Rent Transformers: Dark of the Moon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, 3DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.4

2925 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Transformers: Dark of the Moon

posted by LTTANK1973 (FOLSOM, CA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Son enjoyed the game overall, but was disappointed about how short the story lasted (only six levels). He was able to finish the story in an afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not nearly as good as War for Cybertron

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jul 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I personally thought WFC was an awesome game and boasted really good single player, co-op, and multiplayer modes. This game on the other hand was likely released to promote the movie and you could tell it was a big step down from Transformers WFC. It has a very short 1-player campaign and 2 modes of online multiplayer (team dm & dm).

The campaign gameplay was pretty fluid, but the experience was only a few hours. Transforming to vehicle forms was easy and smooth, giving you many ways to expose of the enemy in both forms. Each shape has their own special abilities and weapons, and I loved the variety with each autobot and decepticon you can be. So you can travel faster by using the vehicle form (jet or truck/car) and use those missiles to take out bigger guys, and then quickly turn back so you're on foot and can use your smaller guns and abilities to rip apart the guys around you.

You'll play some missions as a transformer from each side, so you'll get to play as both Megatron and Optimus at parts, but most time is spent playing as the other not so cool transformers. The flying and driving parts of the missions added good change of pace action also. You can also replay each mission at certain checkpoints after completion, to collect the hidden icons you missed or get achievements easily.

The online multiplayer for me wasn't that great, mainly because if I wanted Transformers online I'd play WFC, which has multiplayer, co-op, and survival modes which are all good. Online play is still fun because you have a lot of classes of transformers to choose from, each with their own unique moves. So if you want to be stealthy, some classes have cloaks, while others have huge banging guns if you want to just blow up stuff. All in all a pretty good game but probably not worth $60 to buy-- A good day rental and for a pretty easy 800 achievement points.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ALERT!!! ALERT!!! DO NOT BUY

posted by SPARTANZ (HENDERSON, NV) Jun 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

34 out of 45 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

this is quite possibly the shortest game i have ever played. on normal difficulty, i beat it within 5 hours of receiving it. i got done with the 6th level and it gave me the acheivment for beating it and i was pisssed. i anticipated this game for 3 DAYS. 3 days of constantly running to check the mail. and now it is in route to gamefly as i type, 6 hours after getting it!

the gameplay was boring and repetitive, the enviroments were different, but the objectives were the same. blow up this, disable that, protect this, blah, blah, blah. however, the graphics were fantastic, i remember my self stopping at a cliff and staring at the ocean and nearby islands for 2 minutes. it was awesome.

all and all i would NOT buy this, just RENT mainly for the easy acheivement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game.

posted by Texan1986 (BANGS, TX) Aug 12, 2011

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I don't usually critique, but when I do, I do it right.

GRIPES
1) It shouldn't be called Dark of the Moon, since the entire game is a prequel. I wish I had played it before I went and saw the movie.
2) Optimus's chapter was great, just wish I could have smashed more Deception while playing as one of my heroes 8)

PRAISES
1. Presentation of the game was nice. Since the TFormer movies came out, I'm not a big fan of the old style look of the TFormers. War for Cyberton almost didn't get my playtime because of the blocky look of the TFormers, but I played it anyway and wasn't disappointed. I love the look of Bay's TFormers, and appreciate the work done on them in this game.
2. My gripe about War for Cybertron was the play this side, then that side campaign. DotM fixed that by making it one streaming story that didn't leave me going "But I want to play the Autobots first!!"
3. Playing as the little guys FELT like I was driving a sports car and fighting as a nimble little fighter guy. Very nice.
4. It had a very TFormer movie feel to it... the music was almost spot-on. Played the first mission with my stereo turned up... very nice.

OVERALL
The gripes are trivial. This game deserves more praise than anything. Like every work, there are things that can be improved on. However, if the War for Cybertron guys keep on making TFormer games I'll be sure to play them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Im a FAN

posted by Vellonius (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im not a hip to the gamer lingo but the truth is i was plesantly suprised by this one! I got it for my son and i ended up playing it WAY more than him. Great weapons. The transformation from robot to vehicle is seemless and exactly how id hoped it would be, I bought it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but Short Perfect Rental

posted by DaemonEA (DAVIS, CA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Perfect Rental it is over in one night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Darker Days

posted by R1V3Rr4t09 (FALL RIVER, MA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well this is the third Transformers' film to game, and Transformers third attempt to multiplayer. Now before I break it down to you I'd like you to know that this is probably the most fun I've had with a transformers campaign in a long time. WFC was fairly descent but the illuminous colors that were used for the stage made traveling a little incoherent. This game however is a whole lot more lush and easy to navigate. The only problem I had was with how short the campaign was. A total of seven chapters left closing the game's story into a prequel to the movie itself. The AI is a lot more forgiving then in WFC or any other Transformers game for that matter, and combat is a lot more fun even though to melee combat you have to press in the right stick. Almost all of the achievements are fairly easy to acquire and most can be attained within two runs of the campaign. Now on to multiplayer. Here still needs improvement, but it's a big step since WFC which had also showed signs of improved multiplayer. Multiplayer in this game is all about team coordination. However because of unlockable percs, certain team formulas can go drastically wrong. It's amazing how fast Shockwave can be spanked by two puny Autobots. It is a lot of fun but still because of the low replay value of campaign and the simplicity of acquiring all achievements throughout the game, I recommend this as a rent only title. And if you are planning to buy it as a game and not as a collective memento I'd say buy it straight from Gamefly for the discounts. This game gets a straight 9 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by syracuse (ELIZABETHTOWN, PA) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

good game its fun but some hard missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ROTF is better

posted by GIDAVE (ALLEN PARK, MI) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

11 out of 23 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Although not BAD as far as movie games go, the added stealth mode gives WAAAY too much power than should have been givin, making it useless to transform into Bot' mode, as you will die very fast, and the standard Alt modes are used only in "boosting"

Gone are the coop and escalation modes that made WFC have a little bit of replay value.

I would recommend anyone that wants the BEST transformer game to check out ROTF. This one just does not add up to a decent $60 purchase, and I would say most will send it back in the 1st few days

Very low draw distances...Cant climb buildings...Cant pick up new weapons...This is a major step back from WFC.

Graphics are at par..physics are a little lacking. Online modes turn into everyone using the new "steath force" modes because its silly to try and get kills in bot mode when there are so many perks to Stealth mode.

Campaign is kinda short, and is NOT a very good "prequel" as they stated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dark of the Cybertron

posted by scalan15 (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2004

11 out of 24 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This game is a stripped down version of Transformers war for cybertron, made by the same studio high moon, even though it's stripped down from WFC, it does not mean the game is not fun, because it is. On Hard Difficulty I got through all 7 missions in around 10 hours or more, I had to pause a few times because I have a 3 year old running around like a mad man. Just like War for Cybertron, you're gonna have a great time playing the single player missions and the multiplayer, OHHHHHH! THE MULTIPLAYER IS AWESOME!!!!!!! Just like WFC, there are not as many options as WFC, meaning the upgrades are all the same for every class, the classes are Scout (Mirage, Bumblebee, Sideswipe, Dread) Hunter (Breakaway, Starscream), Commander (Optimus Prime, Ratchet, Ironhide, Megatron truck, Soundwave, Soldier Class (Warpath, Tank Megatron, Shockwave). If you're a big transformers fan this is a buy because of the multiplayer, If not, rent it and try it, you will like it, one of the better movie titles ever released

P.S. I gave this game a 10 because of all the haters that will give the game a 1 just in spite of it because it's attached to a michael bay movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game of the year

posted by viperrko1 (ERIE, PA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is one of THE most fantastic games of the year. Great combat and weaponry, not only that but even though the storyline is different from the movie.. Awesome Storyline made in the game! Fantastic detail on the characters such as, Megatron,Bumblebee, Optimus Prime, Shockwave, and Iron Hide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Transformers Dark Of The Moon

posted by Punsher1987 (SOUTHPORT, NC) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

game is very easy and fast. good game but dont buy it. War For Cybertron is way better i hope everyone would buy it and keep that multiplayer going because its smoother and in my opinion the best Transformers game ever mad thus far..... dont rate this game bad tho its great just all together its not as good as i hoped. play it tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

not bad

posted by daveacious (GILBERT, AZ) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

pretty cool game not as good as the first one. campaign was cool but very short.

definitely a game you should rent if you liked the 1st one. ill prolly still buy it just for the multiplayer tho.

gave it a 10 as well for tards who rate it under 5. real rating 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quick, Fun and Easy

posted by silvergadget (Anaheim, CA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As movie games go this one is one of the better ones. While not as great as War for Cybertron, the gameplay is very similar. The entire Campaign falls in the 8 to 10 hour range and adds a bit to the transformer story post Revenge of the Fallen and Prior to the actual Dark of the moon movie.If you like transformers its a no brainer, if u don't its still a fun game with easy achievements for all of you achievement hunters, 700+ in one play through. Dont let the stigma about movie games keep you from playing this game .. at the the end of the day you'll at least be saying it was a good that u rented it rather than buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easy 1000

posted by Aeternox (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your a gamerscore hungry player like me, this game works great for an easy 1000 attainable within about 8 hours or less depending on skill level of course. I only give it an 8 because the graphics aren't the best and the storyline isn't as good as War for Cybertron. The storyline pretty much is a prequel to the new movie thats out now and so it won't spoil any plots in the movie at all tho!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Transformer

posted by jake12345678 (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was not even based on the movie. Like is there another part of the game or what ?. Who ever made this game did not do a good good on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Barely worth a rental

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

They tried to pull Dark Moon Studios into this but that only made this worse. This isn't even a mediocre version of War for Cybertron. The campaign is short and easy on the hardest levels, the graphics look just as the rest of the gameplay (RUSHED), and the multiplayer is unfinished. You level up in the multiple to the max within an hour playing on conquest. There are only a toddler's handful of characters to choose from and so creating a robot is virtually pointless. The cut scenes only provide a tease at what the game could have been like had DM Studios been given time to work on the game. If you like TFs, love TFs, and just wanna play something a little different, rent it, you'll finish it within a week and completely max out the multiplayer. If you're looking for a real TF experience, play War For Cybertron.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

trasformers dark in the moon

posted by gunsmokemaster (RIVERSIDE, RI) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Using different kind of aotobots like Bumblebee,Ironhide,Sideways,Raget,Broge,and Octumus prime, and more wait till you see the movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great - then cheap unplayable junk

posted by SpiderX (LA VISTA, NE) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Started out great, smooth and fun, then the game kicks in with cheap gimmicks,

Ya know, AI you have to protect auto deaths itself forcing you to start over again and again, guns seem to get weak and take longer to load, which, ya know forces you to start over, lots of timed missions which ya know forces you to start over, just gets cheaper and cheaper as you play loaded with things that start to annoy. All the sudden shooting at the same robot with same gun doesn't do damage at the most opportunistic times for you to guess what, stater over again. Sure if you have nothing better to do and have unlimited time and love to do the same thing over and over again, you can play this game...stealth missions are terrible.

After bumblebee stood in one spot and auto death himself about 50 times that did it for me, lost all of it it's fun.

Cheap production value, cheap deaths, to just add time to make it seem longer, is so obvious.

Another game that reminds us why not to ever buy games anymore. very poor graphics.

Overpriced junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible pece of sheet

posted by adamgg (SEALY, TX) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dont rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This had a really good story

posted by 11111111 (BLUFFTON, SC) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The story is really good and has a lot of details about the mission. The game was very easy and intresting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not that good

posted by opeter (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

The game had all good transformers but there it no Sentanol prime!!!!!!!!!! It had barely any parts from the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TRANSFORMERS

posted by PRISONHAWK (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

THIS GAME IS BUGGED, YOU COMPLETE THE FIRST MISSION THEN THE DISK BECOMES UN-READABLE, I HAVE TRIED TO CLEAN THE DISK SEVERAL TIMES I HAVE EVEN TAKEN OUT THE GAME RESET MY X-BOX AND TRIED TO PLAY IT AGAIN.

THE DISK SHOWS NO SCRATCHES OR FLAWS, POSSIBLE A BAD COPY OF THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't Get

posted by volden113 (NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, MN) Jan 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

this game would be ok if it was longer. game play and the story line are not bad. just way to short. spent 4 to 5 hours with it and done! wait tell this game goes 5.99 or less .. would not pay any more for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay game

posted by ffighter311 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Decent game. Fun being able to play both sides.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse