Rent Tony Hawk's Project 8 for Xbox
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Project 8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

475 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

I hope this isn't the last one...

posted by PDMChubby (CHARLEVOIX, MI) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Okay, I'm a huge Tony Hawk game fan. I've played every single Tony Hawk game since THPS1 on N64, and I've loved every one after that. This one took a step or two backward from Tony Hawk American Wasteland. I personally thought THAW was just another new Tony Hawk when I played it, but I realize now how great it was.

See, THP8 does some things well. It has the new "Nail a Trick" feature, and that is really fun. I enjoyed that a lot and found myself clicking down both control sticks everytime I went off of a large ramp. Another great thing about this one is that the graphics for the cut-scenes are amazing, a lot better than previous games. It also has a nice amount of unlockable secret characters.

This game does a lot of things wrong too. First of all, it took a lot out from the earlier Tony Hawk titles. There is no more XBOX Live, which seems really stupid to me. I loved XBL on THAW, it kept me playing it. Not only that, but the character customization is the worst the series has ever seen. You have very few choices to choose from of everything: shirts, faces, hairstyles. It sucks. A lot. Plus, the story mode sucks, Nail a Trick isn't needed for the story except for a couple goals, and the level structure is terrible. Let's see... the level creator is out too, and the unlockable level is horrible. There are few pros to choose from for free skate and you can only jump once when you are off of your board (I know it doesn't sound like much, but I miss it).

This game is the worst Tony Hawk game I've ever played, and I'm a huge fan. I hope this isn't the last game he makes, because this would be a terrible way to end. If you're a Tony Hawk lover, then you may want to play it for the new story and Nail a Trick feature. If you've never played a Tony Hawk game, rent Tony Hawk American Wasteland instead. It's a much better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Much New

posted by asubasebal (ROCHESTER, MN) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i first looked at THp8, i thought it was going to be a game that's very realistic and good graphics. But i was fooled. THP8 is just like american wasteland, there are some new features, but they aren't used enough. Your best bet for this game is to try the xbox 360 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

project 8!

posted by cam8317 (AZUSA, CA) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

i was sooo happy when this game came out but when i got it it sorta sucked,... the game has a good story line but the story is not about your character, its about being #1. it freezes a lot on the xbox ssoooo save every time you can or you might have to do a mission all over again... that's my review ! peace out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tony Hawk Project 8

posted by megashadow (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

IT A GREAT GAME.I WOULD HAVE GAVE A 10 BUT THE GRAPHICS COULD HAVE BEEN IMPROVED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice Job

posted by Project8 (BRIGHTWATERS, NY) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I think this game rocks in Graphics but needs work on the levels. The nail the trick feture is so fun and challenging. I spent hours doing this and im perfect at it now. Overall this game rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by yummy16 (BREVARD, NC) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

worst graphics for Xbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its sucks

posted by andythepla (MERCERSBURG, PA) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

this is so stupid i thought it would be like the game skate but i thought wrong dont get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tony hawk project eight

posted by Gobbler1 (COPPELL, TX) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this game is perfect but is there any way that i can beta-test game fly games because each game i got was so perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tony Hawk Project Redundant.

posted by futurefunk (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jul 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

What a waste.
This series of games is perhaps the greatest example of a good idea that's been totally ridden into the ground. There is little that is new or innovative about this game in comparison to many of its predecessors. Not even the graphics have improved or changed significantly. Don't believe the hype people. The problem isn't that its a bad game, its that its the same game they have been making for years. Neversoft, yeah right...more like Neversold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

freezes

posted by katzore (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this game freezes non-stop.
every level i had the game freeze on me. it gets really annoying after you complete something then it just freezes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING!

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Just like American Wasteland. A waste of valuable time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK

posted by Timmytim (CHESTER, NY) Jun 11, 2007

Member since May 2004

This is a really good game. The controls and characters are cool. But the graphics are pretty bad and throw you off balance and off gaurd. The graphics basically suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lame Activision

posted by Zeldax73 (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Jun 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2002

Nope this is not Tony Hawk that I remember! Where is it going now? The Hip-Hop Generation of today? Sad =( They need to go back to the original TH games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

biggest disapointment of the year...

posted by eyebalz (WOLCOTT, CT) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

i was so excited about this new game. until i played it. the graphics are HORRIBLE!!! the controls are the same as always. this was one big step backwards from the series. lacking story, no new triks, same levels. this is just of all the pro skaters. big ripoff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old Same

posted by nintendo1 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

I agree with the review before mine. I was lead to belive that this game was going to look less cartoony but it really doesn't. I was also dissapointed that there was no park editor.(There isn't as far as I know anyway. I did not complete the game so I'm not shure.) The carrer mode is fun and a little different from earlier T.H. titles but I think there was way to much hipe about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

could be better

posted by Jerome (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

that guy is right it freezes alot i had to do high school over 2X cuz i forgot to save,.. dumb game and u go through alot of stuff u can go through cars and stuff the collision is terrible ,the nail a trick is pretty cool u use both thumb stick to move the board will your in the air. that really the only good thing bout this game no online so when u beat the game there nothing to do. so just rent dont buy i dont care if your a die hard fan. DONT BUY JUST RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This was not good at all

posted by REveiwer (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

What is this??? It's def fondly not a game, the graphics make the game not even worth playing. they must have went back to the first Tony hawks graphics that's relay all i have to say except, the game play wasn't even good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game and good graphics, but still the same

posted by DreMcyver (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

this game is no different from any tony hawk game. if you like that then you'll have fun with this game. but if you were told that it was different and more realistic then don't be fooled. the game basis is still on ridiculous combos and nonstop button punching. the biggest problem is your speed. you move way too fast and ollie way to high, those put together make it impossible to hit simple hand rails. therefore half the spots are unusable and to make anything look realistic or stylish is dam near impossible. Nail the trick is the only good part of the game in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

many problems

posted by xboxfaith (HAMMONDSPORT, NY) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

first of all, game control is horrible, the camera angles are way off, and the slow motion is just ignorant. now to what really made me mad, after about 1 hour of continuous play ,the pause and all challenges become disabled. almost like a free skate, but with all the people still there,with no interaction . tony has nothing to be proud about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not my trick to flip

posted by SethKatz (PLEASANTVILLE, NY) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Yeah I know, Title for this review sounds really bad, but who cares. This is badly handled. Other than having a lot more movies and clips, and a lot more dialog, it's very bad. The graphics are bad, unless your watching the Intro movies, which is really good. The cell-blocking are obvious for the art. What kind of character dressing are they trying? Character art for Tony Hawk Pro Skater 1 was better looking. These characters look from a comic book, with poor digital help. I really don't know how this game can be helped other than making it new and scratching it all together. The controls are horrible for Xbox. I'm used to play my Tony Hawk games on game cube or Nintendo 64, which actually had good control. But don't forget the realism, there is none. You can knock over a play, because he's 10 inches shorter than you, given you are on a 2inch higher skateboard. ITS NOT THE CAMERA ANGLE, which should be able to turn 360, but instead can only turn a full 45 degrees. This game is disgusting and the layout is horrible. I cheated just so I wouldn't have to play through the worst scenarios ever. I'm done, its over, this Review is gone. Goodnight and I'm sending the game back. Lucky for me I had a 30-day Trial.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Biggest Pile Video Game Garbage!

posted by Punk983 (HINSDALE, NH) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

This game is terrible! It stinks so bad when I play this I feel sick! Let me make my point, now I'm a huge Tony Hawk fan. But this game makes me think the people down at working on this game just totally made story in like a day then they put horrible graphics and released it. I know that they payed all of their attention on the Xbox 360 and PS3 version of the game. So if ONLY IF you are a HARDCORE Tony Hawk fan and you just have to have it you get it but I'll tell you you'll be disappointed. And if you have an Xbox 360 or a PS3 than GET IT! But not the regular gen console version. The most horrible part is the graphics and the missions you'll have to go throu in order to finish the level. It's not worth it! Don't buy it don't rent it. Just make sure nobody gets it! I wouldn't even give this to my worst enemy! I would only give this to my garbage disposal so it can drill the disk into a million pieces. This game is like a mugging on the subway you avoid it. That is why it got a 1 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst ever

posted by xbox101 (HALETHORPE, MD) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

this is the worst game i have ever played if you want a got thug game get underground 2

dont rent dont buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sucks

posted by miaheat1 (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

It just isn't that good. I like thps4, thug, thug2, and thaw more than this There are few pros and many cons It's just a terrible game they took a huge step down.

Con Paragraph
They got rid of XBL for it,there are only four games for 2 player,they abolished the freeskate feature,they took away alot of the create a skater features,theycompletely changed the storyline it's about being in the top 8 not about beating the game.

Ok that above were the many reasons it's not a good game.eres a typical week when i get Tony Hawk. Such as when I got Thps4 Thug Thug2 and Thaw
I'm a huge fan of the Tonyhawk games.

Week of me getting any other tonyhawk game

Day 1- Get it can't wait to play it and create my character try to make him look really pimpin then start out story mode
Day 2- Continue doing story mode usually get pretty far
Day 3- Daydream about it in school then go home usually get a llittle further in story mode then get stuck and take a break
Day 4- Daydream about it in school then create all these funny characters, and create my friends
Day 5- Beat the game go on XBL then invite friedns over to play with me

And I had so much fun doing that Here was my 5 day week with Thp8
THP8
Day 1- Get it get Excited about it and get an early disapointment with the create a character features Then do story mode
Day 2- Continue story mode since that's all you can do
Day 3- Beat that lame story mode because there's nothing else to do and invite friends over to play it
Day 4- Friends come over and play Graffiti and Trick Attack with me because those and Horse are the only games they have they leave disapointed
Day 5- Unlock secret level (o sweet this might not be so bad after all) the level is a down hill slope where at the end theres a big ramp that sends you into water and you die
Bottom Line
They got rid of some great features and didnt add hardly any. I mean if you're a big fan rent it to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

project glitch

posted by irishbuilt (ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This is nothing but a regurgitation of past games. Nothing new but the "nail the trick" which is fun, but limited to few, predictable moves. I've played for probably three hours and can not figure out how to "go to skateshop". I think it glitched out. Glitch after Glitch jerks the skater all over....terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »