Rent Tony Hawk's Project 8 for PS2
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Project 8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

923 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by jeremy96 (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

THE BEST GAME EVER.I don't know about other people but this is the best skating game ever. I think the rag doll bails and knee slides are awesome there also good for some laughs.the nail the trick thing is so cool how you use the analog sticks to control your feet but why I give this game a 10 is the graphics.the people that only have a PS2 should know the mo-cap graphics are the same on every system

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Two kick flips forward & a 900 back.

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you were hoping for a next gen Hawk for the holidays you're gonna find you've received yet another lump of coal from Neversoft. This incarnation of the series is by no means as bad as American Wasteland, but still no where near as fun and innovative as THPS4. Everything has been paired back to make room for the not really as impressive as they should be graphics and a gimmicky new focus mode. I'll run down the list real quick, no create a level, create a trick, very limited create a skater, and no real on line. Level design is if anything too tight as lines feel forced and things are just simply way too piled up. There are graphic problems, especially with bail animations, the scripted cut sceens are still more BAM than Hawk, and the locations that are revisited... AGAIN don't really offer anything new to what's already beginning to be a stale franchise.
You can skip this one and not miss anything. Don't believe me? Rent it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cheats

posted by 123456789 (PERRYSBURG, OH) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

26 out of 37 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

always speacial: jammypack

unlock all speacials: yougotitall

unlock all decks: needaboard

full stats: allthebest

perfect manual: frontandback

perfect rail: balancegalore

unlock inkblotdeck: birdhouse

unlimited focus: shellshock

cheak back for more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best that is out there

posted by buckykat (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

There is so much to day about this game i dont know were to begin.Well u get to do the nail the trick which is so fun and rag doll mode is fun and funny.This game would of got a perfect if not for jason lee's messed up face and u cant do the create-a-trick,create- a- park,or create-a-design.The create-a-character is very limited but there is more ups than downs so happy skating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Down grade

posted by TopGamer21 (IRA, MI) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The Nail thing is cool ,but it was not as fun as wasteland. In project 8 you have to do classic missions (inwhich I hate) and you don't do anything that is balls to the wall like in wasteland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game isn't worth it

posted by gamehead92 (SIDNEY, OH) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ok I don't get this game at all. It was a total waste of time. The stick control is assume but the career mode was pitiful. There was only like 6 level. They took out most of the destruction unlike the last few games. The create mode was just as bad as the career mode. The create a park was stupid and the create a skater man it was so bad I have nothing to say. This give you limited places to skate in free skate or two-player modes. To sum it up this game was a waste of time, plastic, and technology.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

75% Good 50% Bad

posted by timtim (STOCKTON, CA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tony Hawk's Project 8 is a story when you want to be number #1 and join Tony's team. But onthe way to the best skater, you go through and meet pro skaters such as Bam Margera, Daewon Song, and Paul Rodriguez. So you meet pros and get sponsored by America's top skate brands.(Volcom, Quicksilver, Nike SB....)The best thing about this game is nail the trick. It feels like you're actually the skater.These were the good parts now for the bad. The bad part is the ending. You'll find out! Well enjoy this game. It's worth playing!!!=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

omg...

posted by teresa (SAINTE GENEVIEVE, MO) May 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wow this game sucks okay first off the story mode in this sucks its like playing tony hawks pro skater for playstation becuase there is no story line and its nuttin like american wasteland its all level based so if u like skateboarding go ahead but its not worth a buy or a rent from me id rather burn ants with a magnafying glass then play this garbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest Tony Hawk Game EVER!!!

posted by ToyBoy20 (FIRESTONE, CO) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game rocks. The controls are good. It's like Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 4, and Tony Hawk's Underground combined into Project 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just when i thought hawk games couldn't get better

posted by mariofreak (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of T.H.U.G. and T.H.A.W but this game was weak
A)no continues game play like T.H.A.W.
B)no clear list of missions
C)not much of a selection of characters/accessories
D)no graffiti or stickers
so if you are a fan of the newer games you probably might not like this game, but if you loved the pro skater series this might be the game for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tony Hawk is Taking a Turn for the Worse

posted by Nameless (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Tony Hawk's Project 8 isn't what I was expecting, it was alot worse. I was thinking that you would have to build your reputation by competing in competitions and eventually championships. Although there is competitions, a whole two, the game is nothing like that. You build your reputation by doing errands for people in town and occasionally showing off to pro skaters, but mostly errands which has nothing to do with skating. Other than the bad story the graphics look pretty good, much better than the last game. The gameplay is good, the town is well put together, there's everything you can think of throughout the town that has to do with skateboarding. Overall I think a person who really enjoys every Tony Hawk game would rate this higher than a 7. In my opinion Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 was a better game, so if your in the mood for a skating game thats what I recommend to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the game really sucked

posted by killa23 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

TONY HAWK PROJECT 8 WAS THE WORST SKATEBOARD GAME EVER YEA THEY HAVE THE SLOW MOTION BUT IT STILL SUCKS I THOUGHT IT WAS COOL BUT ITS SUCKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What took so long!!!

posted by bubbbaa (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Finaly a Tony Hawk game that can actualy be called a sk8ting game. From the very beginning of this game you have to be precise on how you play ,you can't just press buttons at random (which is 'De Dee Deee'). The focus meter is like any other sk8er game do a couple tricks and you have it full.(not that impressive).But the graphics are actualy the best i have seen for the ps2.That's not all, the levels are way better, and the mission style is the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

IT was aight.

posted by fliboy (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was aight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the coolest game the grafics are sick

posted by Fuzzer (CENTENNIAL, CO) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You can do slow mo and zoom in on the feet and controll the feet with the analoge sticks also when its loading there is a video of people skating rent this game it is the best game of 2006

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game sloppy ending

posted by gziccone (FAIR OAKS, CA) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

the game was goo the story line was good but the ending....... the ending makes you feel like you played the game for nothing in the first level of the game you find out the ending the only good thing about the game is that the challenges some are VERY challenging and you have to use your head .....overall the game is worth renting but dont be expecting a spectacular ending because all you do is become number 1 and get to demo with tony and he tells you that your on his team WHO CARES!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by lildude200 (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

it is so cool i love the graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by gamegod12 (RUTHERFORDTON, NC) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this game is awesome I wish I could buy it off of gamefly but I just going to have to buy it off a walmart good grapics there is all kind of stuff u can do on this game I really recomand renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Pretty Goog

posted by Chaos21 (SUMMERVILLE, GA) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

The game Itself Is Pretty good,
It Has slick game play,
But the camera angles can be
really anoying at times,
What I Did not like about It Was
that you spend all of your time
trying to get on Project 8
and then once your on It
Nothing happens,
You just mindlessly skate around with no purpose,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not near the same quality of previous Hawk games

posted by ZooKeeper (LA CROSSE, KS) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

My kids and I have enjoyed all the Tony Hawk games since Pro Skater came out for the ps 1. We own all of them except for wasteland, and this is by far the worst game out of the bunch. My daughters were let down by the fact they could not customize their own female skater, and the game play was slightly more difficult to control then other Hawk games. The graphics were decent, but the game was just not fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it...

posted by EvilXenon (KEENE, NH) Sep 9, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

What can I say about Tony Hawk's Project 8?

Not much.

But for the sake of a review I'll have to squeeze out a few clever remarks.

First let's rant about the actual game play. You have to do missions. Ugh. I don't want to skate to the corner store to pick up milk and cookies for my elderly next door neighbor and her 16 cats. (no not really)

Voice acting was about as good as the low budget actors on job orientation videos. The soundtracks were at least barable.

The in-game graphics were, meh. It seems like the character designers spent most of their time on the fine details of the shoes and the environment was a little boring.

The build a park and build a skater functions were stupid. I guess all skaters are punk gang-bangers with cornrows.

To sum it all up, Wasteland was far superior to THP8 and given a choice between the two I would play Wasteland and break, shred and then burn Tony Hawk's Project 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WROST TONY HAWK GAME EVER

posted by miguel0720 (HUNTINGTON PARK, CA) Sep 1, 2007

Member since May 2007

DONT PLAY THIS GAME I REPEAT DONT PLAY THIS...TONY HAWK DISSAPOENT ME...DONT BUY IT AND IF YOU GET FOR AS A GIFT THROW IT AWAY IT SUCKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK

posted by gamerman43 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game is ok, but I don't like how they have the graphics. There is not much cussing like it said there would be and the skater has no voice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of THE WORST Ps2 games to be released

posted by ElSancho (EVERETT, WA) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

I am one of the unfortunate 360 owners that got the 3 red lights, so I pulled out the PS2 and got this game. Well, I got a headache just watching someone play it. It looked so bad I didn't even bother trying it. Maybe its because I played it on the 360 before, but theres no way I would give this game anymore than a 1. IT SUCKED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sad sad octquel? (8th sequel?)

posted by RedLineZo6 (MOSES LAKE, WA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

When I first play Tony Hawk's Pro Skater on N64 back when I was in the 5th grade. I loved it.

I've loved every other Tony Hawk game since then, until now.
Project 8 is a flop for me. Graphics aren't anything better than TH-Underground. Controls are ok, lil bit too much going on at one time for a casual player. It was too difficult to time everything you needed to press to get it to do what u want to do.

The new goal system, not my favorite either. Kind of a sandbox, run around and talk to NPC's that give u a goal that u have to do right then and there.

Overall here are my stats for it.
Graphics - 7/10 (Nothing new)
Sound - 6/10 (Didn't even notice any music, same old THPS SFX)
Gameplay 4/10 (Sad... bad sequel)
Replay Value 6/10 (If you liked it, you'll probably keep playing)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse