Rent Tony Hawk's Proving Ground for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Proving Ground

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
5.6

2599 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

So you put the disk in your Xbox 360...

posted by Lagg3r (ROUND LAKE, IL) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

...And it runs the game and bam, first thing you realize as you're going through menus is that the load times are made for patient people...That's probably the first issue with the game.

As you begin to design your skater for your wonderfully predicted skating life, you realize the selection of customizable features and props are a little scarce, don't get too optimistic, it won't improve by much as you go on.

This game has a good but over done concept within its self. Customizable skating career/world with Tony Hawk labeled all over the game. The TH series has gone over its self so many times that it has begun to collapse on its own weight.

Skating is pretty much the same, you got grinds, kick flips, spines, manuals, and so forth. This game adds the little "Nail The Trick" thing where it lets you control your skate board in a faulty way. This little gimmick is nice, but its difficult to master and not too amazing.

Creating your own skate park doesn't exist any longer, it's gone for good and replaced with a cruddy selection of environment items and skating pieces. Your little warehouse hang out is located within the story and that's pretty much where you can go for a free skate.

Money, skills, and story building takes place within the game's story mode in which you complete goals by visiting parts of the city. Each goal you complete unfolds the story a little more from that perspective. You can go hardcore, be a rigger, you can go big time, and some other things too.

The game also introduces mind-boggling amounts of mini skating goals throughout the city, littered in so many places that you'll have difficulties trying to start one and be able to find the end of the path to which you must take the goal to in order to complete it (in example, hold a manual down a street or grind an entire curb).
This game is pretty much a watered down TH game with a few new gimmicks and some fancy lighting.
Not worth playing unless you're a true Tony Hawk fan. I recommend skat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So tired ...

posted by naughtypug (GLENDALE, CA) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

44 out of 68 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

How many times must I be duped into thinking that the next Tony Hawk game is going to be miles above the rest in the age of "next gen"?

This is what seriously happened today:

Come home from work, get mail, find THPG in the mail, pop it in.
Create a skater but while doing so realized this was just another stale "create-a-player" feature set, and then set forth into the land of Tony Hawk's skaterland. Immediately, the camera is much lower and closer to the skater, which I hated instantly. I then tried the 3 training goals, and found this to be the same old Tony Hawk Pro Skater that we've all played 2 consoles ago. The graphics suck, the camera sucks, the game play is stale, and the "hey dude lets make a movie to enter in the skate contest" routine is more than old. I hated it so bad that when I turned it off 20 minutes into it, I ejected the disc and took it to the post office before it closed so I could get something else by the weekend.

Bottom line is that this series, aside from NAIL THE TRICK, has come up with nothing since Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3, and in my book, that is where this game peaked. Do yourself a favor and just go play the old games if you still like this series, you are not missing anything new. Dont waste your money on repackaged last gen quality games like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lame lame lame

posted by impjuice (Houston, TX) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is just flat out lame. Seriously i got excited because i heard that it was gonna be all revolutionary.... so im still waiting on this revolution it took me 6 hours to finish it i havent completed all the street quest yet but the main story is done and wow it was lame.

You start off as a nobody and 6 hours later your the best skater of all time, theres 0 competition you never have to out skate a certain person in a comp its all about getting this many points for AM PRO or SICK which is lame i wanted comp and got get this score and your the bomb dizzle... boring.

The worst thing about it all is i bought this game what a waste of money. I basically paid 60$ for a gh3 demo. If you have ever played a TH game there is no need to play this one at all save yourself a spot in your Q for a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

thpg

posted by sk8ter (GALT, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

a real fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than I thought it was going to be

posted by fsas15 (SPOKANE, WA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think that this tony hawk is under rated. It's not the best game but hey it's not horrible either. There is a lot of things you can do and it is very challenging given that that any skill you learn there is always challeneges for. The graphics were not impressive but i think gameplay was enough to have good fun, i guess if your a hardcore tony hawk fan then its a must buy but just stopping by to check it out. Just hit it and quit it. I think one thing i absolutely love about this game is the nail the trick modes they now have nail the manual and grab trick so thats definitely pretty sweet. Overall i thought it was a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, but no "Skate"

posted by kingdork (WILMINGTON, NC) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This is a good game, but after playing Skate I just can't get excited about it. Everythig is so been there, done that. Worth a rental, but if you are putting down some ca$h, buy Skate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

new graphics is all!!

posted by repent (PALM HARBOR, FL) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

not worth even the 3 days i waited to receive this game I am mailing it back tomorrow after one night of play...

I admit skate was a little hard to get used but realistic..so call me spoiled..

This game the 3,180 spin, nose to tail grab, to triple kickflip isnt as amusing as it used to be...

The gameplay is like all tony hawk games, button mashing.. The graphics although updated look sort of cartoonish after playing skate.. The story hey do that backflip 4,000 kickflip....

All in all if ya like the button mashing of tony hawk then this might be for you... nothing revolutionary bout this game just some rehashed graphics... but after playing skate this game sucks!!

Rent this game and skate at the same time let me know what ya think... or buy skate and rent this game :P

P.S. - tony hawk you are gonna rip some people off!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I agree

posted by rossi46 (FRIONA, TX) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

ya fo sho i agree with kingdork I played skate and then this and its definently not revolutionary like they said,yes its fun to play as ryan and bam and some of the other pros but button smashing is lame. buy skate rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tony Hawk Proving Ground - Excellent Game

posted by Treview (ENTERPRISE, UT) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is jam packed with features and fun!

The reviews I have read have not done this game justice and all seem to be based on peoples expectations of a new THPS and comparing SKATE which there is no comparison when it comes to fast, fun and exciting game play.

Tony Hawk Proving Grounds has tons of items to unlock. Characters have a skater stat progression similar to Oblivion. The more you play/do the tricks is how you gain stats. The game also has a ton of different tricks to pull off and get ranked for which gives the game a ton of playability. You also now get to put new stats into abilities that help you improve your tricks. That is such a cool feature because it keeps the game play fast and progressive and just out right fun!!

You also have a level builder that is similar to HALO 3 (minus the flying around). You get to earn new things to layout as well as money you earn can be used to purchase items to layout and you can EVEN layout TV's and stereos that you can turn on and play. What's really amazing about these is that the stereo can be heard and customized and the TV can be watched (real life video clips are played on the TV - its pretty awesome).

There are a ton of new abilities to learn that help the skater do some sweet tricks.

The only thing I found frustrating with Tony Hawk Proving Ground was some of the story line videos make you restart the whole sequence if you "accidentally pull off an Amateur rating" rather than letting you start over before saying grats cya.

Over all the new graphics, sound, video and game play are amazing and really really fun!!

Great job on a new THPS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best th game ever made

posted by haloraid (CHINO HILLS, CA) Jan 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game is just down-right the best ever.theres aggro kicking,skate checking,and you choose which path you want to take . im not kidding freakin awsome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TONY HAWK'S proving grond

posted by asdfghjkla (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this game is so fun my kids didn't even want dinner!
it's one of the best skating games i'v ever played.
much better then shaun white.i'm really thinking about
buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suck's

posted by fireball12 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Tony-Hawk should stick to skating and leave making video games to the professionals

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Losing Ground

posted by Breadfan92 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Tony hawks underground 1 and 2 and THAW are probably my favorite games of all time, project 8 was alright but this game is sucktasttick
THey took out freeskate, and the music sucks, something tony hawk is NOT known for.
No more fun. Its too realistic, like stupid skate. Tony hawk was fun because it was like superhero skating. Oh well it was fun while it lasted. Ill just keep playing the classics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst tony hawk game ever

posted by buddye (MANSFIELD, OH) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

worst game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow bad

posted by starrman (JEFFERSON, OH) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

not only does it have a bad control system it has a played out story never play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tony hawk

posted by chris2 (BRONX, NY) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

tony hawk is cool and i recommend it for everyone and for "skate" lovers u suck tony hawk is better.

but i got mad when u said u had saw the game but got soul caliber IV but not saw i need u to send it becuase i got the 3 game plan please can u send saw tommorow becuase my Q says its available

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

tony hawks proving ground

posted by Adammpls (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

it was alright the missons are way to hard and confusing but the nail the trick is cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

tony hawk proving ground

posted by dlc4382 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 12, 2009

Member since May 2009

this game is fun if you like all the tony hawk games this one is my favorite of all tony hawk games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by kane15 (EAST WINDSOR, NJ) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

Best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Thats all i have to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Offers sick challenges

posted by spxyu02 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

As a veteran of the Tony Hawk series, I was initially disappointed with this game. While the world was free flowing and relatively easy to get around, the scenery is typical east coast: rainy and gray - I see enough of that outside already. The gameplay is similar to Project 8, but we have the addition of nail-the-grab and nail-the-manual, which are definitely fun additions, especially if you just do a straight line utilizing all of the nail-the-(blank) moves together.

The story mode is easier to complete than Project 8, since you don't have to complete a crazy-hard goal to reach number 1, but finishing every goal in the entire game on sick difficulty is quite a challenge, which is the main redeeming factor in this game. Some of the uber goals are pretty tricky, and every few chalk challenges force you to put some thought into how you're going to get to sick, let alone the physical tools you need to accomplish the maneuvers. The most especially frustratingly difficult yet rewarding aspects of the game were the Arcade Machines, which presented you with the opportunities to complete High Score, Classic, and new Hawk-Man goals. To achieve each of these at sick difficulty is very hard, but I still found myself driven to complete them as a veteran of the series.

Overall it's just a logical step forward from Project 8, nothing too fancy, but if you're a vet of the series and play for sick goals, you'll be rewarded with some serious challenges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a good game

posted by BJArana (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game and all other TH games suck. When I played the game I got board of it within the first few minutes of the game. Also some of the missions are very hard. I quit when I tried beating a mission over 20 to 40 times. I am not a fan of skate boarding games. I only wanted to try it out.

Note: If you want to play a video game that is not your type of genera (Shooter, Sandbox, Sport, RTS, RPG, etc) don't waist your time renting or buying it. There's a great chance you will never like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Typical Tony Hawk...

posted by TimA2287 (GILL, MA) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Not much has changed with the Tony Hawk Pro Skater games. This is similar to Project Wasteland with a few minor control improvements. If you really like all the Tony Hawk games then this would be for you, but I'm told Skate is the way to go... I've had Skate on my Q for a long time and now also have Skate 2 but because Gamefly is so wonderful at sending you the games you really want, I have yet to try them out. Did you pick up the sarcasm? Definitely try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

tony hawk

posted by hollaback7 (MEDFORD, NY) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

i didn't like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same Old Stuff

posted by hulud86 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

There isn't to many positives in this title that you don't already know. Yes you can skate around an open city and grind rails, cars, and benches that are mysteriously lined up next to eachother.

The real deal is that this game is weak, it's the same old go from a punk skater to a big shot story. This time you can take a different path though! You can be a hardcore skater, agro skater, or career bigshot. Whats the difference? Not much. The "nail the trick" ad on is pretty fun although it's straight up stolen from EA's Skate.

The beginning of the game makes me want to shoot myself. So many training goals and videos! Tony giving you a ear bleeding speach on "this is how you manual" and "this is how you grind" like no one has played a Pro Skater game since 1999. Then after that you only have to go talk to about four other guys before you can leave the training area.

Activision needs to slow down and really put some quality into the Tony Hawk frachise and stop shooting these titles out once a year. This game is kind of a bore but if you got time on your hands, give it a rent and only a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tony hawk

posted by joshlow21 (AURORA, CO) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

this game is so cool i'm going to bye it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse