Rent Top Spin 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Top Spin 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.4

693 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Steep Learning Curve

posted by SMShadow (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Jul 27, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For anyone who has played a tennis game before: throw away everything you learned from previous titles. The developers of Top Spin 3, in an effort to create more realism, created an entirely new method to control your player's swings.

It takes a while to get the hang of the controls, but luckily the game provides quite a few tutorials and lessons to help you get caught up.

Unfortunately however, all of this innovation in the controls ultimately results in not much more than a 'pretty good' game. Once you get the hang of the new control scheme, it turns out there isn't much more to it than hitting the ball back and forth. The career mode is designed in such a way that it takes FOREVER to increase your player's attributes to something half-decent. In addition, the AI opponents seem to never make any mistakes, even at the early stages of the career.

The game offers easy, medium, and harder settings, but easy provided more than enough challenge for me. I shudder to think how this game plays on the hard setting.

So, if the career mode seems like a thousand-mile crawl, there's always the ability to play exhibition matches using Federer or Nadal to get a taste of what you can really do with this game. But that gets old fairly quickly.

Overall, the game is worth a rent if you are a tennis fan or even just a fan of sports video games in general. But it's not a killer top-of-the-queue title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than you think

posted by L3thal (NEWARK, NJ) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I don't write reviews here but after reading the 4 reviews below, I had to write this one.

I don't understand why everyone is saying this game blows. First off, I am not a big tennis fan but I am enjoying this game very much. The graphics are very good, the players turn red and sweat as the game progresses, and the career mode is very deep and I find myself addicted to it. You play through tournaments accumulating experience points and moving up the ranks.

The AI is not easy but not hard. The other reviewer said it was impossible to win in a final of a tournament and I say he either does not know how to play or just isn't good enough. I have won tournaments and lost them in the first round and there are some matches that just go back and forth and keep you on the edge of your seat.

Overall, Top Spin is a good game worthy of a rental and playing its career mode. The buttons are straightforward and once you get used to the timing, it becomes much easier and enjoyable to play the game.

Do not listen to all these reviewers who most likely played two games and sent it back without even attempting to play the game for real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tennis Fans Only

posted by nolan1977 (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The game is good. period. if your looking for a fast pace button smashing arcade pong, go play virtual tennis, If your looking for real strategy, real tennis physics and engine look no further. this is a(sim)game for the tennis fan. The game has to grow you, after a while the controls handle like a breeze. For those who say the game is to hard, One, go to tennis school, Two swallow your pride and set the gaming level to (VERY EASY). I'm not a tennis fan and I enjoy this game. If your looking for more tennis then what this game has to offer, put down your controller and pick up a tennis racket.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YOU ALL ARE EITHER CRAZY OR JUST UNCOORDINATED!

posted by kslim1 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boy all of these people rating this title bad are either crazy or just plain uncoordinated. I am having a blast with this game. What more can people ask for in a Tennis title? The graphics look awesome, the sound affects rock, and it is down right ultra realistic and a blast to play. I admit it takes some veteran hand I coordination and practice in the school provided, but boy, once you master this button release physic it really is entertaining. It almost feels as if you are swinging a real racket do to the movements of your player in conjunction with the button release timing. Also, creating your character is simply amazing and allowed me to come awful close to my self look. This game to me is worth buying and Tennis isn't even my favorite sport. Its just really really fun. Rent this game and play it,then buy it because I dont think another Tennis game will compare any time soon!! hail PS3!! Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thank goodness for Gamefly!!

posted by senorDHas (SPARKILL, NY) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

After reading the mixed reviews- 1's and 9's, with all the bad reviews commenting on game play, I wondered how bad could it really be?

I happen to love tennis games and am normally a big fan of 2k games - but this game is awful. Down right awful. I would have been really irritated if I had bought this game.

The graphics are not bad at all, better than I thought for a tennis game- but I really cannot figure out what the designers were thinking when they designed the button control! Timing and anticipation I understand, but to release the button to swing? If it sounds funky, then you can imagine trying to perform it!

AWFUL, absolutely AWFUL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Poorly Executed by 2K Sports

posted by RogerH (EMERYVILLE, CA) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

My comments are based on Career mode. It is as if no one even QA'ed the game.

First of all, the action of this game is very different from any racket game you have ever played before. You don't hit the ball with the buttons or stick. you must release it earlier as the ball hits the ground.

Now this is very counter intuitive. But lets say that you invest the time to learn the new interface and you battle you way through all the opening rounds and you make Juniors. Took me quite some time to get to this point and I am usually the best at these type of games.

Well, in Juniors you are suppose to play matches against people and place in the top 3 in the year. The only problem is that you play the same people regardless if you are on hard or easy and these people are MANY levels above your head. It took me winning 9 matches to move from 30 to 33 and my first match in Juniors I am playing people at level 55. Almost impossible to play and even if you do win a match, you only get 2 points. So even if you can win the odd match against a MUCH better opponent, you would have to win HUNDREDS of matches at 2 points each to even come close to the level of your opponents.

I bet they meant to make the easier games, well easier than the hard ones. But you play exactly the same people in each.

This game is in deperate need of a patch, but as we rent game, I can't wait that long.

Stay far away from this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow Worse than kissing your grandma

posted by gogocats (OWENSBORO, KY) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

The game play for this game is so bad its like trying to drink coffee with a fork.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good at all!

posted by cubsfan (OMAHA, NE) Dec 28, 2008

Member since May 2007

The game is so slow. The buttons are hard, and the gameplay is horrible!!!! dont buy or rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Top Spin 3 A OK

posted by tbaggin318 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

This game does not give you the luxury of previous tennis where you can just whack the ball back and forth. You actually have to hold the button, press the desired direction, then release the button. A little frustrating but once you get the mechanics down this one is good for a couple weeks of fun, and unfortunately there aren't many co-op modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good physics with a questionable control scheme

posted by eugene22n (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The aspects that make this tennis simulation stand out from the others are the physics and control scheme.

The physics engine is accurate in the sense that the game really does punish the user for not paying attention to court position and accurately depicts momentum based on the court surface. On the highest difficultly setting the game is challenging.

The control scheme has you hold a button and then release it to actual hit the ball. This is controversial because it tend to feel clumsy. The accuracy and power of the shot is based upon the timing of the release, the length of the hold, and the movement of the player.

The graphics in the game are good, but I wish there were more players. The career mode is weak featuring progression without any "story".

If you are a fan of tennis or tennis games this game is probably worth checking out at least for a little while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game is the reason i subscribe to gamefly

posted by chocl8man (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

tennis is fun to watch fun to play and fun on every console. even the previous top spin titles have been super. this game is horrible. we've been programmed: hit=press button. this game requires you to do the total opposite. it makes you relearn everything you've already learned by holding the button first and then when you're ready to hit, then you let the button go? come on, dont try to reinvent the wheel. the graphics are sick (hd is amazing). but i dont really play games for the graphics, they help but hey.
ps where are the williams sisters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Missed Shot

posted by TylersDad1 (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2003

Speaking as a fan of the Top Spin series, I was really looking forward to this game. Even though I had heard bad things about the controls, and didn't really like the demo, I wanted to give the full game a try before passing judgement. I don't like this game. The graphics are good, with the polygonal players looking mostly like their real-life counterparts, and the courts look very nice too. Even the animations are done well enough that at a glance, you might even mistake it for the real deal. But the problems started when I actually began to play the game. I can understand wanting to make the game feel more like real tennis, and they accomplished this by slowing the game down, but the controls don't feel intuitive at all. Even after going through the tennis school a couple of times for practice, releasing a button in order to hit the ball just feels "off" to me. The player momentum also feels overdone. I wish they had an option to switch to a more "traditional" style of controls, and in that way they could serve both hard-core tennis fans, and fans of tennis video games.
Another thing I wish was better is the roster of real-life players, which feels woefully bare-bones.
Plenty of people keep saying that if you keep practicing that you'll get better at it, and this is true of most things, but does it make it fun? Maybe for some, but not for me. I play games for fun, and after hours of practicing this game, I didn't come close to having fun. Some people are saying that if you don't like the new controls,to go play Virtua Tennis or something like it, but why sould I? The truth is, I used to, and still like the Tennis 2K series on the Dreamcast, but once I played the Top Spin series, it became my favorite tennis video game--mainly because it had a better "feel' to it. And by "feel" I mean that it didn't feel as arcadey to me. After playing this game, I can't say that anymore. If you have any interest in this game, definitely rent it first, and make your own decision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Tennis Game Ever!

posted by sinusdrip (MCKINNEY, TX) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

This is the top of my list on the worst tennis/sports games I have ever played in my life!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easily the best tennis game ever made

posted by edlglide (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The title says it all -- no other tennis game is even remotely close to capturing the sport the way Top Spin 3 does.

The gameplay is phenomenal. There are minor flaws (the computer is far too good at serving out wide and at the net), but it feels like real tennis rather than glorified ping pong. There's strategy, timing, and, for maybe the first time ever in a tennis game, actual unforced errors on a fairly regular basis. Playing on clay feels different from playing on grass, and they both feel different from hard courts. It's one of the best sports games (yes, of ANY sport) I've ever played in terms of being a realistic, accurate simulation of the real thing.

The only major negative to this game is the career mode. The set up is okay, but all you can really do is play tournaments. There's nothing else to do -- no hiring and firing coaches, no training sessions, no sponsorships, nothing. I assume it's because they overhauled the gameplay, and they'll fix the career mode in Top Spin 4, but it's pretty bare bones as is.

However, the gameplay is so great that the career mode is still fun, and the online World Tour/online tournaments help make up for the lack of options in the career.

If you want the best tennis sim ever made, play this game. If you want arcade tennis (just mindlessly whacking it back and forth), check out Virtua Tennis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not good at all

posted by MPL1999 (FRANKLINVILLE, NJ) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

I've played video games along time and this is one of the worse sports games I've played in about 10+ years. Get the tennis games made by Sega for PS2 or PS3, you'll be glad you did. Those games play much smoothly. This game is one of the worse tennis games I've ever played and these games for tennis are very limited, however this is the worse out of the worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Returning after 2 hours

posted by bignaps (CORONA, CA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

Nothing says fun like having to play against a computer opponent whose attributes are almost 100% better than yours. I am in my second tourney of my career and for the most part I have been mowing down the other players (played about 8 or so matches to this point). I have lost only 1 set in all those matches. But I reach the finals of the second tourney and I am facing a guy who stats almost double mine in all but 2 categories. I have tried 3 times to beat him but I do not think it is possible. I have yet to win a set in those three attempts. With so many other games out there right now I am mailing this back as I don't have time or patience right now to struggle against the computer especially when I have no choice to face superior built opponents. Combine that with graphics that are nothing special, movement and player AI that is questionable it is just not that great of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The best Tennis game out but...

posted by Silentme (O FALLON, MO) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

its still just pong. It really is a great tennis game but with a weak career mode there isn't much to do but hit the ball back and forth.

Great game if your a tennis fan. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »