Rent Total Overdose: A Gunslinger's Tale in Mexico for Xbox
view large frontback

Total Overdose: A Gunslinger's Tale in Mexico

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.2

422 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad!!

posted by fireBAD (LONGMONT, CO) May 22, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a pretty decent amalgamation of GTA and Max Payne with some serious Robert Rodriguez style gun battles. A really great soundtrack accompanies this game and lends to the feel of the Hollywood style gritty action shooter. Voice acting is very well done and the story, while predictable, doesn't totally suck like so many other games. Finally the graphics are decent enough but not as sharp as they could be. I suspect this was done on purpose and the engine looks very similar to Red Dead Revolver.
Overall it is totally a game worth playing and with all the challenges in the city it might be worth owning if you are into this sort of game. Some may call it a GTA/Max Payne rip off...I call it a tribute.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game. Simply controls good enemy intelligenc

posted by Chameleon (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game. Simply controls good ememy intellegence. The game plays like GTA but more tamed. Thats not to say to it was boring...tons of explosions great car chases and exciting shoot outs couple that with a rewind button and slow down so u can shoot multiple targets...i say this is a winner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty darn good!

posted by liukangx (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

now at first when i played this game on the oxm (official xbox magazine)demo i thought it was really good, so i decided to rent this game from gamefly and when i played it, it blew my mind. now some people may think its a grand theft auto rip-off, but i dont really think that, but if it was its the best i seen(and i have played true crimes). its like gta with a mexican twist but it does seem a little stereotypical with it having burrito and being said so many time and mexiacan food being said all the time. but if you like adventure games you'll like this, and afer you complete the game there are still stuff to do to keep you occupied

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Total Overdose

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Apr 24, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game starts off with a DEA agent getting injured while on a mission. So somebody decides to send in his fugitive twin brother in. The game is fun in the action aspect. You can pull off crazy moves and wall jumps and you have a lot of weapons to choose from. But then you'll find that you run out of ammo way too fast. the graphics could be better and the driving is horrible. every car handles the same. the levels are long and pretty fun but bonus missions are lame and there's just no fun in cruising or rampaging. the game also has some tedious voice acting and the gameplay gets repetitive. the story is semi-decent and it throws in a twist at the end. overall the game is a great rent but that's about it. I give it a 6, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good But Could Be Longer

posted by chynunez (THERMAL, CA) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Most people think this is a GTA rip off but its not. The game offers a wide virety of missions from destroying a burriot stand to find drugs to racing around the city of Los Toroes. This very good but it is a little short on the main story line and leaves you with a big clif hanger at the end but for the almost utter distinct I had fun with this game and i hope this review was helpful to some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what waste of time

posted by cleatus (RALEIGH, NC) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

This game was loaded with glitches. I got frustrated and gave up long before I finished. It seemed every time I would get half way through a mission, a vital part would end up in the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »