Rent Toy Story 3 for Wii
view large frontback

Toy Story 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.4

1311 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Toy Story 3

posted by gamerdaily (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics- Not Good For The Wii

Sounds- The Song "You Got A Friend In Me" Makes You Wanna Shove Tinker Toys In Your Ears

Controls- Poor Controls For The Wii

Visuals- Enviorments are beautifully crafted

Value- Recommended For Children And Maybe For Adults

Overview

Toy Story 3: The Video is a platformer, with players able to play as either , Buzz Lightyear, or Jessie. can use his pull string to swing across certain areas, Buzz can fling other characters over long distances, and Jessie is the most agile and can balance on small platforms. Certain levels require players to switch between them to clear the levels.[5] There are two main modes, Story and Toybox. Story mode consists of nine levels and follows the events of the movie (as well as the opening videogame sequence from Toy Story 2). In Toybox mode, players can create and customize levels and fill it with inhabitants and missions. By completing various objectives within this world, players can earn money to unlock new objects and expand their city. Some of these objects are reported to include characters from other Disney/Pixar franchises.[6][7][8]

An exclusive version of the game for Xbox 360, Wii, and PS3 was sold at Walmart that includes four additional Theme Packs for Toy Box Mode. The Theme Packs include Sports, Knights, Cutesy, and Military. Players can use the Theme Packs to decorate buildings and dress townspeople and aliens in different ways after spending 500 coins on each pack in the Al's Toy Barn area of the game. The Walmart exclusive version also features a reflective foil background on the front of the case, rather than the standard black

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Powers

posted by gecko6 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The powers that the characters gain are great! This game makes you feel like you are actually in the game. My favorite character is Buzz.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My son loved it!

posted by Junebug620 (DES MOINES, IA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son is three years old and LOVES Toy Story. Woodie's Roundup was really the only area he could play since he is so little but he still loved that he could choose who he wanted to play as. This is one of the games that I will be buying for Christmas!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PERFECT FOR YOUNG KIDS!!!

posted by meshello22 (MOLALLA, OR) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

My 5yr old LOVES this game, every morning! all day if he could, even shows how to do things to get to next level! love it!!!!!! this is the best way to pick a game that your kids will always play and not spend money hoping it will last longer than a day ,,, thanks gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My 8 year old loves it!

posted by jake234 (ACWORTH, GA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

My son has really been enjoying this one. Its just like being in the movie. I recommend this game for the young ones!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my 3 year old loves this!

posted by joeleenl (CLERMONT, FL) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

my son cant get enough of this game, really entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't break the mold of movie based videogames

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Toy Story 3, the videogame, is supposed to break the mold of your average movie based videogame by offering the player the freedom of playing with toys in any manner that player wants to.
But that claim isn’t met by the gameplay in this game; half of the game is your standard 3D platforming fare; go from point A to point B, jump over things, blast some bad toys. This part of the game roughly follows the plot of the movie (but that’s what almost every other movie based game does.)
The thing that promised to take Toy Story 3 off the bland movie tie-in list is the Toy Box. But you don’t get the freedom that the game makers promise.
When you get into Toy Box, you have to perform several fetch missions in the Western Town section: fetch muffins, a mule, cows, cowbells, jigsaw pieces, different types of outfits for aliens and townsfolk or several other items.
The other sections - Lotso’s Enchanted Glen, Sid’s Haunted House, Zurg’s Spaceport, Skate Park, and Stunt Park - are off limits.
To unlock them, you have to perform several of said fetch quests to make them available for purchase, then you have to gather up enough gold to purchase those play sections. (And it takes a while to get the 5000 gold piece price on some play sections.)
This is like giving a kid a toy box and saying you can’t play with the space toys until you’ve played two hours with the western toys. It’s not what I look for in a toy box.
Another problem with Toy Box is the modification of citizens/buildings. You can’t mix different types of outfits for the citizens or styles of buildings in town. If you change the look on one citizen, you change the look of them all to match. If you change the style of one building, you change them all to match. This doesn’t encourage creativity.
Toy Story 3 made grand promises, but it came up short of my expectations. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by sadgamer (SURPRISE, AZ) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I am very disappointed about this game since you are not able to complete the toy box the other character other then buzz ( not aloud to say his namein this review)roundup we are not able to do the things that you can on the x-box or the playstation. and are unable to get any father. my kids were very disappointed when they found the objects they were suppose to and were unable to use them and move on to the next part. we are not able to go into the zurg part of the game or the racing cause we can not get the people dressed like we are suppose to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good and imaginative

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Jul 31, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

The controls aren't as hard as I thought it would be, cool graphics, and interesting levels that match the plot of the movie very well. The toy playing levels from the movie turned real is pretty good and accurate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Toy story 3 the video game

posted by gamer127 (LAKELAND, FL) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This video game is a toy box for kids in video game form.

It gives Kids a feel that they are the toy and not just playing one.

Dont rent BUY. And have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too Hard for Kids

posted by momwithkids (LUBBOCK, TX) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

My 5 year old and 9 year old found this game too hard to play and frustrating. I think only older kids should play this but older kids are not interested in toy story so not sure who is the audience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for kids videogame beginners

posted by quentinsmash98 (BAY SHORE, NY) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I'm 13 years old,but I still liked it. It was very good not like the movie but almost like deleted scenes of the movie. You can play as Buzz, CowboyWoody , or Jessie. It brought back memories of my childhood. Overall, this game is suited for little children and shouldn't dissapoint you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

toy story 3

posted by andy2011 (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

kids game?

posted by bradette (REDDING, CA) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

well i rented this game cause my kids raved about it then we start to play and dad ends up doing all the hard missions , um basically the whole game , which is not easy at all, so its a kids movie but not kid friendly game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for the Kiddies

posted by stjlynn86 (BIDDEFORD, ME) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

My oldest daughter who is 7 loves this game my youngest who is 3 can even play this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gets old real fast.

posted by slawry (VENTURA, CA) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

i bought this game awhile ago when it first came out and i was really excited because they were advertising this new "toy box" feature where you could go anywhere you wanted and do anything. in the free play mode the beginning is all about unlocking new areas to go to and doing small side missions. but after youre done with those there is literally nothing to do but walk around and do nothing. there are no other characters to talk to except the little aliens that dont do anything and tiny little people that you can throw around. I was very disappointed in it because i spent so much money on it, only to return it weeks later for not even half the price i spent on it.

the only fun i got out of this game was the actual story mode that it had. but i beat it really fast.

Renting this game is ok but do not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great kid game

posted by jlkeough (STURGIS, SD) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

it says +10yr, but even my 6yr old had alot of fun playing this game. the only draw back was it only took us 2 days 2 beat it! good thing we rented it and didnt buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not want I wanted

posted by lynn1068 (VISALIA, CA) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

We tried this game for our children. It wasnt horrible but it was difficult to use in multiplayer mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

toy story

posted by fhrqwed (BRONX, NY) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

this game is not that good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I dont have this game

posted by COOPER420 (FRITCH, TX) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

I sent this game back on the 22nd of January

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Family Game

posted by DefPrinces (HONAKER, VA) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

This game is great for all ages. I highly recommend this game for anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good grafics but

posted by hotman (NEWARK, NJ) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

toy story 3 the video game has good grahfices but you cant play 2 player on toy box mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty fun game for all

posted by brandye (DICKINSON, ND) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

My 5 year old does enjoy this game except for a few very challenging parts that I can barely do and I am pretty good at video games. I wish those parts were a little easier since most of the people this game are younger kids. The game is fun and has very good graphics. I like this one much better than toy story mania. I would purchase this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it!!!

posted by meshell (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game (in my opinion) was poorly designed. First off, the text written on the screen is so blurry and written so small that unless you have an HDTV you will not be able to see what it says, therefor you have no idea what the mission is or what you are supposed to do. I would wander aimlessly for 15-20 min before stumbling upon something that I could work on. Then I discovered Andy's house and went in to work on the first level. I thought I completed it and thought it had moved forward in the game but the next day, when I started playing again, work I had done was gone and I had to start over. In reviews I heard a lot of hype that the buzz lightyear video game was the best part of this game but the controls are backwards and I kept crashing. The only thing this game did was frustrate me and make me yell at my tv constantly. Dont waste your time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

whers zerg

posted by griffin59 (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

wth whers zerg on the comircals it says hes in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse