Rent Toy Story Mania! for Wii
view large frontback

Toy Story Mania!

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
5.4

1170 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly fun

posted by jerbear (LOVELOCK, NV) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

For those familiar with the Disneyland/Disneyworld Ride, you will enjoy this game. There are several challenging stages and minigames. I was able to play with my 5 year old daughter who found this game fun and exciting.

The targeting is difficult so it is easy to score a lot of shots and not achieve a very high accuracy percentage.

By far this is one of the better games that I have gotten for the Wii and have been impressed with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Toy Story Mania!

posted by james516b (Burbank, CA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

They first two reviewers did miss the point! I love the ride at Disneyland California Adventure, but I hate waiting in line for at least 2 hours just to play for 5 minutes. Plus, I don't have to buy a ticket for 70-80 dollars.

Having the game at home means the bathroom is near, the drinks are always cold, and I get to play the game over and over until I'm dizzy! I bought this game before I rented it and I don't regret it at all.

It's fine if you don't like a game, just know what it's all about before you judge it. Perhaps you should visit the parks so you know why this game is the way it is. I love the ride & I love the game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just for kids?

posted by RoseRedd (SUNDERLAND, MA) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

We rented this game after visiting Disney and riding the toy story ride...The graphics are great and the games are neat but the games are a little to simple and it gets repetive quicky. I would highly suggest this game for kids...but thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game for preschoolers

posted by Castles88 (CRESWELL, OR) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We played these games on the actual ride in Disney World.. so of course totally got excited when they came out with the game. But... It was really boring really fast.. we each played it twice..but my 7 yr old lost interest quickly. Levels are very easy.. they explain what you need to do each time, no way to skip thru it so you sit and wait alot.
I think it would be a great game for a family with preschoolers and kindergarteners.
Glad we didn't buy it.. a great one to rent for some cute entertainment.. but you probably won't keep it long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One Forgettable Story

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

With the release of Toy Story 3 sometime in the middle of 2010, and the showing of Toy Story 1 and 2 in 3D, now is the perfect time for Disney/Pixar to sponge more money from their audience.
How? By making a substandard party game, Toy Story Mania. There are two modes of play.
The first mode you can play is the Story Mode - that has no story in it whatsoever. In this mode, you select a set of six games. Each set centers around one character from the films - Bo Peep, Buzz, and so on, plus one with games set in 3D (You need to get your own 3D glasses for this). Each set has six mini games in it.
Each mini game has a set of objectives every player has to achieve - score a number of points, hit certain targets and so on. Tickets are awarded to players at the end of each mini game and at the end of each set of mini games. So far, so good.
The second mode is Free Play where players can pick from up to 30 mini games, but there’s a catch. To be able to play a certain mini game in Free Play mode, all of the objectives have to be met OR you spend some of your tickets (50-60) to buy the right to play the game.
If this compilation was meant to be played by the younger crowd, why lock up these mini games and force them to jump through hoops to win the right to play these mini games? Getting all the objectives can be tough, and getting the tickets to unlock the game takes quite some time. It makes a simple idea needlessly complicated.
A few more things about the games; they lack in variety. There are too many shooting games.
And it doesn’t help that the voiceover talks down to the players like they are little kids; this will turn off the older players.
So what else can you do with the tickets? Well, you can buy stickers for up to six pages - and use the stickers like the kids’ sticker books. But I say kids will have more fun with the real thing than this game.
Toy Story Mania is too confusing for the kids and too childish for anyone older. SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Missing the point

posted by maxpower36 (LAYTON, UT) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I guess I'm going to try to defend a game that I haven't played. From reading these first two reviews I think they missed the point of this game. This game is a take of a Ride at Disneyland (and Disneyworld) where you are in a cart and you go through different 3D screens shooting and trying to get points. The ride is way fun, and after you get out of the ride, you say to yourself when can I play this at home.
The game was never made to be like any movie. It was made to bring the ride experience home. With that said that ride is maybe 8mins long. Just long enough for you want to play it again. I can see a game like this after playing it for 30 mins you might drive yourself crazy. The key for me, is if this game is fun for the 30mins to hour. Is it something I am going to try to get a better score on in 6 months? If the game can do that, I would say its worth it. The price of this game is a little high, but with Disney thats expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not at all what expected! :(

posted by Nyla2010 (ROCKY MOUNT, NC) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Maybe my expectations were a big high but I am a Toy Story MOVIE fan so I expected this game to have real-like movie situations but it was totally carnival'ish. Maybe I should have read the description before renting but we had this game for one day and got bored with it after 10 mins. It's going right back the next day...so glad I didn't purchase it. Maybe younger fans of Toy Story will enjoy it but my 8-yr. old son was quite unsatisfied!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, not great

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Well done but it comes off as too "kiddy" for our household.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

for familt only

posted by info123 (MILLSTONE TOWNSHIP, NJ) Aug 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is fun for 2 players or more. if its just one player its get realy boreding i played with my best friend the most and we really liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Even my 6 yr old doesn't like it

posted by D26 (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Not what I expected for a Disney game at all. We were hoping to play scenes from the movies, not cheesy carnival games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It wasn't as great as the graphics are

posted by Renee86 (ALVIN, TX) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

Rented this one for my 7 and 4 yr olds to play. Unfortunately they played it once and was bored, so sending it back.

Graphics were very awesome, and if you just adore shooter games this is probably for you, but everything is pretty much the same, the shooter was off on accuracy and it wasn't very hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Toy Story Mania

posted by DragonQueen (EDGEWATER, FL) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game is a little difficult for younger children. Rented it for my 5 year old that can play Black Ops but could not play this game. LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NOT VERY FUN

posted by jzubov (JENSEN, UT) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2005

Rented this for my son a huge Toy Story fan... he didnt like it much nor did I. We beat the whole game in one night and still my son lost interest so fast...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not What I Expected....

posted by reviewman8 (COLLIERVILLE, TN) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I went to Disney World on vacation and couldn't wait to go on the Toy Story ride. It was so amazing. As I exited I thought to myself, they should make that a video game. The very reason my family decided to get a Wii was because we loved the ride so much and heard they were making Toy Story Mania for it. Unfortunately... it wasn't what we expected. In fact, I spent the entire game wondering when it would get good. The graphics looked like something a four year old would play on a Leapster or something. The games were low quality too. Very babyish, to say the least. The concept was good, but it seemed to me like it needed a few more years in production. All in all, I would say it was a good game for a family with young children. Say, five or six.

Toy Story Mania, I give you a 1.5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good weekend rental

posted by viciouspic (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game takes about 20 minutes to completely beat. There is no replay value. You basically throw pies at targets.

This was a one-day turn around rental for us, but it was mildly amusing for that 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

family fun

posted by sk8family (BARTLESVILLE, OK) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

we had great laughs playing this game as a family

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Toy Story Mania

posted by sweetiepie (LAKEWOOD, CA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

It would only play one game, The Pie Shoot. We would click on other games, and it kept coming back to the pie shoot. My 5 yr old loved the pie shoot, but got bored real quick, cause there was no other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cute but booooring.

posted by HappyCampa (TUSTIN, CA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

My daughter (8) and I (29) found this game to be very redundant. The concept is cute and of course it's awesome because it's Toy Story but I wouldn't buy it. We played through the Story line mini games and they were all practically the same thing. Target shooting in different settings. From what I hear, it's supposed to be like the ride at Disneyland- California Adventure. (The ride has been down everytime I've been so I don't know). There could be more features past that initial game mode that we played but we were too bored and disappointed to check. :( We were really hopeful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the money.

posted by hancockboy (HANCOCK, MD) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I spent a whole 50 dollars on this game because I'm a fan of the Toy Story's and all I got was simple minigames. If I would've known about this game, I would have only purchased it if it was under 5 bucks. A total ripoff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really fun for 10 minutes then boring.

posted by zensid (PORTLAND, OR) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

Although I really love the ride in DCA, this game was fun for a few minutes, then became pretty boring. Glad we rented and didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by gamer517 (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

As soon as my 7 yr old starting playing he said it was borning and not much action!! Returned it the same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame!

posted by TimA2287 (GILL, MA) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

We have a Wii for the idea of getting friends and family together to play fun games... This game wasn't that great. We tried doing the 'Free play" mode and all it would let us do is practice tossing pies at targets. For such a highly loved movie and characters from Toy Story we expected MUCH better game play. I remember playing a Toy Story game on Super Nintendo that blew this game out of the water! Don't waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

complicated for a kids game.

posted by skiver30 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I have 2 boys 5 and 9 and we found this a bit complicated with out access to a manual to figure what we are suppose to do. Once you get to story mode there are fun mini games. Having a pie shoot in practice mode and no real game is a drag. We did not see the fun in practice without the actual game. I just was not able to see the fun in having to go through levels or unlocking games. Why can't the kids just have access to the game. Also no way to go back to beginning or not easily explained. Having a better tudorial would be real nice. Why not have short videos to show people how to best enjoy these games. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kids only

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since May 2008

For a teen or adult maybe a 2-3 rating. I played through about 10 of the games in about 20 mins then go the maze on and the game wasn't worth the effort to get this one solved, so it was shipped back to GF after an hour of play.

For those who are younger than teen years, rent it and see if they like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can only practice at beginning

posted by time2revie (Minneapolis, MN) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Problem with this game is that it forces you to have to play the main story mode in order to unlock games to play with your family and friends. We popped it in the wii and the only thing we could do was practice pie throwing at bulls-eyes that buzz and the character made out of wood (Can't say his name, gamefly thinks it's a "bad" word) were holding. Didn't keep score or anything, we were all ready to play some fun games but we were disappointing. These games should have at least some games available to play if you aren't interested in beating the story mode right off the bat. We sent it back the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse