Rent Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark for PS4
view large frontback

Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.5

503 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sweet Combat

posted by Justdawg08 (WAUSAU, WI) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best part of the game is the robot on robot action, blowing the other robots apart looks very nice on the PS4. There is a nice selection of transformers and transforming is quick and sweet. I can go from flying my jet at high speeds around the map, weaving through obstacles and then within a second transform and be on the ground battling baddies.

Escalation is decent, the enemies spawn points can be messed up. A lot of times I'd go from my shield wearing down to suddenly my health is just depleted. Needs some work.

The environment is nothing special, think Warframe if you have tried that. Needs more detail, everything just kind of shines/blurs together in the environment.

The cutscenes were alright, the dialogue seemed mildly amusing. Had a hard time truly understanding what was going on at some points in the story, but the general jist of things is.. the bad guys got something bad.. we need to stop them. And you play as the decipticons from time to time as well.

I was thinking 6/10, but it's not really "Above Average" so 5/10 is "Fair" for a fair game. Not bad, fairly fun if you like your robot on robot combat, could have been more polished though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Oct 9, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game thinking it would be as good as War for Cybertron and Fall of Cybertron, but sadly it wasn't. It was pretty bad. Not worth wasting your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Would have been great..... On PS3

posted by NeoNamurai (DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA) Dec 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2007

Completely unimpressed with weapon situation, battle dynamics, and pixelated graphics, poorly executed game and really just not very fun. Step it up people, I hope you all lost money on this one so you will stop churning out the same old stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't rent or buy.

posted by Dcash1106 (WHITE HALL, AR) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

This game isn't very good @ all. It stinks! The controls are confusing and the gameplay is horrible. The story sucks and all in all this game is a waste of time and money. So please do yourself a favor and don't put this in your Q or buy it. You will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not rent or buy!!!

posted by confram (RIVERSIDE, MO) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game sucks, I give it a -10!!! The enemy voices get so annoying because they keep repeating little phrases over and over. The AI stinks, and the playability sucks. Activision should be ashamed of themselves with this one. Games like this is the reason for Gamefly... so thanks Gamefly!!! Talk about bad games, I'd rather play asteroids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok to rent

posted by Anubis833 (OWENSBORO, KY) Sep 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This game was ok. Not as good as War for Cybertron and def not better than Fall of Cybertron. I enjoyed it because I love the transformers, but I am glad I rented it and not paid 60 bucks for it. I rented it for PS4, but its obvious that they just got the ps3 version to play on the 4. Graphics aren't ps4, not that graphics bother me. Graphics don't make or break a game for me otherwise I wouldn't still play Mario on nes.

Pros:
--Peter Cullen reprises Optimus
--The change into vehicle form any time
--playing various new characters, including an insecticon

Cons:
--Story is confusing
--Voice acting not so good. Even peter Cullen couldn't save it. Cheesy one liners said at complete random. Even optimus yelled out watch out!....when he was alone..
--Enemy damage is way too unforgiving. this isn't demon souls. Even on normal you can die pretty quick once your shield runs out. oh, and your shield sucks too.
--weapon upgrade system

I found that you do the most damage and take the less damage in vehicle form, use it often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A step back.

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2009

So this game is the third entry in the new transformer game series, and it has some good things and some issues. So lemme go through them all.

The Good
-The characters have specials such as drifts sword dashing ability which is rather cool.
-Combines both the G1 and the Movie universes
-Peter cullen is voicing Optimus as usual
-Transformer action

The Bad
-The Voice acting aside from a few characters is downright terrible.
-The story is nothing amazing
-For ps4 the graphics look like ps2.
-Doesnt innovate enough

So all in all, this was a step back from the previous two games, if you enjoyed them and you enjoy transformer then yes rent this or even buy it for less than 20 bucks. I enjoyed it but it is not something I would pick up over and over. Fall of Cybertron is still the best TF game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth the time.

posted by Crackerjak (Ironton, OH) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Whether you're a fan of the genre, or just a gamer, there's somethin for you here. The game plays more like a lost season of the series, than one ofv the movies. Gameplay is tough at first, and checkpoints can be pretty scarce at times. But the ability to play as 30+ different characters, all with different vehicles and as abilities, well compensates for the difficulty. Definitely worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by NY_gamer_11 (LONG ISLAND CITY, NY) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Excellent game! So much fun for a true Transformers fan like myself. I had a BLAST. Original sounds, voices, sick graphics and impeccable attention to details by the game creators. Options to play both 'cons and Autobots. Loved the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by snoopyindio (NEWARK, NJ) Aug 15, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

gameplay and grafics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks.

posted by ProPlayer (STOCKTON, CA) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Take a note this game made by Activision.
Bad graphic , bad voice actor, killed me with 3 or 4 hit on easy mode.
This game like a kid movie more then a game.
Don't buy, don't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what i get for trying a movie game

posted by xBLOODx (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Game is complete garbage, now going into it i knew it was not going to be the hottest game of the year but still, story line is terrible, graphics look ps3ish if not ps2, and the way skills and upgrades work is really confusing. I suggest steer clear of this game unless your trying to get some easy trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Story and game play is good but no Multi player

posted by BroncoNate (REDFORD, MI) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

got the game today played the story then went to play online and it never conected looked it up and it just happens so i sent it back if you like playing the story over and over and over again then buy if not then just rent if you like playing the story and not online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Skip it

posted by DaddyFatsax (LANCASTER, CA) Jul 17, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

The game just isnt fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

meh.....

posted by Th3HighLif3 (WINDSOR MILL, MD) Jul 10, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Kind of boring in my opinion. Just seems thrown together with a Transformer title slapped on it. But hey, this is Gamefly! Rent it and form your own opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by xjfsx36 (BUFFALO, NY) Jul 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This is possibly the worst game i have ever played the graphics.......oh boy the graphics they are at least 3 generations in the past the story is lacking and the online is well SAD. DO NOT RENT WASTE OF TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not sure why so many bad reviews.

posted by US2WEIRDOS (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

Yes, the graphics are bad and definitely do not look PS4 quality. But, the game itself is fun. Playing as Grimlock is AWESOME! The combat seemed perfectly fine to me and I play A LOT of shooters. I gave it a 7. It's not perfect, but I think a lot of people are giving this a lower score than it deserves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not next gen

posted by dominateninja (LEWISTON, ID) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

i didnt not enjoy the gameplay, for a next gen game, i felt like i was playing on a ps2, the background and combat was very lacking, and ity was easy to lose interest in the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Transformers: Rise of the Shovelware Trash Heap

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

So if you've ever played either of the two excellent predecessors, "War for Cybertron," and "Fall of Cybertron," developed by High Moon Studios, you're going to be in for a huge disappointment as they handed the reigns over to Edge of Reality to deliver a frustrating, bland, and poorly executed experience with this new installment. They tried to include the game modes which made the last two great, but here, it falls flat on its face.
The first thing you'll wonder is if you are really playing a game designed to run on the new powerhouse systems, as other than a shiny avatar, the muddied textures and cut-and-paste water effects look like something running on a PS2.
Another issue is that the difficulty settings don't seem to make the game particularly easy or more difficult, instead, regardless of the difficulty setting, the almost-broken combat relies less on your skill as a player, but if you happen to "get lucky" during any given enduring battle, with the infrequency of checkpoints forcing you to try lengthy sections over and over again until you luck out.
Also, I've had the game freeze or crash on me on several occasions, and it ultimately feels unfinished, unpolished, overly mundane, and another movie tie-in that was developed solely to prey on the ignorance of some gamers and Transformers fans. Were you aware of the critic-review-embargo they placed on this game for many days after its street release date just to make more money, and keep gamers in the Dark on how poor of a product they were prepared to release. Don't waste your time with this one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Bad. Decent shooter, couldve been better.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Jun 30, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

This game isn't much graphic wise. Ive seen better games on the PS3. This actually looks like it could be PS2.
The story isn't that interesting. I haven't seen the movie, so Im not sure if this follows the movie or not.
The fighting is somewhat fun. Its exciting to hear the robots yell as you blast them away, especially in escalation. Its the ONLY online mp mode, which is kinda like a horde mode, where you defend against waves of enemies. Its kinda fun too.
Opening gear boxes for upgrades is a bit tedious, especially if you have 100 or so EACH. Takes forever if you have duplicates. They could have arranged that a lot better.
But all in all, its a decent game. Not bad, but could've been a lot better in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not next gen

posted by ravenjrob (EASTABOGA, AL) Jun 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2011

I can tell different studio made this game. Really liked the first two games graphics and ps3at best very buggy music was pretty good.if u love transformers it is still worth a rent.not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is PS4 graphics?????

posted by wolfess22854 (HOLDENVILLE, OK) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Let me tell you this game really was poor. The graphics were basically early PS3. There was no real story to speak of. I felt like I was basically doing a multiplayer battle arena on each level of the campaign. The cut scenes were pointless. They tried to make it appear so epic with the music. Gotta say again this is what gamefly is for. To try all the stupid games so you don't buy them. Don't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game is okay.

posted by Alexbustos97 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Beat the campaign in 1 day it was pretty good. Escalation eh online is really laggy. The graphics may not be next gen but hey i enjoyed the gameplay. So hopefully they will have next gen graphics in a new transformers game so yea worth renting but not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I Just Don't Understand

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Jun 28, 2014

Member since Jan 2005

I just don't understand how you can have 2 decent Transformer games in a row and then regress to this. The only thing I found semi decent about this game was the graphics. Neither transforming or combat was fun. Everything felt clunky. Another movie game where they are just trying to make a quick buck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Alright Transformers game

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I am going to keep this review very brief since this game doesn't have much to talk about.

First off, this game is a prequel to the newest movie that just hit theaters on June 27,2014, Age of Extinction. So if you are not caught up with the stories then watch all the transformers movies and even the War for Cybertron and Fall of Cybertron games before playing the Rise of the Dark Spark game.

Second is that the game is about the various factions of the Transformers trying to stop Lockdown from using the Dark Spark, or even using it for their evil plans. Also the Dark Spark is basically the Dark Side version of Optimus Prime and do so much more things instead of just imparting wisdom, like pausing time and such. It is a great story if you a transformers fan but for an average game this is a great game for kids and young teens.

Graphics and Sound quality I have to say doesn't bode well for the PS4 version. Its like a outdated PS3 game that is updated a bit for output at 1080p HD. It's not bad but it is okay look since this game is done both next gen and current gen systems. The only great thing about it is the particle effects of smoke, smog, dust and such are way more detailed on the PS4 than the current gen versions, probably same for Xbox One and maybe Wii U versions. Sound is great but the music the only thing is well done about this game.

Gameplay is fun and entertain if the game was lower priced. Unlockables and online features like the Escalation mode will keep anyone busy for a little while but not for long.

Overall I give this game a 6 out of 10. Its an Alright Transformers game anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse