Rent Top Spin 4 for PS3
view large frontback

Top Spin 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.7

718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Living up to its name

posted by noah1212 (YORK, ME) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a long time fan of tennis, by any means. In fact, I don't even watch or follow tennis in the slightest. However, I found both top spin 3 and top spin 4 to be very enjoyable games.

The character selection this year is much greater, and it is now much more fun and easier to customize your character for career mode.

Top spin 3 was a great game, but the graphics were lacking, and it just felt like an un finished game to me.

I had no such trouble with top spin 4. The career mode moves a lot smoother, and isnt nearly as dull and repetitive as it was in top spin 3.

The addition of the meter below your character is awesome,in top spin three you had to eye ball it and you couldnt get a real feel for exactly how well you were going to hit the ball until you saw the result.

the movement of the characters has been cleaned up, in the past top spin games it felt sluggish to change direction, which is key for a tennis game, but the lack of animation added to your change of direction left some players wondering why exactly they were moving slow when changing direction.

all in all this is a solid improvement over top spin 3. If you enjoyed top spin 3, buy this game. If you haven't played top spin games before, rent it and try it out, you will be surprised at how fun at tennis game actually is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but...

posted by Derecka4 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I find it a combination of amusing and very frustrating in Top Spin 4 when playing in any one of the four Grand Slam events. Allow me to elaborate, you see, with my created player I had worked very hard to figure out certain play styles of certain pros such as Federer and Nadal, and I had progressed to the point of domination against the top tier talent. My created player was just now entering into his first Slam where I was confident since I had previously beat Fed, Nadal (twice on clay), Djoker, etc... I cruised into the semi final where I drew Davydenko who had upset Djoker. I was confident in my victory since I had annihilated Davy in other events but was shocked when he destroyed me in straight sets with caliber of shots I had not yet seen in this or previous Top Spins. I was upset but I continued my Slam quest and again cruised to a semi final to be slaughtered by the Djoker who I had beat probably ten or more times before. I think it is amazingly stupid that at one certain point every time you all of a sudden cannot defeat an opponent who other times isn't much competition. I fought extra hard and finally advanced past a semi in a slam and went on to lose the final but in a valiant showing. Overall the game is pretty sick and plays very well with awesome graphics... but you better put on your big boy pants come semi finals in a Slam event!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great tennis game

posted by vweezy (DAWSON, GA) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and players' movements. Very realistic feel- great deal of your game will rely on anticipation. If you moved wrong way or out of position your return will be imposible, just like in real tennis when opponent catches you on a 'wrong foot'. New way of hitting and timing ,as mentioned above, takes few hours to get used to but with good coordination should not be a problem.
I'm good in tennis and i like this game. I started to play it on hard my first time(to give you comparison on how you'd match ). If you are 'Mario Tennis' like player- this game is not for you. But if you look for a tennis simulator- this is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply said, FUN!

posted by JFBIII (FAIRFIELD, IA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tennis games have always been a blast for me. Going online and playing out a chess match in this game is fun. Career mode takes you through your created player and up the ranks to the top and trust me, it's not as easy as it sounds.

This game is great to pick up and play for fun. It's easy to figure out the controls but difficult to master if you want to be a pro online. Great party game and great overall tennis game. Like the title says, just simply fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game!

posted by murfdog221 (HAZLETON, IA) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was amazing the graphics are great and it is easy to master. I have never really been into tennis but Im hooked on this game, the career mode on this game is really fun and if you really need help they have an in depth training mode on there too, this game is the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME :-)

posted by jack32drew (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great its super realistic and the career mode is really fun, this game is dope

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

TOP SPIN 4 IS GOOD

posted by GTB (STRATFORD, CT) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing this game, it has many legends but in my opinion there should be more pro tennis players to choose from, but all in all the graphics are good, and the gameplay is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overall, excellent game for Tennis game.

posted by madgame (PULLMAN, WA) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game mechanic is very simple, but needs practice to master it. Playing with friends, it was very fun n competitive experience. But as you get better at the game, you need another challenge. However, there is rarely any1 to play against online. Career mode is interesting in the first 1 or 2 years. But it quickly gets boring as there is nt much you do except playing n win tournermant n xp to raise your skills. Playing tennis itself is fun in Top Spin 4, but the game lacks in contents and nice distractions. You can't play this game for hours, cuz it doesn't keep you entertained

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth the rental

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has all around quality. This is one of those games you'll hang on too because of the amount of continuous fun it provides.

Not the same sport but I compare this game to Tiger Woods PGA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Jamis420 (BROOKS, ME) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

played the demo very realistic simulator,easy to control, can't wait to get this one in the mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Most Realistic Tennis Game Out!

posted by Big_Stevo (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2K Sports have improved their hold on Tennis with Top Spin 4.

VISUALS.... 8.75/10
The Visuals are very realistic. The professional players look spot on. The playing venues are various and the Tournaments are actual and except for any reference to The Championships Wimbledon, the other three Majors are excellently represented. Player creations still need to be worked on as races are not adequately included. Oufits and Gear are plentiful.

GAMEPLAY....9.25/10
The offline player creation is nice. To be able to grow your player to your specs are a nice complement to the other creative measures. The characters need to reflect the different races that play the game. Not all Europeans are pasty white, and the dark skin option is actually a grey color. Once you build your character to your specs, you can take him online in the World Tour. The tourneys are limited to only a few and once you play that tourney, it is locked out for that character for the entire week. Win or Lose.

The 2K Open Tourney option for the professional characters is the best online option available. You can choose from a group of pros, both men and women. You can choose from pros like Serena, Andre, Rafa, or Bjorn Borg, and pit them in an exhibition against any other pro, man or woman. The matchups are endless. The only knocks that I have (nitpicking, here!) are that there should be more pros. There are no McEnroe, Martina, Chrissy Everett, Steffie Graf, Monica Seles, or Venus. But they have Daveydenko and Dinara Safina??? For real? The animation of the ball boys could have been done. They look like statuettes. Pros should have more costume changes. And INCLUDE WIMBLEDON!!

Final Review.

Visuals..... 8.75/10
Gameplay..9.25/10

Overall Score 9.0 No Glitching or Freezing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun tennis game with cool graphics

posted by phlsfan86 (HARRISBURG, PA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since May 2010

I'm a huge fan of Serena Williams and wasn't a very big fan of tennis before this game. However, when I rented this game I was impressed with the graphics and gameplay. The one thing I love about the game is creating a player.

In this feature, you can alter the face and head any way you want, dress the players up anyway you want, and even change the way their body looks, meaning whether you want them to be skinny or muscular. I always choose to make a muscular female player.

Also, the controls are very simple to use. The only thing frustrating about this is that you must hit the ball with good timing otherwise the ball will go out of bounds.

It is also a good idea that at the beginning of the game, you can practice hitting balls before heading to the main menu. It'll really help you before you play an actual game.

Because of all this, I've now become hooked onto tennis and I LOVE IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

top spin4

posted by gmer33 (LAWRENCE, KS) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

terrible motion game, the hole key to winning is moving to the ball, you can hold the wond in the air and it swings for you...serving is pathetic and very inaccurate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid Game

posted by NinjaSithLord (SHINER, TX) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Stupid Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Save and Load Glitches Limit this Games Potential

posted by DSippel222 (TIPP CITY, OH) Sep 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

I found this game to be very entertaining and I liked the fact that it got me up off the couch for a while. This is also an excellent game to combine with your own personal sound track to further your enjoyment. However, the ultimate demise of the game came with the combination of the sudden unrealistic play of Rafael Nadal and the game almost complete lack of the ability to save and load the game properly. It seems that the real problem is the fact that the game is unable to load certain sessions of play after they have been saved. If you check the PS3 saved game utility it shows the most recent session was saved based on time and date information. However, when going to load the data in the career mode the latest saved session is unrecognized by the game. It doesn't matter whether you save the game manually or depend on the autosave feature to save the game. Either way hours of game play can and will be lost at random. I went as far as copying the saved data to a flash drive, deleting the ps3 saved data as well as the game data, reinstalling the game data, and copying the data from the flash drive back to the PS3. From searching through troubleshooting tips online it seems that this is a regular problem with 2k sports games that still needs to be addressed with a patch. However, since the game has been out for 6 months already it's probably worth just waiting for Top Spin 5 or another tennis game to fulfill you PS3 move tennis playing needs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great simulator, though there's room 4 improvement

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since May 2007

I think this game has broken some really good ground. It has captured a lot of the idiosyncrasies of the game of tennis, and provided a really good simulator. As a tennis fan myself, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I think this game would be fun for non tennis fans as well.

There's a couple glaring things that could have been improved on though. To pick the easiest one for starters is the music!! There are just TWO songs for the soundtrack, and after a while, the monotony can really become annoying.

Another thing is that there could be even more options with player creation. Now don't get me wrong! There is a LOT here as far as creating a player, and the system of developing your player's attributes is really sophisticated, and quite good... I just think there could be even more. Like for example, the outfits - there are some really nice outfits you can put together, but there's no reason why there couldn't have been more content here. Same goes for your player's physical looks.

The other thing you can really cap on this game about, is the fact that when you set the difficulty to "Hard", all of the attribute meters for your AI opponents become moot. What I mean is that you can be a level 20 player, and a level 3 will be running around hitting incredible shot after incredible shot, all with top power, and you'll be running all over the court trying to just keep up. Even a "serve and volley" opponent will be back at the baseline striking the ball like Agassi/Nadal.

Lastly, sometimes the game's animation of your character prevents you from doing what you want. PART of this is good, in that it makes it a little more realistic, versus "arcade" style. But other times, on occasion, it will make your player wander slightly, from where you want to be. This is very minor though. Just something that could be improved upon.

I've been playing this game for a couple weeks, and am pretty impressed, and also pleased that there is now a good tennis simulator!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK

posted by TheGamerOfLife (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

great game i mean if you love tennis this would be game of the year to you but this game isnt that much fun as some may make it seem after your first 3 matches your done with the game its realistic the graphics are out this world with lighting and shade but i wouldnt BUY this game i would rent it for a week lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »