Rent Top Gun Hardlock for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Top Gun Hardlock

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.7

245 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Handling could use some work but ok overall.

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 14, 2012

Member since May 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No matter how hard you try it seems really hard to smoothly trail your target to lock on. Some of this is due to the AI seeming able to do moves your plane just can't and some of it is the plane's handling/responsiveness.

It's my first jet fighter game in a long, long while but from what I have played it is fun enough that I'll keep playing it for a bit but it's not above rental status as far as value.

Fun to play, not worth buying. Also, voice acting is pretty bad. You will laugh when you die and hear the voice acting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its Fun and Worth one play through

posted by the_CADD_GUY (HUNTSVILLE, AL) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played through this game after I played Ace Combat Assault Horizon. the games are almost identical, save for the included Top Gun references that are put into it. that Ace Combat has been trying to put into their games without breaking any trademarks. so its has some cheese facters to it.

graphics wise, its a flight simulator so the graphics for the ground and ground based models as a whole can be as low poly as you want to make them, thats fine. all of the planes in the game are well modeled because, well heck, they got the models from the companies who created them in the first place.

only draw backs, you cant choose which plane you get to fly during the campaign, and for the most part youre in an f-18. its Top Gun, the whole thing should revolve around the f-14 in the later 80's or 90's not today or slight future

over all i give is an average 7. its worth the one play through, and that one play through is fun. most missions are surprisingly long (but still very entertaining)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Multiplayer $$$?

posted by tcreson (ROXBORO, NC) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you want to play multiplayer, you'll have to pay - on top of MS's online fee!! Yeah, right!!
Get bent...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pigmatic

posted by Huppydog (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I followed your link but I would like to know more about how to fight EA and others like 505. They make enough money and they put out crud. We want better games for our 60 bucks. And we go to Gamefly to make sure we have it!
I'm giving a rating of 1 simply because of the bs devs put us though, like releasing 50 bucks worth of DLC the day after the release that should have come with the game and making us pay more to play online. 60 bucks is enough!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Huge Let down

posted by LordCC18 (DOUGLAS, AK) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The voice overs got me to rate this game very horrible. The game overall is alright but was expecting hopes that this game would do well since I haven't seen any good jet fighter games since then except for birds of steel. This game is worth renting for maybe 1-2 days then send it back. Not worth buying at all in my book due to the voice overs are so horrible lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Top Gun Hard Lock

posted by cmak1227 (NESCONSET, NY) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Game is terrible not even worth renting. I have played better Atari games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by vinnie13 (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

What a wast of time playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »