Rent Tony Hawk's Project 8 for PS3
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Project 8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

1106 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tony Hawk's Project 8

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Next to Resistance this is one of the best games on the PS3 right now.The all new Nail the Trick is a very good addition to the game.The graphics are amazing,and I'm not just saying that because of the PS3.The only flaw I found in this game is that it's lacking the wackyness and humor that the previouse games had.You don't have to worry about loading screens that much though.The whole place is an open land.So far besides Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 this is the best game in the series.Deffinetly a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Awesome...but....

posted by VitaminG (DOVER, DE) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Those of you who have been with tony hawk from the beginning will be pleased that not much has changed. The few new features are amazing though. The create a trick is a brilliant idea that adds a new level of challenge to the game. When you start career mode it takes a while to load but it is worth it because it will never has to load again once you start playing.

Seems the game was rushed to release. There are a few key problems that there is no reason for. For example, in two player mode both players have to use the same controls. Either both or neither players must use the tilt balance. This results in every two player game ending in the looser saying "turn the tilt off (or on) and I'll whoop you".

Also, for those of us who dont have a widescreen TV, two player mode gives each player about 1/4 of the screen to view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!! fun fun fun!

posted by koodosoo (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

first off i really did not play the previous tony hawk games but love this one. this is the best game for PS3 i have played yet! i dont think many of the long combo tricks are very realistic, but if they are, they get a wow for difficulty. the game has great handling, good graphics, and very fast paced, all a plus in my book. also this game get a 10 for replay value!

i would say this is the best rounded PS3 game out right now, and a must own for people with a game collection! this game gets a buy rating from me, hope you find this helpful..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boring

posted by zeldaman94 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

as soon as booted up the game and started i was suddenly bored out of my mind. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than PS2? Yes. Worthy of PS3? Nope.

posted by Squishy503 (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Being an avid Tony Hawk fan on my PSP and PS2, I had to pick this up. It was a little bit of a let down, to say the least.

The frame rate is terrible. (I have a 56" 1080p, so it's not my system.)

What the game lacks in graphics though, it makes up for in gameplay. The story is fun, the challenges are great, the map is HUGE, and it's an overall good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Doesn't take a rocket scientist.

posted by canadaguy (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Apparently the people that made this game do not know what gravity ( or physics ) are. if you bail you can fly 100 ft. And if you press R1,R2,L1,L2 while just standing around you pay 30 dollars for "injuries". this game is one of the "pick-up-and-play-and- put- down- for- a- year- and- never- play- again" franchises. Although it is fun to nail the trick i have to admit. that is why i am giving this game a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by cooldeude4 (RIVERVALE, NJ) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

3 out of 24 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome. The sony company should make it for the wii, if you like games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game if your a fan of older skating games

posted by zlariviere20 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Aug 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

i dont get the person who said they dont liek this game cuz of crumby graphics then tells you to play tony hawk 1 instead like that one has better graphics lol but this is a ps2 game upscaled to ps3 so ofcourse the graphics wont be as good as current made games and sense when do graphics determine wether a game is good or not the graphics on supermario bros. is 30 years old yet it is still more fun than some current made games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Crumby graphics cheap game

posted by 3DO1984 (UNIONVILLE, IN) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game sucks. Play tony hawk 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tony Hawk's Project 8

posted by jay419 (PRAGUE, OK) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I enjoyed Project 8 on ps3. I tried to play skate because of all the hype about it. I've played tony hawk games since they came out on ps2. I didn't like skate at all, i found it to be unplayable compared to project 8. The main reason i favor project 8 is the controller functions are the same as all hawk games. Skate requires the R stick to ollie and you have to push yourself forward for speed. I guess it makes it more realistic but i'm playing a game, its suppose to be fun not work. Project 8 has too many challenges for my taste, takes a little too long to unlock other levels, and like the predecessors, you have to skate alot to get your stats high(so its hard at the beginning, easy at the end). But i liked it. The skating is comfortable and familiar. The biggest downside is creating a skater(you must build from a few templates instead of customizing your own avatar).
However this doesnt distract from the fun of the game. I read that people liked the simplisity of Skate instead of the action of Hawk. I disagree. I like the combos in air, grind and manual. It makes it easy to rack up points. So all in all, Project 8 isn't as fun to me as earlier thps games but it kept me entertained, especially since Skate was so frustraiting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent this game and you might find liking it.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Feb 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

Very flawed, but enjoyable enough to rent or buy used. Graphics aren't that great, tricks are cool, the environment restrictions are way too strict. Blood looks cool, wipe-outs are entirely fake and cheesy.
Pros: Cool tricks, multi-player is enjoyable, blood adds some realism to the game. Quite humorful.
Cons: Graphics could be better, crashes are lame, the restrictions for where you can go are lame.

Not amazing, but worth a rent. It is enjoyable enough that you might find yourself liking it. Rip it up!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Blockbuster Tony Hawk

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This is a great SK8ing game, Activision did a great job by sticking to the fundamentals of this game. There is no real big jumps in gameplay from this to the last game title. As with just about all the previous titles you start off as a local nobody. Before long, your Sk8ing the whole city map in an attempt to make it into Tony's 8 crew project that he has cooked up. The Graphics are on par with next-gen, the game mechanics are very
fluid, and the over all experience is very rewarding. The only issue I have with this game is the same problem I see in all Tony Hawk titles, Combos and Tricks are just crazy button mashing, Big Air Combos just require random button combinations to get the biggest score.

Overall this is a great game that should be played atleast once by anybody who digs video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!

posted by Kraneman (MIAMI, FL) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This game was awesome and cool. It's exciting, cool, interesting, and fun. Any way, what i'm trying to say about this game is AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Freezes up

posted by FireNUrHol (GARNER, NC) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This is the worst PS3 I have personally seen. The graphics are sub-par and look more like it is a PS2 game and it would hang for 5 seconds all the time.

Rent or buy Proving Grounds which plays and looks 10 times better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I did not like it

posted by SirRoken (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

If your a die hard fan of this game series get it. But if your just renting it to see what its like... don't waste your time. This game looks like it was built for a last generation consul like the PS2 or Xbox, if you have it for the new ones you will be disappointed on the graphics. the character design is good as far as clothes go but seams limited if you ever played Fight night Round 3.

finally this game is definitely a pass unless you love the Tony Hawk series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty but just another rehash

posted by grundel (FAIRFAX, VA) Aug 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

If you've played any of the last two THPS games you've pretty much played this. Sure there are a few new moves but to be honest the game itself doesn't have much to offer beyond whats already been done. Next generation graphics make everything look cleaner and the Nail the Trick mode is pretty cool but that doesn't stop me from getting tired of this game pretty quickly. I know a lot of people will enjoy this game but, call me crazy, after a while the whole 100' powerline grind while throwing in numbers flip and grab tricks along the way just gets kind of stale because while the levels look different the idea is the exact same one over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

great job!

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

Some tricks are nearly impossible to do the story is bad, and to create a character their were little to no options available for use..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by jtb484 (ALLISON PARK, PA) Jun 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

this game is a must rent and you can decide wether to buy it or not. the world is huge and really open. the graphics were amazing. some challenges can get annoying but most of them are pretty fun. the two best parts of the game are the records for hieght and nail the trick are extremely fun to break and the other is just nail the trick in general which lets you control your board and make up new tricks. the only bad thing about this game is somtimes it has some lag wich is annoying but it will catch up and keep going. deffinetly a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rent if nothing else is available in your Q or TV

posted by macalanche (LEESBURG, VA) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Avoid, unless you like unrealistic physics engines, mediocre graphics and you don't get bored easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Everyone has to retire someday.........

posted by jdmottram2 (GLENDALE, AZ) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Overall I thought the game was "okay" but nothing I will run out and buy. I have Tony Hawk for my Gamecube and I find this one to be the same old, same old I would much rather see new ideas rather than the same old played out game with new graphics. There just comes a point when you cant do anymore................

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Give it a Try

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Mar 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

I would say give this one a try if you are a Tony Hawk fan. If you are just looking for something new I'm not sure that this game will meet your needs. Give me the old Tony Hawk Pro Skater any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!!!

posted by Talonj (ANTIOCH, CA) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This is one of the best games i have ever played. If you are someone who likes skating you will love this game. It has all of the tricks you could think of there are kick flips, hard flips, heel flips, and so many more. And the game is very realistic, with good graphics. Over all this is one great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Many Complaints... Few Compliments

posted by Russiandon (Edgewater, NJ) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

After 3 days I could no longer stand this game. The graphics are mediocre. The career mode is the MOST annoying thing I've ever played.

All you do is ride around doing the stupidest challenges that give you only 20 seconds to do. Also whoever made the physics engine in this game is on marijuana. this is because if you bail just from doing a manual you will FLY across the entire map; im not even exaggerating.

The only good part about this game is the good feeling you get in the first part of the game where you actually land a trick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nail the trick rules!!!!!

posted by Skiingrule (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

This is my favorite PS3 game. in my mind it's the only game out right now that's better then it's ps2 counterpart. I've enjoyed all the Tony Hawk games and started playing them with THPS. I think that getting the pro scores in the Contests are a little too difficult. But you can still make it through the rest of the game. The one thing that really makes this better than the last few Tony Hawks is " Nail The Trick". I could do this all day. Plus an "A" for an original idea. This is probably the only game besides Resitance. That I suggest for the PS3. Well, and Tiger Woods. If you have a PS3 you should have this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skate or Die AWESOME!!!!!

posted by nodoubt197 (RICHMOND, MO) Feb 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This is the best skating game I ever played. I can't say enough. The graphics are off the hook!!! The stunts make you spend hours to learn but once you land them LOOK OUT!!! Yo, you guys really out done yourselves this time. I'm gonna buy this one for sure. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse