Rent Toy Story 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Toy Story 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games, Wii, DS, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

2561 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Is the Single Player anything new?

posted by DungaDubal (MURRIETA, CA) Jun 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Not really, no. The Story Mode, as standard as it is, is pretty fun and the games slowly increasing difficulty may help the younger ones pass through the levels without to many problems. But, there is most definitely an age limit here. After spending 4 hours watching a 6 year old try to beat more than 3 levels was pretty torturous. Not only could he not pass through the simplest of objectives, but i was left to fill in the parts he couldn't (about 90% per level). Which is why I'm going to have to say that the Story Mode is absolutely not for anyone under 10 years old. So be warned, you may be stuck playing loads of difficult parts if you get this for your little ones, which isn't much fun at all.

The good news?
The Toy Box mode is made for even the youngest of gamers!!! More fun than the Story Mode and more engaging as well. The Toy Box mode lets you build up your own town however you see fit. Run it how you want.. Adding new buildings, painting and decorating them as you go. Watching over townspeople and making sure they're dressed to your liking is almost as much fun as picking them up and kicking them into a nearby cactus. But the most fun might come from the constant hunt for new collectibles to deck your Toy Box out with. Clothes, Hats, Hair and all sorts of Building accessories can be found. It's nearly endless. Races, Gold Mining, Parachuting, Recreating Photos and many more activities really fills out this half of the game.

Now, the lack of online play really seems to hurt both sides of this game. While you cannot share your Toy Boxes with friends or play any of the Story Mode with online pals (which really seems like a must for this game and its difficulty) You can play with a Split-Screen partner! so if you got any kids or friends nearby, turn on that second controller and have yourself a blast playing as W00DY, BUZZ or JESSIE...And remember, No Toy Left Behind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best children's video game ever made?

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I would vote to say this could be the best children's video game ever made...what gave that away. This game is even fun for adults, but a kid could spend 50-70 hours playing this game easily. It's amazing how creative it is and how 'open' the environment is, just like a sand box.

The little LEGO-like characters that roam the city map are hilarious, and have endless customizing. You can change any person's appearance, buy literally picking them up and throwing their little body into the tailor or hat shop. It's so funny and creative. The whole game kids will absolutely love--just because they can roam around and do whatever----whether it's kicking all the little citizens like soccer balls as they fly away and make funny noises, or dig up gold in the ground to collect coins, or complete the various mini missions that will be in display at all times. That was the longest 'sentence' ever.

It's unbelievably simple but yet so creative and unique. For example, once you access the map you the sheriff have the option of customizing any building. Walk up and push X and then you can change the wall colors, paint, trim, doors, windows, roof, and etc. No joke. All color and design, so that a girl could make every building in town pink, and a boy could make them black with spikes or something.. if he's emo kid.

The gameplay is fantastic! It's easy and the missions are so fun. It's not just Buzz does space and Wooody does cowboy stuff. There are like a hundred totally unique cool stuff to do, with so many collectibles and treasures to find.

All that aside, the game is FUN. You have missions riding horse races, car races, space missions, competitions, skating, and more.

----GAME NEEDS UPDATE BAD--- That is the only downside as of playing 6-18-10 with none yet. It's frozen 5 times when trying to change between maps and not use a load screen (dumb idea). It's glitched out a dozen times, and there are so many other errors. NEEDS UPDATE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun For The Whole Family

posted by tristan444 (CULVER CITY, CA) Jun 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is totally awesome!!!!!! it has a very fun and cool toybox mode, and a awesome story. the achievements are kinda easy but the game is still fun for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game to play but...

posted by JBHermit (HERNDON, VA) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

the game is WAY to difficult for it's target audience. My 4 year old enjoyed playing it though he could never get very far further into the game because it just became a frustration, but it was still a fun game to play and he'd watch. The Toy Box area was the highlight for him. Once he found out he could make the Lego people into Wall-E and Eve...forget it...that's all he wanted to do...all the Lego people ended up being Wall-Es and Eves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Genuinely F-U-N!

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

"Special delivery from Dr. Evil Pork Chop!"

Toy Story 3 has made me smile larger than I have in a very long time while playing a game, any game. I normally keep away from movie games like I want to keep away from syphilis but I read all the fantastic reviews that TS3 was getting and took a chance. That chance paid off with hitting the proverbial XBox 360 Game Lottery.

The story mode is FUN FUN FUN! OK, so it may be a little hard in some places for the kiddies and with that may be hard for the kiddies to play by themselves which may be a good thing because that gives us adults more game play while the kiddies are playing =o).

I think what makes this game so great is that these characters are ones that most of us gamers grew up with and love so dearly. And that obviously comes with wanting to love the game because our beloved characters are in it.

The graphics are good. The gameplay is suburb for a movie game, and is fantastic with the Toy Story 3 characters that we all know. If you get bored of the basic game play (who could?), there is also a sandbox mode that you can create your own game play/story in. The soundtrack will be familiar to fans of the movie, so don't expect anything new or mind blowing. The Story replay value will be based on how much fun you have with it. I want to replay the story again and again because I loved it so much. The sandbox replay value is obviously endless and is totally up to your imagination.

The bottom line is: This is an easy rent for BOTH adults and children alike (which is extremely rare with games like these).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a game based off a movie. But it's fun!

posted by TheElite (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game let's you explore through places like a sandbox game, but not only that, you can explore and test new things and it rewards you. Collecting the toy capsuls is great fun and rewarding. You can also stick around to see cows get abducted. Stuff happens all the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, Funny and Beyond

posted by Franco (DOWNEY, CA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I actually had no interest in even playing this game. I friend of mine mentioned it to me and I rented it so he could try it out. Imagine my surprise when I found myself playing this game for the next two days straight. This game doesn't offer anything new in terms of gameplay, but its major strengths are that it offers an open world gameplay option that will keep you busy for hours and plenty of flexibility to create this open world how you see see fit. Some of the achievements are incredibly easy, while others will take most people a very long time to accomplish. All in all, the game is fun and will provide plenty of laughs. I would say that this game should be rented by anyone who is a Toy Story fan and appreciate it for what it is. I wouldn't recommend that anyone buy it though since it doesn't offer much replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by mcevoy8194 (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i seriously enjoyed every second of game play. this game had everything a fun game needs. not too many collectibles easy levels and a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Toy Story 3

posted by pandk98 (SYCAMORE, IL) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game can be very frustrating, and confusing. It is not clear on what it is that you are required to complete enable to move on to the next round. They give you tasks, but don't offer much help or clues on how to complete them. There is not a way of knowing when they are completed either, you just have to guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bought

posted by deathkiss1013 (MOUNT WOLF, PA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

I bought this for my kids couldn't beat the price and they play all the time! 3 boys ages 5 6 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great kids game!

posted by marqee (NORTH FORT MYERS, FL) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I rented this game for my 4 year olds, and they absolutely love it. My son refuses to leave the game! My daughter finds some of it a little trickier and frustrating but they both love playing it. I even enjoy this game. We really like the Toy Box Mode. It seems to be the easiest for them to play. I wish Gamefly had this game for sale, because I would definitely be purchasing it!! We are very happy renters!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by shandakglenn (CIMARRON, KS) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This game is suitable for pretty much anyone, from small child to adult. My 4 year old daughter loves this game so I bought it for her. She learned how to use the controls pretty quickly. Very good graphics, entertaining game. Try it out, I think you will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting!

posted by FoodStampPicnic (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Toy Story 3 puts you into the role of your favorite Toy Story characters Woodie,Buzz, and Jessie. I rented this game for my 3 year old son and he didn't put it down for two months (much to the dismay of my gameq). The only problem with that was eventually I was fighting to play with him. Obviously this game cant reach a scale of depth and playability as Skyrim or other games we adults play, but i found that beyond the storyline (that was cleverly developed) the toy box mode puts game fans in the creators seat of a giant gameboard world with a witty enthralling adventure. Start off in a western town with a few shanty buildings then unlock and purchase new buildings, paints, accessories, cars, and new worlds with their own quests. Customize your town any way you want it, including it's residents. If your into achievements, go ahead and find every toy capsule and get every gold star, no really try, you might go insane looking for all these but it's an achievment well earned. Exploring and creating open worlds with Bullseye and the Toy Story gang is a well developed and extremely clever journey, for an adult it holds up for months of girlfriend stealing your controller fun, for younger ones or any true fans of the movies, it's a must for your library. It may not be a perfect game but it gets a 10 for being everything a video game should be. Fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game but not really for young kids!

posted by thewinslows (NORTH ADAMS, MA) Sep 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

It may just be me, but I rented this game for my son, and it seems too hard for him at times. I was aiming for a kids game, and figured Toy Story 3 would be a good choice for my almost 4 year old.

I decided to rent him his own game; since I would walk into the living room with my Saints Row 3 game unpaused and my child playing it! I figured he could pick up the controller and just play with Toy Story, and that was not the case. Over time he has gotten used to using the controller, and does not need my help nearly as much. But there are still pivotal parts of the game where I have to take over and do it for him. My son is a very smart kid too, he had noooo problem shooting pedestrians in Saints Row 3, but of course it was a much to violent game. But however when he has to aim Buzz Lightyears laser in game it is nearly impossible. The puzzles are a bit challenging for him as well, even with the hints.

Bottom line, this is a fun game, but I wouldn't suggest renting this for young kids. However I can find myself lost in this game, my son pleading for a turn lol, and I find myself saying "Just one more minute, I'm trying to help you...". What a bold faced lie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great for the younger Kids

posted by jcjrichter06 (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I'm a big fan of Disney, and this game was great to play with me and my 6yr old son. We had a blast playing it and would definitely buy the game or re-rent it. Great Family game. But some of the challenges were unclear of what to do and a bit difficult even for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

they tried

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

they tried their best to appease the younger and older audiences and they did it so many collectables in this game to collect for the adults - so much fun toy story environment for the children great job

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

all about the toybox

posted by gearslovingun (WYANDOTTE, MI) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

The levels in the campaign are pretty straight forward but thats not where the game shines. you get to play an open world area called the toybox and thats where the fun lies within this. toybox mode is basically toy story's take on RPG's. no leveling up but the missions are very worthwhile

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Fun Was Good While It Lasted

posted by doctorzeus (VICTORIA, MN) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

the campaign was fun, basically doing an interactive repeat of the movie, but it only took me about 3 hours to beat, then toy box mode, was ok should be a work in progress, with repetitive phrases, and only cowboyish background its ok the next toybox should be a blast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alright

posted by lil8ball (DUARTE, CA) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

idk why they made the dumb game so difficult i mean alot of that stuff wasnt even n the movie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WONDERFULL

posted by cate9140 (TOLLHOUSE, CA) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

this game is the best! i love going on toy box mode and shooting lasers!!!!!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by creatova (ROSEMOUNT, MN) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is so fun the story mode is fun, but the whole toy box mode is even better. Sometimes the compass gets you a little bit frustarated but the overall game is super awesome! The only reason I didn't give it a ten was because 1.the story is super short 2. it can't have a two player online xbox live game with one of your friends on xbox live

This game is overall awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well worth the rent for someone of any age.

posted by vonAwesome (MILFORD, MI) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

This is definitely not only one of the best family games since Crash Bash, but probably one of the best movie tie-ins of all time. The story mode is simple,fun, and doesn't take itself too seriously, which is perfect; especially for a movie like this. You can not expect a movie tie-in game to portray the beauty of the story of the movie.

The real meat of the game is the Toy Box mode, where you can revisit past characters, customize townspeople and buildings, expand your town, and even visit new worlds. Loads of fun are to be had, especially in the co-op mode which is extremely innovative. While one person can be off doing missions and searching for collectibles, the other can be strolling about the town and customizing townspeople, or they could be having even more fun and destroying the town with the laser pistol or causing a UFO to fly down and obliterate bandits and townspeople with the UFO gun. Searching for collectibles can create another new challenge to drive you to search for more to do with the game, but some collectibles are so hopeless to find that it sometimes seems almost pointless.

Overall, this game is brilliant. There is not a lot of replay value, though, so I would definitely recommend renting it and not buying it.

Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun, Fun, Fun!

posted by bosLADYbrown (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game was amazing! The beginning was a little hard, especially when you're not used to the controls, but after you finish the train level, you're on your own. The Toy Box mode was the part that my kids loved. Plenty of things to do and it never ends. My son (age 7) didn't have any difficulty at all in Toy Box mode. The girls (age 11 and 12) loved playing the campaign. I myself loved the campaign mode, witht he tips and tricks to get you through the level. Definitely a must for "family gamers."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for a children's game

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

I originally got this game for the achievements and thought the story would really boring. I was wrong, the story is really good especially for a children's game. Defiantly one of the better children's games out there. The feature I had most fun on is Story Box mode where you run your own town. Surprisingly that was extremely fun to do! Great achievement list and the achievements are easy and you shouldn't have problems with any of them, excluding "Sneaky Sneaky" and "Space Ranger Elite". But they're all defiantly obtainable with a little bit of effort. Over all a great rent, maybe a buy if you want for someone young.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Toy Story 3

posted by J3ssi3_4U (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Toy Story 3

This is one hard kids game to 100% beat. The graphics are epic and great game play, Me and the little one had a blast playing it. I give it a 9/10 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse