Rent Touch My Katamari for PS Vita
view large frontback

Touch My Katamari

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

163 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Touch My Katamari and I'll Kill You.

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Feb 22, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nothing can pull me away from this game!

I love this. I've been a huge fan of the series since the beginning and this one is fantastic! It's funny, there's a ton of unlockables and such, and it's a lot of fun to play.

A lot of the critic reviews deducted points because the series has never really changed, at all, since the first one. But, truthfully, that's a good thing. It's also a sign they couldn't find anything else to complain about.

My complaints are, however, A) A lot of the environments are those from previous games, which is okay, but, they've repeated levels in other games before. B) The camera can get messed up because some of the environments are too small, and that is no fun.

But ultimately, this is Katamari at it's finest (with the exception of the PS3 game, which was GLORIOUS) It's fun, it makes fun of itself (and it's fans) and is a ton of fun to play.

This was a great series to launch the Vita with. Absolutely great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too repetitive.

posted by Viewtiful_Josh (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I mean, if you're a fan of the series, then sure go ahead: it is basically the same thing as other games. I just wanted to give it a go, but it turned out to be repetitive. All the missions are the same thing: roll a ball and stuck things to them. Make a star and repeat. I also didn't know what I was supposed to do. I did try getting the things the people wanted me to (materials to make the star), but I would always get a bad score. I'm just glad I rented this game.

In conclusion, if you're a fan, go for it. If you're not a fan, don't go near it (unless you are above 90% sure you visually like it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No idea what was happening...

posted by Dystiller (NORTH HILLS, CA) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

So I've never once played any iterations of this series, and I thought maybe this would be a nice way to get me started. Well that was a bad idea, I had no idea what i was doing. I understand that game literally tells you what to do, but as for someone as myself, those directions didn't really seem all that doable. It tells me to collect certain items, and so I attempted, but found myself running out of those items to collect. So naturally I just picked every last thing up possible. Realized afterwards that its not what the game wants you to do.

I can't really complain and call this a bad game, if I was a previous fan, I could see myself enjoying this more. I was just put off and frankly didn't feel compelled to continue playing. It looks fun, and I enjoyed the time I had while playing it, even though I was obviously playing it wrong. I believe the idea behind the game is great, it entertaining, but it just wasn't enough for me to keep playing it.

It gets a "5" from me, not terrible, not great. Maybe later in life i'll try it again...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What In The World Am I Playing?

posted by VitaPs4Review (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game is a very cult following type game which is the type of stuff that I normally like but this game just did not do it for me.

Do not get me wrong there is not a lot of stuff that was bad about this game but it was very weird. The world that you play in is pretty creative and looks pretty cool. No real complaints on the graphics.

The gameplay is easy to catch on. The game does get pretty difficult as you go however. If you are not instantly drawn to this game you will get frustrated and you will stop playing it.

The storyline is weird. I thought it was cool at first but then I found my self 2 hours later saying “what in the world am I playing?” That big god thing that you run around on when picking your level and the characters that are walking around are just flat out weird. I suppose that is what carries this game and makes people like it. I was not interested. There are plenty of games on the Vita with much more game play value than this game. Just not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Short

posted by hdvillanueva (BRONX, NY) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I'm a big fan of the Katamari line of games (PS2, PS3, X360, etc) and this one does everything right except for one fatal flaw:

It only has like 10 levels, which take like 4 hours to beat

This game should be $10, not $40...

Its sad because otherwise, the game is great.

I want to play the PSP version, but its $20 on PSN so no thanks...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Touch My Katamari Ps Vita

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

We All Know the Crazy Game,You Basically go around Make Your Ball Bigger Sounds Funny XD But True..The Deal Is To Roll Over As Much Stuff As U Can From Household Items To People Whatever Makes Your Ball Become Gigantic No Pun Intended..You Have a List Of Size,You Gotta Ace It,The stages Range From Many Weird Characters,Odd Items To Run Over,You Can Even Do Hops,Little Moves..Just Your Typical Katamari Fun,it Can Be Addicting Like Tetris..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

um, weird... but fun

posted by Vita1trophy (MCALLEN, TX) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Katamari has special tastes in... life. lol
A roll up the world type of game, similar to About a Blob (great game), simple to get into and fun music to pass the time.
You need to relax? Play this game. Its a keeper for those moments you need a pass on the afternoon.
Try it, especially since its gamefly you know? New world for all us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not even on level 2

posted by T90X (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 19, 2012

Member since May 2011

I had really low expectations for this game, and still it disappointed me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thank God For Gamefly

posted by CDoherty (SAINT PAUL PARK, MN) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

A good reason to have gamefly, game is ok for 5 to 10 minutes then its the same garbage and I'm ready for something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

touch my whaaaa?

posted by HexnessMonster (BRANDON, SD) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I thought the game was okay, I guess its something to do when you're bored... I dont think the gamefly rating should be that high for this game though. Ofcourse I didnt really play it that much because I got pretty bored after the first 10 mins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »