Rent Transformers: Fall of Cybertron for PS3
view large frontback

Transformers: Fall of Cybertron

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

1797 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Transformers Goes Back To Its Roots

posted by sLapDatSuCKa (NORTH AUGUSTA, SC) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Transformers Fall Of Cybertron may actually be the best Transformers game ever. The sequel to War on Cybertron, this Transformers game follows the first with more action, a better plot, and greater gameplay.

Now everyone may actually dispute the lack of co-op in the campaign mode, it may have been the best decision may by High Moon Studios. It allowed the story to play a much greater part in the game. Characterization was much better in this game than its predecessor. While in that game, there were three characters a stage. For the most part in this one, it is one character and they shine based on the level being designed around their secondary ability for the most part. That allows the characters to have depth, rather than running around like Terminators destroying other robots.

The gameplay is action-packed with very dull moments. It is a war out there in this game, and the action hardly ever lets us. What I found interesting is that the game was not easy by any means. The AI is not fodder for Optimus Prime or Megatron, they are real challenges. The graphics are great, but I would compliment the art design. There were parts in the game that I felt like I was watching the older '80s version of Transformers. It had classic G1 Transformers all the way through it, including lines from the 1986 Transformers: The Movie.

I cannot say anything bad about this game. The only reason why I took away one point was because the length of the game is only several hours. It is not long at all, only 12 chapters. But add multiplayer with that, and the game has a ton of lasting appeal. I recommend this game to any Transformers fan, and even those who may be looking for a good third-person shooter. High Moon Studios did a great job with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by ratandjmt (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can say that the story in this game had me going until 2:30 the other morning. The story was very well written and reminded me of a good book or movie. I always wanted to find out what was going to happen next.

The variety of game play keeps you wanting to play because it isn't the same old shoot and cover system. It actually changes with the character/level you play.

You can actually play the multi player without paying for some special code. So with a rental you can play the entire game. The online mode is fun, don't get frustrated if you are getting killed a lot at first. Once you level up a bit the game is very fun.

If you are a Transformers fan this is a must play game. I would also read a book called Transformers: Exodus. It sets up this game very well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great sequel, strongly recommend

posted by bblack300 (LAFAYETTE, IN) Aug 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome , great game engine, great storyline and voice over acting.

The multiplayer is a great improvement on the 1st game, more game modes, and surprisingly no online pass required

Definitely worth a rent and to buy if you are a fan of the first game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review of Transformers: Fall of Cybertron

posted by DragonRider (SEWARD, NE) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is one of the coolest games I've ever played. It has shooting, explosions, and alot of different characters to play as. The only thing I was dissapointed about was that it didn't have quite that many levels, but each one was totaly action-packed!

I enjoyed playing it, and I really do recomend this game to any fan of Transformers, action, or driving-themed video games. Enjoy Transformers: Fall of Cybertron!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fall of Cybertron

posted by Jojospud (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game that allows you to play autobots and deceptecons. Only down side is there is no split screen play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review Of: Transformers: Fall of Cybertron

posted by mexicanvaquero (TYLER, TX) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's start with the single-player game play. TFFOC has lots of variety in the campaign. The stages have a beautiful look and feel, YOU ARE IN THE BATTLE! Also you have a wide range of characters, abilities, and enemies. Tired of boring decepticon drones? Not no more, the enemies range from leapers, wall crawlers, upgraded tanks, and more. The characters in the story each have an individual feel, for example, Optimus' level is full of airstrikes and heavy weapons, while Cliffjumper's mission is based on stealth.

Multiplayer will satsify your hunger for bot action long after the story. Since a lot of components to multiplayer are similar to War for Cybertron I'm going to review the biggest change. The customization was much different in other Transformers installments, you can combine body parts from all the characters to make a rockin' lookin' bot! You can have a Grimlock Head with Megatron's chest plate. This game, in my opinion, is the best Transformers game from any series or franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by JUSTIN10023 (SPRING, TX) Jun 22, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

didnt play campaign 8-online rating

posted by RhythmicSpazms (OAK PARK, IL) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

But the Online is dope, CallOfDuty for Transformers, i dont know how long people will keep playing, the next good Transformers game will be super dope

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Story , great multiplayer, must play

posted by ksambad (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

hours of my life were dedicated to the multiplayer, nearly as addicting as COD but i was able to pull away after many many hours, the story is very cool and entertaining too , dinobots and only negitive thing to say is multiplayer loadouts need to be more customizable, certain guns only go with certain builds if it were wide open mite be more fun to create your own... also where is the DLC? only 2 they should have dropped alot more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Transfomers fall of Cybertron

posted by Dave39 (ELSMERE, KY) May 31, 2013

Member since May 2013

The game is great, The story is well written and it seems to pick up where the last game left off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

un happy

posted by ninexnine (VICTORIA, TX) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

not my kind of game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Buggy

posted by mental1000 (SABINAL, TX) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2008

This has to be the worst release I have ever seen. I never got to play past the second level. It kept telling me corrupt game data. I have deleted the data 8 times and have the problem at the same place every time. Activision says this happens because of the demo, which was never installed on my PS3. I own every other transformers game but won't own this one. Simply it just doesn't work!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by rryan513 (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Fun to play, but i beat it too easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Transformers

posted by apolak0715 (FARGO, ND) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

Well the graphics are great, and it is pretty cool to play, but it is way to short. This game was too easy to beat. If you are just renting it, fine play it and have fun, but don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The game was okay

posted by emaric1 (EASTPOINTE, MI) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I really enjoyed the game. In the future, there should be a rpg transformers so character creation can be enjoyed more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game for any shooter fan

posted by SoraCloudPunk (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game was overall good. It did of course have it's glitches but overall not to many. The controls were very well thought out. The graphics were middle of the road but voice acting was phenomenal. The camera was the one glaring problem. But not occurring often just when driving and you hit something. Still good game for any shooter or transformer fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More than meets the eye

posted by texasvaquero (DALLAS, TX) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I use to love watching the Transformers cartoons back in the eighties and this game brought back a lot of old memories. I enjoyed playing as different autobots & decepticons as the story progressed. Nearly all the favorites like Optimus Prime, Jazz, Bumblebee, Soundwave, Megatron, Starscreen, Grimlock and many more are playable characters. The futuristic weapons were easy to handle and accurate. Transforming was often a tactical advantage & treat as well. Great graphics, cool voiceovers, and fun as heck to play. Autobots! Let's roll!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Old Skoolers will enjoy it

posted by Gusto1 (PERRY, MI) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2008

This is definitely not the most exciting game. It doesn't have the the best graphics or gameplay, but it was enjoyable and entertaining. Being of the original Transformers era, it was great to see the old school throw back characters. It was the primary reason I continued to play, just to see who I would recognize from my childhood next. I'm sure some of the young crowd will be wondering who these guys are. Fairly beatable in a short time, the game did offer enough action and in-game upgrades to keep me interested. A good rent, not a purchase, unless you want to remind your kids who the Transformers you've had in your basement for years are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Even better than the first!

posted by jsmooth2010 (TYLER, TX) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

The first transformers game from this studio, was amazing, and this sequel stepped it up greatly. Seriously, the action set pieces in this game are so insanely epic as a true transformers fan. Graphics are top notch, game play is fun, and there is a variety with the different characters you get to play as. If you are of fan of older gen transformers you will be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Nostalgia Factor

posted by denryannelson44 (ESCANABA, MI) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Maybe this isn't the best video game, but it is the best re-tread of the 80's transformers in any form of media ever. I could not put it down once I started playing. If only Michael Bay had cared as much about the Original TF fans as the makers of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game but released with bugs

posted by los1440 (SANTA FE, NM) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game itself was amazing and a great story but there were levels that would bug out. Just so there is a reference here on the site, if it happens to you. You want to make sure to sync your trophies and then delete the game data from your hard drive (do not delete your saved game data, just the data that is installed when the game first runs aka game data). Once you load the game again you will be able to reinstall the game data on your hard drive. I had to do this a few times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Title

posted by KellExile (OXFORD, NC) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Really enjoyed Fall of Cybertron. Solid mechanics mixed with an interesting (G1 Era) story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Mightie (HAMPTON, VA) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The best game I played in 6 years...bar none, had me hooked until I beat it...I should buy this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too shabby

posted by JAY_DRIZZLE (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

This game had a very interesting storyline as well as good character cast. I would however have liked to choose which Transformer to use each stage. I am sure as future titles come out they will work on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved this game!!!!!

posted by htmn2054 (RED HILL, PA) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

For fans of Transformers, this game enables you to live in the world of Cybertron as the Autobots fight the Deceptycons in a civil war. The game takes you through the last week of the war before the Autobots launch their Ark and try to escape.

The gameplan is great and there are plenty of ammo and health upgrades to be found. Anyone familiar with first-person shooter games such as Call of Duty and Battlefield with find the controls and gameplay to be very similar and therefore easy to adapt to. An excellent game that makes me want to go back and try some of the earlier Transformer games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse