a bit more fun, but it's kind of run-of-the-mill. You don't get anything more than you would get in any other FPS, and I think other FPS games have either done it before or have a lot more to offer (e.g., MAG and Killzone 2).

The vehicle transformations are cool, but they don't add anything to the game (such as speed or firepower). The melee attacks are kind of weak, in that I would have liked to see more robot fighting type moves (like when Optimus sliced off another robot's head in the Bayformers movies). Finally, at only 12 players at a time, there isn't much in the way of the battlefield chaos one would expect from a game that has "War for Cybertron" as it's title.

Hardcore Transformer gamers will like this title, because you get to be a transformer, and it is a better game than the other attempts. But it falls flat on its own merits, and I think there could have been a much better job done here, hence my low rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Good

posted by djbeatzzz (WEST NEW YORK, NJ) May 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Not much thought was put into this game. Its just another movie game gone bad in my book. Lets just say its not even worth waiting for in your mailbox when you rent it. Trust me. I love transformers, this is just total crappola.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

hmm

posted by gallo12379 (ROBERTSDALE, PA) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i love the transformers but this game was just not good...sent it back quickly. thank god for gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Transformers-War for Cybertron

posted by tommyboy02 (CLEARWATER, FL) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Terrible game. The tasks become extremely repetitive and the games turns into you holding down the shoot button FOREVER. The story line and graphics were weak, like they spent no time at all on it. What do you really expect from anther transformers game anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

$$$MUST REST$$$

posted by atony420PN (CUPERTINO, CA) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

MUST RENT DON'T BELIEVE ANYONE WHO RATED THIS GAME UNDER 8!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good But Not Great

posted by sob2356 (MADERA, CA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The ONLINE play is cool at first but max lvl is 25 and after that, well, it gets old fast. It would be a great game if they added more upgradable weapons and maybe a max lvl of 50+. Also you get tired of playing in the same stages each time. A good game but just gets old too fast. worth a rent but not a purchase. Itll give you somethin to play while you wait for a real game to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse