Rent Transformers: War for Cybertron for Wii
view large frontback

Transformers: War for Cybertron

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.1

482 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

A lot of fun to play!

posted by tmar89 (WHITEHALL, PA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was fun to play and the controls worked very well. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not enough meets the eye

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Transformers: Cybertron Adventures is supposed to be an epic battle that started off the series - where Optimus Prime and his Autobots leave Cybertron with Megatron and the Decepticons trailing them.
But there’s nothing I find here to be epic, or even memorable, about this rail shooter.
That’s right, this game’s a rail shooter. You don’t get to explore anything; the game makers dictate where you go throughout the game. While you are following the set path, you engage in two distinct game modes.
The first one is a copy of the Time Crisis franchise where the player has to shoot several sets of certain number of opposing guys, but the player has the option of hiding behind cover to avoid taking fire. But in cover the player can’t take down the opposing guys, so there’s a risk/reward aspect.
Cybertron Adventures takes the idea of Time Crisis and adds a nice touch: the sniper rifle.
The other play mode is the driving/flying mode where the player has to guide the robot through an obstacle course and shoot debris and planes. It’s just okay.
But what are not okay are several problems this game has.
First, there’s the lack of content; there are eight small Autobot levels and eight small Descepticon levels - which most players will breeze through in about four to five hours. After that, all you can do is play those sixteen levels a second time in Story Mode or Challenge Mode.
Second, there’s no difference between any of the robots in the game. I was using the same tactic and weapons with Megatron as I was with Bumblebee - and all the other robots. Boring!
Third, the game dishes out points at the end of each level and gives a rank up to the player after gathering a set number of points. But there’s nothing to be gained with a rank up. I don’t get better guns, more health, or a better chance to score a critical hit.
This game is good as a distraction, but I wouldn't pay $50 of my hard earned money for Transformers: Cybertron Adventures. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

CAUTION!

posted by Slicendice (GRANITE BAY, CA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is NOTHING like the 360/ps3 one...
yep. this is YET ANOTHER ON-RAILS game. no multiplayer, just you aiming and shooting at the screen.
dont be fooled by the trailers and reviews of the other versions, this is worthless junk compared to the others
Im really dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TRANSFORMERS LIES!!!!!!

posted by autobotfox (WINTERS, CA) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I just finished playing Transformers: cybertron adventurers and i have a few complaints that you need to hear.

First of all they changed the title from Transformers: war for cybertron to Transformers: cybertron adventures. Why the heck did they even do that. I was thinking that they typed it wrong. and this isn't what i`m mainly mad about.

they even changed how the game play was. i didn't even get to move around at all. i just got to shoot and drive. that really stinks!

but the worst part about all of this is that i didn't even get to make my own transformer. that is mostly why i got the game. this game made me so angry that i actually threw the game controller across the living room (I actually did). even if you watch the game trailer don't, i repeat don't get game. it might look cool but it isn't. the same thing happened when i got the transformers revenge of the fallen game for PS2. the trailer looked cool but the game was different in so many ways i don't know where to start. thank god i didn't buy the game.remember, DON'T BUY OR RENT THE GAME!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

transformers cybertron adventures

posted by prime123 (HARDY, IA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game was the patch that filled the hole in the story, of how cybertron was destroyed by war. but some of the things stunk you could only move when the game let you; it would let you take cover but you could only take cover were it wants you to. though you could play as many autobots & decepticons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

well its okay i guess

posted by rickcall1 (UNIONTOWN, OH) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

except the fact that the game moves your character for you its fun.. but since ther is no free moving availability its very reppetetive, go here, shoot 5 guys,go there shoot 6 guys, go there and you found the energon core...yay?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hard for children

posted by pepsifreak (KENNEWICK, WA) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

My 8 yr old son liked this game, but everytime he played it, he complained it was too difficult for him to understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

AWESOME LONG GAME

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

SOOO MUCH FUN!!! i couldn't put it down. so many options to choose from. It was a good challenge. The epic story line kept me going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

totally epic for me and my bro

posted by boooobob (overland park, KS) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game is great i love it its so fun amazing for me and my bro i just loved it the only bad things are 1:you cant control your guy but on the bright side you can aim with your remote and switch weapons. 2:you cant go to a level after you finished it you can only go back and do the last level or restart on another save slot and play again. and 3: in multiplayer your not two people your one guy and i was sad when i was forced to be 2 player and just use one gun but if you play 1 player mode you get to control the car instead of just shooting and you get these weapons a gatling gun a sniper and a missile launcher witch i enjoy! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

transformers cybertron adeventers

posted by nohtnoj (BRIDGEPORT, TX) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

it was great but you couldn't control your own movements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame

posted by roguemutt (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I played 2 missions and started a third before deciding to put this back in the envelope. It's such a lame title even by Wii standards! Apparently you don't get to choose when to transform or even move your guy around. Instead the game moves you from one spot to another, where you shoot Autobots or Decepticons and then it moves you to the next location. Sometimes it transforms you into a car/tank/plane/whatever and you get to do a little bit of steering.

The graphics are nice and I like how they tried to combine the looks of characters from their 80s original versions to the newer '00s movie versions. Still, the gameplay is so lame as for it not to be any fun.

Maybe it's better for the PS3 or XBox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst controlls for a Wii game Ive ever played.

posted by Germany88 (VENTURA, CA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

I thought it was just me but 3 different other people tried to get the game to play right. Driving and shooting movements are so sensitive its near impossible , we played about 1o min each then said forget it!! I have the wii motion plus and brand new batteries so it was the game for sure.
When we picked 2 player the 2nd player just sat there we never even saw where player 2 was involved in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SKIP IT

posted by HDSP2010 (STORRS MANSFIELD, CT) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This game isn't worth a try. It's more like a arcade shooter and there are better games like that for Wii. I grew up with transformers and the only thing i want in any transformer game is the ability to TRANSFORM. Cybertron adventure doesn't care though, you can't transform and all transformers have the same set weapons. Just simply skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Transformers game since Armada.

posted by Mumserpal (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Once again the "professional" review sites dropped the ball.

This isn't the same game as War for Cybertron. Instead of dumping a scaled down port to the Wii, Activision gave the Wii it's own version developed by "Next Level" The people behind Punch-Out.
Transformers: Cybertron Adventures tells the pre-exodus story of the Transformers. And they tell it very well in this game. Strong vocal performances all around, including Peter Cullen as Optimus Prime!

The game features a campaign for each faction, which is best played simultaneously(Autobots Level 1, then Deceptions Level 1, etc.), as opposed to beating one campaign then starting on the other. This is a great way to see the story as each side gives a different view of the events that had taken place during the level.

You can tell that a lot of care and polish was put into this game, as everything looks and sounds great. I didn't notice any bugs either. Its very clear that Next Level took their time on this.

The game play is sort of like a rail shooter, but is played completely from the third person perspective. The on-foot sections are very reminiscent of Time-Crisis, in that you have available cover to hide behind. There are also driving and flying sections. Each one as enjoyable as the next, and there is a two-player mode, where the second player acts as extra covering fire for player one. Which makes some of the time sensitive areas less hectic!

I played through on normal difficulty. The game is about medium length, if you play both campaigns, and even lasts longer if you replay the old levels for achievements, which are found in the game's challenge mode. The game has unlockables in the form of character artwork. Not that exciting really, but certainly not worth taking points off for!

I'll be buying this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by crgrlvr13 (TEMECULA, CA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

transformers was a nice game that held great action and great ideas. the characters were very well designed and fun to watch. the action scenes were great. but the lack of getting to move your own character was a big hold back from it's great potential. transformers was a fun game that just didn't last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »