Rent Tomb Raider Underworld for Wii
view large frontback

Tomb Raider Underworld

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, DS, PS2
GF Rating
5.6

473 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Difficult to control on Wii

posted by Turambar82 (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game itself is fun. The storyline is neat. I like Norse Mythology a lot and it's cool. The music is cool. The intense scenes are heart pounding.

I just got very annoyed with how hard it is to control Lara. A lot of times she seems to do the opposite of what you are trying to make her do. I ended up jumping off a lot of cliffs because she didn't jump the way I was pointing. The angles of view can get very annoying too. Some of the puzzles are very lengthy and annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK

posted by echo13 (Houston, TX) May 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tomb Raider Legacy and anniversary are so much better on the Wii. The controls were changed for this one which was completly stupid cause the controls on Anniversary for the Wii were pretty close to perfect. Also the graphics have gone down instead of up. And obviously the Wii is capable of a much larger storage of graphics, yet there were all sorts of graphic glitches and horriable movement visuals. Basically a let down for the Wii, I suspect the PS3 and 360 versions are much more cleaned up and easier to handle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

About What I Expected

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Dec 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Solid Raid - Some wicked tough platform puzzles, secrets were pretty easy though. Great rental since it is very short. My game was marred by 2 very bad glitches (missing pole on wall & missing wheel gear) which were both pretty important. Had to restart the game, but I used that opportunity to find missing secrets. Recommended! D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would be, could be

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game could be sooo goood...if there was somewhere to freakin go. From the first stage you're underground with a huge monster and you just run in circles until you eventually come across something. Just like Anniversary, the main difference is the enviornment. Instead of wondering for hours in a jungle you're underground. The best Tomb raider is still for gamecube. You could actually get through each stage without a handy dandy strategy guide. I like to play games not read and if you don't like to read don't purchase this game...well unless you have hours to devout to wondering aimlessly from setting to setting...good luck purchasers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A "Tomb" Not Worth Raiding

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is my first journey with Lara Croft, and if this game's any indication of future games, I hope it's my last.
Tomb Raider: Underworld has you as Lara Croft raiding tombs for treasure. But the story also has you looking for your long, lost mother who disappeared while looking for some ancient city or something.
But what this game really is about is you going from point A to point B by going through lots of jumping sequences and puzzles.
The jumps are a challenge made annoyingly tough by a camera that won't stay still; it just wants to wander about, getting all the wrong shots and too many close ups of Lara (yes, I know she's sexy, but even I got tired of that).
The puzzles aren't very good either; most are the "get to point a to hit switch B, then go to point C and hit switch D to open door E" There are a few clever uses of the Wiimote, but they are too few for me to remember.
Adding to the troublesome puzzles is interacting with key objects, which is made hard by clunky controls. Sometimes I wonder why it taking Lara so long to pick up a key lying on the ground.
But the worst part of Underworld is the experience. As I was playing it, all I felt I was doing was make several jumps and solve plain vanilla puzzles. The story's got no spice in it, the characters are forgettable, and completing a level doesn't make me feel like I accomplished anything important - it just led me to another level, and more jumps and plain vanilla puzzles.
The only reason why I think people will buy Tomb Raider: Underworld is to ogle at Lara Croft. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider Underworld

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

I liked this game. I think this is one I can go far in. Love her outfits, I love a women of action that looks good too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tomb Raider

posted by pebeck (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is poorly designed. I had issues with a lot of the movements. I was doing them correctly but she just stood there making noises and grunting instead of pushing on objects. I would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are u kidding?

posted by Darshawna (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Ok so I just got the game like an hr. ago and I'm already about to send it back. All u do is wander around I mean u can barely even see underwater and it doesnt tell you where to go or what to do with certain objects. This game sucks!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why bother having walls if you fall right through?

posted by scottloy (DAYTON, OH) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I don't write reviews often. That said, I write this review for cathartic reasons. I am so frustrated with the lack of control, the ridiculous number of clipping problems, and the terrible game navigation (the save/load/settings area). I'm so fed up with this game, I have no problem with watching youtube walkthroughs to fulfill the rest of the story.

If you rent this game, do NOT rent it for wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tomb Raider: Underwhelming

posted by flipvega (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) May 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I had high hopes for this game. The graphics are nice, story seems good, but the game is glitchy. Very Very Glitchy. Giving this game a 3/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating

posted by Snakefoot (EXPORT, PA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This was the first Tomb Raider game I ever tried to get in to, and I was slightly disappointed. The game-play controls are difficult to get a hang of, and the camera angles are even worse. There were some spots where I couldn't get the camera behind me to see what I was facing. Other spots, like when you're climbing walls or debris, had a set camera angle that made it extremely hard to jump in the right direction. Sometimes Lara would jump in the direction relative to the location of the camera, other times it was relative to her body... like I said it was difficult to get a hang of, in fact I quit playing half way through the second mission. And after all that I think I only killed maybe 2 things.... I was expecting more than just a big chess game. But if you're in to giant puzzle games with big titted hosts and minimal violence, then you might enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tombraider Underworld: wii - Bad

posted by minpin85 (WARSAW, IN) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Alright, I bought this game cause I bought tomb raider on xbox 360, which was awesome, and tomb raider anniversary on the wii which was cool, so I thought this would be even better, IT SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I played through it in 1 day. That should say it all. There was hardly any bad guys and it was just really lame altogether.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the worst in the series

posted by chewy24 (BEGGS, OK) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I've never played a Tomb Raider game before (except this one).
Well, this wasn't what I had expected it to be. I assumed that it would be a FUN, ADVENTURE/ACTION game.
But you know, never assume.
It had none of these exept a small amount of adventure.
So this obviously (I hope) isn't the best TB game yet.
DO NOT waste your time and rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Actually better that i thought.

posted by Echobase (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I thought it was going to be REALLY BAD. it was to my surprise REALLY REALLY GOOD. Sometimes it was weird but it has good graphics. Challenging and fun. Good story except it's so fun my sister forgot to save it and the wii turned off LOL :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TOMB RAIDER

posted by yhaoooooo (FRANKFORT, KY) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!I JUST CAN'T TRUST THE END.IF YOU PLAYED T.R IN THE PAST YOU'LL AMADNA AND NATLA.GO LARA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »