Rent Tony Hawk's Proving Ground for DS
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Proving Ground

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
6.6

88 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisngly good

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tony Hawk's Proving ground for the DS is a very good game. The graphics are better than most other games on the DS and there are a lot of customazation options. There is 4-llayer online with headset support. The online is not laggy. The game has a very smmoth 60 frames per second which means the game run clear and smmoth. The Tony Hawk franchise may be showing some age, but this title revamps the franchise, which makes it at least a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

tony hawk proving ground

posted by 5131999 (MURPHY, TX) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I First played this game It was awsomme! The grafics are the same as tony hawk american sk8land. If you have a ds go get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing: the best hand-held skate boarding game

posted by SpaceNinja (PETALUMA, CA) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most cross-platform games that are ported to the DS are bad to terrible, but this is an exception.

I was swearing with enjoyment for the first 45 minutes of playtime with this title. I could not believe how perfect the in-game controls are. I was doing all my tricks, grinds, and manuals as smooth as butter. The 3rd person controls are the highlight of the game.

The save replay feature is a surprise and nice touch.

The DS cannot produce great 3D graphics, but everything is recongizable and smooth sailing. If you like home console Tony Hawk games, this game replicates that experience in hand-held form.

The music is definitely compressed, but it is still enjoyable. Gotta love the new Smashing Pumpkins song.

Very few improvements possible on DS:
Option to flip the menu buttons BA so it's like a home console layout (already done for the default in-game controls).
Load higher detail models during mission briefing/customization. (Understandably cannot have high detail models during gameplay.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

tony hawk

posted by jangawho (FAIRVIEW, OR) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played my fair share of tony hawk games for the Ps2 this one was alright it fun but eh........Buy american wastland it is way better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »