Rent Too Human for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Too Human

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

11939 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not perfect - but give it a chance

posted by dielkathan (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

95 out of 113 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Bottom line before my explanation:
Give this game a chance, it may grow on you
I hated it at first but have come to love it

This is my first review. I will also preface that I don't ever play RPG's as my time is limited for games and this genre tends to be way too long & way too deep.

Initially I was drawn to mixing Norse mythology & science fiction. Interesting if corny at times. Aliens meets the Matrix meets Lord of the Rings.

Yesterday I made the jump and simply bought this game.
I am not unhappy.

Fundamentally, I think that is my point. The game is beautiful. It tries to be epic in scale & largely succeeds. The scenery is great, the music is great, the visuals are great & movement is fluid.

This game has been largely slammed in the critical arena. Most notably for the lack of camera control. Admittedly, that problem exists, but you get used to it & quite frankly, it is not terrible.
The controls in general (I include the camera here as a lack of control) take ALOT of getting used to. But once you do, they become easy.

Having gone from COD4 to ninja gaiden 2 to this, I was mashing buttons and doing all sorts of dumb things, but once I settled into the control scheme, I was dispatching enemies with reative ease.

This is where the game will live or die. Can we players give a new control scheme a chance?

The games relies on random loot drops. You'll be tweaking constantly & that gets addicting. As I said, I don't even like RPG games in general, so this surprised me. It is done well.

The skill trees are decent & it allows you to remap if you don't like your choices. Great for someone like me not used to this.

As an action title, there is monotony to battle. I think that criticism is real too. Battles are horde-like & seem epic in scale each time. You don't fight 1 monster, you fight 50. Always. Some may like it, some won't. I do.

For everything unpolished, there is a gem here.

Give it a try - at least a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jack of all trades, master of none

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Aug 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

132 out of 163 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This is an overall very good game. Lots of fun tearing up enemies in a number of different ways, collecting new armor and weapons in an rpg like way and leveling up a few skills on a Diablo-esqe skill tree.

Graphics are good. Not amazing. Sound and voice acting are usually good but not always. The story is pretty good, but there is an annoying love interest story mixed in. The combination of Norse mythology and future sci fi tech makes for a new and interesting world.

The camera is usually ok, but from time to time, you wish you could control it yourself. You can center the view with the left button sometimes, but there are times when the game takes over the camera and it sorta feels like the camera in Marvel Ultimate Alliance. Since most games let you look with the right stick, I kept trying to do that at first, but that stick is your main attack controller. So everytime I didn't like what the camera was doing, I swished my dual wielded swords around (perhaps in anger). The camera isn't a deal breaker, but I can see that some people might complain.

Starting off the game, I was a bit underwhelmed. The beginning level wasn't set up to let me know it was just a beginning (almost training) level. Therefore, I was thinking that this was indicative of the entire game. After that area was finished and I moved on from there, the game opens up quite a bit. Options are many in weapons and armor. You can add runes to give your character bonuses. You have the ability to enter a different world to solve a few puzzles and open doors that were locked in the real world.

There's a whole lot of stuff to do in this game. It never really has let me down in any area and usually, it's a lot of fun. It doesn't set the bar any higher in any area though. It looks to be a bit replayable with different character classes, and you do have the option of staying human or getting cybernetic implants.

It's a definite rental and possible purchase if it happens to suit your style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Too Human defies Reviews.

posted by JMadisonIV (NEW CARROLLTON, MD) Aug 21, 2008

Member since May 2006

43 out of 63 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Fact: Too Human has gotten terrible reviews from all the Major Review Sources, except IGN.

Fact: Too Human is better than pretty much all the reviews state it is. WAY better.

My personal opinions is that the reviews are the result of Game Producer Denis Dyack running is mouth too much, and causing folks to simply want his game to fail.

However, this games does not fail, at all. It is ridiculously fun, and when you really get going in a fight, it offers a nice adrenaline rush and makes you feel like a complete beast.

The difficulty ramps up significantly after the first level though, so be warned.

The thumbstick combat controls take some getting used to, as does the lack of camera control. You can't manually control the camera, but you can switch between several different Camera Schemes (by pressing Up or Down on the D-Pad). My suggestion is to set the camera on "Strategic". If works wonderfully, and you rarely ever worry about it afterwards.

The game has a very interesting premise, and the way they've adapted the Norse Myths the game is based on to the Sci-Fi setting is nearly brilliant. If you are at all even slightly familiar with the Norse Mythology, you will recognize a lot of what goes on.

Too Human isn't a game that everyone will like. But in my opinion, Silicon Knights has knocked it out of the park on this one, and I'll be playing it for a long time.

If you let the Official Reviews make your mind up on this, without giving it at least a rental to try it yourself, you will be doing yourself a disservice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lot's of questions/Xbox Live is essential

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

35 out of 52 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A 6 is decent. Too Human is a decent game. I've played it for 47h 27min (according to the game timer) and I enjoyed my time with it. I will probably round out the game at 50 hours and then send it back to Gamefly because I'll never need to play it again as there are too many quirks in the structure of the game and the use of the controller during combat, that I just don't care to deal with it anymore. That's the gist of the 6.

There are only 4 levels. 4. That's it. I hated one of them - a lot (the 2nd level, in case you were wondering - the game calls it an ice forest, but you almost immidiately enter red, boring, flat, annoying cave platforms which are not very icy looking at all). The others were decent (there's that word again). One was blue. Another was green. The fourth looked a lot like the second. There are also, about, 4 different kinds of enemies. There are normal ones-and the various stages that all look alike. There are elemental enemies. There are big trolls. There are bosses. Maybe one or two others. That's it. All do the same thing - surround you mob style or bombard you from afar with missiles. Thousands of items and 6 different baddies to fight? That doesn't seem right.

The weapons are fun, and the guns really grew on me as I ended up really digging the laser rifle/grenade launcher combo. Fun watching enemies fly everywhere - and there are A LOT of enemies on screen at a time. Too many, sometimes. Of course, you can't permanently die. Yeah, there is absolutely no consequence to your actions. You could "get thru" this game in an afternoon (maybe two - couple of the boards are longer, like that second one again), but the game saves often and you're never left to redo anything. Co-op is great with two of the main characters (and none of the brain dead A.I. which do nothing to help anything AT ALL in single player campaign) to thrash the enemies.

You need Xbox Live for the in-game marketplace (and Co-op). Makes item hunting MUCH easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't believe the negative hype.

posted by Angelous (SALINAS, CA) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Seriously, don't believe all the press reviews and negative hype surrounding Too Human. It's a really fun game.

Yes, the game has it's flaws. But the core gameplay, the fighting and loot gathering, is excellent and addicting. You'll quickly find youself playing late into the morning while attempting to clear "just one more" area multiple times.

Once you cross over into co-op play over Xbox Live, the combat possibilies are endless.

Bottom line: Too Human is an awesome game. Just give it a chance and look past the negativity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

To err is Too Human

posted by MidXIII (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

58 out of 89 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Let me get the good things out of the way first.

The good elements of this game:
The reinvention of the mythology - Its really cool that they took an old mythology and made it high tech.
The RPG style item customization - There will be many weapons and armor that you can build and customize.
Multiplayer is pretty good as long as someone runs (with blades) and someone guns.

And... thats about it.

Now the bad.

The play controls are bad and I mean REALLY bad, targeting is horrible. The use of the right analog stick for sword instead of using a button combination proves to be this games downfall. You'll be fighting the camera angle almost as much as the enemies on the screen. Often times you will target something to do a nice sword/gun combo only to have the sword part work and the gun part aim at another enemy, OR target an already dead one.

The other downside is the games areas are too big. Normally thats a good thing, but you'll be doing a lot of running around just to get to where you need to be with NOTHING happening. ESPECIALLY in Azier (AKA cyberspace). Tons of running just to get to the next mission.

And lastly, just about EVERY level is basically the same enemies slightly different. Its the same horde-like mentality with almost the same enemies every stage.

Bottom line. Too human is too bad to really enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DON'T KNOCK IT UNTIL YOU'VE TRIED IT!!

posted by W4RM4CHINE (MANSFIELD, TX) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was listening to everyone saying this is a "so-so" game, but I thought I would put it in my "Q" and try it...and I was glad I did! The game play took some getting used to at first (I usually play FPS, and this game has more to it than most FPS's). This is an ACTION game, and the way you play it is totally up to you. You can play it as a fighting game, action game, or as a role playing game...totally up to you. It gives you a choice to play as a Human or as a Cybernetic being, and this choice does affect the game play. Weapons and Armor are all upgradeable, and there are hours upon hours of addicting game play here (and that says a lot coming from a COD 4 junkie). Like the title says, don't knock it until you have tried it. I am not a big fan or RPG's, but I genuinely enjoy TOO HUMAN, you will too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Way too short, only setup for sequel...

posted by T3dsCom (Kapolei, HI) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Game starts out good though it is flawed by a bad camera which takes getting used to. But after 10 hours when the game was starting to get good it ended without any notice...right in the middle of the story all to be setup for a sequel. Pure garbage for that reason alone. Oh, and every time you die (which you will a lot...to prove that point there is an achievement for getting killed 100 times!) it takes FOREVER to watch the valkyrie animation just so you can play again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big Letdown

posted by danhampton (EVANSVILLE, IN) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I went into this game with great expectations, and was greatly disappointed. The melee control system was laggy, the targeting system for the guns was horrible (it's impossible to lock on to anything you want), and the enemies are repetitive and boring.
The voice acting was subpar and the story is confusing and full of holes. Also there is no tutorial as to what the stat effects are and what they do. Even in an old dungeon crawler such as diablo they explain what the he11 stat adjustments do. I still have no Idea what charms do and can notice no change when quests are completed and all runes are in place. Bottom line this game was a waste of 15 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GODS OF WAAAAARRRR (may your hammer be mighty!)

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Aug 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

yeah, i used a "hot rod" reference for a game review, what?

so "too human" IS a good game...but...

Fact: you cant tell someone that it is a FACT that a game is good in a review, u r only expressing an opinion.

so i write this review as my opinion, not some persuasive essay on how much you should love this game.

the PROS.

1: GREAT story. anyone who loves old mythology and science fiction (lets face it, if u like one, u prolly like the other) will love this. i found it incredibly interesting how the developers were able to almost seemlessly fuse scifi and nordic myth into one, complex story.
2: the visuals are really nice. the graphics themeselves are nothing breathtaking, but the depth and detail in the enviorments all come together with the mytho-sci-fictional feel/story.
3: solid gameplay. i quote another reviewer when i say it IS a jak of all trades, master of none. that is to say that this game covers all the elements of an action RPG, but doesnt exactly perfect them.
4: weapons. upgradeable, powerfull, big, fun. nuf said.

the SPLIT: omg, we havent seen one of these for a while, but i actually cant decide if i like the fighting mechanism or not. i DO like the ATTEMPT to do something new (the melee is all controlled with the right stick), but i dont like how it FEELS half the time. decide for yourself.

the CONS: just small details here and there. i think if they could do a sequel, given more time they could make the game REALLY inovative. the graphics, again, aren't PHENOMINAL, and i think i would have liked to seen some multiplayer elements thrown in, but otherwise...

this is an incredibly enjoyable game. the one thing i can say is that if you play games for the story and the world you get thrown into (coughcough-devilmaycryfa- ns- coughcough) and bizaare and intense action, you SHOULD like this game.

a definite rent. 8/10

this review brought to you by Pucheo Films on youtube. search Pucho for off-beat comedy and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting story...but the game made me sick

posted by cranesnake (PATCHOGUE, NY) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ok, my only disclaimer here is that I didn't play the game all the way through. I returned it after my husband finished the second "level" of the game (I played until about a third of the way through the second level.)

The whole idea of Norse cyber-gods was one I found interesting, which is why the game ended up on my Q. That part (what there was of it) didn't disappoint. If there had been more of the story I might have liked the game more.

The problems were two fold: the combat was unbelievably dull. You were either slogging through a lot of low-level enemies or facing a boss battle. There was nothing in-between, and the combat felt like it didn't really tie into the story much at all.

My second problem with the game probably had more to do with my gaming setup than anything else: the camera made me sick. Literally. The automation of the camera combined with my standard definition television gave me a headache after a few minutes of play, and would make me nauseous if I tried to play through it further.

If you have an HDTV this game might be worth your time. If you like hack-and-slash combat, this might be worth your time. If you're looking for the story, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by Cros123 (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 21, 2008

Member since May 2008

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is fairly decent.The game has many flaws to it which bring down its it replay-ability, such as repitive combat, and unbalanced classes. This game had to much hype, but all in all it is a game that most people should rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Embodiment of Disappointment.

posted by RandomGuy (IRVINE, CA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

After hearing all the negative press for this game, I wasn't expecting much. I honestly just wanted it to be Dynasty Warriors with a story, and it could have been ok.

It wasn't even that.

Too Human is like 1 hour of story, interwoven between 10-12 hours of boring, repetitive gameplay with bad controls. The story isn't even all that interesting. The concept's nice, but the implementation of it is your standard hamfisted plot. You can see almost every twist and turn coming a mile away.

And then there's the ending. The ultimate slap in the face. This game feels rushed in every aspect, and it's the most evident when the ending abruptly swoops in. I swear, I honestly thought the beginning of the staff roll was a new version of the loading screen.

The controls are terrible for this game. It's hard to get real combos going, and the most impressive moves are pre-determined "finishers" that you don't have to perform. Why couldn't this have just used button presses?

Every time I play one of these games that tried to reinvent Dynasty Warriors, I feel the same way: Just leave the Dynasty Warriors market to Koei, because they know how to do it, and you don't.

I honestly felt like this was a waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Good

posted by mculberson (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

After reading some pretty scathing reviews for this game, I was a little surprised to find I liked the game so much.

First of all, the graphics are top notch. There are no load screens to speak of, and the gameplay is fast and furious. If you're on the fence about getting this game (renting or buying) go ahead, cause it's a blast to play.

As far as the camera issue I've heard so much about, this was much a do about nothing. Yes, it's a little frustrating at first no being able to control it, but once you get used to it, it's just fine.

This game is just plain fun and a true AAA title. I have no idea why a website like Gamespot would give it a 5.5. There must be something more to it than meets the eye. For one thing, they mention the death scenes and how lenghthy and annoying they are. Well, compared to when you die in other games this takes no time at all. As soon as the scene ends you're dropped right back in the action, so much faster than other games where you have to reload and wait for some load screen.

Anyways, I haven't written a review in some time and felt compelled to write one for this game.

Plain and simple, play it. It's a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

God of Bore!!

posted by eccl372 (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I actually purchased this game under the impression that a similar 'God of War' title had become available on the 360. Being way off on that assumption is an understatement. I've never played a game so horrible. The fight sequences were pointless! The skill upgrades and magic powers were awarded at random. The only thing good about the game was the character selection. But would I recommend this game to anyone else?
Tell you what, I would rather recommend solitaire!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated

posted by Jasonxg1 (KANSAS CITY, KS) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Don't let Epic, Sony, or God of War fanboys sway you. This is a great game, with minor flaws. It has less flaws than games like Mass Effect or Resistance Fall of Man. This game is meant to be played for the long run, it's not a pick up and play game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

4yrs to make.........6 hours to finish............

posted by bonez1122 (UMATILLA, OR) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

this game was well made, interesting, and looked good. My big complaint is all these game makers making short single player campaigns just so they can make a sequal..............stupi- d.coporate america just ripping off the little guy....again.if it wasnt for gamefly with the ability to let you try before you buy, i would have bought this title and felt like i got robbed. Sorry Silicon Knights, i was impressed for an hour, but it gets a little old doing exactly the same things over and over level after level and then it just ending out of no where with really nothing accomplished in the story. Dont buy this title, just go on your gamefly and rent it, not worth the 60 bucks and all the dust it will collect once you realize just how lame it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as they make you believe

posted by pauly37 (SULPHUR, OK) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good. Wasn`t sure what to expect after all the hype then all the bad reviews.
The game mixes different genres together, such as hack n slash and rpg, and they work kinda well together.
The couple complaints i do have so far,are the graphics,overall their pretty good,some areas they`re totally amazing,in others they could have come off the original xbox,you just don`t know what you`re gonna get.
The other complaint is the sword being used on the RS sometimes it works,sometimes it doesn`t.Can get frustrating when your in battle,expecting to do one move and you do another.
Overall this is a very good game,don`t believe the reviews, rent first to see for yourself.You may be pleasently surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better!

posted by RuningWolf (YUCAIPA, CA) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2003

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I didn't really care for this game.
here's why: scale 1-10,
Graphics 5
Sound 7
Game play 6
replay 4

This game was just over the top on the graphics as far as colors. I felt like I was stuck in the world of TRON with all the neon colors and the game play was okay but not great, level after level seems the same. The final ending is less than satisfying and there's very little replay value unless your into trying to collect the best armor and level up your character.
Maybe It's just my age showing here but over all I'd say rent the game don't buy. I have no Idea how the multi player is on this game so maybe that's It's selling point, I just know this games not worth the money...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

They will figure it out sooner or later.....

posted by Rhody738 (NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just hope that one day developers will figure out that camera control is a great thing!

This game could be a 10 and all it would need is the camera on the right stick, not a directional attack. One can very easily do a directional attack by using the left thumb stick to look, and then press an attack button.

Just please don't take a wonderful idea, and a great sounding storyline... and then throw it in the trash and light it on fire....

This game could have been good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Absolutely Infuriating

posted by OptimusPug (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It should tell you something when one of the game's achievements is to finish a level in one sitting without dying. They should have made an achievement for playing more than an hour without throwing your controller at your TV. Too Human tries to be innovative and succeeds at one major level: when you play this game you will not have fun or relax, you will end up angry and frustrated. Kind of the opposite of what I look for in a game. The combat is plain broken, you will die a lot for stupid reasons (mainly because you will take cheap damage and CANNOT HEAL YOURSELF) and then sit through the longest most pointless unskippable death animation ever created. Plus the game looks dated, you can tell its been in development forever and was supposed to be a launch title. I had high hopes for this one, but it just plain sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow this game is bad

posted by reaper52 (RUTHERFORDTON, NC) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not well designed. This mainly stems from a lack of camera control and relying on the computer to autolock the enemy that you want to attack. What makes this game the worst is the fact that it has so much potential if the developers had just left the right stick to do what it does best, control the camera. Instead they make it the main attack function, which on paper sounds like a good idea but is horrible when you start watching it in action. On top of this you have your extra special random bugs where you can attack an enemy all day long and you cant seem to kill them (not just the bosses but also the small weaker enemies) and the camera obviously wants you to die because while your fighting the enemy the camera will go off and look at the wall behind you and then you die. If you play this game expect to die a lot. And while your dying you get to watch a long cut scene where a Valkry picks up your mangled body and carries you up to Valhalla and then you get to rush into battle again only to be cut down for the 'nth time in a row. If you dont believe me give it a try and you'll see just how much of a mess this game is. I would like to see this game improved because the armor customization is ok and battling 50 enemies at a time can be fun but only if the controls are set up for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HOLY EPIC FAIL

posted by VBadAndyV (MCKEESPORT, PA) May 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The short and sweet? For a game that's been in development for a decade it should have been light years better. My advice is if you do plan on renting this title, read some guides on runes and the skill tree. The game does not explain well, what most of anything does.

The sound is horrible, textures are muddy, gameplay agitating, and the UI a mess. The difficulty was just not apparent. Level your character right, the game is super easy. Mess a few things up, and you constantly die, and dieing is very annoying as the sequence is at least 5x that of Resident Evil.

Interesting story, great atmosphere, horrible script,horrible acting (would have been forgivable if this game had actually been fun)The game was just all around laggy and broken.

Because of the word limit, I will only be naming the major issues I had with the game. As there are more, and most would be forgivable if it were not for the list. If that said list were fixed, this game would be a definite classic. Sadly they rushed (LoL that is so pathetic).

-Often times when I saved, and returned to the game I was placed back before a major battle I had just finished!

-The in-combat transition from long range to melee weapons was painstakingly slow.

-Only having a center camera button made the experience literally nauseating. They could have still used the right stick for combat by simply mapping the function to a button+R stick combination, which would have been less awkward.

-I constantly locked onto things that were not enemies; objects so far off into the distance it was not viewable, dead enemies, breakable objects (most had no point in breaking), had to constantly let go of all buttons and re-lock onto enemies (which, in big battles, was very frequent).

-though not a game flaw, but annoying. Certain enemies are immune to ranged weapons(or was I just doing something wrong?)! When you are playing as a commando, they have literally no experience in melee!

-There are no maps!

-Death scene!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Perhaps the worst game I've ever played

posted by Yobgal (ELLISVILLE, MO) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, there are several things that make for a good game. Too Human is incredibly lacking in all of them.

First, the mechanics. Are the game controls designed to be used in a logical, interesting, or fun manner? Do the controls work as intended?

The game controls are conceptually pretty good. The abilities are mapped logically across the controller. Unfortunately, they don't necessarily work. Rather than an attack, I'll sometimes get nothing. Rather than rolling, I'll sometimes end up attacking. The controls just stop working at random points.

Second, aesthetics. Does the camera work properly, allowing you to see what you're doing? Does the animation fit the concept behind the game?

The camera's broken, plain and simple. The animation is just fine for the game it's in, but you can't see what's going on half the time. It's a fixed camera, which you can center behind you. Unfortunately, it frequently rotates in random directions or just suddenly points to a different place. It's not kind just a bit annoying; it's infuriating.

Third, design quality. Does the game have a few bugs? Is it buggy to the point of being unplayable? If AI is present, does it appear to be actually artificial intelligence, or is it just filler?

This game has a lot of bugs. A LOT of bugs. In addition to what I've already written - which is enough to make a game terrible - there are issues with clipping, targeting, failed game saves, and animation. Things just don't work in this game. Being instantly surrounded by stun-locking enemies and being unable to do anything but wait for death (and be forced to watch the annoying death scene) is quite maddening.

Fourth, plot. Is there a cohesive plot? How in depth is it? Do I care about the story or the characters? Do I want to get through challenging moments so I can learn what happens next?

Simply put, "No, not very, nope, and not at all." For about the first hour of play, I thought this game was a parody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Step in the WRONG Direction

posted by mynameisen (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I remember watching the trailers for this game with glee. The detail of the graphics, the story teasers, and the promise of RPG-ish game play were terribly exciting for a console that seemed built only for Halo 3.

I have been let down.

The story is laughable, and makes no attempt at coherence or even narrative. There are games that can pull this off (often from Japanese studios), but this one falls flat on its face.

The graphics seem remarkably behind the times compared to some of the other big titles this year. While I'm grateful for the level of detail in the characters faces, I care more about seeing the characters in combat.

Speaking of combat, I found the control scheme extremely lacking. While using the right analog stick is a good idea, it was poorly executed here. I was unable to shoot at who I wanted to, and I often ended up shooting at enemies off screen.

Speaking of off screen, the game's camera was the worst i have ever encountered on a next-gen system.

The game was also surprisingly difficult, and I died often, even in the first few stages. I'm usually very good at videogames, and attribute this more to my inability to master the control scheme than to any inherent challenge.

Yeah, overall, this game is major lame. Don't buy it, don't rent it, and don't bother yourself even thinking about it.

If you happen to love this game, please don't take my review too personally. Maybe it takes more than 3 or 4 hours I gave it to really get into the game. But if a game is going to ask of me more than 3 or 4 hours, then it had better have something pretty spectacular in store for me. Given what I'd seen of Too Human, I imagine it to be more of the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse