Rent Top Spin 3 for Wii
view large frontback

Top Spin 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.5

621 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun with friends

posted by BahamaBoy (MAPLEWOOD, NJ) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is Ok at best. When playing alone this game is not fun at all. The computer plays with systematic consistency so you always can figure out where the next shot is going. Bottom line is it is too easy on single player.

The Multiplayer is a different story. When playing with friends the games can get quite heated simply because of the unpredictability of playing against a human.

Pros:
1. The response time on the wiimote was pretty good I was expecting a few times when I swing not to get anything.
2. The character motions are pretty realistic. Federa plays differently than Blake even with humans controlling them.

Cons.
1. Way too easy when playing the computer.
2. Not enough players. (I did not play long enough to find out if you unlock more)
3. Not enough staying power. Once you have played one tournament you have played the whole game.

Recommendations.
Grab this game only if you have a friend to play with and have nothing better to do with your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"Top Spin 3" takes time, but it's worth it

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

You can play as the most known tennis players on the most known courts in Top Spin 3, but it's the game's mechanics that win me over.
True, it's very hard for beginners to get into the game.
First, you hold the Wiimote in a very strange way - sideways with your thumb on the side of the Wiimote and your index finger on the B button. It takes a while to get used to holding the Wiimote this way.
Another hindrance is this game requires the player to anticipate where the tennis ball is going in order to successfully return it. Some players will either be out of position or swing the Wiimote too late, and the ball zips past them.
Finally, there's the use of the Nunchuck to send the ball to certain areas of your opponent's half of the court (baseline, near the net, to either side.) But the Nunchuck is also used to move the player about, causing confusion.
So, new players will have to spend some practice time, maybe significant practice time, to get used to the controls. It's best if you play against another person rather than the AI until you get used to the controls. It would've been better if the game had an option for players to practice each aspect of the controls (the serve, the forehand, the backhand, movement, the lob shot, the short shot, the placement of the shot), but it doesn't.
The payoff of all this time put into the game is that you're in complete control; you can place the ball almost anywhere you want to. You're using skill rather than luck to win matches.
And that's what makes Top Spin 3 fun for me; I feel like I'm actually playing tennis rather then "wave the Wiimote and pray."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Top Spin 3 is flat

posted by GamErick (JOLIET, IL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I love the concept of an actual tennis game for the Wii. The mechanics of this game is fairly well done, however I have 2 HUGE complaints. 1. I am a lefty and I could not see any way to switch the controller from a righty to a lefty. 2. I love being able to create characters for these games and I was not able to do that either.

Another thing I would like to have seen done differently is the serve mechanics. It makes sense to "grip" the ball using the C button on the nunchuck, but it would have been better to have the player raise the nunchuck up for the "ball toss" motion and have the wii-mote just do the racket motion.

With all that being said, I still enjoyed playing the game for a little while, even though my fore-hands were backhands on the screen. It definitely would not be a buy for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NEEDS ONLINE PLAY 2KSPORTS PLEASE ADD DOWNLOAD

posted by bam917 (SAN LORENZO, CA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rate this a 7/10 because it doesn't have the online play it advertises on all pre reviews before the game came out. Even the Tennis star Promo video where they got Sharapova to playing the wii verson, the game designer said it will have online capability and you can create your mii and build its skills. So far Game play is great but needs the online play to make it a 10/10. But 2ksports online rankings are a joke for anyone who owns mlb 2k8 for ps3 would know because top 5 players have no more then 10 games played and thats after months of the game being out. Please 2ksports make an update for Wii so real players can play against eachother. I don't care if they make us pay for an update as long as it has online play for wii.
Make it happen 2kSports don't dissapoint more tennis fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and Boring Fast

posted by JFrosty (YOUNTVILLE, CA) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Played this game for about 10 minutes and sent it back. Maybe it gets more exciting after 10 minutes but I could not subject myself to the mindless bore for seconds more. I would like this game manufacturer to refund me 10 minutes of my life back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty Good, But Still Dissapointing

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I rented this game, as well as renting Virtua Tennis 2009 and Grand Slam Tennis. Out of this group, I have to say that this tennis game was the most disappointing.

This game actually does have good graphics, and it has a fairly interesting "association mode" where you create your own player and try to get him to a #1 world ranking. However, even though this may seem interesting, the gameplay controls ruin it.

The gameplay controls on this game are HORRIBLE, and I mean HORRIBLE. Don't think that you should rent this game because of the other reviews you saw. To control your players racket, all you have to do it shake the Wii remote in random directions. And, to aim, you use the nunchuk, causing for a weird experience. The controls of this game totally take out the Wii experience.

The multiplayer is actually pretty good. There is the party mode, where you can see the rankings of each game. As always, the bad gameplay experience takes away from the party mode, but the good multiplayer experience is what saved this game from being a 4.

The Verdict: Don't rent this game, even if you're an avid tennis fan. You may think it's actually pretty good because of my 5 rating, but that's just for the graphics. The gameplay isn't that good. Unless you constantly have friends over, then this game wouldn't be a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Grand Slam is better

posted by GrandeMoch (WATERFORD, MI) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I like just using the Wii remote. You have to use the Wii remote AND the numchuck. WAY too complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How bad can tennis on Wii be? Worse than pitiful!

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

I first played this at a video game store for a bit. Now, Wii Sports, when released in 2006, started off the Wii and was a lot of fun, and it included tennis. But, you may ask yourself, how bad can tennis on the Wii actually be? The answer is worse than pitiful with Top Spin 3.
The graphics are awful and might look nice on the N64 or some old system but awful for the Wii. The game doesn't tell the difference between your swings so you actually just go around flinging your racket like an idiot.
There are few people to play as, and the game doesn't have many levels. It's ultra-short and there is no replayability value.
Top Spin 3 is definetely a candidate for Worst Wii Game of the Year. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

a decent beta, needs major work

posted by DrHague (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

I'll keep this short.

1. Graphics: pretty good actually, probably one of the better features of the game.

2. Gameplay: poor. the mechanics of swinging do not improve upon Wii Tennis, which has set the bar. You use the nunchuk joystick to aim, which is just boring. The game does not take into account where the ball is in relation to your swing... so you could have a ball behind you, but aim the nunchuk joystick to go cross-court with your shot, and it will. Mechanics like this are no better then old original Gameboy Tennis.

3. Fun factor: zilch, zero, nada. I'm a die-hard tennis enthusiast and this game just didn't provide any thrills whatsoever. For a tennis game (or any sports game for that matter) to be good, it has to make a decent attempt to recreate the sporting experience. This game does not do that. It's just a marketing ploy that takes advantage of well known tennis players like Roddick and Federer.

I was considering keeping this game, since it's only 8$. However, I couldn't even justify that amount of money to myself. In fact, people would have to pay ME to play this game, it's such a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Top Spin 3 Review

posted by Catfish25 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I decided to give this game a try since I liked the Wii Sports Tennis and thought, lets try top spin to see if a more realistic game would be much more fun. W-R-O-N-G!!! It almost seems like this was a game EA Sports was putting together as a side project and dumped it but then changed their minds and put it out anyway. I cannot complain about the graphics cause that's just the way the Wii is anyway. What I can complain about is the weak game play options. I was expecting to create player or select a pro and go through the normal tennis season, hit up the tournaments and win championships. Instead I find this terrible campaign option where you defeat one section and it unlocks the next. The game is ultra repetitive and has no reward. Well unless you count unlocking new stadiums which are in no way impressive due to the Wii graphics, but again I say its not the games fault the graphics are bad I just do not think that unlocking a stadium in 480p is that rewarding.

Overall the game can get addictive until your arm feels like its gonna fall off then you realize that you'll never play it again. There are times where the game doesn't realize you swung the controller and your player does nothing, lots of lag where you do swing and it picks it up after you are already resetting for the next volley, making Federer take a floofy lookin swing, completely whiffing and having the ball hit him straight in the jungle hose. Its a bit amusing at first but definitely gets old. They should have incorporated a little Tiger Woods into this game by giving you chances to earn cash to purchase new equipment. I played this game for 4 hours total and just within that time period I really got the feel that EA didn't give a rip about this game and just shoved it on the shelf. The worst game I have ever played for the Wii hands down. Luckily it doesn't get the worst game ever made award. To EA Sports - dump this series or recreate it from the beginning cause this game sucks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Weak Game

posted by chris1135 (WHITSETT, NC) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I was thoroughly unimpressed by this game and the controls were at times unresponsive. If I tried to smash the ball it would barely hit it over the net. I sealed it back up after one match!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Barely played it once

posted by coxwithane (MANKATO, MN) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

My husband liked this game a little bit better than I did, but I found it very cumbersome to learn the controls after so much time playing Wii Tennis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad implementation of control, nothing like wii sp

posted by pandyas (ALPHARETTA, GA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is not using the Wii simulation capabilities like wii sports, you have to use the nanchuk to move the player around the court and then hit the ball. Very bad implementation of wii controls. Even serving the ball to opponent is very complicated. I am glad I rent it before buying it. Send it back in three days as this is total waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too difficult

posted by ldavies306 (CUMMING, GA) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Not the easiest game to use. Too many different commands - stick to the tennis on Wii sport

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by jsgreer1 (SILSBEE, TX) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

This game has got to be the worst I've played on the wii. i havent had many complaints on anything I've played on this system but the thought of trying to swing the wiimote while having the joystick connected is just an ignorant idea. also the graphics are terrible it was almost like playing an atari again just all in all a terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Top Spin 3

posted by steve2722 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Another Wii game that disappoints. I do have to say this is the first Wii game that comes close what made the Wii so popular - Wii Sports.

All these companies have to do is take the foundation of the Wii Sports and improve on them. People purchased Wii systems because they were easy enough for the WHOLE FAMILY to get involved. My 4 year old niece could not play this game.

Attn manufacturers: GO BACK TO THE BASICS!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A gutted, and shallow version, but fun

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Oct 20, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

I've enjoyed Top Spin, and owned all three. My favorite part of the games was making your own character, train your own skills, and earn your way up to the top. Top Spin 3 Wii has NONE of that! However, for pick up and play it provides a fun experience if only for a little while

The controls on the game were a little mixed. The method of handling the Wii mote, and using nunchuck to aim and run, worked well. The swing and twisting for the spins is a little tricky, but works when you get it. Although, like many motion dependent Wii games, there are moments of "I didn't do that" but once you get the hang of it, it's the best Tennis game on Wii.

Graphics are basically PS2, not entirely ugly, but still last gen. The courts do look good, models are decent, and it runs at a solid rate to it's credit. Perhaps they were more worried about the control scheme, regardless of Wii's limitation on visual power.

The modes are so disappointing. Career mode replaced with party mode?! This may be a casualty of the Wii's user base, but it completely kills replay value. It was a deal breaker for me when it came to buying it. The only progression that you can play is a achievement mode where you pick a famous tennis player and play through variously themed tourneys. Half of them require doubles, and I personally never liked playing doubles on the game. And there is almost no reward beyond unlocking the next level.

A shallow game that will give you about 2 hours of fun. Rent only, never buy. The controls work, maybe Top Spin 4 will fix all these downfalls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More In-Depth, Less Fun than Wii Tennis

posted by jonandtiff (GRAND FORKS, ND) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I was in search of something a little more "mature" oriented than Wii Tennis. That's what I got.

The Controls were laid out well, although they didn't respond as quickly as I would have hoped for such a fast paced game.

Long story short, great game, but characters have slow and awkward footwork, as well as late controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TopSpin 3

posted by samiam159 (SUITLAND, MD) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

This game is really bad...Do Not Buy It!!! Do not even rent it. If you want a worthwhile wii tennis experience play wii sports. I can't believe they even made this game and sold it to the public. This is a complete waste. Can the makers of this game honestly believe this is fun. I'm a huge tennis fan and I was looking for a tennis game for the will that matched the controls of the wii tennis on wii sports, but with real players. To my dismay, the controls are the exact opposite. The controls are what really make this game terrible...not to mention the bad graphics. The only good thing I could say was the music rocked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Top Spin 3

posted by wkorsten1 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I liked that the game allows the user the ability to control the player, control where the ball goes, the different types of games to play (exhibition and tournament play), and that the controls really do make you feel like your actually playing. I did like the fact that the user can play either singles or doubles and the different locations/surface to play tennis on. I liked the graphics of the game and the main song.
What I didn't like about the game is that the user does not have the option of playing a regular set or playing a smaller version set. I would have liked to be able to choose the set length. The other thing that was hard to get used to was controlling the player where to go and the tour helped, but the game would have been better if the tour let the user practice. I would have liked to have more players to play with/against.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Top Spin 1 on XBox was a lot more fun.

posted by DelFarmer (WILMINGTON, DE) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The control scheme on the Wii leaves a lot to be desired. The control scheme on the old XBox system was a lot better and intuitive. Do I really need to be forced to serve and hit forehands with the Wii remote if I don't want to? Also, a lack of online play really takes something away from the TopSpin experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Failure

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

This game has so much potential, any tennis game on the wii does. Unfortunatly they did a really bad job on one important spot. The Graphics. If you like seeing a crapy pixelated person who automaticly toggles from three different positions and calling him a "Spectator" then the graphics won't bother you, even though wii sports looks a THOUSAND times better than this. Even if the miis arent realistic looking, at least they are smooth! controlls are cumbersome at best and the control that works the best is the one that lets you move! Play this if you want to see the worst visuals around and if you are planning on throwing your wiimote out the window, this game gives you a very good excuse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Soooo disappointing!

posted by ReallyChic (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Despite all the poor reviews i decided to give this game a try because i've always loved top spin on other systems. What a waste of time! First off the creators really weren't thinking when they chose to make the nunchuk necessary to play. The graphics were ok but the controls SUCK BIG TIME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Controls

posted by bruceleroy (VAN NUYS, CA) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The game looks nice, and it's great to be able to play as recognizable players, but the controls are too frustrating for a couple of reasons: 1) Having to use the nunchucks inhibits the ability to swing freely, and 2) By having to use the joystick to control where you're aiming the ball, you invariably end up accidentally moving your player's standing position instead of the location you're aiming the ball -- thus causing you to miss when you swing. To make the game more realistic (as Wii games should be), you should be able to aim with just the timing of when you hit the ball and how hard you hit it -- as they do it in Wii Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad, missing a few things

posted by rupertandi (HOLIDAY, FL) Jul 31, 2008

Member since May 2008

Overall I did not think Top Spin 3 is a bad game. It is difficult to get used to the controls for a beginner but after 4 or 5 matches a beginner can get the hang of it. The two areas that I think the game is weak in is on-line play and the amount of computer competitors. It would be nice to be able to play against other players on-line. Also the amount of computer players is just too few. You seem to play the same players over and over again. This is the type of game that when you first play it you think it is fun and a pretty good challenge. As you play it more, it starts to become boring and repetitive. Then you put the game away and when you come back to it at a later time it has it's fun back. Basically I think this is a good rental but if you purchase the game I think it may spend more time in the box then in the Wii gaming system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse