Rent Top Spin 4 for PS3
view large frontback

Top Spin 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.7

719 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Jamis420 (BROOKS, ME) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

played the demo very realistic simulator,easy to control, can't wait to get this one in the mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Most Realistic Tennis Game Out!

posted by Big_Stevo (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2K Sports have improved their hold on Tennis with Top Spin 4.

VISUALS.... 8.75/10
The Visuals are very realistic. The professional players look spot on. The playing venues are various and the Tournaments are actual and except for any reference to The Championships Wimbledon, the other three Majors are excellently represented. Player creations still need to be worked on as races are not adequately included. Oufits and Gear are plentiful.

GAMEPLAY....9.25/10
The offline player creation is nice. To be able to grow your player to your specs are a nice complement to the other creative measures. The characters need to reflect the different races that play the game. Not all Europeans are pasty white, and the dark skin option is actually a grey color. Once you build your character to your specs, you can take him online in the World Tour. The tourneys are limited to only a few and once you play that tourney, it is locked out for that character for the entire week. Win or Lose.

The 2K Open Tourney option for the professional characters is the best online option available. You can choose from a group of pros, both men and women. You can choose from pros like Serena, Andre, Rafa, or Bjorn Borg, and pit them in an exhibition against any other pro, man or woman. The matchups are endless. The only knocks that I have (nitpicking, here!) are that there should be more pros. There are no McEnroe, Martina, Chrissy Everett, Steffie Graf, Monica Seles, or Venus. But they have Daveydenko and Dinara Safina??? For real? The animation of the ball boys could have been done. They look like statuettes. Pros should have more costume changes. And INCLUDE WIMBLEDON!!

Final Review.

Visuals..... 8.75/10
Gameplay..9.25/10

Overall Score 9.0 No Glitching or Freezing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun tennis game with cool graphics

posted by phlsfan86 (HARRISBURG, PA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since May 2010

I'm a huge fan of Serena Williams and wasn't a very big fan of tennis before this game. However, when I rented this game I was impressed with the graphics and gameplay. The one thing I love about the game is creating a player.

In this feature, you can alter the face and head any way you want, dress the players up anyway you want, and even change the way their body looks, meaning whether you want them to be skinny or muscular. I always choose to make a muscular female player.

Also, the controls are very simple to use. The only thing frustrating about this is that you must hit the ball with good timing otherwise the ball will go out of bounds.

It is also a good idea that at the beginning of the game, you can practice hitting balls before heading to the main menu. It'll really help you before you play an actual game.

Because of all this, I've now become hooked onto tennis and I LOVE IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse