Rent Trace Memory for DS
view large frontback

Trace Memory

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

748 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trace the Memories

posted by Bryce1442 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Blood Edward Island. You're going there to meet up with your father, who you thought was dead. He should be meeting you at the docks. But for some reasons he's not there. So you're Aunt, who raised you and came with, goes to look for him.

She does not come back and you get worried. You stumble into the forest and hear her scream! After a bit of investigating you figure out how to lower the bridge: use the stylus. Next you find a graveyard. A boulder blocked the way out of the cemetary. How could we move it? Yep. The stylus. You then meet a ghost named D.

Now, for the rest of the game, you and D must explore the Edward Mansion to find clues about your mother, who you have no idea of her being alive... or dead. Along with your memories you must also trace D's and the mystery of his almost-entire family's death.

A TON more DS interactivity also follows. From blowing into the MIC to dust off a portrait to stamping a piece of paper by closing, and then opening, the top DS screen. And there's even more than that!

ALL artwork is amazing. It is probably the best ever for the DS.

Now, I know that you have heard the game-length is short. But it really doesn't matter. And that for two resons:
A. The story is so incredibily complex (and yet simple at the same time) and captivating that you won't want to set it down.
B. You're renting it from GameFly, so there isn't any worries.

In the end I give game a 9/10 for being stunning in about every way, except for length, which is made up for by the great story line and the fact that you're renting, not buying.

Final Rating: 9/10 for the official site rating.
9/10 for renters.
7/10 for buyers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short but sweet

posted by aestias (CHELMSFORD, MA) May 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're into investigation and mystery games then this is for you. You explore the past of a girl named ashley and the mysterious "D" that you meet in your adventure. Overall this game is very good and uses the touch screen very well. My only complaint is that the game is very short. You could beat the game in about 2~3 hours. This makes it perfect renting quality! It may be short but it is definitely worth playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a great game but very short. If you don't

posted by GameMom (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a great game but very short. If you don't have a lot of time to play through a game this is the perfect game for you! You are playing as a young girl who has lost both her parents or so she thinks. As you play through the game on a mysterious island you pick up clues and figure out puzzles to your past and the past memories of a young boy you know only as D. There is an extra puzzle at the end the game the second time around but it isn't worth playing through a second time, although I think it is a clue to the next game. I hope this helps! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not long enough

posted by justme (DRAPER, UT) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

We really enjoyed this game but was disappointed that it was not long enough. It really had the potential to be a really cool game. I thought the puzzles should be harder to solve also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get Phoenix Wright instead

posted by Strategist (Bountiful, UT) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very similar to Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney, but inferior in every aspect. It's a mildly entertaining adventure game, and might have been great if its developers had spent a little more time with it.

The story starts out slow, and then suddenly ends just when it's starting to get interesting. The 3D world that you walk around only serves to make it longer and more tedious to walk from place to place. Some of the puzzles are interesting, but a few are stunningly ill-conceived. The questions at the end of each chapter seem pointlessly tacked on, and add nothing to the game. And, as I mentioned before, it's so short that it ends just when it feels like it's getting started.

Unless you just can't get enough adventure games, play Phoenix Wright instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good story

posted by loto128 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Great storyline, really gets you into it- but the game is incredibly short, the play control is finicky, and pretty frequently you hit dead ends about what to do next besides poke random objects until something happens- you arn't really given much direction. The solutions were clever in a few of them, though. A good rental game, overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sorry, just not a very good game

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

The only plus I can give this game is some creative use of the DS stylus and mic during a few of the puzzle.

The story was dull and predictable. The graphics weren't bad, but weren't anything to write home about. The music and sound effects were par or worse and most of the puzzles were really easy.

Also, the game was short, just a few hours. There is a new game plus option, but there's no way to skip through cutscenes to speed things up and I can't imagine playing through the whole story again just for some minor bonus material like different journal entries...woooh.

I'm usually pretty soft on games and don't rate them harshly unless they really don't bring anything to the table. This game really doesn't bring much to the table so it gets a 4. Definitely not a buy, and bottom of the queue if you wanna rent. I'm sure many other games in your queue will be better than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun.

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

trace memory is a fun point and click game. although sad that D the ghost of how he died. a short game too. the chapters are only 6. i give trace memory 3 keypad codes out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Good Quickie

posted by Puzzler (CLOVIS, CA) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Trace Memory was quite enjoyable despite the length of the story. The puzzles where very innovative and got my brain working. I completed this game in less than 4hrs but in that time it was worth it. The dialog seemed a bit stiff but the story was good enough to keep me playing. I would recommend this game to anyone that is planning to take a long trip and is a puzzle lover. Don't be prepared to be impressed, but you will have a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a thinking game

posted by roseofdoom (KENT, WA) Jul 11, 2008

Member since May 2005

First of the puzzles in this game are easy. The hardest thing is you have to put a gear somewhere.
The main charter is a complete idiot, yet everyone tells her she is really smart. And some puzzles are just dumb. At one point there was a door that needed to be opened by a code of two symbols, but the code was right next to the gate. This game is easy and has a really bad story. THe game is also just meant to show case what the ds can do. At one point I had to through a rock onto a hand which played more or less like basket ball. I don't want my puzzles to be sports. The game feels like myst 4 with it's camera only it's myst 4 for people who can't think. This game is not meant for people who want a quick game or people who want to use thier brain. I beat the first level in about an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good puzzles, good story, good game, but short!

posted by Gsensei (KELSO, WA) May 17, 2008

Member since May 2008

I definitely enjoy and would recommend this type of game to those who like them. It has an intriguing story line and the puzzles are challenging (if sometimes unintuitive). My only complaint is this game is short. I like long and detailed story lines but this one ended too quick for me. Still, it is definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good story, slow moving

posted by Anime4Ever (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This is not for the average action freaks. It is a graphically stunning game, very in depth, and goes into great detail about many things - making it a very good title for mystery and storyboard game lovers. However, this title take entirely too long to get moving. And if you reach a point where you are stuck, you can spend hours being boxed into an area while trying to find the one clue that will release you to the rest of the world. If the game moved along faster, I would have given it a much higher review and recommended it for more people. But at such a slow pace, many people will find themselves bored after a short period of time. Definitely for older adults with plenty of time on hand that want something out of the ordinary. Otherwise a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, cheap play, better than most new titles

posted by Kalimahs (VALPARAISO, IN) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Personally, I really enjoyed this game. There was a few times I was slightly stumped, but I was never "stuck". As long as you fish around a little you can eventually solve every puzzle without help. I thought it was creative and challenging enough to be fun without becoming frustrating. There's a bit more dialog (to eat up time) than I might like, but it seems a lot of games in this genre have that. All together a really entertaining DS title that's a cheap, fairly quick play, something to pick up when you have half an hour to kill and will still leave you feeling satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!! But...could get hard.

posted by bluemike (SNOHOMISH, WA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

You can only play this once because if not it would spoil EVERYTHING!! The game was awesome but some things got pretty difficult so I went on Google. There are two endings I'll tell you that much. If you want to rent it, rent it. It's SOOO worth it! If you like edge-of-your-seat-games, you'll love this. It's suspensful and can surprise you.

-Doglover4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trace Memory

posted by 21213131s (SHAW A F B, SC) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

The graphics were great. The storyline was fantastic, but the game was very short. I've beaten Trace Memory at least six times and honestly, I STILL find it very interesting. I enjoy and love this game every time I play it from very beginning to very end. It was one of the best games I've ever played without giving up. The characters were introduced well. I enjoyed playing this game and I hope everyone will have a chance in enjoying this game as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Strong, Creative, Engaging, and Won't Fill You Up.

posted by Tranari (GRAFTON, MA) Jun 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game was amazingly innovative. It used virtually every function of the DS (other than the connectivity), and presented an extremely effective adventure game with some really classic touches. The puzzles were interesting without being impossible, and the story was engaging.

Now ask yourself, "Why did he only give it a '7' if it's all that and a bag of chips?". The answer: While the game is indeed all that, it's not the bag of chips. It's just barely the bag. An experienced gamer or really anyone who likes puzzles can easily beat the ENTIRE GAME in under five hours. Buzzwha? That's no game; it's a demo.

End result? Amazingly strong game for a few hours, then it's a waste of space in your collection. My suggestion is that you rent it, enjoy it, send it back, and then go on to the next game this group made, Hotel Dusk: Room 215. But do get the game regardless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Trace Memory Review

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Now, I'm usually into these types of games so I thought 'why not?' and went ahead and had it shipped. The game was of course, choppy on the bottom half where you walk. I don't expect awesome console graphics but if we can't make spherical heads on a hand held yet...uh oh.

Anyway, this game had a pretty nice set-up except it was a tad short. I beat the game in about four hour sitting time which is pretty bad. Most games should run at least twice if not three times that much time. The game was not challenging except for a puzzle here and there that would take a whole five minutes to solve.

Most of the game required you to examine the whole room before moving on because there would often be something you'd miss and end up moving backward to go find that little detail. Other times you'd examine something and couldn't take it until you found the other part of that puzzle.

The story itself was very deep and contained a hidden meaning you couldn't encounter until you finished the game. However, not much detail was put into the meaning of the story as much as finding out what the story was. I felt that story could've been so much more and it would've carried the game that much farther.

This game has so much potential but it sadly wasn't carried to the length it could've.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Trace Memory

posted by slyjen816 (PARIS, TX) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I enjoyed this game though there were a few things that bothered me. First off I don't like the way you interact with others. The game play was somewhat slow I believe. It also was a very short game. I finished in 5 hours the first time then 3 the next. Over all it was a good game but could have been longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Whats Your Flavor?

posted by FairySkull (VIENNA, IL) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

Trace Memory is the type of game that if you're into mystery point and click PC games, you'll love. If you're a Devil May Cry person, you'll most likely get bored. But for those seeking a short (I beat it in two days) but satisfing mystery that will leave them feeling smart, trace memory is a great quick pick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Trace Memory: A DS Masterpiece

posted by jacmaykt (NEWTON CENTER, MA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Trace Memory is an all around amazing game.
Trace Memory has an in depth story plot that makes you not want to put it down. Trace Memory also has game features that would only be accessible on the DS such as, blowing on the mouthpeice, opening and closing the DS and obviously, the touch screen. The only faulty thing about Trace Memory is that it is short, however, it only seems so short becuase you never put it down!

I loved Trace Memory so much and I'm sure you will love it as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trace Memory: The Novel

posted by AncientLGT (CHARLESTON, SC) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

While this game holds great promise for a puzzle game like it, I spent more time reading the dialog than actually playing the game. If there was less dialog and more puzzles/gameplay, we'd have a hit on our hands.

However, that is not the case. This game is just an example of a game that was slated to be a DS launch title and was rushed into production. Hopefully, the Wii launch titles will not have the same fate.

I rated this game a 5 out of 10, because if I wanted to read a book, I'd get one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Simplisticy

posted by djfishhook (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

This game is minutely simplistic in gameplay for you average run of the mill gamer. I personally beet the game first through in only 5 hrs. Altough it is supposed to be mindbending and what all, it still is fairly easy to understand and even easier to figure out the puzzle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

About 80% of this game is perfect.

posted by Pozzum (ROCKLAND, MA) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I found this game to start out extremely slow for me . For me it took about 10 minutes to get through the start of the game of just talking to Your aunt and the captain of the boat. I know that this happens in many games but I expected a DS game to be slightly more pick up and play.

After I got through about half of the first chapter I started to like it and couldn't put it down. At that point there was a twist or two every chapter. They have a smart way of bringing you into the story of the game by asking questions of what happens in each chapter witch forces you to get into the story.

I though that I am smart enough to breeze through this game, but I did get held up every once in a while. The hardest problem I had was a point were they something similar to that you have to reflect it somehow. I decided that I needed to get a mirror after about half a hour of trying to get a mirror I realized I wasn't going to get a mirror (I will not ruin how to figure it out but you have to use a function of the DS witch in truth isn't a function and is just the design of the DS).

Trace memory makes good use of every function of the DS without making you feel that you the same exact thing over and over again. One of the features that I liked was being able to take pictures of most things in the game witch is used to solve puzzles in several different ways.

The only real disappointment I had was the ending it seemed too predictable to me(about a minute before it happens you have an idea of what will happen). I think the ending seemed a little rushed the ending making the entire last chapter reading(I thought that it would of worked a little better if it was maybe split into a real chapter and adding onto the epolouge).

So to recap:

cons: (all relatively minor)
slow beginning
predictable ending
seems rushed
all text last chapter

pros:
great use of the DS
interesting story
innovative tactics in story telling
overall fun play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A short, but 'memorable' experience...

posted by Pwnee9 (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

This was an enjoyable game with an entertaining story and fantastic puzzles. However, even if the player is not in a rush to finish it, the game can still be beaten easily in under five hours. There isn't much in the way of replay value either. It's definitely worth a rental, but not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, but short

posted by Soniccloud (SOMERSET, KY) Aug 29, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

This game has a great story, with memorable characters! It uses the bottom screen alot and is a great DS game! But I beat it in like 5 hours!
It a great game, but really short!
I still say the Story is great and there are some great puzzle solving!
This game is worth sinking your stylus into!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse