Rent Tony Hawk's Proving Ground for PS3
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Proving Ground

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, Wii, DS
GF Rating
6.2

1272 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"Tony Hawk" = Arcade games & "Skate" = Simulator

posted by Gregarious (RICHMOND, VA) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played both Skate and Tony Hawk Proving Ground. Neither are "horrible" and both have opportunities for improvement. FYI: I've rated both an "8".

While Skate does a great job in the controls and graphics areas, it lacks in keeping me motivated to continue. Essentially the game is to learn the controls. It fun and addictive though and really feels like you're skating--which is why I consider Skate a simulator.

Tony Hawk Proving Ground on the other hand is a solid Tony Hawk game (unlike Project 8). It has tons of arcade-like tasks beyond trying to learn the controls (which most people know by now). It's bigger than life in that you do impossible tricks you couldn't even try in Skate. Thus the "Arcade" note. It does lack in graphics however. Then again, you can move the camera around in this game which probably eats up processing power.

Anyway, it's good to have competition for both games as it will push them further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TH Proving Ground

posted by bcizzle030 (YORK, PA) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A definite checker outer, I like this game the most realistic skating action game I ever played, now personally, i can't skate or for that matter even stand on a skateboard without falling off, but i've played all the tony hawk games. The realism is remarkable you can do whatever you want as you unlock more in the game you will get more skills and upgrades. you get to customize your skater, mine has blue skin and bright red eyes! it'swiked!

Like I said at least check it out and i know that you'll want it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game, People stop hatin

posted by Wicked1 (LOMITA, CA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a cool game, its no worse than previous versions. Plus you can play online now. I like that they are trying to make the storymode more in depth and I didn't really like the story mode at first. Using the analogue stick to do tricks originated on Tony Hawk P8 and Skate just stole the function and made their whole game like that. Tony Hawk games are the best skateboarding games on any system. If you like other Tony Hawk games, you will enjoy this. But nobody can tell you what you will like, so just rent it and see for yourself. And obviously you just aren't good if you can't perform the more difficult tricks, here's a thought, practice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, But not much new

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Played almost every version of Tony Hawk. No innovative improvements. If anything, the graphics have gone backwards a few versions.

If you've never played any Tony Hawk game, you will love this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Again...why fix it when it ain't broke??

posted by Mikey76 (SPARKS GLENCOE, MD) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Tony Hawk is slowly sliding downhill. Maybe it's Tony's old age...I don't know. Either way, they keep getting a bit less fun and even less challenging. Maybe they're just running out of ideas. I do love the fact that you can play the arcade game during story mode and play as classic Tony Hawk. But it really should be part of the actual story mode. As I've said in many of my reviews...they need to get back to basics.

The Godfather did it so right. They put out the 2nd one under pretty much the same design as the original just with different missions, people...etc.

GameFly may just be one of the greatest companies to ever come out. They've already saved me hundreds of dollars from not buying games that I'd just have to take back to the store and resell at half the price!!

THANKS GAMEFLY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time

posted by Chevy0705 (VAN NUYS, CA) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong TH games in the past were amazing! But now it seems so out dated compared to EA's SKATE. It was a real disappointment. I wouldn't waste your time even checking it out for old times sake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WHACK

posted by Trixter (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the worst Tony Hawk game ever. Please stop producing lame games like this. Get back to the old style game and give us what we want. Stop with the lame story mode, background stuff, and lame game play. PLEASE....NO MORE TONY HAWK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was ok

posted by taken4ever (POLLOCK PINES, CA) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i rented this game and it wasnt bad it was kinda like the other tony hawk games but the career is rather short and it may seem like there is alot you can do but not really anyways it was ok not the greatest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tony Hawks Proving Ground Review

posted by Danson94 (BRAINTREE, MA) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that this game is horrible. The graphics are no where near to being good. But, my main argument about this game is the controls. After playing skate; (WHICH IS THE BETTER GAME) i have no idea on the TWPG controls. Along with this, the storyline is also terrible. In the end, all the sponsors you hoped to finish with are gone and switched to Birdhouse. I skateboard and birdhouses are terrible. If i could i would give this game a one but any game you can at least ride a skateboard in will not make me give this game a 1. Although, I have given this game my lowest standard; This game should never be owned at whatever price and or be rented!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

K to the R to the A to the P

posted by 123HEHEHE (ANDOVER, MA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game was SOOOO boring so bad o my god. BORING the graphics were junk by the way!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I HATE IT

posted by SKIDrow80 (PARACHUTE, CO) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible, for one when you ollie all your doing is just popping flat off the ground and you get like 6 feet of air off one ollie. The graphics are all right but they could have done better. I just think that when they heard about skate they just gave up on the game, man even the very first thps was better than this, so i advise you not to rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

El Lamo-o

posted by dashingemt (FRESNO, CA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Same ol same ol. Not a thing new, and its not as smoots as some older versions. The storyline is cumbersome and I think it takes away from the skating when you have to hit 6 different buttons to do a trick. I know they want to make it "real", but come on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

my words

posted by bigmoneyma (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

this game was the worst he has made im sure the next one will be great it was that one year when u have a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tony Hawk's Proving Ground

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you have played any of the Tony Hawk entries over the years then you have already played this game. There isnt really much to innovate when the whole structure is stale to begin with. Sure you can add Agrro Kick and the ability to make ramps and rails, but its still jsut the same old thing. If you cant get enough of the game from previous entries dont expect to be suprised, but you"ll prolly like this game. I however hate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tony hawk

posted by mantisjr (ELLENWOOD, GA) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game is decent but the graphics should of been better wish u could still get off your board, and it says u can go anywhere if u buy this game u just bought a horride game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doesn't Prove Much

posted by vigormusic (PEPPERELL, MA) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

This game is ok. The graphics are 5/10. The skating is fun, but with so many other games to play on gamefly, I sent it back. I may have played more if I bought it and was stuck with it, but with the massive selection available here, I've to to move on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Control Issues

posted by dabluesman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

My son is the one that played this, and he thought the responsiveness of the controls were lacking when trying to perform a trick. Apparently, there are lags when the instructions tell you to do something and when you do them, which adds to the difficulty. This may be a tutorial issue, though, as it seemed like things smoothed out a bit when he was performing tricks on his own instead of trying to follow the instructions during the challenges.

There are elements that make this game fun. For instance, you can buy things to customize your skater and equipment. In addition, you can gain more stats and that makes it easier to perform moves. The huge cities and secret places in them makes the gameplay fun over the long term and not get dull. It is also interesting that you can pick up your skateboard and walk to new places, for example you can walk up stairs, then ride your board back down the rails. Overall, my son says he'll stick to his older Tony Hawk games on his other consoles as he believes they are more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

eh

posted by badabing01 (RICHMOND, VA) May 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

they need to go back to the old THPS days!!! those were fun!!! thug was fun...but after that thaw and thp8 and now this....its going downhill fast!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

You'd be better off playing Tony Hawk 4 on PS2.

posted by Thrillho (SAN MARCOS, TX) May 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

To me, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4 on the Playstation 2 was the high point of this series, and since then, things have been on a bit of a downward trajectory. I certainly wanted this game to be great. Tony Hawk's games are one of my favorite video game franchises of all time, and I really had high hopes for this one. Ultimately, though, I felt a bit let down.

For those who hated Tony Hawk's American Wasteland, I have good news: Proving Ground is certainly an improvement. But it's only improved to the point of being adequate, not great. It's almost hard to pinpoint exactly what's wrong with this one. The graphics are fine, gameplay is just like the other games in the series (which is a good thing), and levels are packed with lots of things to trick off of. But it just becomes boring very quickly.

Firstly, although the design of the levels is well thought out, they lack character. (remember the shopping mall or venice beach?) Everything looks the same. There are no "spots" that you become fond of (i.e. Tony Hawk 3's airport baggage claim(for me anyway)). It's just a big city with ramps and stairs everywhere. This game makes me feel nostalgic toward the older games in the series, and depressed at the fact that this series may never be that cool again.

Also, the goals are boring, and hard to find. You skate around looking for certain people who give you your goals, but half the time, you don't really know where to go, or you accidentally start a goal you've already finished. There's no sense of accomplishment in this game. You never feel like you're progressing through levels. You just wander about finding people to give you random boring tasks to perform.

Bland, but still a top-notch control scheme. Supposedly they're starting over from scratch on the next game in the series. I have high hopes. Until then, I may just check my local game store's bargain bin for a copy of THPS 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game could have been much better

posted by musicmandj (PLAINFIELD, CT) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I really thought that this would have been much better! Wow I'm still shocked about it now. God this game sucks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly a pretty fun game...

posted by deadgrl81 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I have been disappointed with the last few Tony Hawk games, but this one is surprisingly fun. The graphics aren't anything special, in fact they don't look much different than the last Tony Hawk game, but the game itself is fun. If you're looking for a "realistic" skateboarding game, try Skate. If you're just looking for a game that is easy to control and will keep you interested for a few hours, this is the game to play. I absolutely loved Skate at first, but the controls are difficult, and I lost interest quickly because I would get to a challenge that for whatever reason I just could not do, and other than free skating, there wasn't much else to do. Whereas, in Proving Ground, if you can't complete something, it's not a game ender, because there are plenty more challenges to hold your attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

forget this get SKATE

posted by Astyles28 (WEATHERFORD, TX) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

i cant even belive that i am waisting my time to write a review but i thought ppl should no that this game is worth nothing jus get SKATE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tony Hawk Proving Ground A really big let down

posted by Frost1441 (HOPE MILLS, NC) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I have played Most of the Tony Hawk Games since Tony Hawk 3 and I must say this was a major letdown. The game obviously looks good since its on PS3 but I does not keep the gamer into the game with all of the crazy stuff of being like a star, or some guy acting stupid on his board. Your best bet is to not even waste your time with this game but hope fully the next one will be alot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok game

posted by gurdon (GREENWOOD, AR) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

this game is pretty fun for about the first couple of days. Then the missions get too hard so I just ended up skating around. the best part of the game is checking people. If you like the tony hawk games it is basically like the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tony hawks proving ground

posted by bilzlude (WICHITA, KS) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

lacks the realism of skate but they all did until skate (the gran turismo of boardin) but by far the best of the hawk series pick it up us sk8rz know whazzup sall about the love of the skill. holla atcha boy,i manage hollywood video so i can tell ya bout jus about every game premise and quality. bil hollywood video w central wichita ks. 67212 bottom line...rent it,its th l8r sk8rz def. pick it up best hawk yet -bil

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse