Rent Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam for Wii
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, GBA, PS2
GF Rating
6.2

958 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

While it isnt Project8 this game isnt ALL downhill

posted by Tsizee (ASHLAND, KY) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fellow gamers this is a difficult game to review. I warn you i am in love with Tony Hawk games so this review could be slightly biased. First of all just from the name you must realise this IS NOT your average Tony Hawk game. It is more like SSX. While their are Trick gamemodes even it is racing against the clock. This game is a true at heart racing game. Unfortunatly your not gonna be playin as Bam,Burnquist,Valley,etc. Tony Hawk IS the only real skater. While the other characters are crazy, funny, and interesting it will never replace the skaters we love. But enough of that. Your simple race begins with a skit from one of the characters and then you well race... DOWNHILL. You can grab flip and grind your way to the finish line. (sorry no manuals without a cheat)You can even hit one of your fellow racers. So are you stuck with one of the few skaters the premade for you? No gladly their is a surprising amount of customization choices allowing you to express yourself. BUT most importantly how are the controls. Well i have surprisingly NO problems with it. You do not use a nunchuck you just tilt the controller on it's side. 2 jumps and grabs, 1 flips and grinds and a does special. (You tilt to move) The way you prgress through the game is the worst part about it. You cant just do a quck race without a buddy. You have to unlock it by playing small sections of one map. A full map is actually rather large. Their is Salom where you go for gates that give you more time. Trick which you try to get points by goin for slow mo gates. Your normal race. And several different special events some being grind time knockdown and destruction. Oh and the soundtrack is kickin it.(sorry for that) So dont believe the rant about the shallowness of this game it is fun to play over and over again especially with a friend. It is a fantastic rental and an even better buy because once you let go of it you will be beggin for more. Thank you for reading this review hope it helped you out. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Great Graphics

posted by Rockey (FOLSOM, CA) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The title explains it all. It's a fun racing game that is very realistic. It has very long races and they all have many, many shortcuts. You can't go wrong with this game. The only disadvantage of the game is there are not many places to race, but, on the bright side, they all have lots of objectives and most of the objectives you only do one part of the track so it seems like many different tracks. This game you got to rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best skate boarding game

posted by guncrazy (WAYLAND, NY) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is tonys best game yet. In this game tony sends you on a world tour with some other new skaters. Evrey time you start a race, salom, or trick contest you her funny phrases from the skaters and you her things to help you find out things about skaters. Play as all the skaters and unlock boards and outfits to help you get better. Fly through tons of enviorments and have a blast setting records and whouping skaters butts in this hot skating game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

posted by badgame (SYOSSET, NY) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a really good game. this is nothing like other tonyhawk games. this is the best tonyhawk game ever the other games were just soooooooooo boring.

if you like are one of those people who lean over and hope that a bowling ball does when you bowl you will love this game !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tony Hawks Downhill Jam

posted by Sargespam (NEWHALL, CA) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is a play on the same old Tony Hawk theme. BAM, bring in the Wii! AWESOME! This game was made for Wii. I could not stop playing it. This is what the Wii was made for! Get it! My Dad even liked it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Where's my joystiq?

posted by Pizonn (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I played this game 4 times, and couldn't get it into it. Perhaps with time it may become more involving, but there wasn't anything there that made me want to keep playing. Control was okay, but a bit fumbly at points. Something just seems wrong about controlling a skater the same way you drive a car. While the trick system is simple, pulling them while turning the controller would take a good bit of practice.

After playing Excite truck, this game seems slow, especially for the speed associated with downhill boarding. It might have been sweet if you held the Wiimote in the same direction as the board and moved it as if it were the board.

If you really like skating give it a rent, but I wouldn't recommend purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by Depmode (FORT LEE, NJ) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be decent. If you like the other Tony Hawk games, then there isn't any reason to not like this one.

The Wii remote was pretty cool to control with, though sometimes you'd get going the wrong direction and it would be very hard to turn your character around.

I did not like some of the different challenges, but the courses themselves were pretty cool.

Oh, and grinding is VERY easy with the Wii remote now, as you tilt it to keep your balance.

Graphics are also very nice.

I would rent this, but probably not purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Downhill from the start.

posted by mrryles (WINNEMUCCA, NV) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam is a great start for the Wii. Gameplay is very strong with the user having to turn his "Wii-mote" sideways and use it as if it is almost a steering wheel for your skateboard. The trick lay out is simple using button 1 for flip tricks and button 2 for grab tricks. But I would like to state this game isn't about the tricks. Consider it more as a racer. Really the only reason to do tricks is to fill up your special meter so you can give your wii-mote a little jiggle and you gain a short speed boost. Graphically it is not the best. If you have been playing ps2 and Gamecube still up to this point the game will fit right in graphically, those playing the Xbox 360 for the last year will notice quite a difference in the graphics, but then again that can be said for about all the Wii games, so what do you expect.

Back to the gameplay, while it is rather innovative and fun at first it is downhill the rest of the way. My experience went like this:

~Training level~
"Oh this is pretty cool! Once I get used to it I will like this."

~First level~
"Alright I finished 2nd once I get the controls down I will rock this game!"

~Third level~
"hhhmmmm...... This seems to easy."

~sixth level~
"Where is my Gamefly envelope?"

Honestly the main killer in this game, in my opinion, is that the levels are to blah and very short. The average race time is about 45 seconds. It just leaves an empty feeling of knowing this game could be so much more if the levels where a little longer and planned out a little more.

After all that is said I still think the game is worth a rental to experience the technology involved and see what the Wii is capable of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Under Rated.

posted by CookieJoy (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a risky title. Changing a style of game that's been around for over 8 years is definitely risky. The game doesn't have the best graphics or anything like that, but it's what games have forgotten to represent: FUN. This game is a blast, and has replay value like crazy. Just seeing the wacky characters and finding all the hidden routes through levels is just plain fun. On top of that, it has an excellent soundtrack. Possibly even the best soundtrack from any Tony Hawk game. I can understand where people might be turned off by this title, but give it a try. It's worth at least that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good

posted by sportsman (EAST GREENWICH, RI) Feb 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is a good game its not a great game cuz sometimes u don't have complete control but whats good bout this game is its fun cuz u go off big jumps and its fun to skate board downhill and go fast whats allso annoying is sometimes the turns r really sharp so its hard to turn but other than that its pretty fun but if u ask me its not the best Tony Hawk game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by goredsox (BEVERLY, MA) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is the BEST crazy unrealistic skating game you'll ever find!!! Even though it is totally unrealistic it is still awesome! So go ahead and press RENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tony Hawk downhill jam

posted by xplaykid (CALABASAS, CA) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

TH is a very good franchise but this game is just plain bad I only had fun with multiplayer and cheats
(there are sssooo many) I am a tony hawk fan and i
still thought it was extremely repeditive and with
so many other games for the wii why choose this one
do yourself a favor and don't rent or bye this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not so good

posted by coolcaf (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

when you play this game, you will see there is really no depth to it. there is no story line and really all you do is race down a hill on each level. its cool how you can control the skate board with the wiimote, but once the thrill dies (which is really quick), you will send this game back for another one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just didn't feel right ?!

posted by DeezUU (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was a bit awkward to control (although everything on the Wii is a learning experience). The speeches from opponents seemed to drag on at times. It was a fun game to play but it didn't keep me glued to the Wii like the other Tony Hawk games did on other consoles. I'll give this one a virgin 50/50. Good try but not quite there yet. My kids seemed to be addicted to it but they'll play anything as long as it doesn't involve cleaning up the house!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHOOO! THANK YOU!!

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Sep 7, 2013

Member since Nov 2008

This game proves that:

Graphics
Online Multiplayer
Un-realism

Don't make a great game! THDJ is the game that brought back the joy of playing video games. When you play it with your friends using 4 player multiplayer, your in for one crazy ride downhill. The music is exciting, the characters have their unique charms, and Tony Hawk is still the best.

To the people at Gamefly, I say "WOOOO! THANK YOU!!" (You got a new game!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

non working

posted by kcinztruk (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) May 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

After i receved the disk from gamefly i noticed it was kind of "dented" on the edges and there was a big scratch on it. I could tell it wasn't clean from the last time it was used.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tony Hawk - Downhill Jam

posted by mattsmom (Crosby, TX) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

We were dissappointed that the disk we received was chipped on the edges and the game would not run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam

posted by Daddyof2 (EAST SYRACUSE, NY) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This is a fun game. Different then the usual Hawk games, but with the same type of tricks. I love the fast pace of it. Every time I play a board, I find new and secret ways to get to the bottom. I actually bought this game because there is no end or beating it. A ton of different things to do on this game. JAM ON.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

tony hawks down hill

posted by garbear (GUILFORD, CT) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this game was very boring and didnt have much purpose

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I actually think it's not bad

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- Turns skateboarding into a racing game
- Similar to SSX, and great to those fans

Cons
- Could turn off original Tony Hawk game fans
- Could be just a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Downhill Jam makes a great skateboarding game.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

A great skating game. It's not really free to roam. Mostly a racing competition. The game would have had a higher rating if there was a mode where you were free to roam around a city. The tricks are awesome. The characters are a little silly. Soundtrack is great. The game is worth a buy for skateboarding fans. I'd reccommend the players to rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bored?,skate!

posted by MADDOG7 (PORTALES, NM) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

You'll have hours of fun playing this extreme game with downhill skate races, slalom, and more events. Trust me, you'll love all the shortcuts, boards, and the sick trick combos. The downhill races go to extreme heights in Hong Kong, Rio, Rome, and more places from around the world. You're probably wondering by now how the wii remote's motion sensetivity comes in for the gameplay. Well, you tilt the wii remote to steer. This takes some practice, so don't be surprised if you don't get it right the first time. Also, when you jump you quickly bring the wii remote up to perform a high jump, but don't shake the wii remote or else you'll boost(if you have any boosts). Those are all the actions of the wii remote except for the buttons and the fact that you tilt the wii remote to balance while you're grinding. Don't be hesitant to get the game because of the wii remote's limited motion abilities. Trust me, the game is great, especially when you know almost all of the shortcuts-the shortcuts are indicated by red arrows you almost can't miss, but getting to the shortcuts takes some work. I give this game a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't get pulled in

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

If you're like me you'll incorrectly assume that this will be a better and novel Tony hawk game because it's on the Wii. Don't.

Pros:
Some new multiplayer games we haven't seen before

Cons:
Controls on Wii are very clunky and hard to use
Pretty much the same thing as every other Xgame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only for fans of the Tony Hawk series

posted by Kazoto (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

This is probably no surprise to here that a new Tony Hawk game came out but this time it’s a racing game

This is just the same game in a racing game format so if you played any of the Tony Hawk games then this will seem familiar to you sense the only thing that’s changed is the controls and there not that bad it’s a lot like Excite Trucks controls and that’s not a bad thing it works well it’s just that the game play is just like the past games in the series

And then there’s the graphics to put it simply the graphics are average and when you think about it in this day and age you’d think that the game would have better graphics but theirs an up side to all this the game runs at a nice 60fps but that’s it

And on the audio side of things there’s a lot of licensed music in the game it’s got a lot good ones in there some of them are recycled form the past games but that’s just how it is

Overall it’s an ok game that’s good if you have a Wii and you’re looking for a good racing game fix then this should keep you busy for a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I didn't know Tony hawk downhill jammed but..

posted by Crimnology (BONNEY LAKE, WA) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I actually was skeptical on playing THDJ but after getting used to the sideways Wiimote and became familiar with it i really started to like it.

Its entertaining to play and all my friends liked how easy it was to pick up and play. The buttons to use are set just where they should be giving you ease to do all tricks and grinds.

The only downfall i could find was that the in-game characters are a little geeky and the voices are simply childish, also because we are using a motion controller you will find out that sometimes you might not have wanted to take a certain turn, But don't worry go ahead and start the level over, load times are pretty quick.

All in all i was actually almost sad to see this game get back into the mail, i miss playing it when Zelda and Red Steel get old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse