Rent Touch the Dead for DS
view large frontback

Touch the Dead

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.9

308 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

GORE GORE GORE.......AND GUNS!

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) May 19, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The rail-shooter genre was pretty much put to rest a number of years back - thankfully, TOUCH THE DEAD does an excellent job at bringing it back with a bloody knockout of a game. A lot of people will probably not like that they do not have direct control of where they are going, and that is too bad for them. The camera does an excellent job at bringing you head on with zombies you did not expect to see, and this game will scare your pants off. The action is above par, the guns and how you use them (tapping the screen) is a ton of fun, and the gore is beyond belief. This is by far one of the more brutal zombie games - from plot, to action, to everything. This is a very very adult game. I am happy nintendo allowed it on their platform. For intense gore, an excellent storyline, good graphics, and a ton of fun, touch of the dead is a zombieriffic NINE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Borderline Fun and Misery

posted by Chris311 (OCEAN, NJ) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Ok, so the first day I picked up the game not expecting too much. After playing the first two levels I couldn't figure out why people gave this game such a low rating!?! Until I reached the third level.
Sure this game is addicting for a while but after you make it through an entire level to a boss just to die and go all the way back to the beginning of the level to do it again, it gets to be a nag. I expected to maybe respawn at the boss and try again but I guess they thought heck, why not go all the way back to the beginning and do it let's say 5 to 6 more times!
After beating the level, the game just gets too repetitive. It's fun blowing off zombies heads but after a few thousand it starts to be a bore. Let's not even mention the reloading scheme where you must move the ammo from the one side of the screen to the other in the midst of battle.
Bottom line is that the game can be fun depending if you have the patience to do levels a few times and if you can live with screwing up a few times trying to reload.
I'd say it's definitely a rent if you want something new but that's about all it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but hard

posted by zgamer92 (RALEIGH, NC) May 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Great game. The controls work really well. The graphics aren't the best but that isn't why I bought a DS. The one flaw with the game is the fact that it is hard. It isn't just mindlessly killing zombies. This is also a plus to the game. It takes all the things that I hate about other zombie games and changes them. To be short, it is a good game and it is definitely worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but not perfect

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Touch the Dead is an on the rails zombie shooter which means that the game moves for you and all you can do is shoot, shoot, shoot, reload, than shoot, and shot some more. Or in this case tap, tap, and tap some more.

Story- Really none to speak of. Your a prisoner named Rob Steiner and one day you wake up and find a gun. Than you find zombies and shoot them. Really nothing else, you never know why the zombies are there all you know is that they want to eat you.

Game play and controls- As I said before its an on the rails shooter and you tap to shoot. To reload you drag ammo to the ammo clip from one side of the screen to the other. This is very hard but in a good way because it adds challenge to the game. Every weapon is mapped to one direction on the d-pad. The pistol is down, the shotgun is left, the crowbar is up, and the SMG is right. Speaking of weapons the pistol has infinite ammo, but the shotty and SMG don't. Every weapon is good but the crow bar is only good for certain things so don't expect to use it alot. Whats very cool is that you can remove limbs separately like arms, legs, heads, and even blow holes through stomach's, The more limbs you blow of the more points you get for bonuses like art and clips.

Level design and graphics- The graphics are bad and not interesting at all. The zombies only come in two forms fat and skinny. There are also alligators, bats, weird robots, rats, giant rats, and face eating slugs. There are also some bosses that are interesting but nothing amazing. There are alot of different areas in the only 4 missions. Theres the jail, the sewers, the labs, the rooftops, the mines, the swamp, the forest, the airport type thing, and the warehouse that has alot of boxes in it.

Sound- Sound design is ok but some of the moans groans and squeaks could have been scarier.

Replay value- Low

Overall- A very fun game but the graphics are bad, there is no story, no good zombie design, and its very short. But its a load of fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by Kennys (OBETZ, OH) Jun 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love it when you get unlimited bullets for all guns it the best part of the game that's why you should beat the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Touch of the dead; good or ugly.

posted by trick1801 (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

the game itself is a complete offspring of house of the dead.
very slow reloads and not great looking graphics. I never got far in the game but it wasn't that fun. The controls were simple. Your stylus is the only thing you depend on throughout the game. Like shooting zombies you tap them. And reloading you use the stylus to slide more bullets into your gun. Its easy to die and I dunno. Play it yourself and decide if its Good or Ugly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good!

posted by redfld4eva (HALTOM CITY, TX) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

I just started the game but it's a lot more fun than most of the critic reviews give it credit for! If you like HOD style games, you'll like this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

touch the dead ds

posted by rokhardrs (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this is a pretty good game in terms of firepower. it is interesting to blow zombies away using the stylus and touchscreen. but overall, this title suffers from a lack of originality and not enough side projects to get into.

the difficulty level is challenging, but the designers could have done alot more with it. in my opinion. save your money and rent this one first to see if you really like it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Necro-tastic!

posted by Rich2244 (MIRAMAR, FL) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

You may be thinking, "This kinda maybe sounds like fun." Well, you'd be wrong. Dead wrong. As dead as the zombies you poke with your stylus are. It's not even "campy" good. Waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The law looks down upon that that sort of thing

posted by retrojaws (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Considering the dearth of mature rated games for the DS I was excited about this new game. First impressions were of a very solidly built game. Touch the Dead plays like basically any on-rails shooter that used to sprout up in every arcade. The graphics are decent for a DS game and the controls were responsive; although some may find repeatedly tapping on the screen uncomfortable (this is necessary for every shot you make). Unfortunately my opinions started to sour when I inevitably died fighting one of the games bosses. Than much to my chagrin I was forced to fight my way through the same horde of weakling zombies in order to try to beat the boss again. I find it reprehensible that in modern games designers would not build in a checkpoint before a boss fight; the only reasoning being that it makes the game artificially longer. That one characteristic really brought the game down in my opinion, it really had potential and I hope a sequel is made fixing this one issue.

Who's It For?
People looking for something different on the DS, anyone looking for a challenge, masochists

Buy, Rent, Avoid?
Rent It

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Zombies with bad graphics

posted by armyman09 (CORONA, CA) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I was looking forward to this game. I thought that it would look very good and that it would play very good. sadly no it doesn't. The graphics are terrible i mean like PS1 bad. And the controls are very simple but still this game does not do a great job. It is very short and there is no way that you actually want to go back and play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lots of touching but no thrills.

posted by kaiswil2 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I had very high expectations for this game, however I felt that it did not come anywhere close to them.

The graphics for this little guy was sub par, all the rooms looked the same, the main character even had a bad choppy look almost reminiscent of Alone in the Dark (the original for PC and Sega CD).

For the DS at this stage of its life this should have been much better.

Sound was not bad it was eerie enough when it needed to be and the zombie sounds were typical.

Game play, was pretty simple touch the screen ALOT. I can't even imagine how many times I poked the screen, when most zombies for me with neck and head shots with the pistol took two to three rounds and after hundreds of undead you'll be glad your stylus can't talk.

Boss battles where simple but creative for what the game could do so those parts I was some what shocked.

The games itself is short only three chapters, very typical of most rail shooters. They do give you options of left or right as you're playing so if you see two small white signs, shot whatever feels right.

Be quick on the draw or poke for items in boxes and cabinets, you sometimes only get one chance.

Hope this helps everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good idea, very poorly executed

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

The concept of using the touch screen in a House of the Dead style game had much potential, but Touch the Dead fell far from delivering.

There are very little surprises in the game and all the scenery is a repeated constantly so there is little aesthetic value of the game. You can almost always expect where and when more zombies are going to appear, but that does little good since enough ammo per round isn't given to get the zombies before they get you regardless of how fast you go since reloading takes a significant amount of time.

This makes the game both frustrating and not entertaining. It was a good concept but nothing about the execution was unique, entertaining or well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

jab jab jab swish jab jab

posted by wiipaintba (Kingston, RI) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

fun game for what it is. Once you get used to it, it becomes really easy. The only part that was really difficult for me was the last boss. Worth a rent and hope fully soon we will get to pay 50 cents at an arcade to play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zombies a formidable foe once more

posted by Biscutbob (GRAND FORKS AFB, ND) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

my uncle and me love any thing zombie so when we saw a new hardcore zombie game for the ds we rented it immedetly and we were noe dissapointed the co-op is really fun but there is no download play so both people need the game :(
the controls are so easy and fun. there are 4 weapons which is kinda sad but they definitly get the job done. It is pretty easy to get through the first chapter then things start really getting hard the enimies are kinda repetive and there are lots of em with blood and gore woot!
not for a casual gamer :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awfully Awful

posted by Crispin (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

If you like a game where you do the same exact thing for hours on end and aren't required to think, then this is for you!

Really, all you do through this entire game is tap, tap, tap, drag, tap, tap, tap.

The End.

This is probably the worst game I've played in years. It's simply Eidos trying to rip off of the House of the Dead series. In case you were wondering, House of the Dead, and Touch the Dead are completely unrelated, other than the name sharing a parallel structure. Ripoff. I would give it a zero if I could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its Not Perfect But It Gets The Blood Out

posted by gamerfan06 (ANAHEIM, CA) May 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

Im not the first to say this but, this game reminds me of playing area 51 and house of the dead in an arcade. Ok onto the review.

STORY: None. Your some guy in prison and theres Zombies everywhere. Now why would you need a story with something so classic.

GAMEPLAY: Touch the screen where you want to shoot. This is an on rails shooter, so theres no thinking realy about movement you just shoot.

Graphics: In game graphics are decent and oh so gory, cut scenes are blocky and irritating.

Music and Sound: Well there is no music other than your generic rock. Sound on the other hand is ok, especialy the gun effects.

Dificulty: It goes from easy to medium and then to hard in about the first 3 min.
Sure a gun with unlimited amo may seem like a good idea but then after the 2nd section of the first level your gonna need to empty a full clip in one zombie. not so good when theres a mob coming at you.

OVERALL: Pretty fun, as long as you dont expect epic cinimatic gun play. If all you want is to shoot things for 4 hours or so then rent it. The Touch to shoot dinamic works well so its a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »