Rent Transformers: The Game for Wii
view large frontback

Transformers: The Game

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.8

1096 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty cool with or without cheats

posted by akatsuki17 (NAPLES, FL) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I used cheats but I deleted my profile by accident, lost the cheats, then fate falls and my computer crashes so I beat the game the classic way and it was very fun and addictive. I highly recomend this game to people who are fans of rockstar games but don't like the blood and gore of pointless killing. P.S.: blowwing alien robots up is not killing. ;-p

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by JawJackinF (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was actually pretty cool. The transformations are awesome and my son loved playing just one level. Moving to the next level was a bit tough but he did not care.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More Than Meets the Eye? Nope.

posted by bjtdevera (Las Vegas, NV) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a pretty straight-forward mission-based action adventure. The missions are interesting enough, but the fighting involves mostly button mashing. The option of playing as both the autobots and the decepticons is a wonderful addition to the game.

It is very very fun to take control of the robots and transform, shoot, and punch your way through missions. It's actually fun just to travel around the map and do random acts of violence.

Much like the movie, the game is fun but has little depth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good disappointment

posted by Starbuck (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a transformers fan, this game is pretty cool. The one thing I continued to have an issue with is the camera controls. Sometimes, it is simply annoying, other times it really detracts from the fight mechanics. Yes you swing the wii remote around wildly to attack but it is no different then button mashing any other action game. Would I buy it for $40: no. Would I buy it around $20 yes (simply because I love transformers). Being able to add G1 skins is a saving grace and I had fun playing it for a couple days. Could have been better, in fact the mechanics of the older Transformers game on the PS2 is a lot better and more fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Transformers: The Game

posted by rpgadam07 (GREENVILLE, SC) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a HUGE fan of the old show and old movie, and I went to see the new movie and I liked it, it wasn't really THAT good, though. I decided to play the game and see if it would be better. I thought the same thing about the game. Here is a rundown of this game.

Story: 7
This game had a decent story and fun game play. I liked how you could be Autobots or Decepticons. I played both to get the full experience. I thought they were both fun, but sometimes very repetitive.

Graphics: 8
This game had very good graphics. The scenery was nice and the whole game was well made, graphic wise.

Controls: 5
The controls in this game were not very responsive and felt unfinished. The camera was crazy. I found myself getting frustrated a lot trying to work this game out.

Audio: 9
One thing I hated about the movie was that they got Hugo Weaving to do Megatron instead of Frank Welker. I was surprised that they got him to do the voice of Megatron in the game. The audio was well-rounded and not too loud or too low in any spots.

Replay Value: Low
This game was fun the first time around, but boring afterward.

Overall: This game is fun to rent, and if you like Transformers, go ahead and buy it. Have fun playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GOOD to rent, NOT to buy

posted by irishfire1 (LEWISTON, MN) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun the first few hours of gameplay, you get to run around as giant robots in a free roam smashable environment, not something many games have. But... after around halfway through the game you start to realise the many cons.
Pros:
Free roam environment
Giant Robots!!!
Variety of missions

Cons:
Story isnt really involving
Any mission that doest require vehicle mode is very repetitive
Camera is all over the place when you dont want it to be

When you throw something while you are targeting, it automatically stops targeting, most of the time throwing off your camera in the other direction, which is very frustrating when fighting bigger enemies or bosses.

Overall its a fun game to rent for a few days, but i wouldnt buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ay

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun and kinda reminded me of the movie. It has nice graphics but the camera control can get kinda annoying and really frustarating.
I bought it about 1 and a half years ago and i loved it but yeah if you are the guy that is willing to throw a tv out the window cause of a game like on the gamefly commoercials i would probaly say it is 50 50 for you guys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lot of Potential, Bad Controls

posted by TRWilkins (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was excited to rent this game. I loved the movie but was skeptical. The games based on movies usually turn out really corny with little relation to the actual movie. The game started out okay, but the controls are really choppy and clunky feeling. Your enemies are very agile while you're stuck being a big heap of metal. Driving is also challenging because you get stuck on stuff, especially when the cops are chasing you, you get blocked in while your enemies race away.

I think the game would have been great if the controls were a little better. I did not play long enough to see if the story development was good or not. The beginning is decent. Not sure where it goes from there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great action, but a couple bugs.

posted by DarthPrime (FRESNO, CA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Transformers: The Game was pretty fun. I mean, who wouldn't want to be a giant robot and destroy things? However, there were a couple flaws in the gameplay. The first one to come to mind would be the camera. Sometimes I couldn't block an attack because I coudn't see the opponent. Another problem would be that you couldn't choose who you would play as. Why be Bumblebee when you could be Ironhide or Optimus Prime? Despite its problems, the missions were very intresting and gave me a lot of challenge. Furthermore, while the controls were difficult at first, they are easy to master once you get the hang of them. All in all, this is a great game and I give it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wii rating

posted by Prime79 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Transformers.....What can I say. It's not as bad as other reviews say. I only have a Wii and PC. I played this on the PC, what a mess that was. I have only played as Auto bots so take this as you may. This is a level based game. You have to beat the deceptacons and race against a clock. Once you get use to moving the camera with the Wiimote, and fighting with it, this game is solid. I used a lot of camera centering to counter act the movement. I wish you were able to select what character to use, not have it assigned. All in all, if you are a transformers fan, this is a title for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its way better then most movie based games, but

posted by Miroku0716 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well this was my 1st game i got when i 1st obtian a gamefly account

And at 1st i saw the graphics and was blown awya by the look on the wii none less..

but when the game play 1st began it seemed to make me mad right away...the camera movements almost kill the whole game for me but after a a few failed Missions i was able to get the hang of it.

It is too short also and the very point of the missions seem so deja vu....but if you like to transform at 70 MPh as a 1970 Camero while fighting a saleen mustang with police-issued parts
(GM vs Ford it was bound to happen)
then you will have fun with this game for as little as it lasts. so in sort

this game lacked in...
More diverse missions
longer game play
a form of game tutorial

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent (short)Game, Decent controls, Bad Camera :(

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I read many reviews about this game prior to deciding to add it to my Q. Most of what I read was true, but I don't think it got enough credit. The only thing holding me back from a 7 was the pesky camera controls (more on that later). Fix the camera, and make the game longer, and you've got an 8 rating.

The game follows the movie like any good movie based game should. I really enjoyed playing through the movie. There are two campaigns... Autobots and Decepticons. I've played all the way through the Autobot campaign, and it was enjoyable. Although I'm only 3/4 through the Decepticon campaign, it appears to be more enjoyable.

The game allows you to use pretty slick Wii controls to maneuver your Transformer around in the completely destructible environments. You can transform into or out of robot form at any time. You can destroy buildings and pickup and throw cars (and trees and signs) while battling in the streets. The Decepticons are a little more interesting to control because they are not all cars (there are quite a few helicopter transformer missions). Robot beat-em-up sounds great, right?

Well the camera down right stinks. You can control the camera angle by pointing the wiimote to the right or left off the screen. Sounds cool, right? Except that the melee attack function is mapped to side-to-side shaking of the wiimote. So the camera very often swings around & you end up looking directly at your robots bottom side (for some reason, this is the defacto view it seems). Get used to hitting the "minus" button on the wiimote to reset the camera... I hit it 50 times per battle it seems. I guess if you like robot butts, this feature would be interesting though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It could be much better!

posted by cinder (GARY, IN) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

PROS:
The graphics in the Wii version of Transformers is good. It shows a lot of detail on the main transformers in humanoid form and in vehicle form. The explosions are nice and the other effects are great too. Its good that you can play both sides of the story. The melee and throwing gestures are very responsive. This game also has many bonus features most of them are production photo and movie clips.
CONS:
The IR is not that good in this game. It is very glitchy and is tiresome after a while. The camera is also not that great especially when it is an open-world type of game. The steering for vehicles on the ground are not that fine tunes as one would expect since vehicles play a major roll in the game. The missions are very repetitive and you become bored after a few hours. The limited amount of space to destroy thing is not that big and you cant destroy entire building, only like the first 7-8 floors and you cant hurt humans. Also the CG movie don't look that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't listen to the "professional" critics!!!

posted by Venom8217 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Alright, my review title says it all. The critics are averaging this game as a 6. Now, while I wish I could give it a 10, it's as close to perfect as my expectations will allow me to agree upon. I don't know how well the other consoles handle the controls, but for Wii it's a little rocky controlling the camera. However! Once you get the camera under control... This game rocks! Plus it's 2 full games built into 1: the Autobots and Decepticons each have a full story line. You can do it all -- run around picking fights with the enemy, whether it's a fist fight you want or the ground to air missle assault combat you crave; jump right into vehicle mode and knock around opponents, who have no concept that chicken with an alien robot is a BAD idea (silly police cars always gett'n in the way ;-P); or a mix of both, kick some enemy butt then jump into vehicle mode and run'em over. While I haven't finished the game, I'm not worried. I can already tell you that there is some major replay(abiliy) with this one. Plus the bonus unlockables, while not too many, are fun to browse once discovered. I know there will be both agreement filled and opposing reviews to follow mine. But as always, it just depends on what you seek in a game.

If you're looking for a mix of Mercenaries, Halo 2, Mech Assault and Burnout Revenge, this game is worth your time, skills and brain cells!!!

Definitely a must have for any collection...

Transformer fans and just plain old video game addicts alike will fall in love with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GTA cheap spin off ?

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Mostly every movie based video game is done horribly wrong, whether they try to add more to the original story, the game is wayyyy too short, and it just sucks. Transformers tries to break this curse by making a fun experience like the movie. There is only one game you can compare this to and that game is GTA, please don't compare it. Comparing any game to GTA will make it look even worse. Yes you can free roam the city and other parts, but if you are a decepticon you can literaly destroy buildings and practically everything else. You can also transform at will which is great. The game can get repetitive but its still awesome to watch these great machines go at one another each time. The missions can get tiresome but the battles yet again are fun. Overall I would choose the decepticons as your starting team because you will have more fun destroying things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better Than You Think

posted by Pelph78 (PLACENTIA, CA) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I know most games based on movies suck, but this one is the best i've ever played.For some reason the reviews are bad but i say its a good game and if you liked the movie, you'll like the game. the controls are a bit hard to understand but once you get them, it is really fun!! RENT IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Camera Controls Ruined this Game for Me

posted by kcgreg (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has you controling your movement with the nunchuck and the camera with the wiimote. You just point around the screen to pan the camera around. This works great until you get into a battle where you also have to use the wiimote to fight. Trying to fight other bots while the camera angle is zooming around because your moving your wiimote to execute punches is pretty difficult.

I couldn't take more than 5min of this game. I think I'll try it again on another platform, but the wiimote camera control ruined this game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So very disappointing...

posted by ALtheX (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After having seen (and thoroughly enjoyed) the much-hyped movie, we began internally relishing the utter coolness of trucking around as Optimus Prime, zipping through town as Bumblebee, and generally blowing stuff up as the whole lot of 20 foot tall and taller movie TFs

Having only sprung for the Wii in the current line-up, there was the risk of getting an otherwise fun game with a poorly conceived, hastily tacked-on control scheme. Happened before; will happen again. This was far worse than we expected.

On the Wii, this game is bad. As in, poorly made. Don't get me wrong, graphically the game is stunning, and the freedom of movement is terrific. Prepare yourself, however, for repetitive, unimaginative gameplay, a control scheme that's more of a hindrance than an interface, and a host of missing features and abilities.

Gameplay can be summed up as follows: Go to mission area, activate mission, watch cut scene, beat up / blow up something(s), go to next location (within a time limit, no less), repeat process. There's some variation in the order, but that's about it. Failure to make the time limit kicks you back out to try again. From scratch.

The interface is as annoying as possible on the Wii, and it shows how the standard dual-thumbstick controls can be poorly translated into remote + nunchuk. Camera control will have your head spinning, randomly reliable target locking will get you steaming, and then you'll try flying. Oh, the flying.

Finally, there's the little stuff. Three hit combos get old; constantly blocking (AKA batmobile-ing or turtle-ing) enemies are lame when you have only one or two block-breakers; and don't expect any character advancement or upgrades here. Your unlockables are film clips! Yay!

Ultimately in this gamer's opinion, you'll be more satisfied with 2004's "Transformers" for PS2 than this monstrosity. Check it out, and keep gaming. Until all are one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellente

posted by jmitchell (INDIAN ROCKS BEACH, FL) May 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is prob one of the most action packed games I have played yet. Not to mention the great job on the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Glad I didn't buy...

posted by scully31 (HALTOM CITY, TX) Jan 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My biggest gripe is the camera. It stays too close to your character during fights and doesn't pan fast enough. The camera reset works, although you must constantly reset it to see what you are fighting. Also, there are no single melee attacks. Once you swing it begins a combo that won't stop, even if the target was destroyed after the first blow. One glitch keeps sticks you or your opponents to or behind a wall. I didn't expect the game to follow the movie EXACTLY, but it would have been nice to play some of the other characters. And what's with returning to the same cities? I would have liked to use some of the opponents special moves as well. Other frustrations come from overwhelming barrages of attacks in numbers, to the point that you cannot recover or leave the area. Despite all the cursing and retries I still beat it in 4 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Transformers makes this game automatically cool.

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun to play just because of what it is. It is a blast to be cruising down the road and to be chasing some decepticons when they suddenly transform into huge robots and then you can instantly jump up into a robot and fight them. The story is fun because it fills in holes where the movie didn't explain. For example how did bumblebee get into that used car lot? The only way to find out is to play the game. The story and idea of the game are awesome.

That is about all I can say for it though. The controls are very poor. It is hard to control the robots. In the fights you just start swinging the wii remote and watch your robot. Also the graphics could have been much crisper. The cut scenes were not clear at all. I only played the game for a few hours because of the poor game play.

It was a fun afternoon that I spent with the game but I am sure that you would probably rather just watch the movie. I would have given the game a higher rating if I could have gotten Optimus to throw that gigantic doughnut where I wanted him to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lack of control

posted by ZomgOneOne (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I rented this game despite the poor reviews, hoping it would at least be fun to try out. Unfortunately I felt an almost complete lack of control over the transformers' movements. The remote-aimed camera was clumsy at best, and not only did it feel like I had very little awareness of the environment, but it also took an inordinate amount of time to get a feel for the attacks and target-locking controls.

I did like the fact that you can play as the autobots or the deceptacons from the get-go, however, and it was fun reliving the first scenes of the movie, but this novelty war off within about an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Camera kills the game

posted by gsenyszyn (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What I like about the game is being able to play two different campaigns... be an autobot or a decepticon. I think the destroyable environment is great too. What I absolutely can't stand is the camera. when doing battle, you inevitably end up hitting the - button to reset the camera angle many times. As one reviewer put it, you always seem to end up looking at a closeup of the robot butt. This really kills the game for me. Driving with the nunchuck doesn't seem to be the best either, but it's tolerable. I'm not expecting a driving sim, after all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

missions OK, controls fair at best.

posted by thamuffins (PAWLING, NY) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game kept my interest for a few hours. certainly plenty of destruction action. the missions were pretty straight forward.

the main drawback was control. i found it particularly clumsy after switching from vehicle/robot and vice versa. many missions were lost trying to regain a proper viewpoint. pointing the controller to rotate your perspective often failed.... and i didn't enjoy driving with the numchuck controller.

i'm not sure this game translated very well to wii controllers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor camera

posted by ILLSHIRE (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was had the potential of being a great game. The downfalls of it were by far the camera angels and control. They were not automatic and to control them you used the wiimote which also was used for the melee attacks. This made for though game play as well as the game being far to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse