Rent Tournament Pool for Wii
view large frontback

Tournament Pool

Not Rentable
GF Rating
2.7

176 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

What is wrong with all of you???

posted by Rickmus66 (TIMBERLAKE, NC) Jun 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game and yes at first it is not easy to shoot or even play.But I sat with it for about an hour and figured out 90% of how to play it.And it is an awesome game.The prob is with most people who rent it is they want a game they can plug and play.No brainer games.They dont like games that challange there minds.So they say its awfull cause they cant figure it out.
Once you get used to the play it is very life like.I never did figure out how to break very well but thats ok.I didnt make it very far in the ternament but its all good.You can raise the stick to do jump shots.Change your english.Go to over head view to make sure the shot is right.All kinds of features.Its a fun game.Im going to buy it from Game Fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tournament Pool

posted by Dillinger1 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not worth the effort or frustation. With some games it takes time and a few attempts to figure out how to play and enjoy them. I gave this game as many as I could stand. Has the potential of being a great pool game. I play games to have fun, and if it takes this much effort ,it just aint worth it. Maybe it's just me, but I had a hard time trying to figure out how to pick the pocket I wanted after picking the ball. I think not having to build up strength and skill just to play the game would be a great improvement. I'm mean it's pool. How much strength does one need just to get a decent break? Highly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by rkm75b (CONYERS, GA) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I went to the lessons first to learn the basic controls, then tried in vain to play a game of 8 Ball. I never could figure out which ball I should hit, how to hit it, and even had trouble just making the stick move to hit the cueball. I just couldn't figure it out and never finished the game. Pool shouldn't be that difficult. I like to play the pool game found on Wi Play, simple as it is. I was hoping for something more realistic, but it just should not be this difficult to pick up and play. I had it a day, give it a "1", and it's going back tomorrow. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You're on your own in this

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's time to rack 'em up and play some pool. In Tournament Pool, you create a character, give him a name and start your journey through six pool halls. You start off in Los Angeles, go to San Francisco, Seattle, Chicago, New York and finally, Miami.
In each tournement (8 or 9 Ball), you play six rounds - the first two are a best of three, the second two are a best of five and the third and final two matches are a best of seven racks. Winning all six rounds gets you to the next location.
But if you lose, you get three more tries to get through the tournament. Fail all four times and you have to start that perticular tournemnt over again.
The controls for shooting the basic shots work well. But when I had to make a more complex (or combination) shot, things went wrong.
Causing the problem is the Help section, which is of almost no help at all.
There, the game shows you how the AI pulls off a jump shot, performs a break shot, and declares which ball to be potted in which pocket (in nine ball)
But it doesn't show how the PLAYER can make those shots or declare which ball to pocket.
I would've like to know where to hit the cue ball and how hard to hit it to make a jump shot.
I would like to know what's the difference between hitting the cue ball high to hitting the cue ball low. Nope, the Help Section is no help.
The game also makes declaring a ball/pocket much harder than it should be. Here's an idea: just go into the overhead view, click on the ball you want to pocket and click on the pocket you think that ball will go into.
But nope, Tournament Pool won't let me do that, and I lost games because of this.
The best way to play Tournament Pool is with another human player, as the field is level, and you can also play Snooker and Bar Billiards on top of eight and nine ball.
Too bad you have to win all six tournaments in Single Player mode if you want to unlock all venues for multiplayer mode. All the halls, players, and game equipment look stunning. This game's great to look at.
Tournament Pool is a good game for multi player fun, but the lacking Help option sinks the cue ball in the corner pocket. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tournament Pool

posted by ImpFuzz (AVENEL, NJ) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The angles for shot making are realistic. However, there are too many steps necessary to effect one pool shot. Also there are constant commentators speaking that gets really annoying. The pool games for the original Nintendo are much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HUMMM

posted by ROSZYC (BUFFALO, NY) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

If I could rate this lower I would

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 word: HORRIBLE!!!

posted by Nyghtwolf (NORFOLK, VA) May 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

I rented this game before I had a chance to read the reviews and when I did I went to take it out of my Q but it was too late so I said well how bad can it be??? SURPRISE!! It was REALLY BAD!!!

All the neg. reviews were right on target and the others I have no comment for but I hated this game and 1 day after I got it, it's going right back to GF in hopes of getting something better!!

To make matters worse, while I tried to learn the game one of the in-game announcers I nicknamed "chatty patti" was talking about me something awful like I couldn't hear her! "If I had known he would take so long I would have brought my gamepad! lol" I did kill their comments but it still did nothing to improve the overall game play so it goes right back where it came from and next time I will check the rviews first and nothing more on blind faith.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hard to figure out

posted by granmamab (Owings Mills, MD) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I thought this would be a fun game. But I was wrong. It is too hard and too stressful to figure out. Not worth the trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Real pool isn't this hard

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I love playing the pool game on the Wii Play, so I got this game thinking that it would be as much fun, well it was NOT. I play pool and it is easier than trying to play this game. Plus the commentators are ignoring. They do not give you a chance to learn the controls before they are saying things like, "I hope he makes a shot soon." and so on. If you like pool and are a pool shark, you might and I stress might like this game, otherwise, try something else. This game is not all the back says it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is........

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) May 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

Just plain terrible. Not much else i can say about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »