Rent Tony Hawk's American Wasteland for PS2
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's American Wasteland

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, Xbox, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.8

1444 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tony Hawk's American Wasteland

posted by Sora013 (FORT GRATIOT, MI) May 21, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I believe that this game is a must for any skate enthusiast. even if you don't skate or have never, you should really pick this up. Unlike the THPS1-4, and THUG1 and 2, there are no load times, making skating AND BMXing much less repetitive and enjoyable. there are many open areas to explore, including building tops all the way too subways. Hundreds of goals will keep you plenty busy, but you don't even have to complete them, if you just want to free skate go for it, you can get experience and cash just from pulling tricks. the characters in this one are much much more customizable, but still has the fun sense, such as clown shoes and space suits. there is no doubt in my mind that whoever picks this game up will have hours of fun playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Remember Revolution

posted by Respen (PENRYN, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

It almost hurts to call this game average, after the previous games have all been excellent. But that's what it is, just average. Some areas are excellent (sound, story, and general theme) while others are disappointing.

First of all the soundtrack. I actually really liked it. The only thing that kind of annoyed me are the remakes of classic punk songs. It's not that they are bad, it's just that they are no different from the original (which kind of defeats the purpose).
The sound affects are fine. The ollies and grinds sound great. I'm getting kind of sick of that sound it makes when you do a double kickflip though.

The graphics aren't terrible, but they don't seem to have improved much since Pro Skater 4.

The gameplay itself is still golden, but there is almost too much to do. There are tons of different moves to perform, new and old. And none of them are overly complicated either. I don't care for the new parkour moves (freerunning), because they really don't seem very realistic. Speaking of which, I would really think the physics system need work. I'm getting tired of doing 20ft high ollies, and think having it portray real world phyics would be more entertaining.

Maybe the biggest complaint I have is the difficulty. It is way too easy, even on sick mode. In my opinion, sick difficulty should be for those who have mastered the other Tony Hawk games and want a real challenge. But even a beginner won't have much trouble with it. The only difference between the modes is the amount of points you have to get, and it isn't even a big difference.

My last complaint has to do with the sponsors. Its just that there are so many of them. If the whole game's storyline is about defying authority and rebelling against whatever, why do I have to see and listen to corporate sponsors like Nokia and Sirius Radio while I'm doing it?

Anyway, the game is still fun in general. I just think the series needs refreshing if it wants to compete in the next generation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Neversoft does it again.

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I myself have always been a fan of the tony hawk seires and all i got to say is it is the best tony hawk game i have played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THAW reloaded

posted by killer0199 (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not only does this game show how better a game it can be than thug 2 is shows you in many ways more tricks better storyline and to top it all off better graphics and no loading screens and the online play is even better rent it play it love it buy it its a most own game and then buy project 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by kasey45 (LA HABRA, CA) May 1, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love this game! You can get new cloths, tattoos, and even assories. it gets hard when you get to Santa Monica. I suggest it to everybody. So buy this awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

American WASTEland

posted by ItsTony (YUKON, OK) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong... I like Tony Hawk a lot, I respect him so much for what he's done... But come on! There's a time when you need to stop continuing something. This game is fun and all but I just found it to be annoying and exactly the same as all his other 24390578845 Tony Hawk Pro Skater games, only you're in different scenery.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

skateboarding rules!!! but tony hawk doesn't

posted by punknation (JERSEY CITY, NJ) May 8, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game was so good i just kept on playing it!!! with tony hawk in it its just bad to tell people you play it... know what i mean? any way tony hawk should not be on the cover i hate him!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THAW reveiw

posted by Gameingspade (NORTH BRANCH, MN) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I've played other Tony Hawk games but they did't have anything close to this(well except the tricks). Everything is better than THUG 1 or 2. Improving your stats, the missions, and the levels. The one thing that lacks in it tho is keeping one created trick and still make another one without your previous created trick getting erased even after you save it but it's still an awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best tony hawk game

posted by gamema5ter (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

this game is easily the best tony hawk game. My favorite part is the fact you get to ride a bike. There hasnt been a good bmx game and somehow a skateing game has great bmxing in it. the graphics arnt amazing but still its really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yep, it's good!

posted by MrFlipout (ORO VALLEY, AZ) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

So you'll know that neversoft made some bad skating games. (tony hawk's underground 1 & 2) but they REALLY made this one good. But it's just the same story with a little twist.

Story:8
Gameplay:9
graphics:8

grade:9 that's an A

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

american wasteland

posted by jangawho (FAIRVIEW, OR) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Don't bother renting go out and buy it......no loading screens great levels it is just a master piece a work of art...probably the best out of all the tony hawk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best tony hawk game ever!

posted by 6007226 (MURRIETA, CA) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

as the title says it is the best tony hawk game ver.I love how u can make the park [i forget wat its called].I also like how can also bmx in it.You should definetly buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

whats good and whats not

posted by deft465 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

i like this game buaecase i like skating games huh doesn't well i had game for a year buecase i bought it at game stop but i didn't like much but i love now so it's really good so you should buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ITS THE SAME

posted by winner11 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

Its the same as all the other Tony Hawk games the difference is you can bike and buy cloth's. BOREING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hi

posted by dudordude (BOULDER CITY, NV) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

It was awsome. Thats all I have to say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really great skating game.

posted by Blockos (NEWPORT COAST, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

Graphics seem real. If you like any other Tony Hawk game than you'll love this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THAW

posted by pizzaboy (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

This game rocks and doesn't have any glitches I know of and I beat the game. The Story Mode is awesome with some of LA's suburbs. You can beat the missions or just free skate. You can also get off your board and whack people on the street. But that's not the most fun part. There are different difficulties you can set Story Mode on. This game has great graphics, awesome skater music, and 95 challenging missions in Story Mode. There is tons of tricks to do once you get off the ground. I beat the Story Mode but didn't even complete all the missions! I bought this game without renting it, but I wasn't disappointed, trust me! This game is hard enough but not too hard for an okay gamer. You should put this game at the top of your GameQ!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by matthew10 (WOODLAND PARK, CO) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

ok ive played project 8 and it SUCKS but this isnt a review for that soooooooooooo........... this game is great it has every thing u caould think of to do. now yes there is not quarter pipes every were in real life but hey who cares???. be it bike board or foot there is never not something to do ...unless u spent hours upon hours playing it and doing every thing on it;) i sujest buying it but if u have not played the tony hawk series befor dont buy project 8 and rent this i almost garente ull like it unless ur one of those people who look at the bad things in a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Go Online

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Feb 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

My suggestion is rate this game and take on somebody online. I found the gameplay great and in typical Tony Hawk fashion and it was great to compete against other great players online. Definitely worth renting if you haven't already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SO COOL DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jacktt (LAFAYETTE HILL, PA) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

If your a tony hawk fan rent it or buy it. But I did not enjoy it because i'm not a tony hawk fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tony hawks american wasteland

posted by JGskater (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

this is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Kraneman (MIAMI, FL) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

This game is so awesome but its kind of hard but it is still awesome especially new people and tricks. This game is off the chain. It even has dogtown and fairs. Especially the Tony Hawk AMJAM now we're getting serious and a trick called focus. There's also a monk or something but other than that the game is so awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

uhhhh

posted by mirra540 (LEEDS, AL) Nov 5, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

well this game is no different than the rest of his games i personify think its the second worse behind thug 2 witch was an embarrassment im sure to all the emo skaters out there lol. what i would expect from a skate game is skate competition's BUT i got was grind the big dinosaur head to make it fall on sheep protesters and grinding for miles with ease jumping over buildings. what the heck tony are u serous. the story behind this game is bad you will spend the whole game learning tricks that u already know with the same controls from all the other 6 tony hawk games other than some weird specials and doing stuff for money from bums. what kinda bum is ganna give u money anyways. that's it kinda weak the physics are bad but all the tony hawks are. maybe some people like to fly 60 feet in the air off a small quarter pipe idk and do a bout 6 impossibles i usually turn all my stats down just so i can play and make it seem a lil more real graphics are not that good tony once gain looks like a c.rack dealer and bam looks like the customer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is pretty sweet good job Activision

posted by RodneyH (LAKEPORT, CA) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This game is fun I highly recommend you buy it, to kill those boring days or to just have fun. Although they could have done a little better on the people in the game during story mode it looks like a few guys are doing one thing over and over and if you get in there way they just keep going but as your playing it isn't as bad as it sounds also when you push people off there board in multi player or story mode it isn't as good as it could be...But over all this game rocks...
-Rodney Henson

CALL ME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tony Hawks american wasteland

posted by Gamer626 (BERLIN, MD) Aug 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Tony Hawks american wasteland is a good and fun new hawk game. It brings back earning money from pro skater 4 except you find money in pro skater 4, but in this game you get to walk into skate shops and clothes stores and buy stuff instead of stopping the game and going to menu. The game also has a pretty good story to it too, but on the bad side it has a lot of glitches and the character's mouth's don't match the dialog. The game also has unlock able secret levels, and you can also run a round with out a a board or you just hit people with your board instead, but over all the game had simple controls and good game play. so tony hawks american wasteland over all is a great tony hawk game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse