Rent Tomb Raider Underworld for PS3
view large frontback

Tomb Raider Underworld

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii, PS2, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.2

4868 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

How much would you want to Raid this Tomb?

posted by AllPurpose (BEVERLY, NJ) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Ok so I have to say that I was not impressed at all with this new installation of the Tomb Raider series. The game has some really neat features that were taking from other games but doesn’t quite get it as right as the other game. Like the wall climbing was cool but often very sluggish and not as near as smooth as in Assassins Creed. The colorful environments really took me back to Uncharted Drakes Fortune but didn’t come close to looking as good. This game was very glitchy! For instance it was very cool fighting tigers and panthers but when you decided to take on a human adversary the fun stopped quick! It was almost like kicking paper enemies around. You hit them and they fly back and keep sliding. There were about 10 enemies you fought per stage until the final two but even then there were only two different type of enemies to take on. The main enemies were the stages their self. It was like playing a giant brain game which was very fun but by the ending of the game I just wanted it to be over with. The story was neat but it could have been a bit more CGI scenes. Over all it was a average game that was fun but
I would not want to play again. Game Fly is the perfect way to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lost in the Jungle

posted by grf2722 (METAIRIE, LA) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the visual aspect of the game. The graphics are amazing and the controls are much easier compared to Tomb Raider's of the past. Overall I believe this is a good game, its just not my style. There is too much wandering around trying to figure things out and not enough action for my taste. If you enjoy exploring and trying to figure out puzzles then this is the perfect game for you. The game and scenery remind me of Uncharted but the game play in my opinion is not as fun and exciting as Uncharted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lara graces next Gen consoles. It's about time!

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Shes back with a game that looks beautiful. The environments are huge and the puzzles, while they're not as difficult as past Tomb Raider games, are positively massive. All of the enemy bodies stay where they fall (no fading corpses!), this way you know where youve been. The combat element has been reduced dramatically making the games main focus exploration. There is not a single boss fight, something I consider a wise decision. The only problem with the game, as with most platformers, is the camera. It will zoom in a lara making it hard to navigate or get lost behind objects. The later happened very few times but its worth metioning. You discover more about lara's family which helps link the game to past titles. I do have to say- this is not an action title- It's exploration based gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't let reviews scare you, try it for yourself.

posted by FlayVI (HEWITT, TX) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok, I just returned Tomb Raider:Underworld and, having completed the game, let me tell you a few things...

First off, I'm not a hardcore gamer like a lot of folks out there. Having said that, I was surprised with this game. All the reviews made it out to be this terrible waste of time...and I disagree. Here's why:

1. Graphics and environments are amazing!!! Thailand, Southern Mexico, Medit. Sea, Valhalla, etc. all were spectacular to look...so spectacular that it distracted me on several occasions. If I don't like how the game looks I can't get into it.

2. The story (objective) I thought was interesting: discover the truth behind mother's disappearance, and mix in some Nors mythology. It kept me wanted to see what happened next--this is also important to me when playing games.

3. Gameplay was easy to pickup. This being my 1st experience with Tomb Raider I didn't know what to expect, but it was easy to learn...nothing too complicated. And the aiming mechanism was great. Melee was a little lacking.

All of these things are what keeps me playing a game. I only had a couple of complaints. 1) camera angle was annoying (like the reviews say), but I learned to control it and by the end, it wasn't a problem. 2) Running and jumping response was slightly delayed, but again, by the end I figured out how to control it. 3) there wasn't a final boss fight and the ending wasn't as BIG as I thought it'd be...of course, it's a puzzle-solving game with secondary action.

All in all, I was glad I tried it because it was a great experience for me. So, if you're on the fence about this game, give it a try and judge for yourself. I will say that it's more puzzle solving than shooting and killing, but was still worth my time and hopefully worth yours. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Nov 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

17 out of 27 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Lara has been around for eleven years now and every game that comes out, always has new perks to it. In this game, she has tricks that people fantasized over eleven years ago!
Pay no attention to any noob how says this game stinks. This game is amazing! The graphics are sensational! They are as good as Uncharted' s! Voice acting is superb, gameplay is awesome, and the new combat system is perfect! The puzzles are not as hard as Legends were, but are hard enough to keep you thinking. You have to buy this game and buy it for anyone who liked Uncharted, or whom is a Tomb Raider fan. This game starts right where Legend left off. But if you are new to the series, have no worries, there is a video under extras that gives you everything you need to know. The camera is better than Legends, but is still not perfect. There are few glitches at a few parts, but don't make a huge difference.

Pros: Amazing graphics, sweet voice acting. Characters are really cool, new combat system is the best. Storyline is sensational! Gameplay works really well, the puzzles are easier than legends were. Lara's new PDA is a whole lot better than her useless one in Legend.

Cons: Camera still is not perfect, there are a few super minor glitches, and once you watch the videos, you can't watch them again, there just gone.

Even with these minor flaws, this game earned a ten in my book! If you have not already picked up this game, then you should do so right this very minute. So what are you doing?! Go and buy this game right NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tomb Hater

posted by Illyrius (PACOIMA, CA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been a Tomb Raider fan since the very beginning and although they may have revolutionary during their time, this one is not. First off the controls are amazing compared to previous. The scenery is stunning. The guns and other weapons are fun. However the downfall really drag this game down. The levels are really the crux of your adventures. You have to figure out on your own what you are supposed to do. That can sound challenging except for the fact that most of the time you really don't know what you're supposed to be doing. There is a menu option that gives a little help but I found myself wandering for HOURS. Not exaggerating!!! On a certain challenge I must have died at least 50 times before realizing the solution. Which killed any enjoyment I had up until that point. So if you are a glutton for mind-numbing monotony then I suggest you buy this game, if you're not then rent and ready yourself for lots and lots of yelling at the television.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game if you liked Tomb Raider before

posted by wrencrest (TAMPA, FL) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great and if you liked the old Tomb Raiders you should love this one. The controls aremuch better than the old games, so even people who might have gotten tired of the old controls might like this new one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tomb raider

posted by billysbaby (KALISPELL, MT) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have never really been into these games but I have to say this game was really fun and made me want to play it over and over. I loved that you could pick out Lauras out fit and when she did soething that got her dirty it showed the dirt on her!! This is one of my favorite games ever!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lara good, camera BAD!!!

posted by chenjoe617 (GATESVILLE, TX) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've loved the Tomb Raider series since it started. Shooting, exploring, solving puzzles, narrowly escaping certain death. What's not to love? I'll tell you what, THE EVIL CAMERA!!!!!!! Whoever is charge of the camera programming deserves a punch to the groin. That and the controls, LORDY!!! Other than that, I loved the game. It's fun as heck, except when you want to throw you controller through the window because you miss a jump because the "camera" decides to switch to another view right before you leap. If it wasn't for those two things, I would have given it a 9.5-10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

TOUGH CALL

posted by BLINDSDOWN (WILTON MANORS, FL) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I planned to trash this game after only a few days of play, as the controls are horrible...the worst in fact I've ever seen. Getting Lara to break a jar takes longer than killing an enemy. WHAT!!!

I'm still playing and still in shock at how bad the AI is. BUT! It looks pretty great and the puzzles ARE HARD...sometimes. There is the "what next" element that was missing from Prince of Persia, so that's a good way to keep you involved.

After all the screaming and crying over the JUMPY controls and busted camera angles, I'm still having "fun" so, a few patches maybe?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Those darned camera angles!

posted by mikeypoo (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Classic Tomb Raider style, lots of puzzles, evil baddies bent on world domination, with a few new moves make this a very playable game. My main problem is with the camera angles which plagued the entire series. other than that, I enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Jump, climb, jump again, climb again.

posted by Mark22036 (WILLIAMSON, NY) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Its time for Lara Croft to retire. At least from this kind of game. Lara would be a kickbutt character in a shooter, or something besides this same old jumping, climbing baloney.

The first Tomb Raider game was popular because the graphics were above and beyond ANYTHING else. NOw, the graphics have evolved with the systems, but they gameplay has not. Find the key, that opens the door, climb up there and turn the wheel to open the door. Same old same old.

The combat is HORRID. absolutely terrible. No take cover system. Just keeping hitting the buttons until they die. That is the only strategy. The spliting of the shooting, (one gun shoots one enemy while the other shoots another one.) becomes so frustrated because you have one close enemy that you need to focus on, but cant because the splittling is practically uncontrolable. If you used to like Tomb Raider, and are looking for a similiar fun experience, let me suggest Drake's Fortune. Much better executed. Much better game. MUCH BETTER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

All graphics, poor game interaction..

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Well I wasn't impressed at all with this game. Tomb Raider:Underworld has brilliant game graphics, but thats about it.. The Gameplay is very awkward and the motion of Lara Croft, although alluring, the motion is very 'clunky', not fluent, and not very easy to navigate her at all.....

The Game lacks a lot of user tutorial, and leaves you to figure out everything Lara Croft can do on your own.. unlike other Tomb Raider's where all the motion, and actions allow you to use them demonstration wise this one gives you a hint, and thats about it.. If you enjoy accidentally discovering what Lara Croft can and cant do.. w/out a tutorial of using the character's action this game would really fancy you.. Other then a pretty interesting story, amazing graphics.. This Tomb Raider is wack..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What Happend?

posted by Suspect (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After playing this game for several hours all I can say is that this game is not even close to being as good as legend. I hated the series up untill playing Legend and was blown away by the perfect blend of action and exploration. Legend had lots of gunfights, explosions, amazing chase scenes, awsome contols and was very good with keeping the pace going with giving Lara the equipment that allows the player to see the next course of action. I rented underworld thinking that Eidos would take legend and expand from that but instead they used the new game play system and reverted back to the old boring tomb raider. I made it all the way to Valhala before I just could not stomach any more. There were almost no gun fights at all. back to shooting bats, bugs and big Cats and then it all went down hill when I started shooting undead vikings. The exploration was still excellent but with the poor controls. awful camera angles and an ungodly amount of gliches this game went from good to terrible fast. I have had at least 8 accounts of falling through the stage while attempting the wall jump resulting in my death and being returned to the begining of a very tedious climbing puzzle. the graphics are still some of the best I have seen but thats the games only saving grace. After playing Drakes Fortune I cant help but feel that this game is pathetic. the hand to hand combat in TRU is pathetic and useless. doing combos on a spider, bat or tiger is not my idea of fun plus its useless! you cant preform hand to hand combat on a tiger or panter in real life let alone in this game the cat wins every time. I have only had two small incounters with actual humans where the hand to hand was useful but it didnt hold a candle to Drakes fortune. Eidos needs to sell the tomb raider franchise to Naughty dog or ubisoft. even the controls and climbing on Assasins Creed were for more superior to this game. In the end my advise is to stick with Tomb Raider Legend or Drakes Fortune.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Simultaneously fun and disappointing

posted by xS1utx (MILFORD, CT) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've been a big fan of the Tomb Raider games for the past 11 years. Every time a new one comes out, I'm excited, but also very nervous about how it'll live up to Lara's legacy. This newest addition fit right into my expectations by being a fun game, but also being somewhat disappointing.

First, the pros. For me, this was the first Tomb Raider game since the original (excluding Anniversary) that actually managed to make me feel like I was actually exploring ancient ruins. The environments are breathtaking (at times), and certain parts are especially satisfying. The Scuba diving sections felt like I was really in a massive ocean. Diving down into murky water, slowly revealing ruins was a very different, and very cool feeling. Some of the rappelling sections were also very satisfying because it felt very authentic, to rappel down into a hole rather than traversing random ledges and poles.

Unfortunately, this game had a lot of bugs. The camera was really spastic, and at times made me dizzy. Lara also got stuck a lot, although drawing my guns or rolling usually unstuck her.

The other big problem with this game, which many of the other Tomb Raider games have shared, is that it gets very bland as the game goes on. In the later chapters, it starts being more about the combat and less about the environments. While some of the later stages are massive, they don't have the same feeling of awe that the earlier chapters do because of how they're presented. Everything is just grey and blue, and feels very fake.

So ultimately, I really enjoyed the first half of the game, even despite the bugs. However, the second half is fairly disappointing. The story was iffy, but that's not really why I play these games. In the end, I'm glad I rented it, but I definitely wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still goin strong

posted by Diogee (DELTONA, FL) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the game is great even though shorter than i thought its still a nice play through graphics are awesome animation is superb. if your a fan you'll love it, if not you'll still love it. Lara still got the skills.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by YamahaBrez (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I spent an hour swimming around in the ocean looking for jelly fish.

J e s u s christ.... I wish I could get that hour of my life back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucked!!!

posted by ASulili83 (LEWISTON, ME) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been swimming around underwater for more then 2 hrs confused on what to do, they give me no clue's on what i need to do. I found three knobs the turn these circles but other then that I WAS SOOO BORED, I went shark hunting the three that i killed was fun but that was the highlight of it... MAJOR BOOOOOO!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not fit to be above ground.

posted by dominoscr (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Laura's latest quest is very reminiscent of the many she has made before. She isn't aging well at all. Many of the bugs she had in the past creep up on her again to make this inexcusable mess for next gen consoles. Looks like Drake took her torch and left her underground to rot.

Don't waste your time. This is a game you've played and most likely were already disappointed in.

I'd suggest Mirror's Edge or Drake's Fortune instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tomb Raider Underworld

posted by JTHV83 (LARGO, FL) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Outside of the very corky camera angles and frustratingly hard to see one-way exit routes, this game was an entertaining game to say the most. I found the puzzles to be well designed though some left alot to be desired in terms of me not wanting to run around in a room until I found that one single ledge that allows for my exit. I guess maybe because I thought with "Next-Gen" gaming we would have games that offer alternate routes of vistory. Not the long over-killed single route theory.

If you loved the puzzles from games like God of War and Uncharted: Drake's Fortune then you'll like this game. But don't expect the quality of action/combat/gun-play that you've seen in those games. As you will be very dissapointed in the lack thereof in Tomb Raider Underworld.

Gameplay - 6 - Camera aggrevation and not much combat. A shotgun is all you'll ever need.

Sound - 9 - Great music score and enough wierd sounds to keep you on your toes while searching the mysterious and unkown. But you'll quickly see that there's just not enough danger to go along with the great sound.

Lasting Appeal - 4 - Beat it once and then send it back. No trophy support for PS3 and trust me, the game gets really boring when trying to find every single piece of "treasure".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by brettsp (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best way to sum this up is that it is like Drakes Fortune but not nearly as good and with a wonky camera. If you loved Drake you'll probably like this. If you haven't played Drake, play that first...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh

posted by teamgreen (CENTERVILLE, UT) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

good graphics, controls made me dizzy and couldn't play for more then 20 min. before was board out of my mind, guess game would be good with a strategy guide or some kind of walk through, but without one swimming around looking for a needle in a hay stack isn't my cup of tee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Caution.....to be avoided

posted by 3Djunkie84 (ERIE, PA) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lara Croft has past her prime, there was nothing I liked about this game. Ill try and keep this short....

1. Terrible traversal mechanics- If you are climbing up an object and need to get to another object you need to be lined up so perfectly to jump, otherwise you will fall to your death.

2. Terrible Gunplay- When you shot enemies they can take a ridiculous amount of hits before they finally go down.

3. Stiff Animation beyond lara croft- It seems every other character besides lara croft did not get any attention in the animation department. Movements are not believable, especially when they are being shot.

4. Not even close to fun- It takes the game to long to get into any action, and when it finally does, you are sorry it did.

I did not play this game very long, but the story also seemed very goofy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tomb Raider Underworld

posted by candaceblu (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just hated it, hated the controls, hated the whole thing. I rented this beacuse I just LOVED Drakes Fortune. Played it over and over, I read that this was similar to Drake..... NOT the controls are hard to use and the camera went screwy all the time. The guys making this should have looked at a winner and used the same idea to make Lara Croft a whole lot better. Big Dissapointment !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Straight To The TOMB With This One.....

posted by PRFAN1013 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm saddened to say this is not a great game. I was highly anticipating the release of this gem but alas, i feel so betrayed. Graphics look so so, there are tons of glitches with the controls and the camera sometimes feels like it goes through some systematized seizures. The story is interesting and with enough work it could have been a lot more than what it is... A simple tease to hardcore gamers looking for more of a in depth story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse