Rent Transformers: The Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Transformers: The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
5.1

5157 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Giant Robots = Good Fun

posted by Ashaman (GREENVILLE, KY) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

61 out of 68 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Who would have thought that playing as a giant robot who can transform into some sort of vehicle would be fun.

Gameplay: Pretty solid. Go through a campaign mode as either the Autobots or the Decepticons. You even get to play as the legendary Optimus Prime and Megatron. Although, after the first couple hours the game does start to feel repetitive.

Controls: Not so good. When in Robot mode the controls are fairly good, until you try to lock-on. Half the time you hit lock-on, it locks onto the wrong target. The other half it locks onto nothing. When you transform into vehicle mode the controls are downright bad.

Graphics: Nice. While the cut-scenes are average, the in-game play is very nice. Transforming from your vehicle to your robot and vice-versa is very satisfying on your eyes.

Sound: Average. The voices for the transformers are very nice, but when the human actors come in they leave a lot to be desired.

Worth it: Definitely worth a rental but I wouldn't purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyable Movie game

posted by Slipstream (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

53 out of 63 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

First off, don't listen to the critic reviews of this game. They are SOO harsh. This is a movie game and thus has low expectations to begin with. But it is actually a good game. The driving physics is a bit weird and do feel like driving a train at first. But you can actually improve your skills by doing stunts ala RPG. So the driving gets better. But then again, it's not a racing game. One thing great about this game is that there is SOOO much destruction in it. Even as an Autobot you reck so much havoc. It's so cool. you can climb walls and jump from rooftop to rooftop while blasting decepticons and turn into vehicle mode and just ram them into oblivion. This game offers quite a bit of fun.
This game can get frustrating at times though because the levels require multiple objectives and the failure of one will start you back all the way at the begining of it. But that just adds to the challenge.
The robots look great. There are lots of NPC cars and people wandering the streets that you can "accidentally" kick around. Overall, it's a fun game to play. If you like Transformers, you'll enjoy this game. Renting is a MUST for you Transformers fans. As for buying, well, if you want to OWN the first Transformers game based on the FIRST Transformers live action movie, you won't be dissapointed.
And the best thing about this game is that it won't ruin the movie if you haven't seen it yet. I've read some of the book and seen countless trailers and I KNOW that the way things go down in the game are NOT the way they go down in the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Movie Game

posted by ProdigyGFX (AUBURN, GA) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ah, it's time to review a Transformers game. Now we all know big giant robots fighting are always awesome. But will it make for a great game?

I first bought this game when I got my 360. And I will admit it did show off the 360 graphics power in some ways. I loved the visuals and gameplay and how the cutscenes are pretty nice to look at. And of course a Micheal Bay film always has intense explosions. So does this game.

Graphics 8/10

Now this game follows the movie's storyline in a different approach. Instead of following it directly, It sort of plays it from the viewpoints of different transformers on both sides. And it's interesting to view their sides of the fight and see how much it differs from the rest. Other than that the story is pretty bland and not very creative overall.

Storyline 6.5/10

Gameplay here is pretty simple. Giant Robots + You = Mayhem. It's a great game to play with simple game mechanics. Nothing too fancy or too simple. It's just a great combo game to play. I will admit the transforming never really gets old haha. I could almost do that all day. The controls are simple to pick up to. The difficulty on some missions can be a bit ridiculous but they are passable. You will be annoyed with atleast one mission. The game campaign is pretty short so should only take you a day or two to complete.

Gameplay 7/10

I will say this. Rent the game and pretty much be done with it. We all know Transformers 2 is coming out and if you are like me. You would like to beat the first game before jumping in the sequel. I will say this is a game for you if you really have nothing else better to do and there's a dead period of time before the next big game release hits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

review of Transformers the game

posted by Halo0001 (ASTORIA, OR) May 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay I've played this game for a week now and Its pretty sweet. Here are the pros and the cons about this game

Pros:

1.Awesome detail in the environments,
Characters and vehicles

2. The destructible environments are a very
nice touch to the gameplay formula

3. Graphics are better on my Xbox 360 and run smoother
than my used to own PS2 version

Cons:

1.Graphics can sometimes get a little glitchy when throwing objects like lamp posts, vehicles,etc.

2. Missions can get repetitive after a while especially when the mission types are varied to 3 types.

3. could've done better with the Open world aspect of the game by simply making everything or everyplace you can sight with your eyes able to go to.

In conclusion this game is prettystandardgameplay type and those of youwho looking for a open world game i would suggest other games that truly offer a real open world experience like the need for speed series or grand theft auto. Thanks for reading thanks for reading this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by Bigmack (MEMPHIS, TN) Jul 3, 2007

Member since May 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have waited for well over 10years to play a transformers game of this magnitude!

The graphics are awesome. The sound is brilliant, even the music score fits. The driving is rather odd at first, its like driving a tank on ice with 1 wheel! Seriously, the driving isn't that bad once you get used to it. The best part of the game is converting from robot to vehicle! The only reason the game didn't get a 10 is it should have had more side missions (like races or demolishion derby or something similiar). Play this game at least once despite the reviews and judge for yourself!

Great game in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Critics got it wrong

posted by scalan15 (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

27 out of 36 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

At first the controls feel kinda weird, but after you play it for a bit you get used to them. The graphics are top notch. The sound is great. Most important, the transformations, they're so good you'll play the game just to transform. I'm almost done with the Autobot mission and I've had alot of fun playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

almost but falls short

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

36 out of 53 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

the transforming in to robot and back is very cool, the game looks good, its fun to climb buildings and destory them and pick up cars the voice acting is cool, but the bad is people in the city just come off fakey and the cops always on your case shooting at you as autobots, i wish the city was like grandtheft auto and the people react like they do and the cops, just dont come off well. i think what we have is a game that was rushed its a shame this game could of been somthing, but it is worth to have it i think i always loved the show and its a good way to play as a autobot are the evil side. its not worth 59.99, wait 6 months for that 19.99 and buy it then, its a toss up game in my view, thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Had potential, but was just made terribly

posted by kalifist (FLORAL PARK, NY) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off, I am a huge transformers fan, and even if this game was halfway decent, I probably would have loved it. But the bottom line is that this game is straight up horrible. Graphics and appearance are great, but I have no idea what the developers were thinking with this ridiculous gameplay that is not one bit fun. This type of game may have been fun maybe 20 years ago. There is no free roaming open gameplay, just mindless mission based "shoot this","follow this", or "get to this point" in a certain time frame. If you fail, just like an 8 bit video game, start over. THERE IS NOTHING FUN ABOUT THIS. I highly anticipated playing this game despite critic reviews because im a huge Transformers fan, but this game just killed it for me. It could have been great, but its boring, frustrating, and NOT FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Transformers=terrible terrible terrible

posted by illidan (LAWTON, OK) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The game reviewers finally got one right this game is utter garbage. The game is horrible and is done so poorly that you can't help but to think why did I play this game. The movie was great but this game is a major let down.

Gameplay=Reminds me of a horribly done Destroy all humans just random missues were you (alien destroy stuff) destroy all humans randoms missions were actually okay this game though man its terrible. Your robots have such a limited arsenal that it just ruins the game.

Graphics=this game belongs on the PS2 and not even the XBOX. The game is so bland in graphics and explosions

Sound=terrible, were is the trademark sound they make when they transform? Non existent. Explosions and all other sound effects are poor.

I played this game for 5 chapters before packing up and sending back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by reco82 (JOHNSON, KS) Jun 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Graphics, Game play, not to easy not to hard, just an all around good game. Did a great job with this game. Just awesome. To add to your Transformers library a must to own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hardly recommendable, even for diehard fans

posted by TNTales (JEFFERSON CITY, TN) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From out of the darkness of space comes another movie tie-in. Transformers is the official companion to the movie and hopefully the movie is better than the game.

Story: 2/10
There is a story. However, it has enough plot holes to drive Optimus Prime (a hero that transforms into a 18-Wheeler) through.

We are never introduced to characters or places other than by name. And the plot requires knowledge of story outside the game to comprehend (I read the tie-in novel).

Graphics: 8/10
In a word, slick. The textures are wonderful and the transforming animations (you can transform any time) are impressive. The tiny people and the vehicles don't fare as well and you'll see the same bus, yellow van, green car etc repeatedly. However, the scale of the action generally makes these moot.

Sound: 7/10
Acceptable but there weren't any points where you just want to listen to the sounds around you, nor are there any memorable themes of music that you'll be humming when it's over.

The voice work is limited, with the heavy lifting handled by the voice of Optimus Prime, done by the guy who did the voice for the character in the 80s cartoon.

The tingle of hearing his voice faded when he repeated the same line in a mission over and over "Get to Point A" (drive 20 seconds) "Get to Point A" (as if I'd forget that quickly).

Gameplay: 3/10
In brief the game has some AI bugs and clipping issues. Several times I lost a mission when I got caught on an environmental object or fell through a wall. This in itself would be forgivable if not for the fact that the game chapters have no checkpoints in the missions, and multistage chapters and predefined fight areas that you have to stay in (while enemies are designed to blast you out of them) increase the difficulty unnecessarily.

The AI is terrible. Several times foes got stuck running at a wall. And your primary weapons are useless against tough enemies so you just end up mashing on the melee button.

Don't waste a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Robotic Peice of Garbage

posted by TrustMEa (MCCONNELL AFB, KS) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Seriously, you throw trees at the boss to beat him, how lame is that, no... bullets don't work... you have to throw trees. The buildings don't take damage past the second story, lame. You basically throw stuff at people and then button mash.. that's the game, save your rental

All in all this game is a piece of garbage... it can transform however into a robotic piece of garbage, but never the less a piece of garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not My Favorite Game In The World

posted by Wrecker109 (YORKTOWN HEIGHTS, NY) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im sorry to those who severly enjoyed this game but i could not pull myself into the action, the game was too complicated in its controls for me since im used to driving games. I enjoyed the movie so much and i could see it over and over again, but the story of the game does not match the movie's storyline at all. I give it a bad rating but remember this is just my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun to play, but no real replay value....

posted by Drizzle (SANTEE, CA) Jul 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a fun game to play especially if you really enjoyed the movie it's just fun to walk around as a your favorite transformer... but most of the game play get pretty much repetitive after a while the game just has you doing the same kinds of tasks.... at best this game is a rental fun to play through ones but not worth the $60 its about 15h long game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Sad Thing Indeed!

posted by Singer97 (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm a child of the 80's and since the original NES came out I've always wanted to play a Transformers video game. Now that I have played this one I can't help but feel let down. The controls are horrid and overall the game feels extremely rushed. I realize this is a game based on a movie and I shouldn't have expected too much from it but as far as video games have come and with the power of the next-gen console I think they can definitely do better. There definitely needs to be a happy medium when it comes to graphic/gameplay. Transformers definitely falls below the poverty line when it comes to gameplay. The only interesting thing about the game is the detail spent on the actual Transformer character models...which is probably where most of the money was spent on developing this game...what a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thank GOD I didn't buy it!

posted by DanjaMOB (MOBILE, AL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Rushed, Bugs, repetitive as he11, lame version of story, bad controls. typical movie game...but i could not even force myself to keep playing for easy achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst game ever

posted by DutchMster (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have played numerous games based on movies and this might be the worst. The graphics were subpar and the cut scenes were weak. The targeting system left a lot to be desired and driving around was more of a hassle then anything else... The only parts of the game that I enjoyed was converting from vehicle to robot and flying around as Megatron blowing up the army.. Dont bother with this game just go see the movie instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Transformers is awesome, but the Game Blows

posted by VideoGames (RAMONA, CA) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Transformers: The Game is very much the archetypal movie-licensed game, It's got all the hallmark problems of the genre, including short length, overly simplistic mechanics, a barely-there story, and a bit of a sloppy feel, It is simply an excuse for fans of the upcoming live action film (Like me!) to run around, awkwardly beating up Autobots or Decepticons in various semidestructible environments, If that's all you want out of the game, then Transformers might provide you a few mild hours of entertainment, If you were hoping for something more, Transformers will probably just disappoint you cause it did Disappoint me there for i give it a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

RUSHED RUSHED RUSHED !!!!

posted by roll28 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 2, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

IT'S SAD TO THINK SO MANY TALENTED PEOPLE IN THIS BUSINESS TO PUT OUT JUST ANOTHER 1/2 AS GAME FOR THE 360.... MONEY ISN'T EVERYTHING ACTIVISON SHOULD BE ASHAMED AT THIS GAME....FOR THOSE WHO SAID GRAPHICS ARE GREAT YOU SHOULD STOP WASTING YOUR MONEY ON GAMES AND GET YOUR VISION CHECKED....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD JUST BAD

posted by opeter (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

I play it for less then 5 min and then i gave it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best

posted by INSANEPUNISHER (AURORA, CO) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

The game was not fun as whole. I wanted to try it out, i dont regret by renting it but i atleast i gave it a shot. It was not a bad game but a game that could have been better. I dont recomend this game though....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Transformers

posted by xbhzdcjszhcsacs (ELIZABETHTON, TN) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

One of the best games ever. It has a great story line and great graphics for a older game its good in all I would buy it over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very disapointed

posted by arkhamcityis4me (CORRYTON, TN) May 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I cant even say how boring and repetitive this game got. It was the same thing over and over again. The controls also suck.I especially hated the part when you had to destroy those jets as blackout. I kept having to turn around because the controls are so jerky. I also hate how the camera shakes when you walk. Yeah I know your a big scary transformer, but still really, does the camera have to be that jerky? Overall its a very repetitive beat um up that has boring timed missions. The only good thing is the insane graphics of the transformers, especially scorpanoch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Controls, not fun.

posted by Slarky (LIBERTY, NC) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The first thing that derailed this game was bad controls. Why is it that movie based games are so bad? Is it because they can't delay publication till they get it sorted out? In a game where a big part is transforming into a car... well you'd better have the driving controls down first. I played it for about 3 hours, enough for a few cheeves but finally I walked away in disgust. War for Cybertron was fantastic, go play that instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

transformers the game

posted by Bloodylutte (REINHOLDS, PA) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

worst game i have ever played in my life. i couldnt pass the second autobot chapter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse