Rent Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen for PS3
view large frontback

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

2670 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just plain fun

posted by HotJohnny (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I think this game has gotten a bit of a bad rap. I think it deserves a better review than it has been getting at alot of websites. I have been a gamer ever since i can remember and it has always been true, to me at least, that story takes second place to the gameplay of a game. I honestly don't care if a game doesn't even have a story mode as long as it plays well. I tell you this because the story mode in this game is a joke. Personally, if i want to watch a movie, i watch a movie, if i want to play a game i play a game, so i don't care that the story mode is a joke, because i am playing a game.

The second complaint that alot of people seem to have is that the controls are bad. And i agree that they are weird, but they start to make alot of sense as you play the game more and more. The holding down of the button to stay in vehicle mode becomes second nature, and when you don't have to think about it anymore the gameplay becomes quite fluid. As an old school gamer, it actually reminds me of the old days where every game had a very distinct control mechanism, instead of today's square is always reload, and triangle is always jump mold game developers seem to be falling into.

And my final point is that this game is just plain fun. The "story" mode can get repetitive, but that's true with every game, but the online play is a blast. Imagine hovering under a bridge waiting for those pesky autobots to roll by and right when they do you swoop up behind them, and they are trapped between you and your allies. Or being Bumblebee and launching missiles at an enormous Megatron, then transforming and unloading your machine guns into him while flooring it at breakneck speeds to perform a backflip-kick while changing back into robot mode to finish him off. Maybe it's my fanboy talking, but i've been waiting for this kind of stuff my whole life.

I've been playing this game while Ghostbusters and InFamous have been collecting dust.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everything I expected and more!

posted by dtigertron (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

28 out of 32 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As you can tell from my review name (dtigertron), I am a huge transformers fan. My expectations for this game were verry high. The Transformers:Revenge of the Fallen surpasses any thing I could have hoped for!

First of all, it is an open environment. You are free to take out your enemies and seek cover in any way you see fit.

Second the graphics are incredible! You can see through the characters inbetween there pistons and other things holding them up.

The controls take a little getting used to, but for the most part make sence.

Each character has a special ability that makes sence. The medics in the cartoons and movies are the medics on this.

Most of the environment is destructable and there are bonuses for each faction regarding it. If you are the Autobots, you are penalized for running over the people and cars getting in your way. If you are the Decepticons, you have to almost go out of your way to cause more damage.

Multiplayer is quite something as well. You are limited in how many can play at once, however there is no lag in switching weapons or transforming.

In the story mode you may play as either the Autobots or the Decepticons. Each faction unlocks different things. My favorite unlockables are cartoons of the Transformer series. You get specific cartoons for specific achievements in the game, and you can see what the reward is for each achievment in the mission select interface.

I gave this game a 10 because it has everything I hoped it would and more. My PS3 name is the same online, so I will see you there and have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Story mode is alright but online is so fun!

posted by lilTigga (DUBLIN, CA) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I got this game and played story mode and got bored of it.Then i started playing online and got hooked!It's very fun to fight eachother autobots vs Decepticons!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Total Shock

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Aug 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I looked at this game before playing it and said that it looked retarted. When I decided just to rent it, i loved it. I think its cool how you can choose a faction. The game itself may be easy, but they challenge you by putting in time limits and getting platinum. The characters are AWESOME. And, one of my favorite parts online. I dont know why but online is so much fun. Its simple but a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Less Than Meets The Eye

posted by alec9922 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

After all the hype about improving the last Transformers' game you would think Revenge of the Fallen would be a lot better than the last lackluster installment.

Is it better? Yeah....the last game was horrible. Is it good? No-- this one is just kind of weak.

To transform you must hold down the R2 button.....not tap it--- hold it down the entire time you want to be a vehicle.....some buttons do one thing when your a vehicle and a totally opposite thing when you are a robot. Its just not fluid or comfortable for long periods of time. For a shooter to be good it has to have easy to use controls. If i had to lay blame for this games inherent failure it would be at the feet of the awkward and poorly conceived controls.

The story is nonexistent....no cut scenes or movies to advance the plot.

The game is really just a below average 3rd person robot shooter with very repetitive no name enemies. Each level does end with a boss fight which highlights a named Transformer.....that was cool.

The missions are standard stuff....killing, protecting, fixing.... and there are a few unlockable items that will maybe give you a reason to play a level a few times but it just got old really fast for me.

The voice work sounds like its all the original actors (especially Optimus and Sam) so its enjoyable and well done-- a big plus.

I dont know.....I just expected more from this blockbuster of a movie franchise. Rent it, blow up a few robots, return it in a few days.....isnt that why we all joined Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All That I Expected

posted by jeeps187 (WICHITA, KS) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

All'n'all I thought that Transformers was a fun and entertaining game. For the type of game that it is, it was made very well. It takes a bit to get the controlls down, but after you do and you start unlocking different items you can really get into it, however this game will never be in my collection, I didnt like it enough to play it after I beat it, but I am glad that I played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How the mighty have fallen.....

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Jun 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Once you get used to the controls, Transformers 2 offer next to nothing in terms of originality, gameplay, graphics, and sound. I found the whole experience dull, repetitive, uninspired, and unimaginative. It seems the game was made to take advantage of the hype for the film so no real work went into making it. One good thing about this game is that you have a great selection of robots to play as and you can play two different campaigns. It's unfortunate really, because this game could have been so much more. But the same can be said about all bad games, right? Rent it, play it, return it, but don't ever buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its okay not bad

posted by beast222 (NORWALK, CT) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

7/10 FOR ALL gameplay good just controls but get used to it story okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I just don't know

posted by mrasad211 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I find it hard to rate this game. On one hand it is just supposed to be a fun little driving/flying game with some action, and on the other hand this generation of games with the technology provided should be so much more than they are. For this game the controls are terrible. You can't fully enjoy vehicle mode as a ground vehicle because you have to hold the right bumper to stay shifted and the steering is what you would find on the early Sega Genesis as far as handling goes. As for in the air being able to shift quickly has it's perks but still if transforming is second nature to these characters why do I have to hold a button down to stay shifted? As for the action... it is not even worth reviewing. Let's just leave it at repetitive. I honestly wish I could just put my membership on hold until God of War III drops because some of these current games are just bad. Sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Overrated

posted by jackpot (CHICOPEE, MA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is excessively BORING. Non-existent story-line, repetitive. All the three modes are hard as heck to use. As a third person shooter, it fails to deliver as well as melee. The mission is hecka boring. Follow the radar, kill a few robots then follow the next destination which could be anywhere on the map even places you already been. Sandbox style but with a very small cut-off point. Just don't get it. It's been a lonnnnngg time since I've played a game THIS BAD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Transformers 2 the game revew

posted by soldiarxr (BURBANK, CA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 29 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

wow this game is awesome and i love it so much...im almost finishing the whole game today but im still going to play other games to but the movie im goit to definetly watch it. it should be better than the game. i gave the game rating a 10. becouse u can have have so much fun playing th game. its pretty addictive so u can play for houers and still have fun not getting bored. an the best part is theis is online... the online is awesome... u get to pick ur own charictor to play with.i was playing it this morning i mean i was playing online this morning and it was very much fun. so i hope you the creator of the game make a nother transformers game and a nother movie the 3rd transformer...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A GOOD GAME BUT TOO EAZY

posted by llee777 (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I WILL GET THIS GAME I'M BIG ON Transformers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not even a good movie based game

posted by Combatvetg (LAKE MARY, FL) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

When you think of a movie based game, you would think it would follow the story of the movie. This game does in a since, but not really! Everything is thrown around and shuffled. I am sure this game was made for my 12yr cousin, but I doubt he will even like it.

I was interested in the decepticon story after beating the autobots version in no time. But the decepticon story might be the most confusing. Without giving away anything, look it up on google or youtube. The last battle left me scratching my head

Graphics
The Autobots and Decepticons look good. The city and everything else, not so much

Gameplay
Great game for the button mashers! But for the guys who like to mix it up and have combos, 1 button does it all.

This is a game you rent, beat in 2 hours and never play again. Game has no re-play factor what so ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good enough?

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) May 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

- Storyline is a little confused
- Graphics can be better, but they're not.
+ Good action
+/- Gameplay is good, but when you transform into a vehicle it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Good

posted by Tarnished (DALLASTOWN, PA) May 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

What exactly was wrong with the first game? It had open world enviroments, the abilty to transform back and forth and stay there, and easier controls. And you, for some reason, took out all of this. You made the game a third-person shooter, took away our abaility to explore the landscape, added a time-limit! And the worst sin? You made us have to keep a button pressed to stay transformed. Which killed have the fun right there. And tacked on a lackluster multiplayer.. I'd rather play Superman for the N64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

you can kill people.

posted by cpgormanteacher (YUCAIPA, CA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

its a pretty good game,well the first game is the best one but the problem was is that when you shoot people they wouldn't die they would just run off screaming.but in the second one i don't know if players know this but if you look closely you can see these little things running and those little things running are people.i thought it was gonna be like the first one where you can't but then i just thought well you never know so i shot one of the people and sure enough they get blown away and they die.i thought that was pretty cool so i changed my mind that was the best transformers game.not to affend you but i actually like the transformers revenge of the fallen game better than transformers revenge of the fallen movie.sorry but its true.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont rent this game

posted by charlie11408 (AMELIA COURT HOUSE, VA) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i thought this game sucked because of the poor graphics, free play was horrible, and missions were short, the game arenas where horrbly small, and that is my 2 cents

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

transformers

posted by greg5150 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

my son loves this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better than first game but still not that good

posted by shadmanscofield (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

if you liked the first game you'll love this game. if you didn't like the first then you wont like this game either its a little better than the first but still rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

transformers is a good game

posted by ironkid (MAULDIN, SC) May 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

transformers is a fun game the gameplay is very good and i got the add on pack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

posted by joseph6977 (DORA, AL) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

It had OK graphics but, it had to many differant buttons to push to shoot ,fight, ect. You had to remember each differant area that the X Circle,triangle and rectangle would do. I am older and my ol' brain just can't remember it all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by espinoza (ROSEDALE, NY) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

this is really not that good is all the same ....boring............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MORE THAN MEETS THE EYE

posted by yang124 (San Antonio, TX) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

I picked up this game cause I saw the movie and gave it a try. The controls are good, gameplay rocks, and has way better graphics than the first game. I got it for the story, but still play today for multiplayer. Its right up there with War for Cybertron.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suks

posted by doom741 (HANOVER PARK, IL) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

this game suks so much gta 4 is tha best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by Gkopp86 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Game play was horrible. You have to hold down a button to stay in vehicle form, and fighting feels sloppy. Voice acting was terrible, and as with all movie to game formats...epic fail. Story is terribly put together....the whole game felt rushed. Over all, WASTE OF TIME.
Movie to game = FAIL. Thats gamer law.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse