Rent Transformers: The Game for PS3
view large frontback

Transformers: The Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

1955 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable game, especially for the kids

posted by montero747 (DALLAS, TX) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2004

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I've read a lot of bad reviews for this game, but our family found it to be pretty enjoyable. We got caught up in the hype surrounding the movie and gave the game a try. It was pretty enjoyable. It wasn't the best game we've ever played, but not worthy of the many poor reviews. My younger kids loved it, because they recognized the characters from the movie, and it was simple enough for them to complete missions. You don't go to a movie like this expecting to see Oscar caliber scenes, and same for the game. Like the movie, the game is great summer fun. The sounds and transforming were exactly what we hoped for. I highly recommend this game, just for the fun of reliving the movie a little bit and it's easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Transformers: The Game

posted by DolfanDon (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

You'd think that controlling giant robots who could transform into familiar mechanical vehicles would be fun...guess again...

The game follows a GTA style open world, but have you restricted to SPECIFIC guidelines, a lot of which are timed. Basically you get some time to explore, but if it's a sandbox, let me do what I want with an option to continue the story. The general controls are "loose" and not a lot of fun. The camera kept getting in it's own way as well(although you can adjust it).

The autobots compaign is a mess (at least as far as I got). Not only do you have to drive around in a vehicle fun that is only minimally fun to control, but you have to do it to unseen time limits that take away from most of the fun. Then when you transform to robot form, IN THE MIDDLE OF THE CITY, without damaging property. It's just not fun...

The decipticon campaign fairs a little better. Here the point is to destroy everything. You get rewarded for destroying buildings and the such. Much funner than trying to watch ever step. The controls are still loose, however. And to be honest, I lost interest in this before too long too.

Sorry, I love the Transformers, but I can't recomend this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ALRIGHT

posted by pimpchestr (FONTANA, CA) Jun 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i was so excited to get this game today. once i started playing it was a little difficult to get the controls. the camera is dumb, things get in ur way during battle and just running around, i played the game for only 30 minutes and sent it back. all robots only had two different weapons which got boring after a while. almost all the chapters were the same just killing decepticons the same way, but i only played two levels, which was about 6 chapters. if your a fan of transformers rent the game, if your not like me then dont, just a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tread carefully

posted by Rolandk10 (FORT MYERS, FL) Apr 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good thing for gamefly. This game is bad. Anyone who doubts it will thank themselves for renting it first. As a casual gamer, I'm not looking for frustration in the name of challenge in a game. I just want it to be fun and entertaining. If your idea of relaxation is repeating the same time trials 85 times until you make it through, the have at it.

Personally, I think that it's the mark of a terrible game to have to limit your time to objective in the first place. That along with cheap kills. Basically, anything that makes you memorize a level before beating it is possible. Did I pick up a game of memory? No.

What about the fact that NPC directions are so vague. For instance, you're told that a certain "boss" transformer is very tough and to see if you can find something to defeat him. REALLY? I'm supposed to try to defeat him? Jee, thanks for that tid bit!!! How about telling me to see if I can find something knock him over with and then pick him up and throw him 3 times. That may have saved me an hour and two freaking controllers.

This game could have been great. The characters and the world were there. All that was needed was to spend a little time setting up a story and the gameplay. This game felt like a long, drawn out demo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Recipe for a horrible game

posted by Merc1138 (FREMONT, CA) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Imagine a bad racing game, where the steering and acceleration are awful.

Now toss in a poor flight-sim where the controls are pretty whack and the jet handles like a paper plane

Mix that up with an action shooter, except be sure to leave the projectile weapons really weak so no one will bother using them.

Add in a dash of melee combat, and by dash I mean one button.

Mix well in a generic environment with some builds that can be blown up, like the hulk game.

And now you have Transformers: The Game

Generally games for movies are rushed to meet the release date of the movie, this one is like they didn't even try. You could easily replace the main character models and then there would be nothing left to indicate that it's a transformers game except for the title screen. The graphics look alright I suppose, but after that it's all down hill. I mean, if they had spent 30 minutes showing this game to some kids and paid them in ice-cream or something, they could have had enough ideas to fix it. I just don't understand what developer in their right mind would be willing to attach their name to trash like this.

Maybe someday someone will try and make a transformers game, and spend more than a total of 3 months on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

brief entertainment

posted by complacent (LUBBOCK, TX) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had the general idea that this game was bad before I rented it, and it didn't disappoint in that regard. The good parts of the game are: easy controls, fun to destroy the environment, satisfying to transform with all the characters, and decent sound effects and graphics. I almost want to say that being short is a good thing too because this game gets boring kind of quick. The two main parts to this game are fighting and driving, and those are two of the things this game does badly. The fighting is repetitive because all you do is the same 3 hit combo throughout, pausing at times to pick up something to throw at an enemy. Shooting is fun but not really necessary or helpful in most situations. The driving part of the game is dull, and many missions force you to drive from point A to B as an excuse to transform instead of trying to make things more fun. Besides lacking in depth of gameplay, this title lacks in features. Some kind of multiplayer would have really added some much needed fun to the game. It also would have been nice to be able to choose any transformer for a level after completing the game. The bonus content is minor and hardly any motivation to search the levels or spend more time playing.

Overall this is a fair game. Too shallow and boring to waste money on, but if you are a fan of Transformers or just curious you might find brief enjoyment in this short game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More than meets the eye is right

posted by corvin2 (MANASSAS, VA) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Transformers the movie was great. Transformers the game is not great.

The characters all have the same moves. The driving is aweful. The target lock weak. I retuned it after 1 day. Not what I expected. The reason I gave such a high rating was because I could return it. thanks for playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Online!

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Jul 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The title should say it all. Without online play this game is fair at best. It is obvious that it was rushed to production as even the menu is limited and boring. This game has a lot of potential as the control set up worked nice and the transformations were quick and seamless. However, it is just obvious that this game is missing something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of Time - sent back next day

posted by Renzo54 (Wadsworth, NV) Jan 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Very klunky, camera view dis-jointed, pong was more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Transformers was terrible

posted by greenhouse (SALEM, OR) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was kind of looking forward to this game but when i got it and started to play all I could notice was a terrible high pitch sound feedback that's so annoying I could only play a couple minutes at a time no other games do this so i got a bunk disk or the people who did the sound for this game dropped the ball big time did anyone else have this problem?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Transformers.

posted by PDaddySlim (RICHMOND, KY) Jun 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Did you ever Play the HULK video game? enuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS SO FREAKEN AWESOME MAN

posted by Fedorgreat (LEESBURG, VA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

IF YOU DONT PLAY THIS GAME YOUR SO FREAKEN STUPID IT IS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES OF THE WORLD SO PLAY THIS FREAKEN GAME DUDE. BUT SOME OF THE CONTROLS ARE KIND OF COMPLICATED BUT IF YOU UNDERSTAND THEM THIS GAME IS SO FREAKEN AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AGUS

posted by agusshullax Jun 22, 2013

GAMES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

movie was better

posted by RFC76 (LANCASTER, SC) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

not as good as i thought it would be almost as if it should be a ps2 game instead wiating on something better hopefully the rest of the transformer games are better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

THE ACTION ZONE

posted by Thehomeskillet (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I cant write much about this game, It's a good game to rent and play.
The fighting is fun, but occasionally there are these certain bosses which you need to throw stuff at or else they knock you all over the place.
And if you get knocked all over the place you run the risk of falling out of the action zone, and if you're outside of the action zone for more than 10 seconds, you fail the entire mission and are forced to start the whole thing over again.
This game is a fun title to play, other than the fact that you cant choose which robot you get to play as, EVER.
Certain missions are especially aggravating due to the fact that you cant be removed from the action zone or else you fail. Which is a huge problem for renters trying to finish the game, but cant because the ACTION ZONE IS SO TINY IT TAKES 3 SECONDS TO WALK FROM ONE END TO THE OTHER.

If you know how to keep a humongous transforming robot inside of an imaginary mission boundary the size of a dime, then this game is definitely fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TRANFORMERS THE GAME

posted by PSN_MB84MIKE (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

hey its MB84MIKE here. being the transformers fan i am i decided to check it out. looking back it was a mistake but it had its cool moments.graphics are improved EST. its PS2 hayday, but the added levels ticked me the math off me off sometimes. still a good game just lower your standards a bit. 5.0 out of 10 check me out on PSN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What A Waste of Time

posted by BengalsFan (NEWPORT, KY) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

No Trophies - No ANYTHING. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okey Game

posted by shadmanscofield (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Transformers was an okey game if you like transformers you'll like it, but it gets boring after a while. The graphics are pretty good, but not the best. I would rent this game before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Transformers

posted by knives564 (MONTEBELLO, CA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

dident really go with the movie and its all just mission to mission, not alot of fun free roam and game play isent that great, also for game replay ability ts not good at all inface i got it and the very same day i returned it, honestly the worst game ive played on the ps3....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Transformers the movie game

posted by Taz604 (STROUDSBURG, PA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Well I must say being it was a movie based game I was not really looking forward to this one. I rented it thinking I would give it a shot. My reasons for not being excited were definitely proven right.

First off the most dissapointing thing about the game was the developer. With as fun as the Lego games were you would think that a game like this dine by travellers tales would be good. The game looks rushed and the controls in vehicle mode are very sloppy. High speed turning is definitely not recommended. Instead of bumblebee feeling like a traditional American sportscar I felt like I was driving a delivery truck. The car just wouldn't turn. The graphics are mediocre at best. If you really want to get good transformers game wait til war for cybertron comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the time

posted by 764Ohio (NEW HOLLAND, OH) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Game has no practice so you can learn the controls. Its hard to control the play in vehicle mode and there is no way to know how much time or how many things you have left to do. I would not rent the game or buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TRANSFORMERS

posted by Free2Rhyme (CORTE MADERA, CA) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Fun...better on Wii then on PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok game

posted by eznugtenn (TIPTONVILLE, TN) May 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

the car is hard to drive!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

graphics and storyline

posted by GAMEZUES (MEDIA, PA) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

The game play is sick but the graphics are a little off. but it is a fun game if your a transformers fan get it if not dont bother because the graphics arnt worth while for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

transformer

posted by WSPungelbc (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

not worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse