Rent Tony Hawk's Proving Ground for Wii
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Proving Ground

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
5.1

762 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not So Great

posted by wickychalk (ZANESVILLE, OH) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the Tony Hawk game on Playstation so I thought I'd give this one a try. It's fun for a while but gets boring fast.

The Wii controls are also very awkward and it's hard to get the aggro kicking and attack down. I definitely wouldn't recommend buying this unless you try it out for several days first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only choice on Wii

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Lots of depth
- 3 skater choices
- the only classic skateboarding game on the wii

Cons
- Does not compete with SKATE, unfortunately that's not on the Wii
- Bad graphics
- wii controls are poor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a Improvement!!!

posted by Mkmd13 (NORTH RIDGEVILLE, OH) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I remember back in the day when THUG 2 came out and i would lock myself up in my room and play it for hours. But the Tony Hawk games after THUG 2 just didnt live up to my expectations.

But now THPG came out for the wii and it was like the series was reborn! The controls are very easy to pick up and play (may take a little practice but all in all a piece of cake after about a hour or two) The graphics look like it is a PS3 game! The gameplay has alot of new missions, a choose your own storyline feature, and the enviroment is very destrutive. I havent completed the game yet but i would say the replay value is definitely a 10 out of 10!

Definitely rent this game or even buy this game (i would highly recommend buying this game!)

p.s. this game does require the nunchuck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Bother

posted by alan1685 (WHITE PLAINS, MD) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I returned this game the next day. It gets frustrating using the wii remote. It won't respond most of the time. This game probably would be great with other systems, but I do not recommend buying or renting for the wii system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Everything You'd Come To Expect

posted by Cent1ty (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THPG is everything you've come to love in the Tony Hawk series combined into one title, with a few notable flaws which do add a little frustration to the game play.

Graphics:
Visually the game is unimpressive. It reminds me of the earlier versions of THPS with the exception of the cut scenes which look good. there are a number of jagged edges and notably recycled textures. No graphical elements of this game are exceptional in any way and knowing how the game looks on other systems makes one really wish that the wii visuals were better.

Sound:
The Music tracks are great as one would expect for THPS games. The voices of characters are good in the cut scenes HOWEVER the generic characters around the map sound cheesy and annoying. But its funny as having an old lady punch you and then say "Keep it up your doing great"

Controls:
The controls are not bad. They are fun once you get to learn them however they do make the game far more difficult than it is on any other system (which is for the most part good... but can make certain missions frustrating). And no jumping is not flicking the wiimote It is the A button. The more frustrating controls involve the agro kick/agro push and Checking (hitting) players on your board which is a thrusting motion of both the wiimote and nunchuck. another complaint is that the flip moves (kickflip, shove its, etc) are done with the C button, it is something I am not able to get used to and it is difficult to link grinds and flip tricks. "Nailing the trick" is a lot of fun and is done well but you have to account for the control delay and "nail it" a little earlier.

Gameplay:
Aside from the minor control problems the gameplay is great. It is exactly what THPS has been from the 1st series and offers all of the outlandish tricks that you'd expect. It even has a mode where you do the old THPS mode with "sick score" "collect skate" and "find the video" in each map.

~Wish there was a higher character limit for reviews here~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like the other ones

posted by swrdrunner (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is much like the other Tony Hawk games. Not much has changed from the other titles. But my children love Tony Hawke games and new places to skate are always enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FOR WII REVIEW

posted by IAMRUDY (ONTARIO, CA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game sucks on the wii. I played it for other systems and is great but for the wii you are limited on the moves you can make due to poor control response!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet new Tony Hawk game

posted by salmb67981 (MINERAL WELLS, WV) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very fun gamete has great graphics also this game has very easy controls to Rembrandt game is better on the wii than on any other system.I would recemend it to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Broken

posted by Pickles (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game controls are broken. The most simplest control that is used through the whole game is basically broken, pushing. I tried countless times trying to push but it didn't work out. However, when you slow the game down in mid-air and do a kickflip is pretty rewarding. Sadly this game is broken though because of the push control being broken. If the controls weren't so bad, I probably would of gave it an 8. Everything's good except for the controls which make it basically unplayable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tony Hawk Proving Ground (Wii Version)

posted by Link2010 (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The overall gameplay is amazing but the problem I have with the game is the fact that neversoft doesn't give the wii a chance. The levels are small, All 3 main story lines (rigger,career,hardcore) can be beat in a day,and they didn't put the video editor in the game. They did put little "arcade machines" that have old school goals and high score runs for those who want to play like classic tony hawk games. The nail the trick and nail the grab features is cool with the wii remote and nunchuck but they didn't put the nail the manual on the wii like the 360 and PS3. There is no online play. The Skate Lounge which is your created park that players can access online and skate in isn't in the game it is only 2 player. I gave it a 3 because i think neversoft could of done an all around better job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its da best skating game yet

posted by dbzplayer1 (NEW YORK , NY) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

its da best play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tony hawk

posted by gamebayjay (ANDOVER, MN) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

it was an awesome game! my son loved it he stayed up late playing.except there should have been a four player mode or something!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Falls short

posted by Nuitaran (WESTBROOK, ME) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I had high hopes but this is a dud. It might be a great game for those who can get passed the terrible wii control implementation. Sometimes the wiimotes don't respond at all. I nearly pulled a muscle jerking them around to make things happen and then sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth your time

posted by Stormwind (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This is one of the rare games that I'm sending back the first day I get it. The Wiimote controls on this fail to respond properly about half of the time, making it a frustrating experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no harsh words

posted by akatsuki17 (NAPLES, FL) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I'm trying to be the least inappropriate but this game SUX!!!!!!!!! it is absolutely terrible they made you use the motion sensor for it and I like just plain and simple buttons not some complex movement to make a simple ollie, and there is some stupid motion combo that does absolutly nothing it just gets in you way when you are trying to do tricks. dont forget about the fact that there is no freeskate mode, which is the highlight of the Tony Hawk games(for me). So I just wasted two minutes of my time to tell you this game is terrible!!!!!!! >:( But im trying to be as nice as I can. I was as nice as I could be during this reveiw, im so harsh because this game SUX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for listening and not renting this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by gamedgamer (SUNDERLAND, MA) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I recently rtented tony hwks proving ground. at first i was very excited to get.I was disapointed.The controls and confusing!the grapics are okay but the controls ruin it
4/10
sorry guys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hatin The Skatin

posted by patben (FLORENCE, SC) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

this game was a true failure my brother rented it and it freakin sucked dont rent it it just takes up space in ure game Q and waste time i played with my friend when he came to my house and we didnt even skate it sucked so we just wacked each other

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Get the console verstion

posted by Gamer191 (VALENCIA, CA) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

O.K, don't get me wrong tony hawk is a very good franchise but talk about wide expantions. The wii controls are Horrific. The conrtol scheme is just horrific. But the console vertion controls are much better. So, in conclution, the the charicter customization is good the stryline is good the controls are horrific. If you really are dying to get tony hawk, then get if for the ps3,ps2,or x-box360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst one yet

posted by DGAAAAAF (MODESTO, CA) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game is boing and not fun at all.
The controls are hard to use
and the story line is boring

I returned it the day I got it, it was that bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suxxxx i am so mad

posted by poolki (CHAMPLIN, MN) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1. This game is not fun on the Wii. On ps2 i played this game and it rocked on wii i wanted to take it and break it in half.
2. I beat this challenge so many times but it said i hadn't i got sick on it too but it still didnt unlock the next one. The controls suck and they are unresponsive if ur gonna get this game get it for the ps2 otherwise DON'T

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is not Tony Hawk

posted by link68942 (BONAIRE, GA) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

This is the worst game ive ever played. Its a disgrace to all wii games. youll wanna throw ur tv away when you play this. the "Nail-the-Trick" mode is like they made it to waste your money. dont bother playing this. youll cry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just not for the Wii

posted by Draiman (DUMONT, NJ) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Now I love the Tony hawk series ever since I picked up the first on the nintendo 64 years ago. I've played everyone up until this one and I have to say I couldn't play for more than 30 mins. The Wii controls were just not ment for this game and make skateing very awkward, and difficult than what i'm used too in the tony hawk games. I would have givin it a better rating if I could use the gamecube controller but that wasn't an option. If you want to try this game I don't reccomend the Wii version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The franchise does a faceplant

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Feb 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Remember the joy of THPS2? Remember how simple controls and fluid gameplay made for a unique and fun experience? Now, do you remember when the franchise started implementing every game mechanic sans the kitchen sink and changed the experience irrevocably? Well, that progression has now come to it's inevitable conclusion in Tony Hawk's Proving Ground.

While these additions might have been functional in the Underground games, here the Wii motion controls make these complex actions difficult, imprecise and near-impossible to do. And really, without solid controls, why would you play a Tony Hawk game?

Graphics and sound are mostly the same as the last three games in the series and the story is pretty standard. The challenges are organized into three rankings: Am, Pro and Sick. But getting better rankings doesn't give you anything but a little more cash, so don't sweat it.

Interestingly, some of the challenges ask you to use an in-game editor to place kickers and ramps so you can complete goals. While it might seem innovative at first, one can only wonder if the developers simply gave up on level design and decided to let you finish the game for them. How nice.

Proving Ground is just enough to be considered a game. There are lots of options, but without a solid game to play, they fall on sore thumbs. You'll likely spend more time creating your skater than playing the actual game, as you will be sorely tempted to use the Wiimote as a club. For all I know, that's the only way you can pull off that 360 kickflip you've attempted 15 times. Please tell me there are better skating games out there. I'd hate to think the genre ends like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tony Hawk's Proving Ground

posted by desireed66 (BARRINGTON, NJ) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

We have this game for , Ds and PlayStation, and my son loves it! However, for what ever reason, it's way to hard on the Wii. I'm glad we rented it, before we bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tony Hawk

posted by Daddyof2 (EAST SYRACUSE, NY) Feb 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I have always loved the Tony Hawk games (being a sk8er myself). This one by far was the hardest. It may have been because of the wii controls. Like alot of the other reviewers stated, the controls where tuff to get used to. It would have been cool if you could use the Gamecube controller. I gave up after about a week of only getting to the second board. Great graphics and being able to just skate around is cool. My kids did love the vs mode. My son is the future Tony Hawk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse