Rent Tomb Raider for PS3
view large frontback

Tomb Raider

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.9

4436 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you like uncharted, you'll love this

posted by ibrahimalmedani (JACKSON, MS) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

absolutely love the game, very adventurous and action packed plenty unlockables and spectacular updates

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) Apr 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

+ Great Story
+ Great Graphics
+ A lot of content!
-+ Multiplayer is not bad, but not good either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant game despite itself

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 2, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bit of a weird one this... most games try to wow you at the beginning, this one frustrates. The slow start, the endless seemingly pointless collectibles... I almost gave up and sent it straight back. My advise, for what it's worth, is to not worry about all the GPS caches etc that are strewn about while you play through, you can get them later (I wish someone had told me this earlier...).

But then, about an hour or two in, it remembers that games are supposed to be fun, and then it becomes every bit as awesome as the Uncharted series that this will invariably be benchmarked against.

Graphically, this is as beautiful as anyone could realistically expect, with fluid control of Lara (despite the rare glitch or two) the centerpoint. Plot is laughable, but works to move things along, though if anyone plays Tomb Raider for the plot, then that's on them. Gunplay, traditionally one of the biggest weakness of the Tomb Raider series, is now bold and brash, more Gears of War than Uncharted, if you ask me. I never felt that I died in a firefight (which happened, a lot) because of misbehavior in the controls.

Upon completion, the game lets you have at it on the entire map, and provides "warps" to each area, so you can run around and hoover up all the treasure etc you missed. I mopped up everything I cared about (or could find) in about an hour after I finished the game (I achieved about 87% completion before getting bored of this, but did get the Bag O'Cache Trophy!).

This does lead to the final issue... there really isn't much reason to play through again after you complete it. I'm not a fan of multi-player in general (sports games excepted), but by any reckoning the multi-player portion here seems pointless. I doubt anyone is buying/renting this game for this feature, so I don't understand why the developers put it in. Howabout charging less for the game, and not burning developer time on this side of things? So, great to rent, but not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a really fun 3rd person action adventure game. If you take the story with a grain of salt you will have a good time. This is the first female character in a video game that I thought was pretty hot (can't believe i'm saying that). You have to throw out all of your previous TR knowledge and passion. This is a complete reboot. I can't wait until the next one. The game is pretty short even on hard and you don't have to raid any tombs to complete the game which is kinda weird. But overall really fun, immersive sound and a hot chick killing bad guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider Prevails

posted by pyramids (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game worth rent/buy! Very dark and more compelling as you advance in campaign. As for multiplayer, weak and reeking desperation all over leave this area to cod or battlefield.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

They Finally Got It Right

posted by bucknasty7 (LAWRENCE, KS) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The last installment, Underworld, was pretty lame. It had shaky game play, a cheap plot, and lloked like it could have come out on PS2. For the PS3, Tomb Raider was overshadowed by the Uncharted Series. So, what does the Tomb Raider Franchise do to get back in the game? Make it more like Uncharted.

Now, I'll give them credit where it is due. This game is its own. It has a well crafted story enriched with vivid, action-packed game play. Square Enix definitely improved the franchise. It is much like the Uncharted games in the balance of climbing puzzles/ combat. But, the survivor element makes it unique. It is definitely worth a play through.

I don't give a 10/10 because it, like most plot driven games, doesn't have much replay value. There are several little collectible gimmicks to chase after, but After you beat the game I had no ambition to go back and find them all. Other than that, it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Tomb Raider since TR2.

posted by Psuedoknot (SOMERS POINT, NJ) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you liked Sleeping Dogs, you will like Tomb Raider (and vice versa). They're both developed by Square Enix and have similarities.

I am very happy with this new TR. I was genuinely drawn into the story and the platforming was flawless. I liked running around and figuring out how to get to certain artifacts and exploring tombs. I enjoyed the environment a lot. There is no health bar, so hunting for food is kind of just a minigame. After shooting a deer for the first time, you don't have to do it again unless you want a little EXP.

The cult was straight-up scary, the premise very Tomb Raider and I am excited to see where Miss Croft ends up next. If you are a TR fan, this is a buy for your collection. If not, rent it and enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why Tomb raider didn't get the ten....

posted by timberninja777 (GRASS VALLEY, OR) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This installment of Tomb Raider brought back the love of the franchise for me. This title was pretty hyped up, and I wanted it to deliver, the last couple of TR titles were garbage for me, so I was skeptical, at first. Then the plot started to thicken, the attention to detail was astounding, the upgradeable weapons and fluid combat mechanics were perfect. This game gave me everything I wanted and more. The only reason it didnt get the 10 rating, I was dissapointed when I couldn't start a new game with my upgraded weapons. You can explore the island after the credits roll with all your upgraded gear, but only to pick up the secrets missed on the first campaign pass. Four days of non stop play and I have found everything on the map. It killed the replay value for me.
Aside from that, it was astounding and fun. Hope Square Enix pops out another one like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The New Raider

posted by skidmark13 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes Laura is back with an all new look and feel. Gone are the many, many frustrating puzzles of the original series. No i don't believe you will have to reach for the Brady guide book this time around. However do not worry there are plenty of times that you will be engaging your grey matter to get out of situations and get to items you just don't think you can reach. This Reboot is Laura's origin story. yes before Angelina, and Before PS one and PS two Laura this is the story that made her The Tomb Raider... PS3 Graphics are outstanding. rich sweeping Vista's the best part is usually if you can see it. you eventually go there. The game auto saves frequently thankfully. The new system of upgrade is day camps and fast travel camps at these camps you can upgrade your gear and more importantly your skills. Gear upgrades are through a salvage system. points are gained from boxes, crates and looted off defeated enemies, There are also various mini Challenges, like burning effigies in shantytown, all of these activities give you EXP and upon reaching a certain level you gain a point to upgrade skills, pretty much all game activities result in exp gain one way or another. there is plenty of shooting action as the bad guys show up in mass to impede your progress. gone are the Twin Pistols that have been a Tomb Raider mainstay. Laura's main weapon of Choice is a bow. It also is your most versatile tool in the game. As you upgrade your Bow via salvage and by finding. parts for it. find 3 parts usually gives you and upgrade back at camp, by the end your crude bow is a powerful compound bow, which doubles as a fast ascending zip line assistant. very cool. Also you can shoot rope arrows into craggy rocks as well as into rope bundles and anchor them to post's, don't forget fire arrows and arrows with grenade tips. not to worry , pistol, AK47 and a shotgun are all available for use. despite a quick finish time 15 hrs this reboot should not be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"PERFECT" Reboot

posted by TheCruzifier (OAK ISLAND, NC) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the old tomb raiders long ago I was wondering how they would go about remaking this title. Let me tell you this is the BEST reboot I have ever played! From the opening cave scene you will be hooked. Everything is masterfully done, from the controllable cinematic scenes and events to the gunfighting and exploring. Controls are smooth and fluid and are easy to master. The skills and weapon upgrading are awesome. I especially liked the way your weapons change appearance as they upgrade, the attention to details in this game are great. The story is amazing and the landscapes and views are some of the best to date for a video game. If you are a fan of uncharted/resident evil/dead space/prince of persia any good third person games TOMB RAIDER blows them away. I give this game a 10 theres nothing negative about it at all other than the fact that it leaves you wanting the next one NOW! Great job Crystal Dynamics/Square enix/Edios for bringing Lara back with a big bang.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW

posted by cid2042 (Seattle, WA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This first time I have ever enjoyed a Tomb Raider game. This plays out like Uncharted mixed with batman arkham asylum. Plenty of action with over to top escapes. It's a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider = Masterpiece

posted by Kratos_Killz_ (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

From the moment the opening scene starts, you are hooked. Everything about this game is epic. Controls, voice acting, story, game play, superb detailed graphics and weapons are all extremely well done. The transition into each section of the game is so smooth that you can't tell the difference from a cut scene to game play. It's very easy to learn how to use your weapons and upgrade from all the salvage part you collect. I also like how the developers made it very speedy when you're looting caches and dead bodies so that it doesn't slow down the game at all. It's tiny details like that which makes the game that much better. I've also never had so much fun using a bow as a weapon before. Silently sneaking up on someone and putting an arrow through the back of their skull is awesome! The time and effort put into the gorgeous detail to show the depth of the island you're on is absolutely amazing! Not to mention the replay value...there are so many collectibles, hidden tombs, documents, letters, challenges and treasures to discover that keep you hunting the island for hours. Tomb Raider deserves a solid 10/10 and anyone out there that hasn't picked this game up yet should quickly do so because this game isn't a renter, it's a definite buy! Can't wait to see what's next for Lara Croft! Good job on the reboot!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant Reinstallment!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 7, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The visually stunning reinstallment shows that EA's Crytek isn't the only developer group that can immerse you in a vividly, realistic environment. Tomb Raider is far better than the last title that was for the consoles.
Tomb Raider plays as a third person, adventure freeroam... With puzzles and a very well made game interface that will keep you in the seat wanting to know what happens next.

As Laura Croft a newly-starting Archaeologist she sets off into an adventure that was not as simple as it seemed.
With partially complete historical documents of a ancient tribe the Yamatai seeking out artifacts of the Sun Queen... Laura links the documents into a treacherous Island--the Bermuda triangle of the Asia's--the Miyake Island nicknamed The Dragon's triangle. Located in what sailors call The Devil's Sea... Laura and the crew of the ship called "Endurance" crash landed on the Dragon's triangle.
While Laura trys to regroup and plan how to get off the Island... Laura finds that they are not alone on the seemingly cursed Island, which is inhabited by ruthless survivors known as the SolarII(So-lar-ee).
Now Laura has to find out a way to get off the Island and survive.

Rumors are: they are making a new movie with the same story base and it is a real interesting and enriched story.
Square Enix delivered a game that surpasses all the previous installments of Tomb Raider. The level system makes sense -- Laura gradually finds tools and uses these tools to oblige her in the adventure. Lot of the upgrades to weapons involve you actually finding items.
You will stumble across tombs that are all optional, instead of going threw one massive tomb(like previous titles) .

They also threw in a multiplayer for the game... Its sorta like Uncharted's multiplayer. I think it could have been left out and added more single player content, but that is my opinion.
Either way its awesome check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic, graphics are amazing. amazing gameplay.

posted by kingposeidon21 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game was VERY VERY well done. graphics are amazing, the storyline is flawless. i became hooked on this game within the first 5 minutes because of the kickass opening. i highly recommend playing this game. im about halfway through the game at the moment and it already deserves a rating of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Gameplay, Graphics, and Storyline!

posted by biblejeff (EDMOND, OK) May 12, 2013

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! It fully met my expectations in every area for the Tomb Raider series! Everything seemed to fit together quite nicely, and was quite enjoyable to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tomb Raider

posted by ankh99 (DALLESPORT, WA) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

SPOILERS!
The single player gameplay and storyline are awesome, the developers did a great job of putting this together from the audio to the visuals to the actual responsiveness of the controller. The ending/conclusion was short and expected, leaving it open and hinting at another Lara Croft adventure. The absolute downfall is the multiplayer - hard to find anyone playing and the gameplay falters heavily from the single player. If you are working toward trophies, you will be spending 90% of your gameplay total in multiplayer trying to reach prestige 3 to unlock all the weapons. The lack of multiplayer modes also causes you to bore pretty quickly. Overall, if you want a great, immersive single player game rent this, but don't expect a strong multiplayer base.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best reboots in this the generation of

posted by erock83 (EASTON, PA) May 1, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Lara Croft is back! I played the first few Tomb Raiders and loved the feel of this one in particular. By far the best in the series, even the original!?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by lil_j13 (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I havent been so drawn into a game since heavy rain and uncharted 2. This was most definetely one of the best story driven games I have ever played. I enjoyed every last moment spent with lara. Dat ending! Looking forward to more from crystal dynamics!! Buy it. Nuf said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I was bored... bailed after a few hours.

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) May 30, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Everyone is loosing their minds over this game, and I truly don't understand why. Yes the reboot of Lara's character is compelling. I love how vulnerable and inexperienced she is. But it's the environments and gameplay that lost me here. Have you guys PLAYED the Uncharted series? The adventure bar was raised years ago. Go back and replay ANY of the big set pieces in Uncharted 3, like the CARGO PLANE. Mind blowing right? Ok, now come back to Tomb Raider reboot and tell me what moment in the game even comes close to blowing your mind like that. I played the game for about 4 or 5 hours and was struck by the SMALLNESS of the environments. I found the gameplay boring and constricted. Sorry. Wasn't interested enough to continue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Adventurous and thrilling.

posted by tommyboy1834 (SPARKS, NV) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Probably the best Tomb Raider game in the franchise.
I would rank this game higher then any of the Uncharted games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not worth replaying.

posted by Ericknopf (FAIR LAWN, NJ) Mar 14, 2013

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll give the game credit for it's graphics, story, and game play. To be very honest though the only reason I would say to play this game is for Lara's origin story. I did try to continue after I beat the game, but I got bored trying to find everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much boring RPG

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Collecting salvage and skinning animals while upgrading skills at monotonous camp sites have taken a once-wonderful platformer to new and not very welcome places. While I find the cinema-style (Uncharted copycat) entertaining, I do not find the press-triangle-in-shrinking-concentric-circles gameplay worthwhile. The RPG elements copied from Far Cry 3 -- a game I did not like at all -- ruin the experience. Bring back Lara Croft and dump this weak imitation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stop comparing this to Uncharted or Far Cry 3

posted by krayfish (SPRING HILL, FL) May 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For those of you that keep using these comparisons may I remind you that Tomb Raider was around first. Those games copied Tomb Raider not the other way around. This game is solid all the way around. Graphics are great and the game play is great.

The controls are smooth and easy to master as well. Its a blast and I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Thoughts

posted by Midget_Man_ (SCRANTON, PA) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i believe this is a great game, the way it fits in with the mountains, to be observed, the graphics are amazing compared to what the character before, to be honest, it one of my favorite games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 8, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse