Rent Top Spin 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Top Spin 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.4

1287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The evolution of Topspin

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jun 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game takes chances, that's for sure. Similarly to the way MLB 2k8 revamped its controls, Top Spin 3 is sending us all back to school. Practice is needed on timing especially, but it gets easier with time. The danger in this new control system is that too many people will just be lazy and say they don't like change. That's how I felt about MLB 2k8 myself, but after playing about 15 games, I finally got it. I can't imagine going back to the old controls now. It's too early to know if this will be true of Topspin 3, but I sincerely hope so.

Graphics in this game are noticably improved over last time out. It looks like they did a lot of work to improve the use of their game engine. But the looks and sounds of this game are not the major story here. If you love tennis, you will want to try this game out. The big story here is "what do you think of the new controls?"

We'll have to wait and see what the final verdict of the masses will be, but I don't see it as a big problem personally. I like that it's harder than the old control system and (like MLB 2k8) seems a little more in keeping with the reality of tennis.

The bottom line is that Topspin 3 is much more of a tennis sim than an arcade game. That's probably where the line in the sand will be drawn for gamers. In my case, I always prefer a sports game to be more sim than arcade. Makes it feel more like the real sport.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WOW Horrible

posted by tjohnson (RALEIGH, NC) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the first tennis game I have actually quit playing because the movements were soooo bad. Not to mention the swing controls and aiming of the ball!!! I would NOT recommend this game to somebody looking for a decent tennis game, stick to Top Spin 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I hate this game! and I Love this game!

posted by beweekly (VALLEJO, CA) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I hate this game! and I Love this game! I give this game a rating of "0 and 10".

This is not your typical VT3,TS or TS2.Forget about those easy game controls and get ready to learn and re-think the way you played tennis in the past.

The Love: This game has all the Hi def eye candy(720p) and realism of any tennis game out,hands downs. The sweating faces, the dirty appearance,tiredness,player poor shots,heart pounding fatigue,you name it.

The Love: It's a real tennis game folks,not for the faint of heart. You have to practice and be patience and then MAYBE you can win a game on "normal level." Once you do,(and it will take some time on any level other then "easy")you will feel great!

The Hate: The controls + player momentum is hard to master,if at all. With no computer assist in moving your player from side to side you will miss many returns. "Releasing" the button to hit the ball is not normal.

The hate: The game is slower and the control system is weak. But at the same time, it's PERFECT for this game of tennis because it's like REAL Tennis. Be warned: TopSpin 3 is not for the casual arcade-minded tennis fan.

The Hate: How can you have a Great tennis game WITHOUT the WILLIAM sisters,Sampras,and the other greats in it.

Rent it first!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 and done!

posted by FREESTYLE (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 5, 2008

Member since May 2004

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I love sports games. I played the heck out of topspin and topspin 2, I bought these games as soon as they came out and loved them. So I figured just go out and buy TS3, and I did. Big mistake. People are saying the timing system is nice and it makes the game more interesting. I feel it was just a hindrance. When i play a sports game i want it to be challenging but i want the challenge from the AI not the controls. I seriously gave this game half an hour and i was done. I hope 2k goes back top a fun enjoyable experience and not a college class lesson. Maybe I should change it from one and done to half and hour and done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by boiiii (TARZANA, CA) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game takes a century to learn how to play. I just wanna have fun and play a video game. but this game makes u learn how to play tennis to the fullest. its the hardest game i ever played. this game is harder than playing tennis for real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

be patient

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

when you first start to play this game , your gonna be thinking what the heck is this, can`t even hit the ball right well alone win a game, but be patient , spend an hr in the training school , learn the new controls , then start your career, play a few games , build up your stats. thats when this game actually is`nt all that bad, esp once you get to the junior tour. graghic`s are pretty good , not the best on the 360, but better than topspin 2. if your after an arcadey type tennis game , this may not be for you , much more of a sim than last year`s.overall i think it`s the best tennis game on the 360 so far, career mode could have been more indepth, buying stuff from the store has no effect on your tennis skills other than cosmetics`s, would be nice to spend more money on a racket and it helps somehow on the court, or new shoes mean you can run faster,the only thing you`ll really buy stuff for is the achievement points you get for unlocking 300 items.longevity wise , this game should last awhile , career mode has a fair few hrs in it, plus there`s the tournament mode, in which you have to win all 24 to get achievement points. but therein lies the problem , it`s only tennis, hit ball over net then repeat until your done. if your a fan of tennis then you should enjoy this game, if not then rent first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Impressed

posted by rflow99 (WINTER PARK, FL) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to playing this game and ended up sending it back within three days. This game really missed its mark when it tried to implement timing, which made it less desirable to play. I want my sports games to be partially realistic not frustrating like Top Spin 3. I was also unhappy with the training mode because it did not prepare me like Top Spin 2. Finally, this was probably one of the worst sports games I've played since buying Box 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not feeling it....

posted by 360Santi (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

thats where gamefly comes in and does a game title right, in that you try before you buy.. In this case this is getting mailed right back to gamefly and there will be no keep it now selected for this game. I have kept many titles here, this will not be one of them

I for one am not a fan of the new hitting mechanism in TS3, I downloaded the demo while waiting on my Gamefly copy to arrive. I wanted to give the full game a shot before i dogged it..i have read other reviews in that you should give it time, appreciate it, embrace it, be patient and learn the new styles, go to tennis school. But with TS2 and VT3 under my belt why should I? I made my bones in those 2 games, i refuse to start off as a scrub again..let alone learn new kung fu styles of button pushing, to me thats the real disappointment of the game. and from the overall game score of 5.9 seems i am not alone.

Kinda reminds me of how the swing stroke changed In Tiger Woods 08 from Tiger woods 07. The 08 title i nicknamed as Slice Woods 2008. 07 still sees gameplay on my 360 so does TW06 and Links 2004..after all Golf titles are not like an NBA/NHL/NFL or Baseball title that i'd need to get each title for trades & such.

Top Spin 3 im sure to the video game simulation Tennis affictionato (not the arcade player) will apreciate it and say its worth going back to school to learn button controls, and the lack of some of the games noteable players is also an issue but can be tolerable if we didnt have the hump of learning new button pushing styles..whatever man.

gamfly is here to further your experience in try b4 you buy!!

in closing I say--> when you give me soy milk instead of regular milk doesn't mean i gotta like the drink either..I'll drink it if i need a liquid to survive mind you..However I wont be drinking the TS3 Kool-Aid no more..Top Spin 3 worth a rental, but not worth hours of learning new button strokes for having been there done that!..NEXT on my queue please..1 title COMING BACK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak Gameplay

posted by P0RKCH0P (SUNNYSIDE, WA) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for a fun entertaining game, instead I got a headache from trying to learn the timing. The last Top Spin it was farely easy to understand the swing and timing but know I would much rather try and shoot a freethrow on some basketball game then try and hit a tennisball on this game. Better luck next time 2K Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just frustrating...not fun at all

posted by Noeckett (VISALIA, CA) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

My friend and I were both very disappointed as fans of the first two games with this one. Control is awkward and it's nearly impossible to make a point even against the most inept of opponents. I can tell there's a very in-depth system in there for those willing to put in the time to learn it, but it's just too much and not worth the frustration to learn. At least in the first two Top Spins your character would move and act like a pro. Not so here. Get Top Spin 2 it's much more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Top Spin 3

posted by josephb (TREMONT CITY, OH) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game is extremely boring. They do not utilize the right stick or the triggers at all. it is only a slight upgrade from games such as Pong. The system of moving a character from left to right and pressing the A button is not the way to make a game. A major disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sent back the same day

posted by Marcelc28 (WASHINGTON, DC) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

I was so excited to play top spin 3 because I still play top spin 2. After taking two hours just to finish half the tennis school and then 5 failed attempts to win the first matches of career mode on very easy I quickly packed up top spin 3 and sent it back. The whole timing aspect of the game was a major turn off. Also there was no Nadal. I think I'll just keep playing top spin 2 until 4 comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by Golf16 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Unless you have been playing this series since the first one, I doubt you will like it. Too long of a learning curve.
I'll admit, when I saw this game was coming I was excited. I was looking forward to having a good tennis game. But once I got this game and started playing it. Well all I can say is disappointing. I went to just a freeplay game and couldn't even hit the ball. So then of course I went to the learning class. As much as is involved in this game they could've made it a bit more playable for those of us who don't play tennis and are interested in having a fun game and get you interested in the sport.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game looks great, but play needs work

posted by parakeet (PORT RICHEY, FL) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This title has very impressive graphics and realism. You couldn't ask for much more in the way of precise details. The people really do look like their real-life equivalents, and the stadiums are gorgeous. The one problem is the gameplay. It's a little harder than it should be to get the hang of proper execution of moves. No one wants a game that is too simple, but neither do they get a chance to fully enjoy a game when you have to keep saying, "How was I supposed to do that?" Simpler controls would have made this game nearly perfect. I hope they amend this in time for next year's game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Counterintiutive control scheme

posted by hduser (MONTEREY PARK, CA) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

It has a steep learning curve and the controls is nothing like any other tennis game I've played. You must first select the type of shot before the ball arrives and let go of the button to hit the ball. I swear this is more difficult than real tennis and less rewarding. While the added effect of realism is added with cloud shadows wafting over the court and part of the court is shaded because of sun position, this type of realism isn't necessary and adds to the difficulty of seeing the ball. I swear playing real tennis is more fun than this. Nobody has gotten a decent control scheme since Final Match Tennis on the turbografx in the mid 90s.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining for a long time!!

posted by Awe4some (Wichita, KS) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

First of all i just have to say to those who rated this game a 1... you all are not very patient as tennis games takes time to practice and perfect! I mean come on do you all know how to rate a good game when you see one... this game is pretty fun. A must buy for tennis fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I have ever played on any console

posted by kpyeahbaby (YARMOUTH, ME) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

...period. I'm serious... and I usually rate games higher than other people do. The first Top Spin was the best and they have just gotten progressively worse since then. What were they thinking with this one? Less options, the controls stink, etc, etc. every facet of this game stinks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by KillaDave (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I absolutely loved Top Spin 2 so this is not a biased review. I came into this game with high hopes only for them to be crumbled. This game is extremely hard to just pick up and play and is in no way fun. I was a master at Top Spin 2 and after a half hour I was turning off my Xbox in frustration. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More than I expected

posted by 10isPro (Hanover, IN) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

From readying a lot of other reviews I was not expecting a lot from this game because I thought it would be too difficult to play. After playing for awhile I became comfortable with most of the controls where I could play the career. If interested in trying a challenging tennis game then I would definitely suggest you try this game. Great graphics and gameplay but a few of the controls are hard to gain a grasp of but they are not specifically needed to win matches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just aweful!

posted by RedGamer (Buhler, KS) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I gave Top Spin 3 a chance cause I love to play tennis. I thought Top Spin 2 was terrible so I figured they would iron out the bugs for TS 3. Nope! Boring to play, hard to control. Even on easy is hard to play. When are game companies going to figure out that even if they put "controls of tomorrow" into the game, they are not necessarily making a good game. The only thing good about this game was the graphics and the moment I put it back into the gamefly sleeve to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse than the rest

posted by Sandy85 (BRADENTON, FL) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

The game is very slow to respond to your controls and seems to be confused as to what you are trying have it do, sometimes even moving the opposite direction you tell it to. Overall it is a sham compared to Top Spin 2, which I own and enjoy. I sure hope that these are some issues that they can fix with a patch, but overall the game is glitchy and sluggish to the point it even lags when showing you the court.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Spend some time with it...

posted by Yarcod (MISSION, KS) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

At first glance this game is pretty bad. It's hard to get the hang of and it is much less polished than the previous titles. While I do think Top Spin 2 was a better game, if this one ends up in your queue, stick with it longer than you usually would. Once you get a hang of the game mechanics it goes from "Bad Game" to at least "OK Game" or maybe even "Mildly Entertaining Game."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Top Spin 3

posted by Aequitas76 (SEATTLE, WA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Well, let me start off by saying...much better than the last time.

Far better controls, i love not seeing where i'm aiming. i mean that, no cynicism there. All this means is a lot of practice, you really have to spend a bit of time learning how to time everything or you aren't going to go anywhere in the game.

I love all the options there are as far as clothing, equipment and well...face morphing is a game in itself.

Smooth graphics, players getting sweaty the harder they play during a long match. the slide marks on clay courts along with the players clothes getting dirty from the clay court dust shooting up from the slides. just awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A step backward

posted by Sirharper (MAINEVILLE, OH) Oct 2, 2008

Member since May 2006

While the graphics and technology are more advanced the playability is not. Controls are awkward, confusing and difficult to manage compared to Top Spin 2. I could only stand to play this game a few hours before putting it away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I enjoyed this game for a few days

posted by IhateOSU (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I like renting because I get bored after a while. This game is pretty fun if you are looking to entertain yourself for a while. I don't like that your player maxes out at a rating of 70 but all in all this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse