Rent Top Spin 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Top Spin 4

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
6.8

932 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Top Spin 4 (XBOX 360)

posted by austinlinebaugh (PORTAGE, MI) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing this game compared to the previous tennis games this one is by far a huge improvement over all other top spin and virtual tennis games. I love the Career mode especially when you build your guy up to be able to play in majors, because then the Pros get much tougher. The online play is decent seems to lag a little, but very good, fun, and action packed. I really like games where you can create your own player and go through a career just like the pros do. Good game 8 out of 10 rating for me. Its worthy of renting maybe buying I rented it and was happy to find out the online play was free unlike most games so that is an advantage to renting it instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Little room for error.

posted by chadwickpilot (CANTON, MI) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Challenging games are fun. Making the shot control system so finely tuned to punish mistakes makes getting into the game very difficult. The overall quality is there but as a player familiar with the game of tennis not being able to play the shots that are plan as day was a hit and miss affair. Enjoyed the previous versions much much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great sports game...not the best Top Spin

posted by abettersn1per (TEMPE, AZ) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the Top Spin series, I have played every single one and enjoyed every single one including this one. It has good graphics fun game play, full create a player mode with career. It's fun can be addicting, but I feel one thing I really enjoyed about previous Top Spin's was simplicity of controls. This one feels a little more clunky, but this game is overall fun. Would rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty solid game!

posted by Munster79 (DAYTON, TX) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a huge fan of tennis but I was bored and decided to give a different game a try and so I put Top Spin 4 on my Q, and I was pleasantly suprised. The game play is pretty easy to pick up, the graphics are way better than I expected and it really captured my interest enough that I kept playing it for way longer than I expected to.

Now I am usually a Madden/NCAA FB, or basketball games fan but I have really enjoyed this game. Try it and you may just become a fan like I did. The advanced serves are hard to master, but the other serves are fairly easy to get down and it is definitely a game I will rent again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, lacked some stuff

posted by BABond (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i had a blast playing this game! the way you move around the court is excellent, the way you choose what shot to hit, how hard you hit ti is all great. the only things i didn't like however were that the difficulty difference between normal and hard is way too extreme. in normal i'd beat anyone 3-0, 3-0. but in hard, i wouldn't stand a chance against the pros and i would lose 0-3, 0-3. also the fact that my man Del Potro isn't in this game really bummed em out because he is my favorite player and was looking forward to playing with him, but that's just details. he better be in Top Spin 5 though.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by gary266 (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best sport game, along with Fifa 11, and Madden. Career mode is so addicting where you create your own player and play in tournament with each game or practice you gain vital point to add to any number of stats from speed backhand forehand power ect. I loved this game in order to win in the hard mode you must have good timing as you hit the ball or you wont do so well. It takes a little practice to hit good or perfects green. you can also hit it to slow or to fast. serving is so awesome too you drop the right analog stick to throw the ball up and slam it up to hit it when the natural tennis player animation would hit it all the while you aim with the left analog stick to where in the square you want it to land there is a demo on xbox live to play or psn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Roster

posted by artiek72 (GREENWOOD, SC) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the gameplay, but the roster of players is lacking. Where are Venus Williams and Maria Sharapova? Come on man!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slow and awkward, but pretty

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Mar 24, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game looks great, but after having played Top Spin 2 for years, it feels sluggish and awkward. The control system created for Top Spin 3 remains here in 4, which to me is a very bad thing. As a matter of fact, it kills the game. I looooove tennis, and I loved Top Spin 2, but I won't play this game. The controls are very unintuitive, releasing a button to hit a ball? That makes no sense. To make something happen in a game, you press a button, you don't let go of a button. It's just wrong.

I love the fact that they tried to include some classic players like Bjorn Borg and Pete Sampras, but none of the gloss or eye candy can make up for poor gameplay. I'd rather it look horrible but play faster and use the control scheme that was so amazingly perfect in Top Spin 2. Don't they remember the wonderful reviews that game got. People saying, "Wow, this is fun for a tennis game!"

Top Spin 4 is a tease that tennis lovers will want to enjoy very badly, but if you are like me and expect to press a button to make things happen, not let go to do something..... Well, Top Spin 2 is very cheap in the bargain bins...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

top spin 4

posted by kamakazi19 (HOLLY SPRINGS, NC) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

They just didn't make it like top spin 3. Top spin 3 has simpler controls .The only thing that I like is that Raphael Nadal is in only top spin 4 . Other than that, it is not so good .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Top Spin 4

posted by Bryzine21 (BESSEMER, AL) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Anyone remember pong? I do and it is still fun today, yet so simple. Top Spin 4 is a good game, yet so complicated, especially for a tennis/pong type game. All you have to do is hit the ball back and forth but Top Spin wanted to add depth and they did. It's a little too deep for this reviewer.Don't get me wrong TS 4 is a fun game but there are only so many ways you can hit a bouncing yellow ball. There are buttons for slicing,top spin,lobs and flat shots which one would expect. I even dig the holding down of buttons in advance for the shots, but then add in serving modifiers, shot modifiers, and more serve modifiers and you have over kill.There is one game here that is a classic despite it's simplicity as for Top Spin 4 i give it a fair 7 out of 10 breadsticks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

They Went Overboard

posted by Richardsim (GRAND HAVEN, MI) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Poorly executed. They tried making it way too complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tennis fans will enjoy

posted by Sandsworth (THORNTON, CO) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I enjoyed topspin 4 quite a bit, but I am an avid tennis player. It suffered from the same problem that almost every tennis game I've ever played suffers from, no imagination. It would be much more appropriate to call it a tennis simulator. There are no characters and no storylines, it is simply a tennis sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2ksports sucks

posted by mooredarrenc87 (BELLEVIEW, FL) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2ksports makes the worst games possible its like they use infants as their testers. i will never rent or buy another game from 2ksports. the only reason i had to put a 1 on my review is because they dont have a zero option

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only If You Welcome A Challenge

posted by rnewton1984 (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I'm with the people who were looking for some quicker fun out of a solid tennis franchise I enjoyed back on Dreamcast. While this game has great graphics and lots of current players, the controls and actual shot mechanics are totally frustrating.

The issue is the "release button" timing like another person said - where it's about letting go of the button to release the power saved up from holding that button. There's the added element where, for some reason, you don't get to direct ONLY your shot-path with the Left Stick while holding the shot button for power. Your player does not plant their feet or continue on the line you were going after the shot charges up. Instead, it moves around on its feet, most times closer to the ball if you're charging a long power shot. Combine that with a lot of variety in how fast the ball is hit at you, and it's a nearly impossible variety of elements to account for WHILE remembering that its the RELEASE timing of the button. Whew!

This is why I mainly go with the Control Shots, but again you have to time the button-tap just "before" the ball gets there. These shots only get you so far though...

Overall, I am disappointed and will be putting this back in the mail probably tomorrow unless I have a revelation in power shots in the next 30 minutes or so....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I would have liked this if I had the time...

posted by Shootist (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

I gave it a 7, because the gameplay itself is great. Everything was pretty fun, but wow... you need some time to play this game. LOTS of reading to get started, but it's good because once done you will know exactly how to play.

Character progression is what this game is all about. Create your guy, and start from the bottom. Just saying, you will need lots of time to meet your goal of playing in the grand slam tournaments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yuck...glad I rented

posted by Slcman (OREM, UT) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Good thing I didn't waste any money. This game is horrific. The game play sucks, the graphics are average at best

Stay away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I changed my review and dropped the rating...

posted by Huppydog (PORTLAND, OR) May 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

I just played my first doubles match. My partner is an idiot. She stands way off the court like she's on break. Our opponents are kicking my butt. My partner won't help. So I dropped my rating from 9 to 8 because doubles AI is really bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

meh

posted by flipdwun (CAMDENTON, MO) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

for whatever reason, tennis games are mostly pretty blah. theres not a whole lot of innovation or imagination in this one as well. the character models are so so, the animations are just about the same, just so so. the game play is very un responsive, so much so that its almost chew on the disc frustrating. i recieved this in the mail and hour ago and im already taking it to the post office i found it so un nerving to play. the worst part was the camera, its set very high like a pro style event, but the characters are so small it feels like im playing ob a hand held. if you enjoy tennis games, wait for virtua tennis, it might play better, but im tired of half done products like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

spin

posted by joeyace (Chicago, IL) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

ok game for tennis but guys are too small

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What are you guys talkin about!

posted by jm0ney (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

I am not a tennis game fan by any means this is the first tennis game I've played on the 360 and its solid great graphics and game play. and if you get bored and want more intensity like one reviewer said go online this is a solid game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a game worth buying

posted by analya10 (NILES, MI) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

im a big tennis fan, and was super excited about this game. the graphics on it are amazing, everything look so realistic, but its a very boring game. i played 3 points and put it back in my mailbox. highly disappointing. need to make this game more intense somehow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »