Rent Tomb Raider Underworld for PS2
view large frontback

Tomb Raider Underworld

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
5.5

414 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

uh oh TR underworld

posted by littleDevi (NEPTUNE, NJ) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually love all the tomb raider games so I was excited to get the newest one out. ok well.... this game stressed me out. I hated the controls, and it seemed slow moving to me, aiming is the worst. Ill keep all my older Tomb Raiders games, but Tomb Raider underworld was sent back quick fast and in a hurry!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Controls

posted by sgtg316 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't waste an hour. The controls are slow and the response have a noticable lag, its hard to get use too and hard to control. You end up jumping into places you don't intend to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This should never have been released.

posted by slimboy (MACON, GA) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It was utterly unfinished! The company obviously concentrated on the "next-gen" systems, and this poor game was left by the wayside.
The Good:
-A completion (of sorts) of the story arc began in TR: Legend.
-Cool legendary weapon.
-Hints at something greater.
-Recurring villain.
The Bad:
-Entire LEVELS were left out!
-What happened to the polish of Legend? The menu system was painful, and the "secrets" were in plain sight!
-Miles of empty corridor-running. Very boring.
-Unnecessary motorcycle sections, based off bad level design.
-Due to the excision of entire LEVELS, the transitions within the game were extremely harsh and confusing.
-Exactly TWO instances of "bullet-time" type of situations. That's all.
-No reason to collect "secrets."
The Ugly:
-Carp-TACULAR (sic) graphics! HOW do you DEGRADE over the course of sequels???
-Bizarre neutral poses.
-"Vanishing" enemies.
-Spider-Man 3-esque "team up." Stupid, stupid, stupid.
-Jarring transitions. "Oh, look, a door underwater! I'M ON A BOAT NOW!"

Skip this one entirely. Read a tabloid. Heck, read the toilet-paper bag... and wipe with this disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not my cup of tea.

posted by paper0ck (TAMPA, FL) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To be honest, my expectations were not high about this game, but since my brother expressed excitement about its release, I decided to rent it.

To make a long story short, within the first 20 minutes of playing I knew that this was going right back to gamefly, and I had just received it that day!

The controls are sloppy and confusing, the graphics are substandard, and since I haven't played Legend I wasn't really that interested in the storyline.

The best game in the Tomb Raider series has always been the second. The storyline was interesting - as were the levels - and the controls were easy to use. I think the biggest thing that ruined it for this game was the controls - I didn't like them. I don't really see the need for all these new "tricks" Lara does that only complicate the game more than it's worth.

If you're a fan of the series, I suppose it's worth renting - heck, you may like it. As for me, this one was a bust and really has made me wary of renting a Tomb Raider game in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tomb Raider Underworld for PS2

posted by Erebusmoon (SHREVEPORT, LA) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Since this game was released on ps2 after its original debut on ps3, pc, 360, and wii, its optimization had to have been altered in the recreation process. I couldn't even get through the first five minutes of the game because the frame rate drop was terrible! By not even engaging in combat, which has a better chance of buckling frame rate, I was barely moving just to jump onto a ledge. Right before I played I was playing resident evil 4 on ps2 and it worked amazing so I assumed it was the game. Going to try on 360, ps2 version.....awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Fair PS2 Game

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I liked the game, it is pretty fair, but really boring. I had really got this for my twelve year old daughter who was really starving for a game to play, she got really bored with it. I love adventure games, even the all text ones, and I got bored. It is pretty decent, but just not enjoyable. I would rent it, play it (if I did not have a PS3) and return it. It is a fair rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Compaired to Legend

posted by CKU (KENOSHA, WI) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I did not like this one too much, but it was worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by lilray345 (LAKE STATION, IN) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I think that the person made this game is awesome.
Nothing is better than this game right here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tomb Raider: Underworld

posted by Jackal0330 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This is not a very good game in any sense. There are too many puzzles and not enough shooting. The graphics were terrible and the story line has much to be desired. The only good part i have to say about this game is that at times it was really short so you could go through it easily. If you would like to play the game then go for it, I hope you enjoy it more than I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Plot Line, Sub-Par Play mode

posted by Shana13 (APTOS, CA) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The plot line of this game is interesting, well thought out, and keeps you entertained for the most part. The actual game play mode is another story. The controls are hard to learn and are not as responsive as one might like and during game play you are forced to repeat many rooms and scenes which gets quite annoying after you've spent hours trying to get through one room that you had no problem completing the first time you had to go through it.

I won't be playing it again. I might damage my controller out of frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

gussygus

posted by guscreek (HARTINGTON, NE) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

its my oppinion not yours but for me its awsome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »