Rent Tony Hawk's American Sk8Land for DS
view large frontback

Tony Hawk's American Sk8Land

Not Rentable
Also on:GBA
GF Rating
7.5

211 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's good ....... very good!

posted by gabesma (JAMESTOWN, NC) May 9, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was surprised at how fun this game was because I had always loved other tony hawk games, and for a handheld game this one takes the cake!It's like playing any of the pro skaters and putting them in bigger citys,transfering between levels without pressing pause(you still can),neat cutscenes(there like comic stripes!),lots of neat tricks,and last but not least it has real music and goes online!!

If you like Tony hawk games or skateboarding in general then this is the game for you!
and the gameplay is great too story's pretty good too Ps. great graphic some of the best on ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One Of The Best Games For The Nintendo DS!

posted by Luigi360DS (NORTH HILLS, CA) Jul 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I booted this game up, I was expecting a watered-down port of the console game. Boy, was I wrong. The game was entirely original.

The biggest innovation in this game is the cel-shaded graphic style. Thanks to the graphics being cel-shaded, the game presents a 3-D world without the blocky characters the Nintendo DS is infamous for.

The controlls, though, are ported straight from the Playstation 2 version. You use B to go fast, A to jump, Y to flip, and X to grind.

The soundtrack is kind of annoying with it being punk music and all. If you are a fan of hip-hop like me, you might want to turn the music down. If you like punk music then you might really enjoy the sountrack.

The story is kind of long with you having to unlock parts of Los Angeles such as Hollywood and East L.A. and build your skatepark with money you get from accomplishing tasks.

Overall, Tony Hawk's American Skateland is a game you must try if you have a Nintendo DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An underated Gem

posted by koolkittie (WARRENVILLE, IL) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Tony hawk has always beeen a great franchise. Even if the Undergrounds were not quite what pro skaters were, all games were more than decent. Excluding the GBA games that is. Tony Hawk's American Sk8land is Activision's eighth original game in the series, and justly deserves the name.

The game takes place in the california city of LA. YOu start in Hollywood and can unlock really cool places like Beverly Hills, a VANS skatepark, heck, even Alcatraz gets an apearance in this game. The story mode is less than short, but is good enough for hawk newbies like meself.

The graphics our sheer beauty! The cel shading seems to be what both DS and Tony Hawk needs. Cel Shading is easier to do and more stylish, not to mention that DS has lower graphic qualities than the console counterparts. Cel Shading makes Ton Hawk's overall unrealistic tricks make more sense in cel shaded beauty. I may sound like a Cel Shading enthusiast but before this game came out I thought it was horrendous! Do not trust the screenshots, this game NEEDS to be seen in motion to be respected.

The sounds of skateboards are very realistic and deserve lots of respect. The music is basically a lot of punk rock. I only knew one of the songs played in the overworld, Holiday. That either means I am in dire need of new CD's or that this game is out of date musicwise. Either way I like "I like dirt".

The wi-fi multiplayer is wonderful, many modes of dukin' it out with people from wherever. It doesen't really get to the max'd worldwide like Mario Kart but it still has some good power. The different modes are all pretty good, though Horse probably should've showed up.

Overview:
Gameplay: once you get the hang of the simple control scheme this game becomes second nature! 9/10
Graphics: Beautiful Cel shading at its finest. 9.5/10
Sound: some people said the songs sounded odd on their DS. What were they talking about? 8/10
Fun:This game's strongest point. 10. Overall: 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

cmon tony, seriously

posted by jordandfco (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i mean really, i have a ps2. so i have some seriously high expectations espeasially after playing every single tony hawk game there is to play. so i play it, and well uh.... it sucked. the graphics were so horrible, it makes the ps1 look amazing. the game was okay though. graphics suck.
peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

thas

posted by 5131999 (MURPHY, TX) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

you end up bulding a skatepark and you meet all of the pros for the skate park. Its very fun when you get it but at the end it gets a little boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Faithful Entry Into the Tony Hawk Franchise

posted by maddad (OCONTO, WI) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

This is a great game with a few negative parts to it. First, the great parts: cel-shading looks awesome on the DS, good controls, ability to design your own skateboard and graffiti logo, and more. The bad things: Story is horrible, and the goals are not very good. If you are a fan of the Tony Hawk games this is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »