Rent Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

4992 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Skimpy Singleplayer, Entertaining Multiplater

posted by RaajTM (MERCED, CA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I don't really want to go into much details about the trend of video games based on movies, some are hits and some are misses and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen falls into that type of category. However, I did enjoy it for the most part. Even if you're late in the game climbing aboard the Transformers bandwagon, this should appeal to you and any other casual gamer out there.

To really enjoy it though, I think you'd have to be a real fan. The game pays some homage to G1 fans out there. The singleplayer can be played both as either Autobots (Optimus Prime, Bumblebee, Breakaway, Ironhide, Ratchet) and Decipticons (Megatron, Starscream, Grindor, Long Haul, Sideways). They don't have much to choose from but it is a pretty good list. The number grows a bit for multiplayer however throwing in Seeker and Protectobot, etc.

The singleplayer missions vary from defending/ruining buildings, escorting people, races, and of course transformer fighting! Though some missions seem like they are really rushed and not long at all to keep one entertained.

Also between missions cutscenes are played out by both factions "hideouts" which seem just a bit odd that they keep coming back to same spot to discuss what happened.. only to go back to the same area, it just doesn't make much sense. Each mission is timed and depending on how fast you are you rewarded with medals, platinum being the best through bronze.

The multiplayer however is where this game could shine even more if they put more work into it, and i mean more maps and characters.. even a more balanced multiplayer system, as of now seems like if things aren't going right people drop out or relocate to the other team. With those nuisances, the multiplayer is actually quite fun, no side is more overpowered than the other and its justs so fun when you are victorious.

I recommend this as a rental to any fan or casual gamer that likes the movies. Otherwise I feel some may be a bit disappointed. Rental at least!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's fun, don't believe the movie game stigma!!

posted by tmartin (MONTGOMERY, AL) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

27 out of 32 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Ok so,you got a fairly weak single player,but,if you are like me,you don't buy games to play single player. I bougth it for the multiplayer and it's fun IF you have friends or make some to play with,you don't want to be in a game trying to fight them all solo. There is a slight issue with people quitting and the teams being lopsided,but that's usually when you're kicking their butt.

The single player is basically a run and gun. You got people saying there isn't enough to do, yet the list that you have to defend this,destroy that,kill this boss,protect this person,transport this person, blow up this blow up that and they say it isn't enough? What more could you expect? Puzzles? This is Transformers not dang Bejewled. The single player is only good for the unlockables, you can unlock vintage episodes of the transformers cartoons, kinda like walking down memory lane when you get bored or can't be tied to the control for the 15 minutes ish it takes for a ranked match.

There are several multiplayer modes, but the problem is that this game has the movie game stigma and everyone assumes it sucks, and granted the single player isn't the greatest but it serves it's purpose. If you like Chromhounds online you'll like Transformers2. It's very similar except that,you can transform and get around a heck of a lot quicker and you can't customize like you can your hounds.

The multiplayer is balanced pretty well,nothing is too overpowering so you dont get everyone picking the same transformer. You can pretty much pick what you think is fun and do well on most maps. The only thing that would have me questioning the longevity of the online play is the mere lack of people playing the game, like I said, it has the movie game stigma and lots of people seem to be staying away, so that scares me that a day could come when you try to search for a game and there simply aren't any, but thats months and months away.

My opinion=Singleplayer=3 Multiplayer=9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty fun game but a little to easy

posted by Game4me (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I liked everything about the game. I just thought it was a little to easy...although i didn't really listen to the story because i saw the movie before i rented so...yeah. But other than being to easy i was very satisfied by the gaming controls, graphics were alright (even though i wasn't expecting to much from it), i didn't really here much as sounds goes like the transforming sound soi guess sound could be bad but i don't really care was still a good game and should be rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just have FUN!!

posted by Jaymz1 (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

38 out of 51 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The campaign is pretty good and the unlockables are cool. The multiplayer is actually pretty fun.. i'm glad they added multiplayer to this. The multiplayer modes are all fun, and the gameplay is very smooth and consistent. Again.. very fun to play. I could see how this game could have been better... but that would only happen if Epic had made it.. LOL.. in my honest opinion you should all give it a chance. Quit looking for flaws when playing and just have FUN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Simple and Clean

posted by bgJOJO (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I liked this very simple game. It's one of those games you like to play after playing complicated thinkers where everything that can possibly go on at once is jammed into a moment.

Although I'm not a "huge" childhood fan of Transformers the game was entertaining especially to get the achievements. If your not after the achievements then good luck trying to find something exciting about this simple and clean game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What I expected

posted by Infamous36 (LINDENHURST, NY) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

18 out of 32 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Its a movie game, no more no less. All it is shoot some robots and repeat. Overall its fun but it has me wishing for a G1 Transformers game to get made. I also felt it tried not to spoil the movie, so there really not a story. The control are kinda hard to get use to , but the stupid AI makes targets easy to kill. There is a lack of characters to select from. I would of love to see a created a Transformer option or at least some customization or a hidden Transformer to unlock. If you want to pop it in and shoot some robots than its for you, but if you want something with more depth and a challenge you may want to skip this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Only Great if you are 5 year old

posted by hustleman2 (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is awful; it is so repetitive that it will not hold your attention past the 2nd mission. My 5 year old nephew was thoroughly entertained by it because he can transform and drive around as Bumble Bee or Optimus Prime. I however was not. The controls are cumbersome and you have to hold the RT to stay transformed. This becomes annoying when you are just trying to drive around. If you decelerate to much you are back in robot mode. So it’s either go really fast in vehicle mode or keep transforming into robot mode trying to go at a controlling pace. I say thank the heavens for Game Fly for sparing me the purchase of this game. This is most definitely a renter. I would recommend this one for anyone over the age 6. I would rather play Candy Land than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rated "C" for Cräp

posted by JasonD (RALEIGH, NC) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Why can't they just make a good Transformers game? This game solidifies the assumption that movie games are rushed, short, repetitive, and generally not fun to play. Whoever thought it would be a good idea to hold down RT to transform needs to have thier job(s) evaluated. Bland graphics, horrible controls, repetitive missions, no plot, cräp (stupid language filter) voice overs, and the list goes on. Thank goodness I rented this instead of wasted $60 + tax to buy this. Trust me, stay far away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good action, clunky controls

posted by EazieCheze (FLORENCE, KY) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Upon tossing this game in for the first time it was mildly entertaining. The action comes in waves and is fast-paced. Unfortunately, the controls get a bit clunky, with different buttons mapped to the same functions (i.e. X to shoot in vehicle mode, hold LT, press RT to fire in robot mode). Also the "return to home base after every mission" aspect of the game was a real turn-off, and made the entire thing feel non-linear.

Do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What was the point?

posted by JakCrow (LIVERMORE, CA) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boring and repetitive. Even if it had been interesting, the single player campaign can be completed in a few hours at the most. And the missions being timed? Who's lousy idea what that? Glad I didn't buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Online and offline

posted by Gamestar34 (LITCHFIELD, OH) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The story(Offline) isn't that good. The multiplayer(online) is the only thing good about this game. If you don't have xbox live i don't think you should get it. Hope this helped you decide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

posted by katesdad08 (LANCASTER, OH) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game starts out very exciting, but quickly becomes repetitive and boring. There is a limited amount of different enemies to engage with. After the first couple of levels it is hard to maintain an interest in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Transformers exploited

posted by CISTEM (VISTA, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The control were clunky at first, then once you get a hang of them, the game has no challenge to it. It seems as though, they rushed to get it out. Story was weak, i hate playing games about movies.... it was just overly disappointing...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its not the worst movie game I've ever played

posted by DrKnow (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had real possibilities. I would have given it a higher rating except that the single player missions are so repetitive it got old really fast. The combat is a bit frustrating since the enemies only seem interested in running away from you. This causes issues when you are in trying to beat the clock and you have to chase down enemies all over the map to continue.

The Camera is all over the place. While attacking enemies I frequently lost them as the camera jumped around. This especially happens when you get up close to melee them. Very frustrating when you have to circle around just to orient yourself again to the enemy position.

The best part of the game was unlocking the old-school transformers cartoons. I found myself watching these then not wanting to go back to the gameplay.

The worst part, maybe just a pet peeve, is on escort missions. The escorted party is always yelling at you to come save them, help them, don't leave the convoy, don't go hunting, where are you, etc...etc... It's nonstop, even when they have full health they are screaming bloody murder. I had to turn the sound down just to concentrate.

I didn't even finish the campain before I returned it because I only foresaw more of the same gameplay the 1st half of the game provided. The same repetitive levels chasing down enemies that run away from you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

do not rent this

posted by uxorialkop (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is a movie cash in game at it's worst even if you are a transformer fan the boring drawn out and repetitive missions will upset and frusterate you to the point of madness i feel sorry for any poor soul who actually bought this horrible game. All i did was rent it and i am still very upset by the experience

P.s. the multiplayer also sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Transformers: Revenge of the Faulty game

posted by BabyDoc (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, by far has to be one of the worst games I have ever, and will ever play. For starters the controls could not have be planned any worse, at least in the first Transformers game, it was a single button press to transform, and not a constant, depressed trigger. The combat applications, were also quite horrible, trying to aim at an enemy, further than what appears in the game to be 100 meters, is almost. You'd have a better chance of getting struck by lightning than hitting any opposing flying forces out of the sky. I believe that, when the production company of this game decided to make this title, they wanted to rush it out of the door, as soon as they could just to make as much money as possible.

-BabyDoc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game

posted by Kr3wGamer (ZEPHYRHILLS, FL) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

SUCKED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

CONTROLLS ARE WACK

posted by JDeitrich (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is alright..just the controls ruin the game...too much confusion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What's the opposite of The "Wow" Factor?

posted by Biliruben (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The "Yawn" Factor. And Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen has it.

Pros: it's pretty. The graphics are detailed and vivid.
- I did enjoy the G1 episodes that are part of the unlockables. More for the nostalgia than anything.

Cons: Where to begin:
- As one who enjoys campaign play to be immerse and engaging, this campaign doesn't even come close to doing that. Both campaigns are broken into missions that are loosely joined, if at all. Coupled with the fact that the average play time for a mission is about 5 minutes, there is barely any continuity in the storyline.
- What can save a weak storyline, though, are great cut scenes. This game has one. Not even one "great cut scene", just one cut scene.
- Each mission is played in a zone. These zones are relatively small and after completing half the missions, you begin to feel a little cramped wondering if you'll ever get a zone you can really explore.
- I hated the controls. I know control layout varies from mfg and games to their respective counterparts. But let's agree on one standard: Right-trigger always shoots. To couple it with the transforming action (and then tie it to the vehicle speed) in addition to the weapon only made it very confusing at times.
- The dialogue is weak. Mikaela and Sam's parts are irritating to listen to. Especially Sam's. You also have the transformers conversing with themselves in between missions. The idea is that their dialogue will vary in relation to your performance. The result is a very disjointed conversation that will eventually bore you to tears.

3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Excuse for a Disc

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If this was a XBLA game download, I would understand the quality of this game. But if you paid 60 bucks for this puke I'm sorry for you. I rented it and returned it the next day. Terrible. Controls are the worst I've seen since Pro Paintball 2005, stupid missions. They say Destroy those enemies, drive here, drive there, destroy that guy, drive here drive there. Multiplayer not even worth it. I thought Transformers the game could and would be much better with the sequel, but boy was I wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE GAME IS ALMOST AS GOOD AS THE MOVIE!!!!!!

posted by gamerdude8 (WEEKI WACHEE, FL) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is an awesome game. it is really good. if you dont ave this game you should get it. the game is soo good im ganna buy it probobly.but seriously the game is almost as good as the movie. you get to be practically everyone. and you can also be decepticons!!

i would rate this game at a 10 out of 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

transformers game

posted by natedeezy (ALVARADO, TX) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game was good but, it was too fast. I like playing with the transformers but besides that it was okay, i was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Transormers 2 Reveiw

posted by Homers (STACY, MN) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing this game a lot. It was not OMG!! special, but i had a really great time playing it. Transformers offers players to get in the movie and cruise around or fly around i a 3d virtual world of the Transformers. The graphics are really great ill say 9/10 the gameplay is kinda sour ill give it a 5/10, the amount of fun i had ill give an 8/10. this is not a game i would consider buying. i had fun playing it, but like all games it got boring quickly. this game doesn't have very much to offer, what i mean is the missions are all the same kill your enemy's and get away, occasionally you will come across a mission where you have to find a person and bring them back to safety. Ironically they drop you right next to the location where you are suppose to find the Person. And the loading and the waiting is just not worth it, but i had fun playing it, but i wouldn't play it again. Thanks i hope i helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lot better then the first

posted by dcderon (BROWNSVILLE, PA) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not to bad of a game. the campaign mode is really cool but the time to get gold medal is little to fast but hey I got them lol because im a gamer. If you like transformer you will love the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short and sweet, like always:

posted by ShaunDBSTN (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is pretty good. It's repetitive and it's very restricting, but it's better than the first game based on the films. I'd recommend it to a child or someone that doesn't play games often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse